Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US 2020/0227737 A1).
Claim 1: Yamada teaches a lithium ion secondary battery 1 [0021] comprising: a wound type electrode body 20 [0021] in which a negative electrode 40 [0021] including a negative electrode active material layer 44 ([0037] and [0053]) except for negative electrode collector 42 ([0037] and [0053]) exposed portions extending along one long side of a negative electrode collector 42 ([0037] and [0053]) and a positive electrode 30 [0021] including a positive electrode active material layer 34 [0028] except for positive electrode collector 32 [0028] exposed portions extending along one long side of a positive electrode collector 32 [0028] are wound with a separator 50 interposed between the negative electrode 40 and the positive electrode 30 [0028] (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3). The lithium ion secondary battery 1 meets the claimed secondary battery, the wound type electrode body 20 meets the claimed wound electrode body, the negative electrode 40 meets the claimed cathode plate, the negative electrode active material layer 44 meets the claimed cathode active material layer, the negative electrode collector 42 meets the claimed cathode current collector foil, the positive electrode 30 meets the claimed anode plate, the positive electrode active material layer 34 meets the claimed anode active material layer, the positive electrode collector 32 meets the claimed anode current collector foil.
Yamada teaches the secondary battery 1 comprises a battery case 10 that houses the wound electrode body 20 and an electrolytic solution (Fig. 1 and [0021]). Yamada teaches a negative electrode terminal 48 electrically connected with the negative electrode 40 [0044]. The negative electrode terminal 48 meets the claimed cathode current collector terminal. Yamada teaches a positive electrode terminal 38 electrically connected with the positive electrode 30 [0044]. The positive electrode terminal 38 meets the claimed anode cathode current collector terminal. Yamada further teaches insulating layer 36 provided in the regions of the negative electrode collector 42 exposed portions, (i.e., the insulation layer extends off the end of the negative electrode active material layer 44) [0053]. Yamada also teaches the insulating layer 36 is provided at the region which is some part of both sides of the surface of the positive electrode collector 32 and is adjacent to the positive electrode active material layer 34 (Fig. 3 and [0028]).
Claim 2: Yamada teaches the insulating layer 36 is provided at the region which is some part of both sides of the surface of the positive electrode collector 32 and is adjacent to the positive electrode active material layer 34 (Fig. 3 and [0028]). Yamada teaches insulating layer 36 provided in the regions of the negative electrode collector 42 exposed portions, (i.e., the insulation layer extends off the end of the negative electrode active material layer 44) [0053].
Claim 3: Yamada teaches the insulating layer 36 is provided at the region which is some part of both sides of the surface of the positive electrode collector 32 and is adjacent to the positive electrode active material layer 34 (Fig. 3 and [0028]). Yamada teaches insulating layer 36 provided in the regions of the negative electrode collector 42 exposed portions, (i.e., the insulation layer extends off the end of the negative electrode active material layer 44) [0053].
Claim 4: Yamada teaches the secondary battery 1 comprises separator 50 between the positive electrode 30 and the negative electrode 40 (Fig. 2 and [0043]); and this separator 50 meets the claimed second separator. Yamada teaches the secondary battery 1 further comprises another separator 50 that covers the negative electrode active material layer 44 (Fig. 2 and [0043]); and this separator 50 meets the claimed first separator.
Claim 5: Yamada teaches the battery case 10 is a rectangular case having a rectangular parallelepiped outer shape (Fig. 1). Yamada teaches the wound electrode body 20 has a flat rectangular parallelepiped outer shape (Fig. 2). Yamada teaches the negative electrode collector 42 exposed portions are stacked while projecting from the positive electrode 30 at one end; and the positive electrode collector 32 exposed portions are stacked while projecting from the negative electrode 40 at the other end (Fig. 3). Yamada teaches the wound electrode body 20 is housed in the battery case 10 with the direction of the winding axis WL corresponding to a width direction of the battery case 10 (Fig. 1 and [0021]).
Correspondence
BS
August 12, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785