DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
There are no amendments in claims, but arguments.
For claim 1, Applicant argues:
a) D1/Gholmieh ”is silent towards the element of partitioning a frequency bandwidth, as recited in claim 1, and is more particularly silent to the element of making such a partition based on an evaluation of channel configuration measures” (last full para of p3), and Gunasekara appears to be directed towards monitoring of partitioned communication links and the transmission of notifications when interference is detected” in [0069] (last para of p3), and the motivation of combining Gholmieh & Gunasekara is not reasonable to OOSA (p4, 2nd and 3rd paras).
b) Applicant submits that Gholmieh is directed towards providing additional data throughput for a single device or user equipment by finding an additional carrier for communication with that singular device. This contrasts with the subject matter of the present application in which a number of connected devices may be each allocated one or more channels for communication, as described at least in paragraph [0066] (p4, last para).
c) Gunasekara appears to be directed towards monitoring a frequency band to locate a potential source of interference whereas the present application is directed towards using channel configuration measures and evaluation rules to decide how to apportion a frequency band. Furthermore, in the present application, monitoring of frequencies is used towards developing such channel configuration measures and can encompass monitoring of a frequency spectrum, not just one particular frequency over which communication is currently occurring, as taught in Gunasekara (p5, 1st para).
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees:
a) First, “partitioning of the frequency bandwidth” is taught by Gunasekara in the OA; second, monitoring bandwidth of partitioned links suggests existence of “partitioning of the frequency bandwidth”. Note that “activated/deactivated carrier” by Gholmieh is a way to implement carrier/frequency partitioning, therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA to use the technique of activated/deactivated carrier by Gholmieh to achieve the frequency bandwidth partitioning by Gunasekara to yield a predictable result of optimal performance of network.
b) Applicant’s understand of Gholmieh is false in that throughput may be increased or decreased for each device or link by “activated/deactivated carrier” as acknowledged by the Applicant. Furthermore, Gholmieh clearly teaches improve the performance of a network that comprises a plurality of devices (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4).
c) monitoring bandwidth of partitioned links taught by Gunasekara suggests existence of “partitioning of the frequency bandwidth”.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments on claim 1 are not persuasive.
Applicant’s other arguments are based on the arguments of claim 1, to which Examiner’s response is the same.
For DB rejection, Applicant stated that a TD has been filed. However, Examiner has not received the TD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (US 20090257387 A1, equivalent to US 8711785 B2) in view of Gunasekara (US 20140269341 A1).
For claim 1, D1 discloses a method for managing a communication band at an access point of a network, the communication band having a frequency bandwidth associated thereto and configured to have one or more channels, the one or more channels defining a quantity of channels (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as FIG. 3, 306 “Multi-Carrier Command … activated/deactivated carrier …”, “[0064] System 200 comprises an access terminal (AT) 202. …, communication interface 204 can comprise a set of receivers for concurrent monitoring of signals received on a plurality of carrier frequencies (whether contiguous or non-contiguous in a wireless frequency spectrum). ... This configuration enables AT 202 to employ multiple carriers simultaneously for increased throughput and traffic performance” and “[0003] … allocation of multi-carrier wireless channels in a wireless communication environment.”), the method comprising:
obtaining, for at least one of the one or more channels, one or more respective channel configuration measures, all the one or more channel configuration measures defining a set of channel configuration measures (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as (“[0003] … allocation of multi-carrier wireless channels in a wireless communication environment.”) and “[0064]... This configuration enables AT 202 to employ multiple carriers simultaneously for increased throughput and traffic performance”);
evaluating the set of channel configuration measures against one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance. Channel analysis module 528 can determine a significance of the evaluated condition and identify a suitable action to be taken by the AT(s) 504 with respect to the allocated carrier(s).” and “[0075] … multi-carrier management for AT 406 can be based at least in part on a performance goal of AT 406. … performance goals can comprise AT power consumption, AT traffic performance, such as throughput or data rate, or the like. Performance module 418 evaluates the goal in comparison with current traffic requirements of the AT.”; note that “current traffic requirements” suggests pre-determined configuration); and,
based on the evaluating the set of channel configuration measures against the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … Channel analysis module 528 can determine a significance of the evaluated condition and identify a suitable action to be taken by the AT(s) 504 with respect to the allocated carrier(s).”):
determining the quantity of channels (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0075] … multi-carrier management for AT 406 can be based at least in part on a performance goal of AT 406. The performance goal can be provided by AT 406 to multi-carrier apparatus 402, or stored in a network data store (not depicted, but see FIG. 5, infra) and associated with AT 406 or a user profile thereof. Example performance goals can comprise AT power consumption, AT traffic performance, such as throughput or data rate, or the like. Performance module 418 evaluates the goal in comparison with current traffic requirements of the AT” and “[0077] … In one instance, stored information can comprise rules or protocols for analyzing network channel characteristics or network load, and generating multi-carrier commands to efficiently allocate carriers to AT(s) 504. … generate the commands in accordance with the goals.”).
