DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 24 April 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application, with claims 11-20 being withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 April 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 23 April 2024 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the magnet pivot axis is centered at a radially lower end… relative to the axis of rotation”. The term “a radially lower end” renders the claim indefinite because the radial direction has no inherently upward or downward direction, and thus it is not clear which would be the “lower end”. It is suggested that this limitation be rewritten to indicate that the pivot axis is located at an end of the magnet closer to the rotation axis than the other/free end of the magnet. This interpretation has been applied in the grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Makam et al. (US 2024/0162795 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Makam”.
Regarding claim 1, Makam discloses a method of field weakening [400] in a permanent magnet electric machine [128] having a rotor [136], an axis of rotation, and a stator [132] (fig. 2-3A, 4; ¶ 0019-0020, 0024), the method comprising:
rotating a rotor [136] comprising a plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] arranged annularly about the axis of rotation with each of the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] being disposed in a respective at least one of a plurality of cavities [208] of the rotor [136] (fig. 3A; ¶ 0019-0020);
circulating a fluid through a fluid passageway [216] extending through the rotor [136] to each of the plurality of cavities [208] (fig. 3A, 4; ¶ 0020, 0025; “hydraulic fluid flows through hydraulic lines” to the permanent magnet cavities); and
moving the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] with the fluid from a first position [A] to a second position [B] within the plurality of cavities [208] (fig. 3A; ¶ 0020; the hydraulic fluid moves the magnets between the two positions, changing the angle of the magnets between θ1 and θ2).
Regarding claim 2, Makam discloses the method [400] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein moving the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] comprises moving the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] with the fluid from the first position [A] to the second position [B] within the plurality of cavities [208] when a rotational speed of the rotor [136] is greater than a threshold rotational speed (¶ 0021-0022).
Regarding claim 3, Makam discloses the method [400] of claim 2, as stated above, further comprising moving the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] with the fluid within the plurality of cavities [208] from the second position [B] to the first position [A] when the rotational speed of the rotor [136] is less than the threshold rotational speed (¶ 0021-0022).
Regarding claim 4, Makam discloses the method [400] of claim 3, as stated above, further comprising moving a second plurality of magnets [140a-2,140b-2] with the fluid within a second plurality of cavities [208] from a third position [A] to a fourth position [B] when the rotational speed of the rotor [136] is greater than the threshold rotational speed (¶ 0021-0022).
Regarding claim 5, Makam discloses the method [400] of claim 4, as stated above, further comprising moving the second plurality of magnets [140a-2,140b-2] with the fluid within the second plurality of cavities [208] from the fourth position [B] to the third position [A] when the rotational speed of the rotor [136] is less than the threshold rotational speed (¶ 0021-0022).
Regarding claim 6, Makam discloses the method [400] of claim 1, as stated above, further comprising controlling a temperature of the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] with the fluid upon circulating the fluid through the fluid passageway extending through the rotor [136] to the plurality of cavities [208] (¶ 0017; moving the magnets results in “decreased heat generation and increased efficiency, particularly at high-speed operation regions”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makam in view of Orbay (US 2021/0376705 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Orbay”.
Regarding claim 7, Makam discloses the method [400] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein moving the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] comprises pivoting each of the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] radially (fig. 3A; ¶ 0020).
Makam does not disclose pivoting each of the plurality of magnets [140a-1,140b-1] radially about a magnet pivot axis that is parallel with the axis of rotation (i.e., the q-axis sides of the magnets shift position circumferentially, rather than simply pivoting about a single axis).
Orbay discloses a method of field weakening in a permanent magnet motor [610] having a rotor [630] with permanent magnets [640], comprising moving the permanent magnets [640] from a first position to a second position (fig. 4-5a; ¶ 0110-0111), wherein moving the plurality of magnets [640] comprises pivoting each of the plurality of magnets [640] radially about a magnet pivot axis that is parallel with the axis of rotation (fig. 5a; ¶ 0070, 0111; “movement direction R in this case is a pivot direction” in which the magnet moves rotationally).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pivot the magnets of Makam about a single magnet pivot axis as taught by Orbay, in order to reduce the space required for movement of the magnets thereby allowing for use in a wider range of applications.
Regarding claim 8, Makam, in view of Orbay, discloses the method [400] of claim 7, as stated above, wherein Orbay further discloses that the magnet pivot axis is centered at a radially lower end of each of the plurality of magnets [640] relative to the axis of rotation (fig. 5a; the pivot axis is located at the bottom-right of the magnet, which as shown in figure 4 corresponds to the radially-inner side of the magnet, closer to the rotation axis than the top-left side of the magnet which rotates along direction ‘R’).
Regarding claim 9, Makam, in view of Orbay, discloses the method [400] of claim 7, as stated above, wherein Orbay further discloses that pivoting each of the plurality of magnets [640] comprises pivoting each of the plurality of magnets [640] radially inwardly from the first position to the second position about the magnet pivot axis that is parallel with the axis of rotation (fig. 5a; ¶ 0070, 0111; “movement direction R in this case is a pivot direction” in which the magnet moves rotationally).
Regarding claim 10, Makam, in view of Orbay, discloses the method [400] of claim 7, as stated above, wherein Orbay further discloses that pivoting each of the plurality of magnets comprises pivoting each of the plurality of magnets [640] radially outwardly from the first position to the second position about the magnet pivot axis that is parallel with the axis of rotation (fig. 5a; ¶ 0070, 0111; “movement direction R in this case is a pivot direction” in which the magnet moves rotationally).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Angrick et al. (US 2020/0127510 A1) discloses a method of field weakening for a rotor having permanent magnets that are pivoted about axes.
Takashima et al. (US 2008/0169717 A1) discloses a method of field weakening for a rotor having permanent magnets, where magnetic path switching parts are rotated about axes.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834