DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 is directed to subject matter of a third embodiment described in the specification ¶[0048]-¶[0053] shown in Figs.8-9. In particular, the claim is directed to a cooling fluid spraying part including “an extending support portion [430] fitted between the stator core [100] and the housing [200] while covering an outer surface of the stator core, the extending support portion having one end coupled to the first coupling portion [310] and the second coupling portion [320] of the terminal bus bar.” But, this conflicts with the structure in claim 1, directed to a first embodiment comprising a cooling fluid spraying part including a “nozzle ring [410]” described in ¶[0041]-¶[0042] & shown in Fig.5. The extending support portion 430 does not comprise a nozzle ring 410 and the nozzle ring does not (nor can it) include an extending support portion fitted between the stator core and the housing while covering an outer surface of the stator core. By virtue of the manner in which Applicant amended the claims, claim 6 now improperly combines features exclusive to another embodiment and is therefore new matter.
Claims 6-10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above, claim 6 is directed to structure distinct from claim 1 and is therefore indefinite.
In claim 7, “”the first and second coupling portions” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 12, “wherein an end portion of the fluid storage portion protrudes toward the coil after being bent to form a question mark shape” is indefinite in scope. With reference to Fig.6, the specification ¶[0042] describes “…the fluid storage portion 412 may be formed to have a curved surface, and a partial portion of the fluid storage portion 412 may protrude toward the end coil C after being bent to form a question mark shape.”
But, this is indefinite in scope and appears to presume an unspecified typescript. Question marks of other typescripts differ from that shown in Fig.6, e.g., ? [Century Gothic], ? [Caveat] and ? [Harrington].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Pat.Pub.2023/0318370).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a motor cooling system comprising:
a cylindrical stator core 20 with a coil 30 wound to be fitted on an inner side thereof;
a housing 10 fitted on an outer side of the stator core to support a position of the stator core, and having an injection port 11 formed therethrough to inject a cooling fluid (oil); and
a cooling fluid spraying part (nozzle) 41 including a structure guiding the cooling fluid injected through the injection port 11 and flowing between the stator core 20 and the housing 10 to flow toward the coil 30 (Fig.31),
wherein the stator core 20 includes at least one first cooling passage that is a groove 22 formed in an outer surface of the stator core in an axial direction (¶[0161]; Fig.9),
the housing 10 includes at least one second cooling passage that is a groove 13 formed in an inner surface of the housing in a circumferential direction (Fig.3B),
the cooling fluid spraying part includes a nozzle ring (end cap) 41 coupled to one end of the housing, and the nozzle ring 41 includes a first fluid spraying hole (nozzles) 411 guiding the cooling fluid flowing from the at least one first cooling passage to pass through the first fluid spraying hole 411 toward the coil in a direction away from the at least one second cooling passage (groove) 13 (Fig.33).
Regarding claim 3, the stator core 20 includes two or more cooling lines 22, each including two or more first cooling passages 22a-22c formed adjacent to one another, and the cooling lines are disposed to be spaced apart from one another at predetermined intervals in the circumferential direction (Fig.9).
Regarding claim 4, the cooling fluid spraying part 41 includes a nozzle ring 411 coupled to one end of the housing 10, and the nozzle ring includes: a fixing portion (not numbered) coupled to one end of the inner surface of the housing 10; a fluid storage portion (oil channel) 103 having one end integrally formed with the fixing portion and another end in contact with one end surface of the stator core; and a fluid spraying hole 411 formed through the fluid storage portion (¶[0176]-¶[0177]; Figs.21-25).
Regarding claim 5, the cooling fluid spraying part includes a core support end formed at one end of the housing 10, and the core support end includes: a first support end extending from the inner surface of the housing 10 in a radial direction; a second support end extending from a distal end of the first support end in the axial direction; and a second fluid spraying hole 421 formed through at least one of the first support end or the second support end (Figs.36-38).
Regarding claim 13, the first fluid spraying hole is formed at a position of the fluid storage portion protruding highest in the axial direction toward the coil with respect to the fixing portion (Fig.38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cathey (US 3,531,668) in view of Lui.
Regarding claim 1, Cathey teaches a motor cooling system comprising:
a cylindrical stator core 19 with a coil 29 wound to be fitted on an inner side thereof; a housing 11 fitted on an outer side of the stator core to support a position of the stator core, and having an injection port 27 formed therethrough to inject a cooling fluid (abstract); and a cooling fluid spraying part including a structure (cavity) 26 guiding the cooling fluid injected through the injection port and flowing between the stator core and the housing to flow toward the coil, wherein the stator core 19 includes at least one first cooling passage that is a groove formed in an outer surface of the stator core in an axial direction (defined by labyrinth elements or ribs 34 and 36 which may be formed on stator assembly 19; c.3:14-15)…,
the cooling fluid spraying part includes a nozzle ring (retaining member) 21 coupled to one end of the housing, and the nozzle ring includes a first fluid spraying hole (orifice) 28 guiding the cooling fluid flowing from the at least one first cooling passage to pass through the first fluid spraying hole toward the coil in an angled direction (c.2:50-53; Fig.1).
Cathey’s housing 11 does not include “at least one second cooling passage that is a groove formed in an inner surface of the housing in a circumferential direction”.