D1 does not specifically state but Gunasekara, in the same field of endeavor of data communication, discloses:
initiating partitioning of the frequency bandwidth among the quantity of channels (FIGs. 2-8 and the associated text, such as ([0069] “… the available frequency bandwidth in the physical communication link 170 can be partitioned to support transmission of multiple channels of data. For example, between 700 and 800 MHz, the physical communication link 170 can be configured to convey channel 1 through channel X at different respective carrier frequencies.”). OOSA would have been motivated to use the technique of activated/deactivated carrier by Gholmieh to achieve the frequency bandwidth partitioning by Gunasekara to yield a predictable result of an optimal performance of the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine D1 and Gunasekara for the benefit of optimal performance of the network ([0078] or [0043] of D1).
Claim 16 is rejected because it is a claim of a generic apparatus that performs the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
As to claims 2 and 17, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claims 1 and 16, D1 further discloses: wherein obtaining, evaluating, determining and initiating partitioning are performed repeatedly for responsiveness to changing communication conditions and channel configurations (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as [0078] … evaluates wireless channel conditions reported by AT(s) 504 (e.g., via CQI or SI transmissions), and received at a feedback module 524. Evaluation can comprise identifying path loss, multi-path scattering, interference or the like on one or more carriers allocated to a reporting AT 504. The evaluated condition is submitted to a control module 520, which references a set of multi-carrier allocation rules 540 for generating carrier management orders for AT(s) 504. …” and [0044] “… Where suitable, the network can employ repeat command transmission to mitigate effects of packet loss …“ in view of the parent claims that disclose partitioning).
As to claims 3 and 18, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claims 1 and 16, D1 further discloses: wherein the set of channel configuration measures includes at least one of:
a number of connected devices communicating using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, e.g., FIG. 4 shows a number of connected devices 406 and 408 using the communication band to communicate with network node 404),
a number of contending unconnected devices communicating or attempting to communicate using the communication band (FIG. 4),
a respective value of a utilization metric for at least one of the one or more channels, the utilization metric indicative of a proportion of time that said at least one of the one or more channels is in use ([0047] “… lower layer signaling can be employed for multi-carrier optimization, providing efficient network-directed utilization of non-anchor carrier resources. …“ and “[0059] … the UE is provided a specified time period (e.g., a predetermined number of time slots, such as 12 time slots) to activate or deactivate the secondary carrier after the end of an HS-SCCH subframe delivering an order.”), and
a respective value of a transmission quality metric for at least one of the one or more channels, the transmission quality metric indicative of an observed or expected quality of transmissions made using the at least one of the one or more channels ([0044] “… Where suitable, the network can employ repeat command transmission to mitigate effects of packet loss …“).
As to claim 4, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 1, D1 further discloses: wherein the set of channel configuration measures includes:
a number of connected devices communicating using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … the suitable action can be based on current network load determined by a loading module 526. For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504) …”), and
a number of contending unconnected devices communicating or attempting to communicate using the communication band (“[0078] … the suitable action can be based on current network load determined by a loading module 526. For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504) …”).
As to claims 5 and 19, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claims 1 and 16, D1 further discloses: wherein at least one of the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules includes a respective threshold, and, for each of the at least one pre-determined configuration evaluation rules, the respective threshold is or involves at least one of:
a maximum number of connected devices communicating using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”; note that max number of Ats is implied because limited network resources),
a maximum number of contending unconnected devices communicating or attempting to communicate using the communication band (suggested by “[0078] … where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”; note that max number of ATs is implied because limited network resources),
a maximum value of the utilization metric (suggested by “[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance …”; note that threshold is a maximum value), and
a maximum value of the transmission quality metric, where the transmission quality metric is a decreasing function of said observed or expected quality of transmissions (suggested by “[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance …”).
As to claim 6, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 4, D1 further discloses: wherein at least one of the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules includes a respective threshold (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance …”)and, for each of the at least one pre-determined configuration evaluation rules, the respective threshold includes at least one of:
a sum of a maximum number of connected devices communicating using the communication band and a maximum number of unconnected devices communicating or attempting to communicate using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). …”; note that max number of connected devices/ATs is implied because limited network resources), and
an average of the maximum number of connected devices and the maximum number of unconnected devices (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). …”; an average of the maximum number connected devices and the maximum number of unconnected devices is considered as a design choice and is obvious to OOSA according to 2143(F)).
