DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 2022/0334310 Yu et al. (‘Yu hereafter), App 17/232567; Filed 04/16/2021
U.S. 2004/0025333 Hirose et al. (‘Hirose hereafter), App 10/356464; Filed 02/03/2003;
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 10 are currently being examined.
No Claims have been canceled.
Claims 3 is objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, recites: “a metal having an etching property different from that of copper (Cu).” The mechanical material properties of a metal are: tensile strength, hardness, elasticity, ductility, malleability, toughness, brittleness, thermal conductivity, thermal expansion, melting point. The electrical properties are: electrical conductivity and insulation. The chemical properties are: corrosion resistance and reactivity. The physical and optical properties are: Density, transparency/ opacity, and magnetism. Applicant is unclear as to what property they are claiming.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2 4 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0334310 Yu et al. (‘Yu hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2004/0025333 Hirose et al. (‘Hirose hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Yu discloses all the claim limitations including: A method of manufacturing a printed circuit board (‘Yu, Abst, “Semiconductor devices and methods of forming the semiconductor devices are described herein. A method includes providing a first material layer between a second material layer and a semiconductor substrate and forming a first waveguide in the second material layer. The method also includes forming a photonic die over the first waveguide and forming a first cavity in the semiconductor substrate and exposing the first layer. Once formed, the first cavity is filled with a first backfill material adjacent the first layer. The methods also include electrically coupling an electronic die to the photonic die. Some methods include packaging the semiconductor device in a packaged assembly.”), comprising:
forming a plurality of pads (‘Yu, Para 0030, “The conductive feature 121 may include conductive lines and vias, and may be formed by a damascene process, e.g., dual damascene, single damascene, or the like. In the topmost layer of the photonic die 117, conductive pads 123 are formed in the dielectric layers 119. A planarization process (e.g., a CMP process or the like) may be performed after forming the conductive pads 123 such that surfaces of the conductive pads 123 and the topmost dielectric layer 119 are substantially coplanar.”) and conductive patterns on a carrier substrate forming an on the carrier substrate (‘Yu, Para 0053, “ FIG. 4 additionally illustrates the placement of the first semiconductor die 401 onto the package substrate 407 adjacent the first optical engine 300. As such, the first semiconductor die 401 is electrically coupled through conductive features (e.g., microbumps, conductive traces, conductive vias, copper traces, combinations, or the like) of the package substrate 407.”),
the insulating layer embedding at least portions of each of the plurality of pads and the conductive patterns therein (‘Yu, Para 0030, “FIGS. 1A and 1B also show the formation of a series of conductive feature 121, dielectric layers 119, and contacts 113 that extend to the first TIVs 111 and the first photonic components 107 as part of a photonic die 117. In an embodiment the photonic die 117 comprises the dielectric layers 119 and contacts 113 and conductive feature 121 formed in the dielectric layers 119 that provide interconnections and optical/ electrical routing between the electronic die 115 and the first waveguide 105 and the first photonic components 107. For example, the photonic die 117 may electrically connect the first TIVs 111, the contacts 113 of the first photonic components 107, and overlying devices such as electronic die 115. The dielectric layers 119 may be, for example, insulating or passivating layers, and may include a material similar to those described above for the passivation layer 109, such as a silicon oxide, or may include a different material. The dielectric layers 119 may be formed using a technique similar to those described above for the passivation layer 109 or using a different technique. The conductive feature 121 may include conductive lines and vias, and may be formed by a damascene process, e.g., dual damascene, single damascene, or the like. In the topmost layer of the photonic die 117, conductive pads 123 are formed in the dielectric layers 119. A planarization process (e.g., a CMP process or the like) may be performed after forming the conductive pads 123 such that surfaces of the conductive pads 123 and the topmost dielectric layer 119 are substantially coplanar. The photonic die 117 may include more or fewer dielectric layers 119, conductive feature 121, or conductive pads 123 than shown in FIG. 1. The photonic die 117 may be formed having a thickness between about 4 μm and about 7 μm, in some embodiments. The photonic die 117 may also be referred to herein as a P-die or P-die layer.”);
removing the carrier substrate (‘Yu, Para 0083, “FIG. 12 illustrates the formation of a second waveguide material layer 1201 (e.g., silicon layer), according to some embodiments. The second waveguide material layer 1201 may be formed by initially removing the semiconductor substrate 103A and thinning the buried oxide layer 103B. According to some embodiments, the semiconductor substrate 103A may be removed using a planarization process such as a chemical mechanical planarization (CMP), grinding technique, etching process (e.g., wet etch), combinations, or the like. However, any suitable process may be used to remove the semiconductor substrate 103A. Furthermore, because the semiconductor substrate 103A is removed, formation of the first TIVs 111 may be omitted according to some embodiments. In other embodiments, the first TIVs 111 may be formed to extend through the passivation layer 109, the patterned silicon layer 103C and into and/or through the buried oxide layer 103B but not to extend into the semiconductor substrate 103A.”);
Except ‘Yu is silent regarding: forming a recess in the insulating layer by removing the conductive patterns.
