Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41-51, 55-56, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 2017/0028628 A1, hereinafter Evans) in view of Novikov (US 2014/0284832 A1, hereinafter Novikov).
With regards to claim 41, Evans teaches a method of printing and curing of thermoset resin (Abstract, ¶ 0006) comprising outputting a thermoset resin (110) from an outlet (112) (¶ 0052, Fig. 1-4). Evans teaches directing a stimulus (118) from a stimulation source (116) toward a portion of the output thermoset resin (Fig. 4) in which the stimulus is configured to heat the portion of the output thermoset resin to fully cure the portion of the output thermoset resin (¶ 0058, 0084-0085).
With respect to the term “fully cure” in the claim it is noted that applicant’s specification defines the term “fully cure” as used herein to refer to at least 96% cured (See ¶ 0037 of the specification as filed). Evans explicitly notes a difference between the states of less than full or fully cured and a final state of cure or fully cured (¶ 0084, 0202, 0430, Fig. 32B) and the fully cured recitation in Evans is interpreted to read upon the claim term “fully cure” as the full cure of Evans is a substantially complete and final cured state explicitly distinct in the reference from not full or partial cure.
Evans teaches moving both the output and the stimulation source during printing (Fig. 1, Fig. 21, ¶0059). Evans teaches determining the amount of curing energy or stimulus needed during printing in order to achieve a desired degree of cure based on the particular thermosetting resin used and teaches that active determination can include real-time sensed data (¶ 0088-0089). Evans teaches that the resin is fully cured after deposition and is not fully cured prior to deposition (Fig. 32A). Evans thus inherently includes a curing front where the material transitions from not fully cured to fully cured.
Evans does not explicitly teach that the feed rate and movement speed of the output and stimulation source are determined as a function of a rate at which the resin cures and an amount of heat (stimulus) being added such that the outlet (112) remains a predetermined distance from the curing front of the thermoset resin.
In a similar field of endeavor, Novikov (US 2014/0284832) teaches a method of 3D printing comprising printing and curing a thermoset resin (Abstract, ¶ 0009). Novikov acknowledges that the rate of feed of the thermoset material is predetermined (¶ 0010) and the rate of movement of the nozzle is determined (¶ 0012) based upon the curing time of the thermoset material such that the material is completely cured by the time the print head moves the distance equal to the width of the print head aperture. Novikov additionally teaches the use of a stimulus (optional heater 5) towards a downstream portion in order to control curing speed (¶ 0083) in which the heater is attached and thus movement of the output and simulation source are in tandem. Novikov acknowledges that should the rate of extrusion be too slow the material may solidify in the nozzle (¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have the feed rate and movement speed of the output and stimulation source be determined as a function of a rate at which the resin cures and an amount of heat (stimulus) being added such that the outlet (112) remains a predetermined distance from the curing front of the thermoset resin in Evans as discussed in Novikov as both relate to the printing of thermosetting resin in which there is consideration for the curing of the thermoset after exiting the nozzle or outlet presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so ensures that the material does not solidify within the nozzle as discussed in Novikov.
Regarding Claim 42, Evans teaches in [0356]-[0357] that the system and thus moving the output and the stimulation source is controlled by a computer controller, which is reasonably to characterize as a computer numerical control machine.
Regarding Claim 43, Evans teaches in [0052] that the thermoset resin is output from the outlet 112 of feeder 104 such that the feeder can be said to include a nozzle that defines the outlet.
Regarding Claim 44, Evans teaches in [0052] and [0110]-[0112] teaches that the thermoset resin is output from feeder 104 via outlet 112 wherein the outlet includes a roller 182 for directing the thermoset resin such that the feeder can be said to include a printhead.
Regarding Claim 45, Evans teaches in [0181] that the outlet 112 and stimulation source 116 are on the same pivoting arm, and thus can be said to be stationary relative to another when not pivoting to meet the claimed language.
Regarding Claim 46, Evans in [0093] discloses embodiments that include only one stimulation source.
Regarding Claim 47, Evans teaches in [0187]-[0188] that the stimulation source 116] is configured to trail outlet 112 when it moves to deliver curing energy to portion 124 directly exiting outlet 112, meeting the requirement that the portion of the output thermoset resin at which the stimulus is directed remains a predetermined distance from the outlet throughout extrusion of the thermoset resin.
Regarding Claim 48, Evans teaches in [0090] that the stimulus source may include a laser.
Regarding Claims 49-50, Evans teaches in [0092] that the stimulus source may include infrared or ultraviolet light.
Regarding Claim 51, Evans teaches in [0094] that the stimulus source may include visible light.
Regarding Claim 55, Evans teaches in [0060]-[0064] that the thermoset resin 106 includes an embedded reinforcing material 108.
Regarding Claim 56, Evans teaches in [0065] an embodiment with a single, and thus continuous, fiber as embedded reinforcing material 108.
Regarding Claim 60, Evans teaches throughout the disclosure, including in [0052], that the thermoset resin includes an epoxy.
