DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rungta et al. (US 20200106564, Rungta hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Rungta discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (see at least paragraph [0018], a memory.); and
one or more processors (see at least paragraph [0018], a processor.) coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
receive a configuration identifying a first uplink resource for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) reporting and a second uplink resource for channel state information (CSI) reports (see at least paragraph [0175], UE is configured a first PUCCH resource for HARQ responses 1922 (i.e., an ACK 1 resource), a second PUCCH resource for a first CSI 1924 (i.e., a CSI 1 resource).).
receive a downlink communication associated with reporting HARQ-ACK in the first uplink resource (see at least paragraph [0083], a HARQ-ACK is transmitted with respect to a PDSCH transmission.); and
transmit, via the second uplink resource, the HARQ-ACK multiplexed with one or more CSI reports based at least in part on a determination that the first uplink resource and the second uplink resource are in a same sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH and transmit the PUCCH to the BS via one of the PUCCH resources (one of the resources interpreted as second uplink resource). Furthermore, see at least paragraphs [0123], [0127], when a UE has both a HARQ response and CSI to send in a slot and the individual PUCCH resources for HARQ response and CSI overlap in time (HARQ response and CSI overlap in time interpreted as same slot), in addition, a slot can have sub-slot or mini-slot, (see paragraph [0111]).).
As to claim 2: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta further discloses wherein the UE does not expect the HARQ-ACK to be moved to another sub-slot due to multiplexing the HARQ-ACK and the one or more CSI reports (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH. When multiplexing HARQ-ACK will not move to another slot.).
As to claim 3: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit HARQ-ACK information in a sub-slot on an uplink resource configured for HARQ-ACK reporting based at least in part on the HARQ-ACK information being associated with multiplexing with CSI reports in another sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0010], multiplexing the HARQ response and the first CSI report in the PUCCH; and transmitting the PUCCH to the BS via a third PUCCH resource that corresponds to the PUCCH.).
As to claim 4: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: refrain from transmitting HARQ-ACK information based at least in part on the HARQ-ACK information being associated with multiplexing with CSI reports in another sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0011], the PUCCH includes the HARQ response multiplexed with the first CSI report; and demultiplexing (interpreted as not transmitting) the first CSI report and the HARQ response from the PUCCH.).
As to claim 5: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that the HARQ-ACK is to be multiplexed with one or more CSI reports on the second uplink resource (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH and transmit the PUCCH to the BS via one of the PUCCH resources (one of the resources interpreted as second uplink resource).).
As to claim 7: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta further discloses wherein the first uplink resource is a first physical uplink control channel resource and the second uplink resource is a second physical uplink control channel resource (see at least paragraph [0175], UE is configured a first PUCCH resource for HARQ responses 1922 (i.e., an ACK 1 resource), a second PUCCH resource for a first CSI 1924 (i.e., a CSI 1 resource).).
As to claim 8: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta further discloses wherein the configuration is a radio resource control configuration (see at least paragraph [0115], configuration is a radio resource control.).
As to claim 9: Rungta discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration identifying a first uplink resource for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) reporting and a second uplink resource for channel state information (CSI) reports (see at least paragraph [0175], UE is configured a first PUCCH resource for HARQ responses 1922 (i.e., an ACK 1 resource), a second PUCCH resource for a first CSI 1924 (i.e., a CSI 1 resource).);
receiving a downlink communication associated with reporting HARQ-ACK in the first uplink resource (see at least paragraph [0083], a HARQ-ACK is transmitted with respect to a PDSCH transmission.); and
transmitting, via the second uplink resource, the HARQ-ACK multiplexed with one or more CSI reports based at least in part on a determination that the first uplink resource and the second uplink resource are in a same sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH and transmit the PUCCH to the BS via one of the PUCCH resources (one of the resources interpreted as second uplink resource). Furthermore, see at least paragraphs [0123], [0127], when a UE has both a HARQ response and CSI to send in a slot and the individual PUCCH resources for HARQ response and CSI overlap in time (HARQ response and CSI overlap in time interpreted as same slot), in addition, a slot can have sub-slot or mini-slot, (see paragraph [0111]).).
As to claim 10: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta further discloses wherein the UE does not expect the HARQ-ACK to be moved to another sub-slot due to multiplexing the HARQ-ACK and the one or more CSI reports (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH. When multiplexing HARQ-ACK will not move to another slot.).
As to claim 11: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta further discloses further comprising: transmitting HARQ-ACK information in a sub-slot on an uplink resource configured for HARQ-ACK reporting based at least in part on the HARQ-ACK information being associated with multiplexing with CSI reports in another sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0010], multiplexing the HARQ response and the first CSI report in the PUCCH; and transmitting the PUCCH to the BS via a third PUCCH resource that corresponds to the PUCCH.).
