DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2024 and 06/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (2012/0147452, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display module (Figure 3, 200, organic light-emitting display device), comprising a composite light-emitting layer (210, display unit; [0049]), an electronic ink layer (220, ink layer), and a cover plate layer disposed in sequence (230, transparent window), wherein the electronic ink layer comprises a plurality of capsule bodies (225, capsule), and the plurality of capsule bodies are arranged along a plane on which the cover plate layer is located (Figure 3), wherein a first electrode (224, auxiliary electrode) and a second electrode (223, main electrode) are provided on a periphery of a capsule body (Figure 3 depicts 224, auxiliary electrode, directly on a periphery of 225, capsule, and 223, main electrode, indirectly on a periphery of 225, capsule), the first electrode is a transparent electrode and is disposed parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 4 depicts light passing through 224, auxiliary electrode, and is parallel to 230, transparent window), and the second electrode is disposed perpendicular to the cover plate layer (Figure 4 depicts 223, main electrode, to be perpendicular to 230, transparent window); and ink particles are accommodated in the capsule body (220a, ink particles); in a case that a voltage is applied to the first electrode, the ink particles are distributed along the first electrode and the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer (Figure 3; [0048, 0058]); and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied to the composite light-emitting layer, the ink particles are distributed along the second electrode and the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer (Figure 4; [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of second electrodes are provided (Figure 3 depicts a left 223, main electrode, and a right 223, main electrode), the plurality of second electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 3 depicts 223, main electrode, is parallel to 230, transparent window), and the second electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses an electronic device (Figure 3), comprising a display module (Figure 3, 200, organic light-emitting display device); wherein the display module comprises a composite light-emitting layer (210, display unit; [0049]), an electronic ink layer (220, ink layer), and a cover plate layer disposed in sequence (230, transparent window), wherein the electronic ink layer comprises a plurality of capsule bodies (225, capsule), and the plurality of capsule bodies are arranged along a plane on which the cover plate layer is located (Figure 3), wherein a first electrode (224, auxiliary electrode) and a second electrode (223, main electrode) are provided on a periphery of a capsule body (Figure 3 depicts 224, auxiliary electrode, directly on a periphery of 225, capsule, and 223, main electrode, indirectly on a periphery of 225, capsule), the first electrode is a transparent electrode and is disposed parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 4 depicts light passing through 224, auxiliary electrode, and is parallel to 230, transparent window), and the second electrode is disposed perpendicular to the cover plate layer (Figure 4 depicts 223, main electrode, to be perpendicular to 230, transparent window); and ink particles are accommodated in the capsule body (220a, ink particles); in a case that a voltage is applied to the first electrode, the ink particles are distributed along the first electrode and the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer (Figure 3; [0048, 0058]); and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied to the composite light-emitting layer, the ink particles are distributed along the second electrode and the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer (Figure 4; [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein a plurality of second electrodes are provided (Figure 3 depicts a left 223, main electrode, and a right 223, main electrode), the plurality of second electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 3 depicts 223, main electrode, is parallel to 230, transparent window), and the second electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2012/0147452, of record) in view of Kaihotsu (Examiner provided machine translation of WO 2014147731 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the display module according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of second cathodes and second anodes arranged alternately parallel to the cover plate layer, wherein the capsule body is provided between a second cathode and a second anode that are adjacent. Park and Kaihotsu are related because both teach a display module.
Kaihotsu teaches a display module wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of second cathodes (Figure 12, 9, side electrodes; Figure 12 depicts negative side electrodes) and second anodes arranged alternately parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 12, 9, side electrodes; Figure 12 depicts positive side electrodes alternately disposed with the negative side electrodes), wherein the capsule body is provided between a second cathode and a second anode that are adjacent (Figure 12 depicts 7, microcapsules, disposed between a positive side electrode and a negative side electrode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Kaihotsu and provide wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of second cathodes and second anodes arranged alternately parallel to the cover plate layer, wherein the capsule body is provided between a second cathode and a second anode that are adjacent. Doing so would allow for improved versatility of the display device by increasing the gradation and number of modes the display device is capable of operating.
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of second cathodes and second anodes arranged alternately parallel to the cover plate layer, wherein the capsule body is provided between a second cathode and a second anode that are adjacent. Park and Kaihotsu are related because both teach an electronic device.