However, ‘Hirose does teach: forming a recess in the insulating layer by removing the conductive patterns (‘Hirose, Para 0235, “An aspect of claim 46 enables smear taken place during an opening forming process to be dissolved and removed by performing a desmear process. Also the conductive metal foil is dissolved and removed at this time. Thus, the conductive metal foil is thinned. A first plating process is performed so that a thin plated layer is formed. Then, a second plating process is performed so that a thick plated layer is formed. As a result, only portions which will be formed into the conductive pattern are selectively thickened. Then, etching is performed so that the thin plated layer below the mask and the ground layer are removed. Thus, the conductive pattern is divided. In the present invention, both of the thin plated layer and the ground layer are thin layers. Therefore, the thickness which must be removed by etching performed in the conductive pattern dividing step is very small. Therefore, formation of a divergent shape of the conductive pattern formed by dividing does not easily occur. Thus, a fine pattern having a satisfactory shape can accurately be formed.” “opening forming process” is a recess. The conductive pattern is removed).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Yu with forming a recess by removing the conductive pattern as taught by ‘Hirose in order to provide an accurate fine pattern with a satisfactory shape (‘Hirose, Para 0235).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Yu and ‘Hirose discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the forming of the recess includes:
disposing a dry film on the insulating layer;
patterning the dry film; forming the recess by etching the conductive patterns using the patterned dry film as an etching mask layer; and removing the patterned dry film (‘Hirose, Para 0320, “A dry-film resist (NIT-215 manufactured by NichigoMoton) is applied to the copper foil 22, and then a mask is placed. Then, exposure is performed with 100 mJ/cm2 and a development process is performed by using 0.8% sodium carbonate. Thus, an etching resist 43 having an opening 43a formed in a portion in which the via hole will be formed is provided (see FIG. 3(I)).” Paras 0325, 0332, 0345, 0349, 0354).
Regarding Claim[s] 4, ‘Yu and ‘Hirose discloses all the claim limitations including:
after the forming of the recess (R), forming a passivation layer (225, 226) on the insulating layer (221); and patterning the passivation layer (225, 226), wherein at least a portion of the passivation layer (225, 226) extends to at least a portion of the recess (R) (‘Yu, Para 0028, “In accordance with some embodiments, a passivation layer 109 is formed on the front side of the BOX substrate 103. The passivation layer 109 is formed over the first waveguides 105 and the first photonic components 107 patterned into the silicon layer 103C and over the buried oxide layer 103B. The passivation layer 109 may be formed of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, a combination thereof, or the like, and may be formed by CVD, PVD, atomic layer deposition (ALD), a spin-on-dielectric process, the like, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the passivation layer 109 may be formed by a high density plasma chemical vapor deposition (HDP-CVD), a flowable CVD (FCVD) (e.g., a CVD-based material deposition in a remote plasma system and post curing to make it convert to another material, such as an oxide), the like, or a combination thereof. Other dielectric materials formed by any acceptable process may be used. In some embodiments, the passivation layer 109 is then planarized using a planarization process such as a chemical-mechanical polishing (CMP) process, a grinding process, or the like.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 5, ‘Yu and ‘Hirose discloses all the claim limitations including:
wherein a metal layer is disposed on at least one surface of the carrier substrate, and the plurality of pads (‘Yu, Para 0589, “Next, the substrate 30 is dipped for 20 minutes into an electroless nickel plating liquid of pH=4.5 constructed by nickel chloride 2.31.times.10.sup.-1 mol/l, sodium hypophosphite 2.8.times.10.sup.-1 mol/l and sodium citrate 1.85.times.10.sup.-1 mol/l. Thus, a nickel plating layer 72 having 5 .mu.m in thickness is formed in the opening portions 71U, 71D. Further, this substrate is dipped for 7 minutes and 20 seconds into an electroless gold plating liquid constructed by potassium gold cyanide 4.1.times.10.sup.-2 mol/l, ammonium chloride 1.87.times.10.sup.-1 mol/l, sodium citrate 1.16.times.10.sup.-1 mol/l and sodium hypophosphite 1.7.times.10.sup.-1 mol/l in a condition of 80.degree. C. Thus, a gold plating layer 74 having 0.03 .mu.m in thickness is formed on the nickel plating layer so that a soldering pad 75 is formed in the via hole 160 and the conducting circuit 158 (refer FIG. 26(S)).”),
the conductive pattern, and the insulating layer are disposed on the metal layer (‘Yu, Para 0007, “A method disclosed in Japanese Patent Publication No. 4-3676and using a "conformal mask" has the steps of previously forming a metal layer on an insulating resin layer; etching and removing the metal layer in the portion in which a via hole will be formed; and irradiating the opening with a laser beam so that only the insulating resin layer exposed through the opening is removed. The foregoing technique, which is capable of forming a plurality of via holes in the insulating resin layer, exhibits satisfactory productivity.”)
the method further comprising, after the removing of the carrier substrate, etching the metal layer (‘Yu, Para 0007).
