DETAILED ACTION
Election to Restriction Requirement
In response to the Restriction Requirement, Applicant’s Representative: Paul Peng, on 5/12/2026, elects Group I (claims 1-11) for examination, and other non-elected are Group II (12-15).
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-11 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because claims 1-11 include the claim limitation(s) “an arithmetic operation unit that generates a tomographic image…”, “a motion correction reconstruction unit that detects motion information….”, “an image quality score calculation unit that calculates an image quality score…”, “a partial tomographic image pair generation unit that generates a partial tomographic image pair…”, “an optimum phase determination unit that determines an image reconstruction phase….”, and “a search phase setting unit that sets a search range…. ”, and “a UI unit that receives user determination….” herein “an …. unit configured to ……” perform{ing} certain functions as a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language, and the terms which precede without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures of an apparatus, or system, such as defined in Fig. 1, and Fig. 2 of the Specification, such as computer “200” of a computer hardware in Fig. 1, which is coupled/connected with other device, such as instrument and devices, and of “200” CPU, storage device, display device, input device etc., .Thus, the respective “…unit…”, recited in claims 1-11, associated with functions of are considered as being implemented by computer hardware, such as a processor, as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 20180182135 A1), in view of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A).
Re Claim 1, LEE discloses an X-ray CT apparatus (see LEE: e.g., Figs. 1, 2; and, --a tomography imaging apparatus and a method of reconstructing a tomography image which may more accurately measure a motion of an object to be tomography-imaged. In detail, the tomography imaging apparatus and the method of reconstructing a tomography image may obtain information indicating a motion of a moving object according to a time, may perform motion correction based on the obtained motion information, and may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts.--, in abstract) comprising:
a scanner including an X-ray source and an X-ray detector, which are disposed to face each other, and rotating around a subject (see LEE: e.g., Figs. 1, 2; and, --a tomography imaging apparatus and a method of reconstructing a tomography image which may more accurately measure a motion of an object to be tomography-imaged. In detail, the tomography imaging apparatus and the method of reconstructing a tomography image may obtain information indicating a motion of a moving object according to a time, may perform motion correction based on the obtained motion information, and may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts.--, in abstract, and, --a scan mode used for tomography imaging may include a prospective mode and a retrospective mode. The scan mode may be divided according to whether a cardiac cycle of a patient to be imaged is constant or not. Also, electrocardiogram (ECG) gating may be used to obtain tomography data used to reconstruct an image. When a patient has a constant cardiac cycle, an ECG signal may be regularly gated by using a prospective mode, and a tomography image may be reconstructed by using tomography data of a section corresponding to the gated ECG signal. However, when a patient such as a person suffering from an irregular heart rhythm has a non-constant cardiac cycle, a cardiac cycle may be irregular and thus may not be uniformly detected as in a prospective mode. In this case, an ECG signal may be irregularly gated by using a retrospective mode. In the retrospective mode, tomography data may be obtained by projecting X-rays to an object in all cycles of an ECG signal or a predetermined continuous cycle, partial cycles for reconstructing a tomography image may be selected, and a tomography image may be reconstructed by using tomography data corresponding to the selected partial cycles.
[0185] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 according to an embodiment may divide tomography data obtained by scanning by 360° or more in a retrospective mode into a plurality of data pairs.--, in [0184]-[0185]; and Fig. 17, and in [0314]-[0318]); and
an arithmetic operation unit that generates a tomographic image of the subject by using X-ray transmission data detected by the X-ray detector (see LEE: e.g., Figs. 1, 2; --0175] Referring to FIG. 6, in a full reconstruction method, the X-ray generator 106 performs tomography imaging by rotating by an angle section 640, which is equal to or greater than a full-rotation, about an object 601. A tomography image is reconstructed by using data obtained in the angle section 640. In the full reconstruction method of FIG. 6, the X-ray generator 106 performs tomography imaging by rotating by 360+a°.
