DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed July 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 13, 19, 21, 25, and 28 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-13, 18-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOGATE et al. (hereinafter Gogate) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0237578 A1) in view of YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0267573 A1), and further in view of Chu et al. (hereinafter Chu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0056974 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Gogate teaches and discloses a method wireless communications by an access point (AP) and an access point (AP) (AP, figures 1-2 and 11), comprising: a processing system (figure 2) that includes processor circuitry (control unit, figure 2) and memory circuitry (data storage, figure 2) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the AP to:
communicate with one or more stations (STAs) (stations, figure 1) via one or more wireless links (wireless links, figure 1) ([0027]; [0030]; “…wireless communication unit 220, which includes an antenna 222, may exchange data streams with the stations…”; teaches the AP communicates with a plurality of stations via wireless links; figure 1); and
selectively enable or disable a dynamic power saving mode of the AP based at least in part on one or more traffic characteristics associated with the one or more STAs or one or more device characteristics associated with the one or more STAs ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0063]; “…access point 1100 is configured to perform a comprehensive power consumption management scheme which involves one or more power save operations…access point 1100 can be configured to…enabling or disabling a power save operation, selecting a particular power save mode…”; [0071]; teaches enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations).
However, Gogate may not explicitly disclose a utility function that calculates an expected power save gain versus overhead increase using the one or more traffic characteristics or one or more device characteristics associated with the one or more STAs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches and suggests a utility function that calculates an expected power save gain versus overhead increase using the one or more traffic characteristics or one or more device characteristics associated with the one or more STAs ([0038]; “…the base-station energy-saving information includes at least one of the following: energy-saving information of a time domain, the energy-saving information of the time domain including energy-saving information of at least one time-domain energy-saving solution; energy-saving information of a frequency domain, the energy-saving information of the frequency domain including energy-saving information of at least one frequency-domain energy-saving solution; energy-saving information of a spatial domain, the energy-saving information of the spatial domain including energy-saving information of at least one spatial-domain energy-saving solution; energy-saving information of a power domain, the energy-saving information of the power domain including energy-saving information of at least one power-domain energy-saving solution; other energy-saving information of another domain other than the time domain, the frequency domain, the spatial domain, and the power domain, the other energy-saving information including energy-saving information of at least one another energy-saving solution…”; [0177]; “…the flexibility of indication of the base-station energy-saving information by jointly indication of dynamic signaling and all the information of indicating the energy-saving of the base station, and can further reduce the energy consumption of the base station and save the signaling overhead of the base station through the method of joint indication of dynamic signaling…”; [0309]; teaches the base station power/energy saving mode determines power saving in relation to signaling overhead using the traffic characteristics associated with a terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the base station power/energy saving mode determines power saving in relation to signaling overhead using the traffic characteristics associated with a terminal as taught by Yang with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate for the purpose of increasing the flexibility of indicating base-station energy-saving information and improve energy saving and signaling overhead, as suggested by Yang.
However, Gogate, as modified by Yang, may not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the one or more STAs, an indication of the dynamic power saving mode being enabled or disabled at the AP.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches and suggests transmitting, to the one or more STAs, an indication of the dynamic power saving mode being enabled or disabled at the AP ([0049]; “…AP power management modes 150 include active mode 152 and power saving (PS) mode…”; [0050]; [0051]; [0070]; [0093]; “…a basic service set (BSS) Operation Element receives an announcement indicating an AP's power management mode, e.g. Active mode or PS mode…”; teaches the AP transmits an announcement to the station indicating the power management, such as whether the power saving (PS) mode is enabled or disabled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the AP transmits an announcement to the station indicating the power management, such as whether the power saving (PS) mode is enabled or disabled as taught by Chu with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate, as modified by Yang, for the purpose of implementing power management in a wireless network, as suggested by Chu.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests monitoring one or more uplink transmissions from the one or more STAs, wherein the one or more traffic characteristics are based at least in part on monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0071]; teaches the AP monitoring uplink transmission from the stations and determines the traffic characteristics based on the uplink transmissions).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode according to a power savings metric associated with the dynamic power saving mode based at least in part on the one or more traffic characteristics and the utility function or the one or more device characteristics ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0063]; “…access point 1100 is configured to perform a comprehensive power consumption management scheme which involves one or more power save operations…access point 1100 can be configured to…enabling or disabling a power save operation, selecting a particular power save mode…”; [0071]; teaches enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations).