Regarding Claim[s] 7, ‘Yu and ‘Hirose discloses all the claim limitations including: after the forming of the recess, forming a surface treatment layer on an upper surface of at least one of the plurality of pads,
wherein the surface treatment layer includes at least one of a nickel (Ni) layer and a gold (Au) layer (‘Yu, Para 0037, “In some embodiments, before performing the hybrid bonding process, a surface treatment is performed on the electronic dies 115. In some embodiments, the top surfaces of the photonic die 117 and/or the electronic dies 115 may first be activated utilizing, for example, a dry treatment, a wet treatment, a plasma treatment, exposure to an inert gas, exposure to H.sub.2, exposure to N.sub.2, exposure to O.sub.2, the like, or combinations thereof. However, any suitable activation process may be utilized. After the activation process, the photonic die 117 and/or the electronic dies 115 may be cleaned using, e.g., a chemical rinse. The electronic dies 115 are then aligned with the photonic die 117 and placed into physical contact with the photonic die 117. The electronic dies 115 may be placed on the photonic die 117 using a pick-and-place process, for example. The photonic die 117 and the electronic dies 115 may then be subjected to a thermal treatment and/or pressed against each other (e.g., applying contact pressure) to hybrid bond the photonic die 117 and the electronic dies 115. For example, photonic die 117 and the electronic dies 115 may be subjected to a pressure of about 200 kPa or less, and a temperature between about 200° C. and about 400° C. The photonic die 117 and the electronic dies 115 may then be subjected to a temperature at or above the eutectic point of the material of the conductive pads 123 and the die connectors 125, e.g., between about 150° C. and about 650° C. to fuse the conductive pads 123 and the die connectors 125. In this manner, bonding of photonic die 117 and the electronic dies 115 forms a hybrid bonded structure. In some embodiments, the hybrid bonded structure is baked, annealed, pressed, or otherwise treated to strengthen or finalize the bond.” Para 0045, “Once the first backfill structure 301 has been formed (e.g., in the front end fabrication processes), first external contacts 303 are formed electrically coupled to the first TIVs 111 as external connection to the first optical engine 300. In some embodiments, in these package fabrication processes, conductive pads may be formed on the first TIVs 111 exposed at the coplanar surface of the semiconductor substrate 103A. The conductive pads may be, for example, aluminum pads or aluminum-copper pads, although other metallic pads also may be used. In some embodiments, a passivation film may be formed on the semiconductor substrate 103A, covering the conductive pads. The passivation film may be formed from a dielectric material, such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, the like, or combinations thereof. Openings may be formed through the passivation film to expose central portions of the conductive pads. A process such as electroplating may be used to form underbump metallizations (UBMs) to the conductive pads and over the passivation film, in some embodiments. The UBMs may be formed from copper, a copper alloy, silver, gold, aluminum, nickel, the like, or combinations thereof. Once the UBMs have been formed, the first external contacts 303 may be attached to the UBMs.“ conductive pads may be gold, aluminum or nickel).
Regarding Claim[s] 8, ‘Yu discloses all the claim limitations including: A method of manufacturing a printed circuit board (‘Yu, Abst), comprising:
forming pads and conductive patterns spaced apart from each other on a carrier substrate (‘Yu, Paras 0030, 0053);
forming an insulating layer on the carrier substrate to fill spaces between the pads and the conductive patterns and covering the pads and the conductive patterns (‘Yu, Para 0022, “In some embodiments first through insulator vias (TIVs) 111 may be formed by initially forming via openings extending through one or more of the patterned silicon layer 103C, the buried oxide layer 103B, and into but not through the semiconductor substrate 103A. The via openings may be formed by acceptable photolithography and etching techniques, such as by forming and patterning a photoresist and then performing an etching process using the patterned photoresist as an etching mask. Once the via openings have been formed, a conductive material is formed in the via openings, thereby forming the first TIVs 111, in accordance with some embodiments. In some embodiments, a liner (not shown), such as a diffusion barrier layer, an adhesion layer, or the like, may be formed in the openings from TaN, Ta, TiN, Ti, CoW, or the like, and may be formed using suitable a deposition process such as ALD or the like. In some embodiments, a seed layer (not shown), which may include copper or a copper alloy may then be deposited in the via openings. The conductive material of the first TIVs 111 is formed in the via openings using, for example, electrochemical plating (ECP) or electro-less plating. The conductive material may include, for example, a metal or a metal alloy such as copper, silver, gold, tungsten, cobalt, aluminum, or alloys thereof. A planarization process, such as a CMP process or mechanical grinding may be performed to remove excess conductive material and planarize the first TIVs 111 with the chosen layer (e.g., the buried oxide layer 103B as illustrated, although any suitable layer may be chosen).”);
removing the carrier substrate (‘Yu, Para 0083); and
Except ‘Yu is silent regarding: removing the conductive patterns so as to form a plurality of ring provided by the insulating layer which the pads are respectively disposed in.