[0176] In a half reconstruction method, the X-ray generator 106 performs tomography imaging by rotating by an angle section 620, which is equal to or more greater than a half-rotation, about the object 601. A tomography image is reconstructed by using data obtained in the angle section 620. In the half reconstruction method of FIG. 6, the X-ray generator 106 performs tomography imaging by rotating by 180+a°. a° may be equal to or greater than 0° and may be a fan angle when tomography imaging is performed by using a cone beam.
[0177] In a PAR method, the X-ray generator 106 performs tomography imaging by rotating by an angle section 641 or 645 less than 180°, which is equal to or less than a half-rotation, about the object 601. A tomography image is reconstructed by using data obtained in the angle section 641 or 645. In the PAR method of FIG. 6, the X-ray generator 106 performs tomography imaging by rotating by a° that is less than 180°.
[0178] Also, an angle section in which pieces of projection data needed to reconstruct one tomography image are obtained may be referred to as ‘one cycle angle section’. When a tomography image is reconstructed by using a full angle reconstruction method, one cycle angle section may be 360+a°. Also, when a tomography image is reconstructed by using a half reconstruction method, one cycle angle section may have a value of 180+a°--, in [0174]-[0178]; and, --[0191] The image processor 520 reconstructs partial image pairs corresponding to the partial angle pairs. In detail, each of a plurality of partial image pairs reconstructed by the image processor 520 may include a first partial image reconstructed by using data obtained in the first angle section and a second partial image reconstructed by using data obtained in the second angle section.
[0192] Referring to FIG. 7, the image processor 520 may generate a partial image pair including a first partial image reconstructed by using tomography data obtained in the angle section 711 that is the first angle section and a second partial image reconstructed by using tomography data obtained in the angle section 712 that is the second angle section. The partial image pair including the first partial image and the second partial image will now be explained in detail with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9A.--, in [0191]-[0196]);
wherein the arithmetic operation unit includes
a motion correction reconstruction unit that detects motion information of the subject and performs motion correction reconstruction (see LEE: e.g., -- the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts or motion blur by performing motion correction on an object based on motion information indicating a motion of the object obtained based on a plurality of data pairs corresponding to facing partial angle pairs.--, in [0180], and, --[0197] The controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of an object according to a time based on the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of data pairs. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object at a time point. The motion may be a difference of at least one of a shape, a size, and a position between the object included in the first partial image and the object included in the second partial image.
[0198] In detail, the controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of the object that is 3D-imaged at each time point by using each of the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of partial angle pairs.
[0199] In detail, the image processor 520 may reconstruct a 3D tomography image. In detail, the image processor 520 may generate a 3D partial image that expresses the object in a 3D space by using tomography data obtained in a partial angle section. Motion information obtained by the image processor 520 may be information indicating a motion of the object in a four-dimensional (4D) space including a 3D space and a time point and may be referred to as ‘4D motion information’.
[0200] The controller 530 may obtain motion information based on a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of partial angles included in a full section. The motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object in the full section. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of the surface of the object at each angle point or time point included in the full section.--, in [0197]-[0200]);
an image quality score calculation unit that calculates/measures an image quality for evaluating an image quality in one or a plurality of angles/phases with respect to an image reconstructed by the motion correction reconstruction unit (see Lee: e.g., --an image processor configured to measure a motion amount of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time by using the first partial image and the second partial image and to reconstruct a target image indicating the object at a target point of time between the first point of time and the second point of time based on each of a plurality of models indicating a motion of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time set based on the motion amount; and a controller configured to measure image quality of a plurality of the target images respectively based on the plurality of models, to select one from among the plurality of models based on the measured image quality, and to control a final target image indicating the object at the target point of time to be reconstructed based on the selected model. ….[0062] The controller may measure image quality of the plurality of target images that are motion-corrected respectively based on the plurality of models, select a model corresponding to a first target image with highest image quality from among the plurality of target images, and control the final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.--, in [0058]-[0064]; and, --when a full angle section, for example, a 360°-angle section, is divided into a plurality of partial angle pairs and a motion of an object at a time point is estimated based on a partial image pair corresponding to each of the partial angle pairs, the motion of the object is estimated by using a plurality of the partial image pairs with a high time resolution, thereby making it possible to accurately measure the motion of the object which occurs for a full section. Accordingly, motion information accurately indicating the motion of the object in the full section may be obtained, and thus the motion of the object at each point of time included in the full section may be more accurately measured. Motion artifacts may be reduced by performing motion correction based on a motion state of the object that is accurately measured. Accordingly, a target image with high quality may be reconstructed.--, in [0321], and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]);