But, Liu teaches a motor including a housing 10 with an oil filling port 11 and at least one second cooling passage that is a (connecting) groove 13 formed in an inner surface 12 of the housing 10 in a circumferential direction (Fig.2), so that the coolant injected from the oil filling port 11 can circumferentially flow in the housing 10 and can be diffused to each circumferential location of the outer surface of the stator core 20 therethrough ([0140]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Cathey’s housing with at least one second cooling passage that is a groove formed in an inner surface of the housing in a circumferential direction since Liu teaches this would have enabled coolant injected from the oil filling port 11 to circumferentially flow in the housing 10 and diffuse to each circumferential location of the outer surface of the stator core 20
Further, in the combination, Cathey’s angled fluid spraying holes are directed away from the at least one second cooling passage/groove 13 of Liu.
Regarding claim 3, Cathey teaches the stator core includes two or more cooling lines, each including two or more first cooling passages formed adjacent to one another, and the cooling lines are disposed to be spaced apart from one another at predetermined intervals in the circumferential direction (c.3:14-15; Fig.2)
Regarding claim 4, Cathey teaches the cooling fluid spraying part includes a nozzle ring 21 coupled to one end of the housing 10 (at 61), and the nozzle ring includes: a fixing portion coupled to one end of the inner surface of the housing 10; a fluid storage portion (reservoirs) 38 having one end integrally formed with the fixing portion and another end in contact with one end surface of the stator core; the first fluid spraying hole 28 formed through the fluid storage portion (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 5, Cathey teaches the cooling fluid spraying part includes a core support end formed at one end of the housing, and the core support end includes: a first support end 21 extending from the inner surface of the housing 11 in a radial direction; a second support end 22 extending from a distal end of the first support end in the axial direction; and a second fluid spraying hole 28 formed through at least one of the first support end or the second support end (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Cathey teaches the fixing portion (at 61) of the nozzle ring 21 is coupled to the one end of the inner surface of the housing by being inserted into a groove formed on the inner surface of the housing (i.e., threads, c.3:67-69; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Cathey teaches the first fluid spraying hole 28 is formed at a position of the fluid storage portion 38 protruding highest in the axial direction toward the coil with respect to the fixing portion (Fig.1).
Claim 6, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui in view of Endo et al. (US 11,920,673).
Regarding claim 6, Yang’s cooling fluid spraying part further includes an extending support portion (spray ring) 4 fitted between the stator core 21 and the housing 1 while covering an outer surface of the stator core (Fig.1), but does not further teach a terminal bus bar including a first coupling portion coupled to the housing and a second coupling portion coupled to the coil…, the extending support portion having one end coupled to the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion of the terminal bus bar.
But, Endo teaches an electric drive including a cooling system, a housing 14, a stator core 31 with a coil 32, a terminal bus bar 52 including a first coupling portion 53 coupled to the housing 14 and a second coupling portion (not numbered) coupled to the coil (c.9:59-c.10:5; Fig.1). The terminal bus bar inputs and outputs electric power to and from the windings of the stator coil (c.10:1-5).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Yang with
a terminal bus bar including a first coupling portion coupled to the housing and a second coupling portion coupled to the coil since Endo teaches the terminal bus bar would have been desirable to input and output electric power to and from the windings of the stator coil. Further, in the combination, Yang’s the extending support portion 4 would having one end coupled to the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion of the terminal bus bar of Endo.
Claim 7, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziskovsky et al. (US 12,049,925) in view of Endo et al. (US 11,920,673).
Regarding claim 7, Ziskovsky teaches a motor cooling system comprising:
a cylindrical stator core 302 with a coil 344 wound to be fitted on an inner side thereof;
a housing 318 fitted on an outer side of the stator core to support a position of the stator core, and having an injection port 320 formed therethrough to inject a cooling fluid;
and a cooling fluid spraying part (spray ring) 326 including a structure guiding the cooling fluid injected through the injection port 320 and flowing between the stator core 302 and the housing 318 to flow toward the coil (i.e., in clearance 301 surrounding stator),
wherein the cooling fluid spraying part 326 further includes an extending support portion fitted between the stator core 302 and the housing 318 while covering an outer surface of the stator core (Fig.3),
wherein the extending support portion includes: a cylindrical first extension (radial surface) 418 extending to cover the outer surface of the stator core 302; and a second extension (axial surface) 414 disposed…to cover and protect an area where the coil 344 is provided, and the second extension 414 is formed to be concave inwardly from the first extension (i.e., second extension has smaller diameter than first extension; Fig.6).
Ziskovsky does not appear to teach “first and second coupling portions” [sic] (i.e., of a terminal bus bar, for instance).
But, Endo teaches an electric drive including a cooling system, a housing 14, a stator core 31 with a coil 32, a terminal bus bar 52 including a first coupling portion 53 coupled to the housing 14 and a second coupling portion (not numbered) coupled to the coil (c.9:59-c.10:5; Fig.1). The terminal bus bar couplings input and output electric power to and from the windings of the stator coil (c.10:1-5).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to further provide Ziskovsky with “first and second coupling portions” (i.e., a terminal bus bar) since Endo teaches the terminal bus bar would have been desirable to input and output electric power to and from the windings of the stator coil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach the claimed motor cooling system including, inter alia,
“an inner surface of the first extension contacting the stator core includes a curved surface to match the outer surface of the stator core, and an outer surface of the first extension [431] contacting the housing [200] is formed to be gradually inclined to the stator core toward a distal end of the first extension” (claim 8, Figs.8-9), or
“wherein the stator core further includes a support groove [120] formed to be concave from the outer surface of the stator core and extending in a circumferential direction, and the first extension [431] includes a protrusion [433] protruding from an inner surface thereof to correspond to the support groove” (claim 10, Fig.9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834