However, ‘Hirose does teach: removing the conductive patterns so as to form a plurality of ring provided by the insulating layer which the pads are respectively disposed in (‘Hirose, Para 0019, “With the conventional technique, the via hole is formed by drilling a through hole in the interlayer insulating resin layer and by disposing a metal film in the through hole. Hitherto, the through hole has been formed by employing photosensitive resin to constitute the interlayer insulating resin layer and by exposing a position corresponding to the through hole through a mask on which a black circle has been drawn to sensitize the interlayer insulating resin layer so as to dissolve the non-sensitized portion corresponding to the position of the black circle.” Para 0235 “An aspect of claim 46 enables smear taken place during an opening forming process to be dissolved and removed by performing a desmear process. Also the conductive metal foil is dissolved and removed at this time. Thus, the conductive metal foil is thinned. A first plating process is performed so that a thin plated layer is formed. Then, a second plating process is performed so that a thick plated layer is formed. As a result, only portions which will be formed into the conductive pattern are selectively thickened. Then, etching is performed so that the thin plated layer below the mask and the ground layer are removed. Thus, the conductive pattern is divided. In the present invention, both of the thin plated layer and the ground layer are thin layers. Therefore, the thickness which must be removed by etching performed in the conductive pattern dividing step is very small. Therefore, formation of a divergent shape of the conductive pattern formed by dividing does not easily occur. Thus, a fine pattern having a satisfactory shape can accurately be formed.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Yu with forming a recess by removing the conductive pattern to form rings as taught by ‘Hirose in order to provide a hole through a mask on a black circle to sensitize the interlayer insulating resin layer to dissolve the non-sensitized portion (‘Hirose, Para 0019).
Regarding Claim[s] 9, ‘Yu and ‘Hirose discloses all the claim limitations including: removing of the carrier substrate includes performing an over-etching of a metal layer of the carrier substrate, such that the pads and conductive patterns are etched to have a height less than the plurality of rings (‘Hirose, Para 0651, “Then, a drying process was performed at 70.degree. C. for 20 minutes and at 70 for 30 minutes. Then, a photomask film (not shown) on which a circle pattern (a mask pattern) has been drawn and which has a thickness of 5 mm was hermetically placed.” Para 0685, “Then, a solder bump is formed on the above-mentioned multilayered printed circuit board. The two sides of the substrate 30 obtained in the process (17) are coated with a solder-resist composition similar to that according to the fourth embodiment, the thickness of the solder-resist layer composition being 45 .mu.m. Then, exposure is performed so that a solder-resist layer (having a thickness of 20 .mu.m) 70 is formed which has an opening (having a diameter of 200 .mu.m) 71 in the solder pad portion (including the via hole and its land portion) (see FIG. 49(U)).” Pads are at a thickness of 20 .mu.m and the rings are at a thickness of 5 mm).
Regarding Claim[s] 10, ‘Yu and ‘Hirose discloses all the claim limitations including: aafter the forming of the plurality of rings, forming surface treatment layers respectively on the pads (‘Yu, Para 0037).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 3 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "before the forming of the recess, forming a passivation layer on the insulating layer; and patterning the passivation layer.”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Yu and ‘Hirose).
‘Yu and ‘Hirose do not teach the forming of the recess before forming the passivation layer on the insulating layer and patterning the passivation layer.
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. 2021/0035819 Chen et al. (‘Chen hereafter) - Integrated Circuit Package Pad And Methods Of Forming.
U.S. 2016/0358833 Soga et al. (‘Soga hereafter) - SEMICONDUCTOR APPARATUS, STACKED SEMICONDUCTOR APPARATUS, ENCAPSULATED STACKED-SEMICONDUCTOR APPARATUS, AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING THE SAME.
U.S. 2009/0053459 Hirose et al. (‘Hirose hereafter) - CONDUCTIVE CONNECTING PIN AND PACKAGE SUBSTRATE.
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
10/28/2026