LEE however does not explicitly disclose a plurality of motion phases;
NISHIOKA discloses evaluating an image quality in one or a plurality of motion phases with respect to an image reconstructed (see NISHIOKA: e.g., Fig. 5, and -- The pair of the first data collection period 50 and the second data collection period 52 corresponding to the input in the training data is used when generating the reconstructed image based on the data collection period from the viewpoint of associating the reconstructed images. It is desirable to use data in which the central phases of the core phases of are aligned. In addition, the data string used for reconstruction can be partially extracted from the full scan data string and reconstructed. In that case, since the central phase is the center of the extracted data string, the central phase can be set at an arbitrary position by adjusting the extraction range of the data string. Therefore, the range for extracting the data string may be adjusted to match the central phase of the second data collection period, for example, the half scan period.--, in page 6/18 of English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A), as provided as NPL with this Office Action; and, Fig. 10,and, -- By calculating the motion index value as a parameter using the trained model 42 in this way, it is possible to determine the data collection period in which the motion artifact is most reduced. That is, by using the best data collection period as the input image, it is possible to generate a reconstructed image with the least motion artifacts. As a result, for example, the phase information of the image can be selected, so that in a multi-slice image taken by the step-and-shoot method, an image having the same central phase in each slice is created while reducing motion artifacts. be able to. Therefore, even for an image of a moving heart or the like, it is possible to create an image with little misalignment between slices.
In addition, as learning data, the tendency of movement may be learned. For example, since the movement tendency differs between the heart and the abdominal organs such as the liver, it is learned for each organ, such as a motion correction trained model for the heart that specializes in data for the heart and a model that specializes in liver data. However, the model may be built individually. Since the movement pattern of the heart also differs depending on the cardiac time phase, the diastole model of the heart is learned for each phase, the diastole model and the systole model, which are specially trained for the data of the central phase, and the model is constructed individually--, in page 8/18 of English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A), as provided as NPL with this Office Action);
LEE and NISHIOKA are combinable as they are in the same field of endeavor: generate a reconstructed image with the least motion artifacts. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify LEE’s image quality evaluation of the arithmetic operation unit using NISHIOKA’s teachings by including evaluating an image quality in one or a plurality of motion phases with respect to an image reconstructed to LEE’s image quality evaluation in order to generate a reconstructed image with the least motion artifacts (see NISHIOKA: e.g. in abstract, and in pages 6, 8/18 of the English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A) as provided as NPL with the Office Action).
Re Claim 2, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose a partial tomographic image pair generation unit that generates a partial tomographic image pair from a pair of projection data in a predetermined angle range about an angle at which rotation angles of the scanner are different by 180 degrees (see LEE: e.g., --when a full angle section, for example, a 360°-angle section, is divided into a plurality of partial angle pairs and a motion of an object at a time point is estimated based on a partial image pair corresponding to each of the partial angle pairs, the motion of the object is estimated by using a plurality of the partial image pairs with a high time resolution, thereby making it possible to accurately measure the motion of the object which occurs for a full section. Accordingly, motion information accurately indicating the motion of the object in the full section may be obtained, and thus the motion of the object at each point of time included in the full section may be more accurately measured. Motion artifacts may be reduced by performing motion correction based on a motion state of the object that is accurately measured. Accordingly, a target image with high quality may be reconstructed.--, in [0321]; also see NISHIOKA: e.g., Fig. 5, and -- The pair of the first data collection period 50 and the second data collection period 52 corresponding to the input in the training data is used when generating the reconstructed image based on the data collection period from the viewpoint of associating the reconstructed images. It is desirable to use data in which the central phases of the core phases of are aligned. In addition, the data string used for reconstruction can be partially extracted from the full scan data string and reconstructed. In that case, since the central phase is the center of the extracted data string, the central phase can be set at an arbitrary position by adjusting the extraction range of the data string. Therefore, the range for extracting the data string may be adjusted to match the central phase of the second data collection period, for example, the half scan period.--, in page 6/18 of English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A), as provided as NPL with this Office Action)
