DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murata et al. (US 20140104519).
Murata discloses polarizing plate with oriented protective layers. Concerning claim 1, Murata discloses an oriented polyester film as a protective layer, having a thickness of 50 microns and is stretched longitudinally 1.0 to 2.0 times and 4.0 times transversely, resulting in a refractive index in the bending direction (Nx) of 1.593 to 1.617, refractive index in the folding direction (Ny) of 1.680 to 1.698, and a refractive index in the thickness direction (Nz) of 1.502 to 1.513 (Table 1; Films A-D, F, H, and I). With respect to the density and the properties as claimed in claim 2, given that the films are formed from the same materials and in the same manner as that disclosed in the specification, the properties as claimed would be met by the films of Murata. Concerning claim 3, the film can further include an adhesive layer for attaching the layer to a polarizing film (para. 0057-0084). In regards to claim 4, the films as shown in Table 1 have a 3215 to 10200 (Table 1; Films A-D, F, H, and I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 20140104519) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 20080233312).
Murata discloses the above, including the thickness of the adhesive is 10 microns or less, which overlaps and includes the claimed range (para. 0086). The polarizer plate can further include at least one hard coating (para. 0091). With respect to claim 7, since the polyester film is stretched in the same ratios in the machine and transverse directions and is of the same material, the polyester film would have the claimed moduli of elasticity in the directions as specified. However, Murata is silent to the positioning of the hard coating and the thickness thereof.
Nakamura discloses a polarizing plate protective film. With respect to hard coat, Nakamura discloses an embodiment (FIG. 1B) that comprises a polyester protective layer (element 1) with a hard coat (element 3) on one side of the polyester protective layer and an adhesive layer (element 2) disposed on the other surface of the polyester protective layer, wherein the hard coat has a thickness of 1 to 30 microns (para. 0038-0072). Since the material, thickness, and hardness are the same as that claimed and disclosed, wherein the layer is in the same position as that disclosed, the haze would be within the claimed range. The functional layer provides improved mechanical properties to the protective laminate (para. 0063-0072). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the hard coat in the position as claimed and have the thickness as claimed, in order to achieve the above properties.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 20140104519) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 20080233312) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. (US 20150369981).
Murata and Nakamura disclose the above but are silent to use in a foldable display device.
Takeda discloses a polarizing plate having a similar structure to that claimed which can include a stretched polyester film and a hard coat, wherein the plate is used in a foldable display which can be a smart phone (para. 0002-0095). Such a structure provides polarizing plate that suppresses color change due to bending (para. 0015). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the structure of Murata and Nakamura in a foldable mobile device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11934226. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a polyester film having the claimed refractive indices and density, wherein the film has the same properties and has an adhesive layer and hard coating disposed on the either surface, wherein the film is used in a foldable device.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11899167. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims directed to a polyester film having the claimed refractive indices and density, wherein the film has the same properties and has an adhesive layer and hard coating disposed on the either surface, wherein the film is used in a foldable device.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11926720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a polyester film having the claimed refractive indices and density, wherein the film has the same properties and has an adhesive layer and hard coating disposed on the either surface, wherein the film is used in a foldable device..
Conclusion
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783