As to claim 7, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 1, D1 further discloses: wherein evaluating the set of channel configuration measures against the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules includes:
evaluating a combination of channel configuration measures of the set of channel configuration measures against a combination of pre-determined configuration evaluation rules of the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0075] … Performance module 418 evaluates the goal in comparison with current traffic requirements of the AT …”).
As to claims 8 and 20, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claims 1 and 16, D1 further discloses: wherein at least one of the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules includes a respective threshold, and wherein, based on the evaluating the set of channel configuration measures against the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] Base station 502 can further comprise an analysis module 518 that analyzes wireless channel conditions (e.g., RoT, network loading) employed by AT(s) 504, or evaluates wireless channel conditions reported by AT(s) 504 (e.g., via CQI or SI transmissions), and received at a feedback module 524. Evaluation can comprise identifying path loss, multi-path scattering, interference or the like on one or more carriers allocated to a reporting AT 504. The evaluated condition is submitted to a control module 520, which references a set of multi-carrier allocation rules 540 for generating carrier management orders for AT(s) 504.”), determining the quantity of channels and initiating partitioning of the frequency bandwidth among the quantity of channels includes:
when one of the set of channel configuration measures or a combination of channel configuration measures of the set of channel configuration measures (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0048] … Apparatus 102 can comprise a data processor that executes a set of modules (106, 110, 112) configured for dynamic control of carrier frequencies allocated to user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network. …”) exceeds the threshold of one of the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (“[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance. …”), initiating dividing at least one of the one or more channels into a plurality of narrower channels (as disclosed by the parent claims).
As to claim 9, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 1, D1 further discloses: wherein the communication band is configured to operate by a protocol including an IEEE 802.11 WiFi standard (“[0007] … cellular systems employ a government-licensed frequency spectra, whereas other systems (e.g. radio, WiFi, etc.) employ non-licensed spectra …”).
As to claim 10, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 1, D1 further discloses: wherein each of the one or more channels is designated as either active or inactive (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”); and
the method further comprises:
obtaining, for at least one of the one or more channels, one or more respective channel activation measures, all the channel activation measures defining a set of channel activation measures (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0104] At access point 1305, the uplink signal from terminal 1330 is received by the antenna 1325 and processed by a receiver unit 1375 … A processor 1390 performs channel estimation for each active terminal transmitting on the uplink. …” and “[0078] … For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”);
evaluating the set of channel activation measures against one or more pre-determined channel evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … evaluates wireless channel conditions reported by AT(s) 504 (e.g., via CQI or SI transmissions), and received at a feedback module 524. Evaluation can comprise identifying path loss, multi-path scattering, interference or the like on one or more carriers allocated to a reporting AT 504. …“); and
based on the evaluating the set of channel activation measures against the one or more pre-determined channel evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … evaluates wireless channel conditions reported by AT(s) 504 (e.g., via CQI or SI transmissions), and received at a feedback module 524. Evaluation can comprise identifying path loss, multi-path scattering, interference or the like on one or more carriers allocated to a reporting AT 504. …“), at least one of:
initiating activation of an inactive channel of the one or more channels (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”), and
initiating deactivation of an active channel of the one or more channels (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0078] … For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”).
As to claim 11, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 10, D1 further discloses: wherein the set of channel activation measures includes at least one of:
a number of connected devices communicating using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as FIG. 4 shows a number of connected devices 406 and 408 using the communication band to communicate with network node 404),
a number of contending unconnected devices communicating or attempting to communicate using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as FIG. 4 in view of “[0078] … the suitable action can be based on current network load determined by a loading module 526. For instance, where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504) …”).
a respective value of a utilization metric for at least one of the one or more channels, the utilization metric indicative of a proportion of time that said at least one of the one or more channels is in use (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as [0047] “… lower layer signaling can be employed for multi-carrier optimization, providing efficient network-directed utilization of non-anchor carrier resources. …“ and “[0059] … the UE is provided a specified time period (e.g., a predetermined number of time slots, such as 12 time slots) to activate or deactivate the secondary carrier after the end of an HS-SCCH subframe delivering an order.”), and
a respective value of a transmission quality metric for at least one of the one or more channels, the transmission quality metric indicative of an observed or expected quality of transmissions made using the at least one of the one or more channels (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as [0044] “… Where suitable, the network can employ repeat command transmission to mitigate effects of packet loss …“).