Claims 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans and Novikov as applied to Claim 41 above, and further in view of Stockett et al. (US 2018/0207850 A1, hereinafter Stockett).
Regarding Claims 52 and 54, Evans and Novikov teach the method as applied above, but are silent about the possibility of using microwaves or ultrasonic waves as the stimulus.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Stockett teaches in [0018] that a known method of delivering stimulus to material being printed is with microwaves or ultrasonic waves, and thus it would have been obvious to use the known stimuli of microwaves or ultrasonic waves in the previous combination, since such a combination would be a simple substitution of one known stimulus for another to achieve the predictable result of stimulating the resin.
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans and Novikov as applied to Claim 41 above, and further in view of Tyler (US 2018/0235030 A1, hereinafter Tyler).
Regarding Claim 53, Evans and Novikov teach the method as applied above, but are silent about the possibility of using an electromagnet field as the stimulus.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Tyler teaches in [0029] that a known method of delivering heat to material being printed is with an electromagnetic field, and thus it would have been obvious to use the known stimulus of an electromagnetic field in the previous combination, since such a combination would be a simple substitution of one known stimulus for another to achieve the predictable result of stimulating the resin.
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans and Novikov as applied to Claim 55 above, and further in view of Barocio et al. (US 2019/0366639 A1, hereinafter Barocio).
Regarding Claim 57, Evans and Novikov teach the method as applied above, but are silent about the possibility of using discontinuous fibers as the embedded reinforcing material.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Barocio teaches in [0024] that discontinuous fibers are a known alternative to continuous fibers for reinforcement of thermosetting resins, and thus it would have been obvious to use the known alternative of discontinuous fibers in the previous combination, since such a combination would be a simple substitution of one known reinforcement for another to achieve the predictable result of reinforcing the resin.
Claims 58 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans and Novikov as applied to Claims 55 and 41 above, respectively, and further in view of Beyerle et al. (US 2019/0337220 A1, hereinafter Beyerle et al.).
Regarding Claim 58, Evans and Novikov teach the method as applied above, but are silent about the possibility of using nanoparticles as the embedded reinforcing material.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Beyerle teaches in [0037]-[0039] that nanocomposites are a known additive to thermosetting resins to achieve differing absorption or structural properties, and thus it would have been obvious to use the known additive of nanoparticles in the previous combination in order to achieve differing absorption or structural properties, with the effect of the additive including the nanoparticles comprising embedded reinforcing material.
Regarding Claim 61, Evans and Novikov teach the method as applied above, but are silent about the possibility of the thermoset resin including a polyurethane.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Beyerle teaches in [0037] that polyurethane is a known thermoset resin alternative to epoxy for use in 3D printingm and thus it would have been obvious to use the known polyurethane in the previous combination since such a combination would be a simple substitution of one known resin for another to achieve the predictable result thermoset 3D printing.
Claims 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans and Novikov as applied to Claims 55 and 41 above, respectively, and further in view of Warner et al. (US 2017/0251713 A1, hereinafter Warner).
Regarding Claim 59, Evans and Novikov teach the method as applied above, but are silent about the possibility of the thermoset resin including a cyclic olefin.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Warner teaches in [0022] that cyclic olefins are a known thermoset resin alternative to epoxy for use in 3D printing, and thus it would have been obvious to use a known cyclic olefin, such as dicyclopentadiene, in the previous combination since such a combination would be a simple substitution of one known resin for another to achieve the predictable result thermoset 3D printing.
Double Patenting
Claims 41-61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,993,018 in view of Evans.
Regarding Claim 41, Claim 1 of ‘018 teaches a device for printing and curing of thermoset resin in which the device comprises a feeder having an outlet for outputting a thermoset resin (line 3), a stimulation source structured to direct a stimulus toward a portion of the output thermoset resin that is downstream from the feeder in which the stimulus is configured to heat the portion of the output thermoset resin to fully cure the portion of the output thermoset resin (lines 4-8) and that the device is configured to have a feed rate of output of the thermoset resin from the outlet of the feeder and a movement speed of the CNC machine, which includes the stimulation source (line 9-10), be determined as a function of a rate at which the thermoset resin fully cures and an amount of heat being added to the portion of the thermoset resin by the stimulus such that the outlet of the feeder remains a predetermined distance from a curing front of the output thermoset resin (lines 11-19).
While Claim 1 of ‘018 teaches a device, the device’s claimed intended use is the printing and curing of the thermoset in a manner configured to have the predetermined distance as claimed. In a similar field of endeavor, Evans teaches that it is known in the art to use a device for printing and curing a thermoset resin for the method of printing and curing the thermoset resin and as such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the device of claim 1 of ‘018 to carry out printing and curing of the thermoset in the manner claimed as the intended use.
With regards to Claims 42-61, Claims 2-20 of ‘018 recite substantially the same limitations, respectively.
Conclusion
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743