Kaihotsu teaches a display module wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of second cathodes (Figure 12, 9, side electrodes; Figure 12 depicts negative side electrodes) and second anodes arranged alternately parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 12, 9, side electrodes; Figure 12 depicts positive side electrodes alternately disposed with the negative side electrodes), wherein the capsule body is provided between a second cathode and a second anode that are adjacent (Figure 12 depicts 7, microcapsules, disposed between a positive side electrode and a negative side electrode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Kaihotsu and provide wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of second cathodes and second anodes arranged alternately parallel to the cover plate layer, wherein the capsule body is provided between a second cathode and a second anode that are adjacent. Doing so would allow for improved versatility of the display device by increasing the gradation and number of modes the display device is capable of operating.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2012/0147452, of record) in view of Zhang (2016/0238917).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the display module according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a plurality of first electrodes are provided, the plurality of first electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer, and the first electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively; and the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, a hole transport layer, and a fifth anode layer stacked sequentially, and the fifth anode layer is a transparent anode layer and is disposed on a side of the composite light-emitting layer facing the electronic ink layer. Park and Zhang are related because both teach a display module.
Zhang teaches a display module wherein a plurality of first electrodes are provided (Figure 1, 106, third transparent electrode layer; Figure 1 depicts a plurality of electrodes comprising 106, third transparent electrode layer), the plurality of first electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 1 depicts 106, third transparent electrode layer, is parallel to 107, fourth substrate), and the first electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively (Figure 1 depicts 106, third transparent electrode layer, corresponds to 1092, micro-capsule); and the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer (116, cathode), an electron transport layer (115, electron transport layer), an organic light-emitting layer (114, light emitting layer; [0044]), a hole transport layer (113, hole transport layer), and a fifth anode layer stacked sequentially (112, anode), and the fifth anode layer is a transparent anode layer and is disposed on a side of the composite light-emitting layer facing the electronic ink layer (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Zhang and provide wherein a plurality of first electrodes are provided, the plurality of first electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer, and the first electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively; and the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, a hole transport layer, and a fifth anode layer stacked sequentially, and the fifth anode layer is a transparent anode layer and is disposed on a side of the composite light-emitting layer facing the electronic ink layer. Doing so would allow for a compact and efficient display device with multiple transmission states.
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, but fails to teach wherein a plurality of first electrodes are provided, the plurality of first electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer, and the first electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively; and the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, a hole transport layer, and a fifth anode layer stacked sequentially, and the fifth anode layer is a transparent anode layer and is disposed on a side of the composite light-emitting layer facing the electronic ink layer. Park and Zhang are related because both teach an electronic device.
Zhang teaches a display module wherein a plurality of first electrodes are provided (Figure 1, 106, third transparent electrode layer; Figure 1 depicts a plurality of electrodes comprising 106, third transparent electrode layer), the plurality of first electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 1 depicts 106, third transparent electrode layer, is parallel to 107, fourth substrate), and the first electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively (Figure 1 depicts 106, third transparent electrode layer, corresponds to 1092, micro-capsule); and the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer (116, cathode), an electron transport layer (115, electron transport layer), an organic light-emitting layer (114, light emitting layer; [0044]), a hole transport layer (113, hole transport layer), and a fifth anode layer stacked sequentially (112, anode), and the fifth anode layer is a transparent anode layer and is disposed on a side of the composite light-emitting layer facing the electronic ink layer (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Zhang and provide wherein a plurality of first electrodes are provided, the plurality of first electrodes are arranged parallel to the cover plate layer, and the first electrodes are corresponding to the capsule bodies, respectively; and the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, a hole transport layer, and a fifth anode layer stacked sequentially, and the fifth anode layer is a transparent anode layer and is disposed on a side of the composite light-emitting layer facing the electronic ink layer. Doing so would allow for a compact and efficient display device with multiple transmission states.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2012/0147452, of record) in view of Zhang (2016/0238917), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Klement et al. (2018/0059499).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Park discloses the display module according to claim 9, but fails to teach wherein a transparent insulating layer is further provided between the composite light-emitting layer and the electronic ink layer. The modified Park and Klement are related because each teach a display module.
Klement teaches a display module wherein a transparent insulating layer is further provided between the composite light-emitting layer and the electronic ink layer (Figures 3 and 4, 410, electrically insulating element, is provided between 106, organic light emitting diode layer, and 109, electrophoretic capsules).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Klement and provide wherein a transparent insulating layer is further provided between the composite light-emitting layer and the electronic ink layer. Doing so would allow for electrical isolation to be provided between electrode structures, thereby reducing unwanted interference.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2012/0147452, of record) in view of Kaihotsu (Examiner provided machine translation of WO 2014147731 A1) in view of Zhang (2016/0238917).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the display module according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first electrode comprises a first cathode layer and a first anode layer spaced apart, the first cathode layer and the first anode layer are both disposed parallel to the cover plate layer, and the plurality of capsule bodies are all disposed between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer; the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer, and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies; in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer; and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer. Park and Kaihotsu are related because both teach a display module.
