DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanche et al. (US 2018/0296383) in view of Sheffy (US 2015/0257921).
Regarding claim 1, Blanche et al. teaches a tissue treatment device (Fig. 1, male stimulatory device 100) comprising:
an elongate tubular assembly (Fig. 3; para. 0040, wherein the male stimulatory device 100 comprises an outer body tube 120 and an inner body tube 150) extending along an axis (see Annotated Figure 6) with an interior chamber (Fig. 3, inner body tube 150) having a proximal opening therein adapted for receiving a shaft of a penis of a patient (para. 0041; see Figs. 1 and 6, wherein the proximal end of the male stimulatory device 100, differentiated by the sealing ring 186, comprises an opening); and
a first acoustic energy emitter (see Annotated Figure 5) and a second acoustic energy emitter (see Annotated Figure 5), each on opposing sides of the interior chamber for delivering acoustic energy to opposing sides of said shaft (paras. 0042-0043; Figs. 3 and 5-6, ultrasonic transducers 156);
Blanche et al. fails to teach a sensor in the interior chamber for sensing a physiological parameter of the patient.
Sheffy teaches an analogous tissue treatment device comprising a sensor in the interior chamber for sensing a physiological parameter of the patient (paras. 0021, 0030, 0047-0048, 0080, and 0098; Fig. 1, pulse measuring elements 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the tissue treatment device of Blanche et al. with the physiological sensor of Sheffy. The data obtained from the pulse measuring components reflect the peripheral pulse of the penis, which is specific to the blood vessels. Consequently, the stimulation application may be adjusted based on these readings to optimize blood flow in the subject, thereby potentially improving erectile dysfunction (Sheffy, paras. 0014, 0021, 0030, 0047-0048, 0080, and 0098).
Annotated Figure 6
Annotated Figure 5
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,451. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is anticipated by the patent claim.
See table below for corresponding teachings of reference U.S. Patent No. 11,992,451.
Instant Application
11,992,451
Claim 1. A tissue treatment device comprising:
Claim 1, line 38
an elongate tubular assembly extending along an axis with an interior chamber having a proximal opening therein adapted for receiving a shaft of a penis of a patient; and
Claim 1, lines 39-41
a first acoustic energy emitter and a second acoustic energy emitter, each on opposing sides of the interior chamber for delivering acoustic energy to opposing sides of said shaft;
Claim 1, lines 42-46
a sensor in the interior chamber for sensing a physiological parameter of the patient.
Claim 1, lines 47-48
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Squicciarini (US 2009/0171144) teaches a therapeutic prosthetic device for women or men configured to transmit tactile sensations to the surface of a sex organ. The sensations are delivered through the controlled release of electrical energy. Chen et al. (CN 106726418) teaches a shock wave generating device configured to treat male erectile dysfunction wherein electromagnetic coils are incorporated into the interior space of the elongated cylindrical shock wave generating device. Alarcon (WO 2010042884) teaches an apparatus for generating sensations, the apparatus comprises an opening for a user’s body to be inserted and an actuator adapted to output a force. Furthermore, the apparatus comprises multiple sensors configured to collected biometric data.
/B.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791