Regarding claim 4, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests wherein the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is selectively enabled or disabled based at least in part on the power savings metric associated with the dynamic power saving mode satisfying a threshold value ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0063]; “…access point 1100 is configured to perform a comprehensive power consumption management scheme which involves one or more power save operations…access point 1100 can be configured to…enabling or disabling a power save operation, selecting a particular power save mode…”; [0071]; teaches enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests wherein the one or more traffic characteristics include one or more of an average arrival time associated with communications between the AP and the one or more STAs, an average buffer size associated with communications between the AP and the one or more STAs, a type of traffic associated with communications between the AP and the one or more STAs, or any combination thereof ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0055]; “…the access point can be configured to adjust the buffer size in order to reduce the overall memory requirement…”; teaches traffic characteristics include the buffer size).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is further based at least in part on a quantity of STAs associated with a first traffic characteristic of the one or more traffic characteristics satisfying a threshold quantity ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0039]; teaches enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Gogate teaches and discloses a method for wireless communications by an access point (AP) and an access point (AP) (AP, figures 1-2 and 11), comprising: a processing system (figure 2) that includes processor circuitry (control unit, figure 2) and memory circuitry (data storage, figure 2)that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the AP to:
communicate with one or more stations (STAs) (stations, figure 1) via one or more wireless links (wireless links, figure 1) in accordance with a dynamic power saving mode ([0027]; [0030]; “…wireless communication unit 220, which includes an antenna 222, may exchange data streams with the stations…”; [0063]; “…access point 1100 is configured to perform a comprehensive power consumption management scheme which involves one or more power save operations…access point 1100 can be configured to…enabling or disabling a power save operation, selecting a particular power save mode…”; teaches the AP communicates with a plurality of stations via wireless links; figure 1); and
monitor, while communicating with the one or more STAs in accordance with the dynamic power saving mode, one or more uplink transmissions from the one or more STAs ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0071]; teaches the AP monitoring uplink transmission from the stations and determines the traffic characteristics based on the uplink transmissions).
However, Gogate may not explicitly disclose a utility function that calculates an expected power save gain versus overhead increase using the one or more traffic characteristics or one or more device characteristics associated with the one or more STAs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches and suggests a utility function that calculates an expected power save gain versus overhead increase using the one or more traffic characteristics or one or more device characteristics associated with the one or more STAs ([0038]; “…the base-station energy-saving information includes at least one of the following: energy-saving information of a time domain, the energy-saving information of the time domain including energy-saving information of at least one time-domain energy-saving solution; energy-saving information of a frequency domain, the energy-saving information of the frequency domain including energy-saving information of at least one frequency-domain energy-saving solution; energy-saving information of a spatial domain, the energy-saving information of the spatial domain including energy-saving information of at least one spatial-domain energy-saving solution; energy-saving information of a power domain, the energy-saving information of the power domain including energy-saving information of at least one power-domain energy-saving solution; other energy-saving information of another domain other than the time domain, the frequency domain, the spatial domain, and the power domain, the other energy-saving information including energy-saving information of at least one another energy-saving solution…”; [0177]; “…the flexibility of indication of the base-station energy-saving information by jointly indication of dynamic signaling and all the information of indicating the energy-saving of the base station, and can further reduce the energy consumption of the base station and save the signaling overhead of the base station through the method of joint indication of dynamic signaling…”; [0309]; teaches the base station power/energy saving mode determines power saving in relation to signaling overhead using the traffic characteristics associated with a terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the base station power/energy saving mode determines power saving in relation to signaling overhead using the traffic characteristics associated with a terminal as taught by Yang with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate for the purpose of increasing the flexibility of indicating base-station energy-saving information and improve energy saving and signaling overhead, as suggested by Yang.
