DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: debulking element in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Debulking element is interpreted as a debulking basket, basket or functional equivalents, optionally expanded within the clot material to separately mobilize portions of the clot material proximal to the coring basket (See applicant’s Specification at p. 2, l. 30- p. 3, l. 1 and p. 3, l. 11- 12).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
9. The thrombectomy system of claim 1, wherein the at least one debulking element is at least one self-expanding debulking basket and comprises:
a fenestrated structure extending between a proximal collar and a distal collar, the fenestrated structure defining a plurality of openings permitting fluid flow through the debulking element while capturing solid material within the self-expanding debulking basket;
wherein the proximal collar is fixedly attached to the inner catheter and the distal collar is slidably attached to the inner catheter, wherein the distal collar slides distally along the inner catheter when the self-expanding debulking basket is radially constrained to collapse the self-expanding debulking basket and slides proximally along the inner catheter to expand the self-expanding debulking basket.
15. The thrombectomy system of claim 13, further comprising:
an adjustable basket having a fenestrated structure extending between an additional proximal collar and an additional distal collar;
wherein:
the additional proximal collar is attached to a distal end of the outer catheter and the additional distal collar is attached to a distal end of the inner catheter;
the expandable brush element is distal to the adjustable basket;
the fenestrated structure comprises a body portion having a plurality of struts for engaging clot material and defining flow openings permitting fluid flow through the fenestrated structure; and
the body portion defines a mouth at a proximal end of the body portion and a closed distal end tapering to the distal collar.
19. The thrombectomy system of claim 13, wherein the expandable brush element comprises: a first radially projecting disc having a first outer diameter; and a second radially projecting disc having a second outer diameter; wherein the first outer diameter is different from the second outer diameter.
20. The thrombectomy system of claim 19, wherein: the first outer diameter is about 12 to 14 mm and the second outer diameter is about 8 to 12 mm; and the expandable brush element is expandable to an outer diameter of about 16 mm
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
9. The thrombectomy system of claim 1, wherein the at least one debulking element is at least one self-expanding debulking basket and comprises:
a fenestrated structure extending between a proximal collar and a distal collar, the fenestrated structure defining a plurality of openings permitting fluid flow through the debulking element while capturing solid material within the self-expanding debulking basket;
wherein the proximal collar is fixedly attached to the inner catheter and the distal collar is slidably attached to the inner catheter, wherein the distal collar slides distally along the inner catheter when the self-expanding debulking basket is radially constrained to collapse the self-expanding debulking basket and slides proximally along the inner catheter to expand the self-expanding debulking basket.
15. The thrombectomy system of claim 13, further comprising:
an adjustable basket having a fenestrated structure extending between an additional proximal collar and an additional distal collar;
wherein:
the additional proximal collar is attached to a distal end of the outer catheter and the additional distal collar is attached to a distal end of the inner catheter;
the expandable brush element is distal to the adjustable basket;
the fenestrated structure comprises a body portion having a plurality of struts for engaging clot material and defining flow openings permitting fluid flow through the fenestrated structure; and
the body portion defines a mouth at a proximal end of the body portion and a closed distal end tapering to the distal collar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13- 14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konya et al. (US Pat. No. 6,146,396). Konya is cited in the IDS filed 8/07/24.
Regarding claim 13, Konya discloses a thrombectomy system for mechanically engaging clot, comprising:
an inner catheter (14) (Figs. 1- 9B);
an outer catheter (12) (Figs. 1- 7, 9A- 9B) defining an outer lumen, wherein the inner catheter (14) is slidably received within the outer lumen such that the inner catheter (14) is slidable relative to the outer catheter (12);
an expandable brush element (16) (Fig. 5) positioned between a proximal collar (22) and a distal collar (24), wherein the proximal collar (22) is attached to a distal end of the outer catheter (12) and the distal collar (24) is attached to a distal end of the inner catheter (14); and
wherein the expandable brush element (16) is radially expanded by sliding the inner catheter (14) in a proximal direction relative to the outer catheter (12) and is radially collapsed by sliding the inner catheter (14) in a distal direction relative to the outer catheter (12) (Col. 11, l. 10- 11, Col. 9, l. 7- 22 - - Turning now to FIG. 5, there is shown a declotting apparatus 10 similar in design to the apparatus shown in FIG. 4; Turning now to FIG. 4, there is shown a declotting apparatus 10 that includes a catheter 12, a member 14, a plurality of deformable members 30, a proximal portion 22, a distal portion 24, a guidewire 15 having an angled portion 17, and a pair of clips 32. The operation of the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4 is similar to that of the embodiments illustrated in FIG. 1, FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 in that the distance between proximal portion 22 and distal portion 24 may be modified so as to expand or contract the plurality of deformable members 30. More particularly, the distance may be modified to bow the plurality of deformable members 30 as the distance is reduced, and to compress the plurality of deformable members 30 as the distance is increased. The distance between proximal portion 22 and distal portion 24 may be changed by sliding catheter 12 relative to member 14 (or vice versa)).