Re Claim 3, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the image quality score calculation unit evaluates the image quality of the image after the motion correction reconstruction by using the partial tomographic image pair and calculates the image quality score (see Lee: e.g., --an image processor configured to measure a motion amount of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time by using the first partial image and the second partial image and to reconstruct a target image indicating the object at a target point of time between the first point of time and the second point of time based on each of a plurality of models indicating a motion of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time set based on the motion amount; and a controller configured to measure image quality of a plurality of the target images respectively based on the plurality of models, to select one from among the plurality of models based on the measured image quality, and to control a final target image indicating the object at the target point of time to be reconstructed based on the selected model. ….[0062] The controller may measure image quality of the plurality of target images that are motion-corrected respectively based on the plurality of models, select a model corresponding to a first target image with highest image quality from among the plurality of target images, and control the final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.--, in [0058]-[0064]; and, --when a full angle section, for example, a 360°-angle section, is divided into a plurality of partial angle pairs and a motion of an object at a time point is estimated based on a partial image pair corresponding to each of the partial angle pairs, the motion of the object is estimated by using a plurality of the partial image pairs with a high time resolution, thereby making it possible to accurately measure the motion of the object which occurs for a full section. Accordingly, motion information accurately indicating the motion of the object in the full section may be obtained, and thus the motion of the object at each point of time included in the full section may be more accurately measured. Motion artifacts may be reduced by performing motion correction based on a motion state of the object that is accurately measured. Accordingly, a target image with high quality may be reconstructed.--, in [0321], and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]).
Re Claim 4, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the image quality score calculation unit calculates the image quality score by using at least one of a sum of squared difference of pixels of the partial tomographic image pair, a sum of absolute differences, a normalized cross correlation, a mutual information, or a difference or a ratio between magnitudes of SD values (see LEE: e.g., --[0243] In detail, a plurality of control points are set over an image grid of the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1130 and an optimal motion vector at each of the control points is calculated. The term ‘motion vector’ refers to a vector including a direction and a magnitude of a motion. An MVF including motion vectors in all voxels is obtained by interpolating motion vectors at control points. For example, B-spline free-form deformation may be used as a method of interpolating motion vectors. Also, an optimization method may be used as a method of calculating an optimal motion vector at each control point. In detail, the optimization method involves updating an MVF by repeatedly updating motion vectors at a plurality of control points, warping the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1120 based on the updated MVF, comparing a warped first partial image or second partial image with the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110, ending repetition when a similarity between warped first partial image or second partial image and the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110 is the highest, and calculating a motion vector. The similarity may be measured as a negative number of a sum of squared differences of brightness of two compared images.--, in [0243]; also see:
-- the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts or motion blur by performing motion correction on an object based on motion information indicating a motion of the object obtained based on a plurality of data pairs corresponding to facing partial angle pairs.--, in [0180], and, --[0197] The controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of an object according to a time based on the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of data pairs. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object at a time point. The motion may be a difference of at least one of a shape, a size, and a position between the object included in the first partial image and the object included in the second partial image.
[0198] In detail, the controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of the object that is 3D-imaged at each time point by using each of the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of partial angle pairs.
[0199] In detail, the image processor 520 may reconstruct a 3D tomography image. In detail, the image processor 520 may generate a 3D partial image that expresses the object in a 3D space by using tomography data obtained in a partial angle section. Motion information obtained by the image processor 520 may be information indicating a motion of the object in a four-dimensional (4D) space including a 3D space and a time point and may be referred to as ‘4D motion information’.
[0200] The controller 530 may obtain motion information based on a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of partial angles included in a full section. The motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object in the full section. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of the surface of the object at each angle point or time point included in the full section.--, in [0197]-[0200]; and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]).
.