As to claim 12, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 10, D1 further discloses: wherein the set of channel activation measures includes one or both of:
a respective value of a utilization metric for at least one of the one or more channels, the utilization metric indicative of a proportion of time that said at least one of the one or more channels is in use ([0047] “… lower layer signaling can be employed for multi-carrier optimization, providing efficient network-directed utilization of non-anchor carrier resources. …“ and “[0059] … the UE is provided a specified time period (e.g., a predetermined number of time slots, such as 12 time slots) to activate or deactivate the secondary carrier after the end of an HS-SCCH subframe delivering an order.”), and
a respective value of a transmission quality metric for at least one of the one or more channels, the transmission quality metric indicative of an observed or expected quality of transmissions made using the at least one of the one or more channels ([0044] “… Where suitable, the network can employ repeat command transmission to mitigate effects of packet loss …“).
As to claim 13, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 10, D1 further discloses: wherein at least one of the one or more pre-determined channel evaluation rules includes a respective threshold, and for each of the at least one pre-determined channel evaluation rules, the respective threshold is one of:
a maximum number of connected devices communicating using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”; note that max number of Ats is implied because limited network resources),
a maximum number of contending unconnected devices communicating or attempting to communicate using the communication band (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … where network load is high, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to deactivate or release non-anchor carriers, enabling base station 502 to serve a greater number of ATs (504). Conversely, where network load is moderate or low, the order can instruct AT(s) 504 to activate a non-anchor carrier to achieve increased performance.”; note that max number of ATs is implied because limited network resources),
a maximum value of the utilization metric (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance …”; note that threshold is a maximum value), and
a maximum value of the transmission quality metric, where the transmission quality metric is a decreasing function of said observed or expected quality of transmissions (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as suggested by “[0078] … control module 520 can employ a channel analysis module 528 to establish threshold throughput, data rate or like conditions for optimal multi-carrier performance …”).
As to claim 14, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 10, D1 further discloses: wherein evaluating the set of channel activation measures against one or more pre-determined channel evaluation rules includes:
evaluating a combination of channel activation measures of the set of channel activation measures against a combination of pre-determined channel evaluation rules of the one or more pre-determined channel evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0075] … Performance module 418 evaluates the goal in comparison with current traffic requirements of the AT …”).
As to claim 15, D1 in view of Gunasekara discloses claim 10, D1 further discloses: wherein the method includes, for each of the one or more channels:
obtaining one or more respective channel activation measures (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0083] … an activation module 616 configured to initiate or deactivate non-anchor carriers allocated to AT 602, ... Activation can comprise monitoring pilot/control channels, employing a feedback module 618 to provide CQI, SI, or ACK/NACK data pertaining to the carriers, or receiving traffic on the carriers, or a combination thereof. …”), and
evaluating the one or more respective channel activation measures against the one or more pre-determined channel evaluation rules (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0075] … Performance module 418 evaluates the goal in comparison with current traffic requirements of the AT …” and “[0083] … an activation module 616 configured to initiate or deactivate non-anchor carriers allocated to AT 602, ... Activation can comprise monitoring pilot/control channels, employing a feedback module 618 to provide CQI, SI, or ACK/NACK data pertaining to the carriers, or receiving traffic on the carriers, or a combination thereof. …”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18643418 (Hereinafter A18643418).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
For claim 1, A18643418 discloses a method for managing a communication band at an access point of a network, the communication band having a frequency bandwidth associated thereto and configured to have one or more channels, the one or more channels defining a quantity of channels (claim 1, “A method for managing a communication band at an access point of a network, the communication band configured to have one or more channels each being either active or inactive, the communication band having associated thereto a frequency bandwidth including the one or more channels”), the method comprising:
obtaining, for at least one of the one or more channels, one or more respective channel configuration measures, all the one or more channel configuration measures defining a set of channel configuration measures (claim 1, “obtaining one or more spectrum quality measures for the frequency bandwidth of the communication band”);
evaluating the set of channel configuration measures against one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (claim 1, “evaluating the one or more spectrum quality measures against one or more pre-determined spectrum evaluation rules”);; and,
based on the evaluating the set of channel configuration measures against the one or more pre-determined configuration evaluation rules (claim 1, “based on the evaluating the one or more spectrum quality measures against the one or more pre-determined spectrum evaluation rules, for one or more portions of the frequency bandwidth, at least one of:”):
determining the quantity of channels (claim 8, “determining the quantity of channels ”), and
initiating partitioning of the frequency bandwidth among the quantity of channels (claim 7, “initiating partitioning of the frequency bandwidth among the quantity of channels”).
Claim 16 is rejected because it is a claim of a generic apparatus that performs the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Dependent claims are rejected in a similar fashion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462