Regarding claim 14, Konya further discloses further comprising a handle assembly (40) (Figs. 7- 10) operably connected to the inner catheter (14) to slide the inner catheter (14) in the proximal direction and the distal direction (Col. 6, l. 67- Col. 7, l. 3, Co. 11, 62- 65 - - It is to be understood that in other embodiments, member 14 may be moved relative to catheter 12 so as to achieve a similar effect upon deformable jacket 16; The embodiment of FIG. 7 is similar to the embodiments described previously, but in FIG. 7 it is demonstrated that a sliding agent 40 may be designed so as to slide catheter 12 relative to member 14; it is noted that Konya discloses an embodiment in which member 14 may be moved relative to catheter 12 in a similar manner as the sliding of catheter 12).
Regarding claim 16, Konya further discloses further comprising: a procedural guidewire (15) (Figs. 4- 6, 9A- 9B);
wherein the inner catheter (14) further defines an inner lumen for slidably receiving the procedural guidewire (15) (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Konya further discloses wherein the expandable brush element (16) comprises a braided body having at least one radially projecting disc (See Fig. 5) (Col. 8, l. 42- 52 - - deformable jacket 16 may be made from a braided mesh stainless steel … the deformable jacket 16 may be constructed from nitinol, or suitable plastic materials (e.g., nylon) In one embodiment, deformable jacket 16 may be meshed to facilitate the maceration of clots. In one embodiment, the relative rough outer surface of the braided stainless steel mesh makes the apparatus especially suitable for clot maceration and hemodialysis graft applications).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konya et al. (US Pat. No. 6,146,396) in view of Clark (US Pub. No. 2020/0323547 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Konya discloses the apparatus of claim 13, Konya further disclosing wherein the inner catheter (14) comprises: a tip (32) positioned on the distal end of the inner catheter (14), but Konya does not explicitly disclose
(claim 17) a tapered dilator tip as claimed.
However, Clark teaches a thrombectomy system for mechanically engaging a clot in the same field of endeavor (P. [0087])
(claim 17) a tapered dilator tip (21b) positioned on the distal end of the elongate wire (10);
wherein the dilator tip (21b) tapers radially from a larger diameter proximal end of the dilator (21b) to a smaller diameter distal end of the dilator (21b) (Ps. [0074], [0079] - - As shown in the figures, according to some implementations the distal collar 21 includes a curved/rounded atraumatic end 21b ; the outer surface of the distal end 21b of the distal collar is curved to minimize tissue injury when the retriever 20 is maneuvered through the vasculature of the patient).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the distal collar of the inner catheter associated with Konya wherein the distal collar is a tapered dilator tip positioned on the distal end of the inner catheter and wherein the dilator tip tapers radially from a larger diameter proximal end of the dilator to a smaller diameter distal end of the dilator according to the teachings of Clark because it would allow the device associated with Konya to be maneuvered through the vasculature of the patient with minimal tissue injury (Clark - - Ps. [0074], [0079]).
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 1- 8, 10 and 11- 12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination with the remainder of the claim limitations, an adjustable basket having a fenestrated structure extending between a proximal collar and a distal collar, wherein the proximal collar is attached to a distal end of the outer catheter and the distal collar is attached to a distal end of the inner catheter; at least one debulking element positioned on the outer catheter proximal to the adjustable basket; and wherein the fenestrated structure is radially expanded by sliding the inner catheter in a first direction relative to the outer catheter and is radially collapsed by sliding the inner catheter in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the outer catheter.
