DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morello et al. (US. 2023/0010967 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Morello teaches an electrical connector assembly (Fig. 2A), comprising:
a wire cable (100) having an elongate conductor (102) extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the elongate conductor (102) defines an exposed face arranged substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and wherein the exposed face has a surface area that is substantially equal to a cross sectional area of the elongate conductor (102); and an electrical terminal (208) having a contact face metallurgically welded to the exposed face of the elongate conductor (102).
In Regards to Claim 6:
Morello teaches the electrical connector assembly according to claim 1, wherein the wire cable (100) is a coaxial wire cable, wherein the elongate conductor (102) is a central conductor of the coaxial wire cable (100) and is surrounded by an inner insulator (104), wherein the inner insulator (104) is surrounded by a shield conductor (106), and wherein the central conductor extends beyond the inner insulator (104).
In Regards to Claim 7:
Morello teaches the electrical connector assembly according to claim 1, wherein the wire cable (100) is a coaxial wire cable, wherein the elongate conductor (102) is a central conductor of the coaxial wire cable (100) and is surrounded by an inner insulator (104), wherein the inner insulator (104) is surrounded by a shield conductor (106), and wherein the exposed face of the central conductor is flush with an end of the inner insulator (104).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance with regard to claim 9 Morello et al. (US. 2023/0010967 A1) teaches “A method of assembling an electrical connector, comprising: providing a wire cable having an elongate conductor extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the elongate conductor defines an exposed face arranged substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and having a surface area substantially equal to a cross sectional area of the elongate conductor; providing an electrical terminal having a contact face; placing a first welding probe in intimate mechanical and electrical contact with the elongate conductor and placing a second welding probe in intimate mechanical and electrical contact with the electrical terminal.” (Connector fig. 2A, elongate conductor 102, wire cable 100, and electrical terminal 208)
Morello et al. (US. 2023/0010967 A1). does not teach “placing the exposed face of the elongate conductor in intimate mechanical and electrical contact with the electrical terminal; and applying electrical power as a voltage across the first and second welding probes, thereby forming a welded metallurgical bond between the elongate conductor and the electrical terminal.”
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest these limitation as substantially described in claim 9, these limitations, in combination with remaining limitations of claim 9, are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record, therefore claim 9 is allowable.
Claims 10-20 are dependent on claim 9 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831