Re Claim 5, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the image quality score calculation unit calculates the image quality score by using a difference or a ratio between magnitudes of average tube currents supplied to the X-ray source during capturing of the pair of projection data (see LEE: e.g., --[0243] In detail, a plurality of control points are set over an image grid of the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1130 and an optimal motion vector at each of the control points is calculated. The term ‘motion vector’ refers to a vector including a direction and a magnitude of a motion. An MVF including motion vectors in all voxels is obtained by interpolating motion vectors at control points. For example, B-spline free-form deformation may be used as a method of interpolating motion vectors. Also, an optimization method may be used as a method of calculating an optimal motion vector at each control point. In detail, the optimization method involves updating an MVF by repeatedly updating motion vectors at a plurality of control points, warping the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1120 based on the updated MVF, comparing a warped first partial image or second partial image with the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110, ending repetition when a similarity between warped first partial image or second partial image and the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110 is the highest, and calculating a motion vector. The similarity may be measured as a negative number of a sum of squared differences of brightness of two compared images.--, in [0243]; also see:
-- the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts or motion blur by performing motion correction on an object based on motion information indicating a motion of the object obtained based on a plurality of data pairs corresponding to facing partial angle pairs.--, in [0180], and, --[0197] The controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of an object according to a time based on the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of data pairs. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object at a time point. The motion may be a difference of at least one of a shape, a size, and a position between the object included in the first partial image and the object included in the second partial image.
[0198] In detail, the controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of the object that is 3D-imaged at each time point by using each of the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of partial angle pairs.
[0199] In detail, the image processor 520 may reconstruct a 3D tomography image. In detail, the image processor 520 may generate a 3D partial image that expresses the object in a 3D space by using tomography data obtained in a partial angle section. Motion information obtained by the image processor 520 may be information indicating a motion of the object in a four-dimensional (4D) space including a 3D space and a time point and may be referred to as ‘4D motion information’.
[0200] The controller 530 may obtain motion information based on a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of partial angles included in a full section. The motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object in the full section. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of the surface of the object at each angle point or time point included in the full section.--, in [0197]-[0200]; and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]).
Re Claim 6, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the motion correction reconstruction unit detects the motion by using the partial tomographic image pair generated by the partial tomographic image pair generation unit (see LEE: e.g., --when a full angle section, for example, a 360°-angle section, is divided into a plurality of partial angle pairs and a motion of an object at a time point is estimated based on a partial image pair corresponding to each of the partial angle pairs, the motion of the object is estimated by using a plurality of the partial image pairs with a high time resolution, thereby making it possible to accurately measure the motion of the object which occurs for a full section. Accordingly, motion information accurately indicating the motion of the object in the full section may be obtained, and thus the motion of the object at each point of time included in the full section may be more accurately measured. Motion artifacts may be reduced by performing motion correction based on a motion state of the object that is accurately measured. Accordingly, a target image with high quality may be reconstructed.--, in [0321]; also see NISHIOKA: e.g., Fig. 5, and -- The pair of the first data collection period 50 and the second data collection period 52 corresponding to the input in the training data is used when generating the reconstructed image based on the data collection period from the viewpoint of associating the reconstructed images. It is desirable to use data in which the central phases of the core phases of are aligned. In addition, the data string used for reconstruction can be partially extracted from the full scan data string and reconstructed. In that case, since the central phase is the center of the extracted data string, the central phase can be set at an arbitrary position by adjusting the extraction range of the data string. Therefore, the range for extracting the data string may be adjusted to match the central phase of the second data collection period, for example, the half scan period.--, in page 6/18 of English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A), as provided as NPL with this Office Action).