The closest prior art references include:
Wijeratne (US Pub. No. 2008/0147110 A1) teaches an inner catheter (320) (Figs. 4A- 4D) and an outer catheter (310) (Figs. 4A- 4D), but since the inner catheter (320) extends from proximal collar 130 to distal collar 134 (P. [0040]), Wijeratne does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, wherein the inner catheter is slidably received within the outer catheter lumen such that the inner catheter is slidable relative to the outer catheter.
Bonnette et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0268264 A1 - -cited in the IDS filed 8/07/24) teaches a guidewire (22) (Figs. 1- 2, 4- 48); an outer catheter (12) (Figs. 1- 2, 4- 48) defining an outer catheter lumen, wherein the guidewire is slidably received within the outer catheter lumen such that the guidewire is slidable relative to the outer catheter, but Bonnette does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, an inner catheter; an outer catheter defining an outer catheter lumen, wherein the inner catheter is slidably received within the outer catheter lumen such that the inner catheter is slidable relative to the outer catheter; an adjustable basket having a fenestrated structure extending between a proximal collar and a distal collar, wherein the proximal collar is attached to a distal end of the outer catheter and the distal collar is attached to a distal end of the inner catheter.
Besselink (US Pub. No. 2019/0223995 A1) teaches a reverse-type device placed on the distal side of the operator such that the filter is placed in a direction where the blood flows towards the operator such that when a filter is placed upstream, it is moved in a direction against the blood flow (Abstract) including: an inner catheter (195) (Figs. 8a, 8d); an outer catheter (197) (Figs. 8a- 8c) defining an outer catheter lumen, wherein the inner catheter (195) is slidably received within the outer catheter lumen such that the inner catheter (195) is slidable relative to the outer catheter (197); an adjustable basket (181) (Figs. 8a, 8b) having a fenestrated structure extending between a proximal collar (191) (Figs. 8a, 8b) and a distal collar (192) (Figs. 8a, 8b), wherein the proximal collar (191) is attached to a distal end of the outer catheter (197) and the distal collar (192) is attached to a distal end of the inner catheter (195) (Ps. [0067], [0068] - - Mounting the filter on a single filter holder tube has one disadvantage. Upon collapsing, the conical filter membrane, the frame itself and the retrieval wires all will get a larger axial length and therefore the membrane will get creased somehow; Therefore a slightly different design is showed in FIGS. 8a-e, where rings 192 and 191 are not mounted on the same filter holder tube. Ring 192 still connects the retrieval wires to the distal end of a smaller filter holder tube 195, but ring 191 connects the tip of the filter membrane 190 directly to an additional outer tube 197 that can move back and forth over the surface of the filter holder tube 195. Both tubes 195 and 197 have proximal manipulator rings 198 and 196, respectively. The operator can pull the two rings 198 and 196 close to each other to stretch the filter and make withdrawal into the sheath 130 easier and prevent creasing of the membrane). Besselink does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, at least one debulking element positioned on the outer catheter proximal to the adjustable basket; and wherein the fenestrated structure is radially expanded by sliding the inner catheter in a first direction relative to the outer catheter and is radially collapsed by sliding the inner catheter in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the outer catheter.
Ganske et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0063821 A1 - - cited in the IDS filed 8/07/24) teaches a catheter shaft (134) defining a catheter shaft lumen (136); an adjustable basket (126A) having a fenestrated structure extending between a proximal collar (132) and a distal collar (128); at least one debulking element (126B) positioned proximal to the adjustable basket (126) (P. [0074] - - the filter assembly 124 can comprise at least two component filter baskets 126A, 126B connected by an intermediate collar 132. In at least one embodiment, the filter baskets 126A, 126B and intermediate collar 132 include a unitary fenestrated body, such as a laser cut hypotube. The intermediate collar 132 is, in one example, movably coupled along the catheter shaft 134), but Ganske does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, an inner catheter; an outer catheter defining an outer catheter lumen, wherein the inner catheter is slidably received within the outer catheter lumen such that the inner catheter is slidable relative to the outer catheter.
Conclusion
/KANKINDI RWEGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771