DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bilbrey et al. (US 2012/0021619, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Bilbrey teaches a system for identifying a secondary battery identifier (ID) (magnetic code [0024], [0043] and [0045]), the system comprising: a secondary battery (114, fig. 2) comprising a secondary battery magnet portion (118, [0043]); and a wireless charging device (fig. 4 and [0048]) comprising a wireless charging device magnet portion (110) and configured to charge the secondary battery, wherein: the wireless charging device magnet portion comprises a polar arrangement corresponding to the secondary battery magnet portion to exert an attractive force between the wireless charging device magnet portion and the secondary battery magnet portion ([0027]-[0033] and [0103]); the secondary battery magnet portion is placed at a position corresponding to the wireless charging device magnet portion ([0027]-[0033] and [0103]), and the wireless charging device magnet portion comprises an ID identifying unit (122, fig. 4) configured to determine that the ID of the secondary battery has been identified, if the secondary battery is charged ([0043]-[0045], [0052] and [0098]).
Regarding claim 2, Bilbrey further teaches wherein a polar arrangement of the secondary battery magnet portion differs with each secondary battery according to the ID ([0033], [0044] and [0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Bilbrey further teaches wherein the polar arrangement of the wireless charging device magnet portion respectively corresponds to the polar arrangement of the secondary battery magnet portion for each secondary battery according to the ID ([0033] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Bilbrey further teaches wherein an N pole and an S pole of the secondary battery magnet portion are arranged alternatively in a staggered manner (fig. 1), an S pole of the wireless charging device magnet portion is arranged at a position corresponding to the N pole of the secondary battery magnet portion, and an N pole of the wireless charging device magnet portion is arranged at a position corresponding to the S pole of the secondary battery magnet portion ([0027]-[0030], [0038]-[0044] and [0098]).
Regarding claim 6, Bilbrey teaches a method of identifying a secondary battery identifier (ID) (magnetic code [0024], [0043] and [0045]), the method comprising: placing, on a wireless charging device (150, fig. 9), a secondary battery (152, fig. 9) comprising a secondary battery magnet portion (164) having a polar arrangement structure corresponding to an ID of the secondary battery ([0024] and [0043]-[0045]); magnet-coupling the secondary battery magnet portion of the secondary battery to a wireless charging device magnet portion of the wireless charging device and fixing the second battery to the wireless charging device ([0053]-[0056]); determine whether the secondary battery is charged; and if the secondary battery is charged, determining that the ID of the secondary battery has been identified ([0043]-[0045], [0052] and [0098]).
Regarding claim 7, Bilbrey further teaches if the secondary battery is not charged, determining that the ID of the secondary battery has not been identified ([0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilbrey.
Regarding claim 5, Bilbrey further teaches wherein an N pole and an S pole of the secondary battery magnet portion are arranged alternatively in a staggered manner (fig. 1), an S pole of the wireless charging device magnet portion is arranged at a position corresponding to the N pole of the secondary battery magnet portion, and an N pole of the wireless charging device magnet portion is arranged at a position corresponding to the S pole of the secondary battery magnet portion ([0027]-[0030], [0038]-[0044] and [0098]) but fails to teach the N pole and the S pole of the secondary battery magnet portion are arranged to form a concentric circle.
However, Bilbrey further teaches a shape and patterns of the coded magnet 100 (fig. 1) may be chosen to create a specific attractive/repulsive force curve ([0036]) and a ring-shaped code magnet can be utilized ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bilbrey for the N pole and the S pole of the secondary battery magnet portion are arranged to form a concentric circle since it is just a matter of design option for the coded magnet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References Havskjold et al. (US 12,300,837); Li et al. (US 2025/0055327); Bilbrey (US 9,590,352) and Branan, Jr. et al. (5,111,128) are cited because they are related to identifying battery identifier using magnetic code.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876