However, Gogate, as modified by Yang, may not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the one or more STAs, an indication of a change in one or more parameters of the dynamic power saving mode, the change being based at least in part on monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches and suggests transmitting, to the one or more STAs, an indication of a change in one or more parameters of the dynamic power saving mode, the change being based at least in part on monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions ([0049]; “…AP power management modes 150 include active mode 152 and power saving (PS) mode…”; [0050]; [0051]; [0070]; [0093]; “…a basic service set (BSS) Operation Element receives an announcement indicating an AP's power management mode, e.g. Active mode or PS mode…”; teaches the AP transmits an announcement to the station indicating the power management, such as whether the power saving (PS) mode is enabled or disabled, based on the monitoring of uplink transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the AP transmits an announcement to the station indicating the power management, such as whether the power saving (PS) mode is enabled or disabled as taught by Chu with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate, as modified by Yang, for the purpose of implementing power management in a wireless network, as suggested by Chu.
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests receiving, while in an active mode of the dynamic power saving mode, the one or more uplink transmissions from the one or more STAs, wherein monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions is based at least in part on the AP being in the active mode of the dynamic power saving mode ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0071]; teaches the AP monitoring uplink transmission from the stations and determines the traffic characteristics based on the uplink transmissions).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests wherein monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions comprises: monitoring one or more parameters of the one or more uplink transmissions that are received while in the active mode of the dynamic power saving mode ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0063]; “…access point 1100 is configured to perform a comprehensive power consumption management scheme which involves one or more power save operations…access point 1100 can be configured to…enabling or disabling a power save operation, selecting a particular power save mode…”; [0071]; teaches enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests selecting a respective parameter set from one or more parameter sets for the dynamic power saving mode based at least in part on a power savings metric for each parameter set of the one or more parameter sets, wherein the indication of the change in the one or more parameters of the dynamic power saving mode is based at least in part on selecting the respective parameter set from the one or more parameter sets ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0063]; “…access point 1100 is configured to perform a comprehensive power consumption management scheme which involves one or more power save operations…access point 1100 can be configured to…enabling or disabling a power save operation, selecting a particular power save mode…”; [0071]; teaches enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations).
Regarding claim 18, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, further teaches and suggests wherein the change of the one or more parameters of the dynamic power saving mode comprises a change in a quantity of receive chains, a change in a bandwidth, a change in a modulation and coding scheme, a change in a quantity of spatial streams, a change in a physical layer mode, or any combination thereof for a listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode ([0064]; teaches changing parameter of the dynamic power saving mode).
Claims 7, 8, 9, 15-17, 24, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOGATE et al. (hereinafter Gogate) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0237578 A1) in view of YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0267573 A1) and Chu et al. (hereinafter Chu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0056974 A1), and further in view of Nayak et al. (hereinafter Nayak) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0373344 A1)
Regarding claims 7 and 24, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, discloses enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics, but may not explicitly disclose receiving, from the one or more STAs, one or more capability messages associated with the one or more STAs, wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is further based at least in part on the one or more capability messages.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nayak teaches and suggests receiving, from the one or more STAs, one or more capability messages associated with the one or more STAs, wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is further based at least in part on the one or more capability messages ([0106]; [0116]; [0117]; [0206]; teaches capability message/advertisement of the stations and selecting power saving mode based on the capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate capability message/advertisement of the stations and selecting power saving mode based on the capabilities as taught by Nayak with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, for the purpose of implementing power management in a wireless network in order to reduce latency and increase throughput, as suggested by Nayak.
