DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 12, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al (USPN 2020/0081532).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses an electro-adhesive device (300 shown in figure 3, also figures 6-8) comprising:
a first electrode assembly (first electrodes 302) comprising a first conductive portion (314) that is at least partially covered by a first insulator (the dielectric layer 316 at least partially coated on a surface of the conductive portion 314, see par. 0031);
a second electrode assembly (306) comprising a second conductive portion (314) that is at least partially covered by a second insulator (316) (see figure 3, par. 0031);
an electrical signal generator (a waveform generator 604 of a controller 318, see par. 0040) configured to provide first and second signals to the first and second conductive portions (314) of the electrode assemblies (302, 306), respectively, wherein the first and second signals comprise respective opposite-polarity portions of an alternating current (AC) signal (such as the waveform generator 604 provides a sinusoidal signals to the conductive portions 314 of the electrodes 302, 306, see par. 0042, 0051); and
a processor circuit (such as a processor 602 of the controller 318, see par. 0040) configured to receive a clutch force indication (a clutch force indication is related to a motion of the first and second electrode assemblies which is detected by a displacement sensor 320, see par. 0032) and, in response, control the electrical signal generator (604) to change a characteristic of the AC signal based on the clutch force indication (such as adjusting the AC control signal, see par. 0032, 0069);
wherein the first and second electrode assemblies (302, 306) are at least partially overlapping and configured to slide relative to each other at their respective surfaces that comprise the first and second insulators (316) (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon discloses a displacement sensor (such as a displacement sensor 320, see figure 3) configured to provide the clutch force indication (such as a displacement between electrodes) based on information about a relative displacement of the first and second electrode assemblies (see par. 0032).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon discloses wherein the processor circuit (602) is configured to control the electrical signal generator (604) to change a magnitude characteristic of the AC signal based on the clutch force indication (e.g. see par. 0032, 0069).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon discloses wherein the processor circuit (602) is configured to control the electrical signal generator (604) to change a frequency characteristic of the AC signal based on the clutch force indication (see par. 0032, 0069).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon discloses wherein the processor circuit (602) is configured to control the electrical signal generator (604) to change a duty cycle characteristic of the AC signal (such as by adjusting an amplitude of the AC control signal of the generator 604) based on the clutch force indication (see par. 0032, 0051).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon discloses wherein the electrical signal generator (604) is configured to generate the AC signal as a pulse-width modulated signal with a duty cycle of about 50% (see par. 0042, and waveforms in figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Yoon discloses a system (200, see figure 2) comprising:
a wearable garment (such as fabric material 214) including an electro-adhesive clutch device (202, see more details in figures 3, 5-8) configured to selectively couple or release first and adjacent second portions (electrode assemblies 206, 208 or 302 306) of the garment;
a motion sensor (a displacement sensor 320, see figure 3, par. 0032); and
a processor circuit (a controller 504, shown in figure 5, includes a processor 602 in figure 6, see par. 0040) configured to determine a clutch indication based on information from the motion sensor (a displacement between the electrode assemblies 206, 208 or 302, 306, see par. 0032) and, in response, control the clutch device of the wearable garment to couple or release the first and second portions of the garment (by adjusting a power to release or engage the electrodes assemblies 302, 306 in figure 2 or 3).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon discloses wherein the motion sensor (320) is coupled to the garment (314).
Regarding claim 18, Yoon discloses wherein the processor circuit (602) is coupled to the garment (see figure 2, par. 0040).
Double Patenting
2. Claims 1-2 are is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to an electro-adhesive structure comprising: a first electrode assembly comprising a first conductive portion that is at least partially covered by a first insulator; a second electrode assembly comprising a second conductive portion that is at least partially covered by a second insulator; an electrical signal generator configured to provide first and second signals to the first and second conductive portions of the electrode assemblies, respectively, wherein the first and second signals comprise respective opposite-polarity portions of an alternating current (AC) signal; and a processor circuit configured to receive a clutch force indication and, in response, control the electrical signal generator to change a characteristic of the AC signal based on the clutch force indication; wherein the first and second electrode assemblies are at least partially overlapping and configured to slide relative to each other at their respective surfaces that comprise the first and second insulators.
USPN 11/980,237
Current application 18/643,412
Claims
Claims
1, 13
1
14
2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al (USPN 2020/0081532) in view of Collins et al (USPN 5315473).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon discloses the AC signal has a frequency, but does not explicitly disclose the frequency as claimed.
Collins discloses an electrostatic device comprises a signal generator device configured to generate an AC signal has a frequency of at least about 10 Hz and less than about 50 Hz (see col. 6, lines 10-13, lines 42-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the AC signal of Yoon to incorporate an AC signal frequency as disclosed by Collins in order to facilitate electrostatic force without vibration and free clamping force decay.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 19-20 are allowed over prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach:
A wearable device comprising: the clutch device including the first conductive portion is coupled to the first portion of the garment, and the second conductive portion is coupled to the second portion of the garment, and the first and second conductive portions of the clutch device are at least partially overlapping at respective surfaces that comprise the first and second insulators; and a processor circuit configured to determine a clutch indication based on oscillatory motion information from the accelerometer and, in response, control the clutch device to couple or release the first and second portions of the garment as recited in claim 19.
5. Claims 3-4, 10, 11, 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838