Kaihotsu teaches a display module wherein the first electrode comprises a first cathode layer (Figure 1, left most 7, microcapsule, configuration depicts 3, upper surface electrode to be negative) and a first anode layer spaced apart (Figure 1, left most 7, microcapsule, configuration depicts 2, lower surface electrode to be positive), the first cathode layer and the first anode layer are both disposed parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 1, 3, upper surface electrode, and 2, lower surface electrode, are parallel to 8, surface layer), and the plurality of capsule bodies are all disposed between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer (7, microcapsule, is between 3, upper surface electrode, and 2, lower surface electrode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Kaihotsu and provide wherein the first electrode comprises a first cathode layer and a first anode layer spaced apart, the first cathode layer and the first anode layer are both disposed parallel to the cover plate layer, and the plurality of capsule bodies are all disposed between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer. Doing so would allow for improved versatility of the display device by increasing the gradation and number of modes the display device is capable of operating.
The modified Park fails to teach wherein the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer, and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies; in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer; and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer. The modified Park and Zhang are related because each teach a display module.
Zhang teaches a display module wherein the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer (Figure 1, 116, cathode), an electron transport layer (115, electron transport layer), an organic light-emitting layer (114, light emitting layer; [0044]), and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer (113, hole transport layer), and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies (106, third transparent electrode layer, is disposed between 113, hole transport layer, and 1092, micro-capsule); in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer (at least [0055]); and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer (at least [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Zhang and provide the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer, and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies; in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer; and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer. Doing so would allow for a compact and efficient display device with multiple transmission states.
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the first electrode comprises a first cathode layer and a first anode layer spaced apart, the first cathode layer and the first anode layer are both disposed parallel to the cover plate layer, and the plurality of capsule bodies are all disposed between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer; the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer, and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies; in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer; and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer. Park and Kaihotsu are related because both teach an electronic device.
Kaihotsu teaches an electronic device wherein the first electrode comprises a first cathode layer (Figure 1, left most 7, microcapsule, configuration depicts 3, upper surface electrode to be negative) and a first anode layer spaced apart (Figure 1, left most 7, microcapsule, configuration depicts 2, lower surface electrode to be positive), the first cathode layer and the first anode layer are both disposed parallel to the cover plate layer (Figure 1, 3, upper surface electrode, and 2, lower surface electrode, are parallel to 8, surface layer), and the plurality of capsule bodies are all disposed between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer (7, microcapsule, is between 3, upper surface electrode, and 2, lower surface electrode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Kaihotsu and provide wherein the first electrode comprises a first cathode layer and a first anode layer spaced apart, the first cathode layer and the first anode layer are both disposed parallel to the cover plate layer, and the plurality of capsule bodies are all disposed between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer. Doing so would allow for improved versatility of the display device by increasing the gradation and number of modes the display device is capable of operating.
The modified Park fails to teach wherein the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer, and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies; in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer; and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer. The modified Park and Zhang are related because each teach an electronic device.
Zhang teaches an electronic device wherein the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer (Figure 1, 116, cathode), an electron transport layer (115, electron transport layer), an organic light-emitting layer (114, light emitting layer; [0044]), and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer (113, hole transport layer), and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies (106, third transparent electrode layer, is disposed between 113, hole transport layer, and 1092, micro-capsule); in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer (at least [0055]); and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer (at least [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Zhang and provide the composite light-emitting layer comprises a fifth cathode layer, an electron transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, and a hole transport layer stacked sequentially toward the electronic ink layer, and the first anode layer is located between the hole transport layer and the plurality of capsule bodies; in a case that a voltage is applied between the first cathode layer and the first anode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the electronic ink layer; and in a case that a voltage is applied to the second electrode and a voltage is applied between the first anode layer and the fifth cathode layer, the display module is configured to perform displaying through the composite light-emitting layer. Doing so would allow for a compact and efficient display device with multiple transmission states.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6-8, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 2 and 13, along with the structural limitations positively recited in each respective independent claim, in a manner that would be appropriate under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. Claims 4 and 6-8 are dependent on claim 2, and are therefore objected to for at least the same reason. Claims 15, 17, and 18 are dependent on claim 13, and are therefore objected to for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cai (2024/0280871), Zhang (2020/0249528), Wang (2018/0284489), Shields (2013/0335809), and Amundson (2006/0038772) disclose relevant display modules.
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872