Regarding claim 8, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, discloses enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics, but may not explicitly disclose wherein, to receive the one or more capability messages, the processing system is configured to cause the AP to: receive, via the one or more capability messages from the one or more STAs, an indication of whether each STA of the one or more STAs is capable of supporting the dynamic power saving mode, wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is further based at least in part on the one or more capability messages indicating that each STA of the one or more STAs are capable of supporting the dynamic power saving mode.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nayak teaches and suggests wherein, to receive the one or more capability messages, the processing system is configured to cause the AP to: receive, via the one or more capability messages from the one or more STAs, an indication of whether each STA of the one or more STAs is capable of supporting the dynamic power saving mode, wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is further based at least in part on the one or more capability messages indicating that each STA of the one or more STAs are capable of supporting the dynamic power saving mode ([0106]; [0116]; [0117]; [0206]; teaches capability message/advertisement of the stations and selecting power saving mode based on the capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate capability message/advertisement of the stations and selecting power saving mode based on the capabilities as taught by Nayak with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, for the purpose of implementing power management in a wireless network in order to reduce latency and increase throughput, as suggested by Nayak.
Regarding claim 9, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, discloses enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics, but may not explicitly disclose wherein, to receive the one or more capability messages, the processing system is configured to cause the AP to: receive, from a first STA of the one or more STAs, an indication that the first STA is unable to support the dynamic power saving mode, wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is based at least in part on whether the AP is capable of supporting multi-link operations with the first STA that is unable to support the dynamic power saving mode and with a second STA of the one or more STAs that is capable of supporting the dynamic power saving mode.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nayak teaches and suggests wherein, to receive the one or more capability messages, the processing system is configured to cause the AP to: receive, from a first STA of the one or more STAs, an indication that the first STA is unable to support the dynamic power saving mode, wherein selectively enabling or disabling the dynamic power saving mode of the AP is based at least in part on whether the AP is capable of supporting multi-link operations with the first STA that is unable to support the dynamic power saving mode and with a second STA of the one or more STAs that is capable of supporting the dynamic power saving mode ([0106]; [0116]; [0117]; [0206]; teaches capability message/advertisement of the stations and selecting power saving mode based on the capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate capability message/advertisement of the stations and selecting power saving mode based on the capabilities as taught by Nayak with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, for the purpose of implementing power management in a wireless network in order to reduce latency and increase throughput, as suggested by Nayak.
Regarding claims 15 and 29, Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, discloses enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics, but may not explicitly disclose receiving, while in a listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode, the one or more uplink transmissions from the one or more STAs, wherein monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions is based at least in part on the AP being in the listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nayak teaches and suggests receiving, while in a listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode, the one or more uplink transmissions from the one or more STAs, wherein monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions is based at least in part on the AP being in the listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode ([0099]; [0101]; [0128]; [0136]; [0137]; teaches the AP in a listen mode/state and receiving uplink transmission from the stations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the AP in a listen mode/state and receiving uplink transmission from the stations as taught by Nayak with the method and apparatus for enabling and disabling power save operations of the AP based on traffic characteristics associated with the stations as disclosed by Gogate, as modified by Yang and Chu, for the purpose of implementing power management in a wireless network in order to reduce latency and increase throughput, as suggested by Nayak.
Regarding claims 16 and 30, Gogate, as modified by Yang, Chu, and Nayak, further teaches and suggests wherein monitoring the one or more uplink transmissions comprises: monitoring a packet error rate of the one or more uplink transmissions received while in the listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0071]; teaches the AP monitoring uplink transmission from the stations and determines the traffic characteristics based on the uplink transmissions).
Regarding claim 17, Gogate, as modified by Yang, Chu, and Nayak, further teaches and suggests wherein transmitting the indication of the change of the one or more parameters of the dynamic power saving mode is based at least in part on an average packet error rate of the one or more uplink transmissions received while in the listen mode of the dynamic power saving mode satisfying a packet error rate threshold ([0036]; “…the access point determines proximity of the associated stations…the access point can use transmit power control (TPC) algorithm, which is typically used to prevent undesirable interferences between two or more neighboring BSSs. The access point measures a packet error rate (PER) of each associated station…”; [0071]; teaches the AP monitoring uplink transmission from the stations and determines the traffic characteristics based on the uplink transmissions).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 8, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0267573 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
September 17, 2026