As to claim 12: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta further discloses further comprising: refraining from transmitting HARQ-ACK information based at least in part on the HARQ-ACK information being associated with multiplexing with CSI reports in another sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0011], the PUCCH includes the HARQ response multiplexed with the first CSI report; and demultiplexing (interpreted as not transmitting) the first CSI report and the HARQ response from the PUCCH.).
As to claim 13: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta further discloses further comprising: determining that the HARQ-ACK is to be multiplexed with one or more CSI reports on the second uplink resource (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH and transmit the PUCCH to the BS via one of the PUCCH resources (one of the resources interpreted as second uplink resource).).
As to claim 15: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta further discloses wherein the first uplink resource is a first physical uplink control channel resource and the second uplink resource is a second physical uplink control channel resource (see at least paragraph [0175], UE is configured a first PUCCH resource for HARQ responses 1922 (i.e., an ACK 1 resource), a second PUCCH resource for a first CSI 1924 (i.e., a CSI 1 resource).).
As to claim 16: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta further discloses wherein the configuration is a radio resource control configuration (see at least paragraph [0115], configuration is a radio resource control.).
As to claim 17: Rungta discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to:
receive a configuration identifying a first uplink resource for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) reporting and a second uplink resource for channel state information (CSI) reports (see at least paragraph [0175], UE is configured a first PUCCH resource for HARQ responses 1922 (i.e., an ACK 1 resource), a second PUCCH resource for a first CSI 1924 (i.e., a CSI 1 resource).);
receive a downlink communication associated with reporting HARQ-ACK in the first uplink resource (see at least paragraph [0083], a HARQ-ACK is transmitted with respect to a PDSCH transmission.); and
transmit, via the second uplink resource, the HARQ-ACK multiplexed with one or more CSI reports based at least in part on a determination that the first uplink resource and the second uplink resource are in a same sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH and transmit the PUCCH to the BS via one of the PUCCH resources (one of the resources interpreted as second uplink resource). Furthermore, see at least paragraphs [0123], [0127], when a UE has both a HARQ response and CSI to send in a slot and the individual PUCCH resources for HARQ response and CSI overlap in time (HARQ response and CSI overlap in time interpreted as same slot), in addition, a slot can have sub-slot or mini-slot, (see paragraph [0111]).).
As to claim 18: Rungta discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17. Rungta further discloses wherein the UE does not expect the HARQ-ACK to be moved to another sub-slot due to multiplexing the HARQ-ACK and the one or more CSI reports (see at least paragraph [0135] and Fig. 9, the UE multiplexing a HARQ response to a transmission from the BS and the first CSI report in a PUCCH. When multiplexing HARQ-ACK will not move to another slot.).
As to claim 19: Rungta discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17. Rungta further discloses wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the UE to: transmit HARQ-ACK information on an uplink resource in a sub-slot configured for HARQ-ACK reporting based at least in part on the HARQ-ACK information being associated with multiplexing with CSI reports in another sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0010], multiplexing the HARQ response and the first CSI report in the PUCCH; and transmitting the PUCCH to the BS via a third PUCCH resource that corresponds to the PUCCH.).
As to claim 20: Rungta discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17. Rungta further discloses wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the UE to: refrain from transmitting HARQ-ACK information based at least in part on the HARQ-ACK information being associated with multiplexing with CSI reports in another sub-slot (see at least paragraph [0011], the PUCCH includes the HARQ response multiplexed with the first CSI report; and demultiplexing (interpreted as not transmitting) the first CSI report and the HARQ response from the PUCCH.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rungta et al. (US 20200106564, Rungta hereinafter) in view of Gao et al. (US 20220369347, Gao hereinafter).
As to claim 6: Rungta discloses the UE of claim 1. Rungta do not explicitly disclose wherein the downlink communication is a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel communication.
However Gao discloses wherein the downlink communication is a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel communication (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043] and [0095]-[0097], Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) HARQ-ACK (that is, a HARQ-ACK corresponding to a SPS PDSCH).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SPS PDSCH, as taught by Gao, into the invention of Rungta in order to reduce transmission delay (see Gao, paragraph [0088]).
As to claim 14: Rungta discloses the method of claim 9. Rungta do not explicitly disclose wherein the downlink communication is a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel communication.
However Gao discloses wherein the downlink communication is a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel communication (see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0043] and [0095]-[0097], Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) HARQ-ACK (that is, a HARQ-ACK corresponding to a SPS PDSCH).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SPS PDSCH, as taught by Gao, into the invention of Rungta in order to reduce transmission delay (see Gao, paragraph [0088]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aiba et al. (US 20190349147) discloses User Equipments, Base Stations And Methods For Uplink Control Information Multiplexing In Uplink.
Li et al. (US 20210152317) discloses Method And Apparatus For Allocating PUCCH Resources To HARQ-ACK And CSI Transmissions.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464