Re Claim 7, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the image quality score calculation unit calculates the image quality score by using the motion information detected by the motion correction reconstruction unit (see Lee: e.g., --an image processor configured to measure a motion amount of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time by using the first partial image and the second partial image and to reconstruct a target image indicating the object at a target point of time between the first point of time and the second point of time based on each of a plurality of models indicating a motion of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time set based on the motion amount; and a controller configured to measure image quality of a plurality of the target images respectively based on the plurality of models, to select one from among the plurality of models based on the measured image quality, and to control a final target image indicating the object at the target point of time to be reconstructed based on the selected model. ….[0062] The controller may measure image quality of the plurality of target images that are motion-corrected respectively based on the plurality of models, select a model corresponding to a first target image with highest image quality from among the plurality of target images, and control the final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.--, in [0058]-[0064]; and, --when a full angle section, for example, a 360°-angle section, is divided into a plurality of partial angle pairs and a motion of an object at a time point is estimated based on a partial image pair corresponding to each of the partial angle pairs, the motion of the object is estimated by using a plurality of the partial image pairs with a high time resolution, thereby making it possible to accurately measure the motion of the object which occurs for a full section. Accordingly, motion information accurately indicating the motion of the object in the full section may be obtained, and thus the motion of the object at each point of time included in the full section may be more accurately measured. Motion artifacts may be reduced by performing motion correction based on a motion state of the object that is accurately measured. Accordingly, a target image with high quality may be reconstructed.--, in [0321], and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]).
Re Claim 8, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the image quality score calculation unit calculates the image quality score by using a tomographic image of an adjacent slice (see Lee: e.g., --an image processor configured to measure a motion amount of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time by using the first partial image and the second partial image and to reconstruct a target image indicating the object at a target point of time between the first point of time and the second point of time based on each of a plurality of models indicating a motion of the object between the first point of time and the second point of time set based on the motion amount; and a controller configured to measure image quality of a plurality of the target images respectively based on the plurality of models, to select one from among the plurality of models based on the measured image quality, and to control a final target image indicating the object at the target point of time to be reconstructed based on the selected model. ….[0062] The controller may measure image quality of the plurality of target images that are motion-corrected respectively based on the plurality of models, select a model corresponding to a first target image with highest image quality from among the plurality of target images, and control the final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.--, in [0058]-[0064]; and, --when a full angle section, for example, a 360°-angle section, is divided into a plurality of partial angle pairs and a motion of an object at a time point is estimated based on a partial image pair corresponding to each of the partial angle pairs, the motion of the object is estimated by using a plurality of the partial image pairs with a high time resolution, thereby making it possible to accurately measure the motion of the object which occurs for a full section. Accordingly, motion information accurately indicating the motion of the object in the full section may be obtained, and thus the motion of the object at each point of time included in the full section may be more accurately measured. Motion artifacts may be reduced by performing motion correction based on a motion state of the object that is accurately measured. Accordingly, a target image with high quality may be reconstructed.--, in [0321], and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]).
Re Claim 9, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose an optimum phase determination unit that determines an image reconstruction phase by using the motion information of the subject (see LEE: e.g., --[0243] In detail, a plurality of control points are set over an image grid of the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1130 and an optimal motion vector at each of the control points is calculated. The term ‘motion vector’ refers to a vector including a direction and a magnitude of a motion. An MVF including motion vectors in all voxels is obtained by interpolating motion vectors at control points. For example, B-spline free-form deformation may be used as a method of interpolating motion vectors. Also, an optimization method may be used as a method of calculating an optimal motion vector at each control point. In detail, the optimization method involves updating an MVF by repeatedly updating motion vectors at a plurality of control points, warping the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1120 based on the updated MVF, comparing a warped first partial image or second partial image with the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110, ending repetition when a similarity between warped first partial image or second partial image and the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110 is the highest, and calculating a motion vector. The similarity may be measured as a negative number of a sum of squared differences of brightness of two compared images.--, in [0243]; also see:
-- the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts or motion blur by performing motion correction on an object based on motion information indicating a motion of the object obtained based on a plurality of data pairs corresponding to facing partial angle pairs.--, in [0180], and, --[0197] The controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of an object according to a time based on the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of data pairs. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object at a time point. The motion may be a difference of at least one of a shape, a size, and a position between the object included in the first partial image and the object included in the second partial image.
[0198] In detail, the controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of the object that is 3D-imaged at each time point by using each of the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of partial angle pairs.
[0199] In detail, the image processor 520 may reconstruct a 3D tomography image. In detail, the image processor 520 may generate a 3D partial image that expresses the object in a 3D space by using tomography data obtained in a partial angle section. Motion information obtained by the image processor 520 may be information indicating a motion of the object in a four-dimensional (4D) space including a 3D space and a time point and may be referred to as ‘4D motion information’.
