DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (“Gao”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0306596).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a control apparatus comprising: a reception unit configured to receive a request for setting an optical communication route from a start point node to an end point node (fig. 8 node A receiving connection instruction from the NMS, paragraphs 0083-0084); and a control unit configured to set a route using a first core included in a plurality of cores of a multi core optical fiber (MCF) used in the start point node (fig. 8, node A and paragraphs 0085-0087), based on quality of an optical transmission route in each of the plurality of cores (paragraphs 0057-0059, 0063 and 0080, where the idle spectrum information reads on a quality of available bandwidth of a transmission route).
Regarding claim 2, Gao discloses the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit uses the first core in a first multi core optical fiber at a first section from the start point node to a relay node, and sets a route using a second core included in a plurality of cores of a second multi core optical fiber at a second section from the relay node to the end point node, based on quality of an optical transmission route in each of the plurality of cores (paragraphs 0085-0096, each section core selected based on the respective idle spectrum information).
Regarding claim 3, Gao discloses the control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the control unit sets a route being capable of transmitting an optical signal with the same wavelength from the start point node to the end point node (paragraphs 0085-0096 in light of paragraphs 0057-0059, for the case of available spectrum at the transmission wavelength for each section).
Regarding claim 5, Gao discloses the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit estimates quality of the optical transmission route, based on a usage situation of each of a plurality of cores of the multi core optical fiber (paragraphs 0057-0059, 0063 and 0080, where the idle spectrum information for each core reads on a usage situation of each core).
Regarding claim 6, Gao discloses a control method comprising: receiving a request for setting an optical communication route from a start point node to an end point node (fig. 8 node A receiving connection instruction from the NMS, paragraphs 0083-0084); and setting a route using a first core included in a plurality of cores of a multi core optical fiber (MCF) used in the start point node (fig. 8, node A and paragraphs 0085-0087), based on quality of an optical transmission route in each of the plurality of cores (paragraphs 0057-0059, 0063 and 0080, where the idle spectrum information reads on a quality of available bandwidth of a transmission route).
Regarding claim 7, Gao discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute processing (paragraph 0142) of: receiving a request for setting an optical communication route from a start point node to an end point node (fig. 8 node A receiving connection instruction from the NMS, paragraphs 0083-0084); and setting a route using a first core included in a plurality of cores of a multi core optical fiber (MCF) used in the start point node (fig. 8, node A and paragraphs 0085-0087), based on quality of an optical transmission route in each of the plurality of cores (paragraphs 0057-0059, 0063 and 0080, where the idle spectrum information reads on a quality of available bandwidth of a transmission route).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0306596) in view of Oda et al. (“Oda”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0375579).
Regarding claim 4, Gao discloses the control apparatus according to claim 1, and discloses having signal quality information at each node location for the cores connected to that node (paragraph 0063) but does not disclose that quality of the optical transmission route is an optical signal to noise ratio measured at the end point node. Oda discloses selecting core in multicore fiber transmission based on a signal quality including the options of signal strength and noise (fig. 1 and paragraph 0211). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure and add signal to noise ratio information to the available spectrum information at each node, to provide the benefit of selecting spectrum based on noise impact for a particular core and/or section of spectrum not just the availability or not of that core and/or spectrum of bandwidth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0063807
US Patent No. 9660762
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634