[0200] The controller 530 may obtain motion information based on a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of partial angles included in a full section. The motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object in the full section. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of the surface of the object at each angle point or time point included in the full section.--, in [0197]-[0200]; and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]); and
a search phase setting unit that sets a search range for the image reconstruction phase, wherein the optimum phase determination unit determines the image reconstruction phase by using the image quality score calculated by the image quality score calculation unit for each phase included in the search range (see LEE: e.g., --[0243] In detail, a plurality of control points are set over an image grid of the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1130 and an optimal motion vector at each of the control points is calculated. The term ‘motion vector’ refers to a vector including a direction and a magnitude of a motion. An MVF including motion vectors in all voxels is obtained by interpolating motion vectors at control points. For example, B-spline free-form deformation may be used as a method of interpolating motion vectors. Also, an optimization method may be used as a method of calculating an optimal motion vector at each control point. In detail, the optimization method involves updating an MVF by repeatedly updating motion vectors at a plurality of control points, warping the first partial image 1110 or the second partial image 1120 based on the updated MVF, comparing a warped first partial image or second partial image with the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110, ending repetition when a similarity between warped first partial image or second partial image and the first partial image 1120 or the second partial image 1110 is the highest, and calculating a motion vector. The similarity may be measured as a negative number of a sum of squared differences of brightness of two compared images.--, in [0243]; also see:
-- the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may reconstruct a target image with reduced motion artifacts or motion blur by performing motion correction on an object based on motion information indicating a motion of the object obtained based on a plurality of data pairs corresponding to facing partial angle pairs.--, in [0180], and, --[0197] The controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of an object according to a time based on the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of data pairs. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object at a time point. The motion may be a difference of at least one of a shape, a size, and a position between the object included in the first partial image and the object included in the second partial image.
[0198] In detail, the controller 530 may obtain motion information indicating a motion of the object that is 3D-imaged at each time point by using each of the plurality of partial image pairs corresponding to the plurality of partial angle pairs.
[0199] In detail, the image processor 520 may reconstruct a 3D tomography image. In detail, the image processor 520 may generate a 3D partial image that expresses the object in a 3D space by using tomography data obtained in a partial angle section. Motion information obtained by the image processor 520 may be information indicating a motion of the object in a four-dimensional (4D) space including a 3D space and a time point and may be referred to as ‘4D motion information’.
[0200] The controller 530 may obtain motion information based on a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of partial angles included in a full section. The motion information may be information indicating a motion of a surface of the object in the full section. In detail, the motion information may be information indicating a motion of the surface of the object at each angle point or time point included in the full section.--, in [0197]-[0200]; and, --The controller 530 may control a final target image that is motion-corrected to be reconstructed based on the selected model.
[0341] Image quality may be measured by using an image quality metric for measuring at least one from among an image blur amount and an image resolution. The image quality metric that is a quantitative standard for determining image quality may use a physical or psychological parameter.
[0342] For example, the image quality metric may use a physical parameter such as a modulation transfer function (MTF) or a psychological parameter such as a user's contrast sensitivity function (CSF).--, in [0340]-[0342]; and, --[0409] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain sections 2361 and 2362 in which a value of the y-axis in the graph 2350 is minimized, and may select points of time respectively corresponding to the sections 2361 and 2362 as the first point of time t1 and the second point of time t2. When a difference between two images corresponding to two adjacent points of time is the smallest, it means that a motion of an object between the two points of time is the smallest. Accordingly, a motion of an object is minimized in the section 2361 and the section 2362 in which a value of the y-axis is minimized. Accordingly, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 may obtain a section in which a motion of the heart is the most static and stable.
[0410] FIGS. 24A and 24B are views for explaining an operation of setting points of time of a first image and a second image according to another embodiment.
[0411] Referring to FIG. 24A, the tomography imaging apparatus 500 obtains projection data at every second time interval in a predetermined time section and measures a difference between projection data obtained in a time section corresponding to one point of time and projection data obtained at another point of time adjacent to the one point of time. The tomography imaging apparatus 500 may select two points of time at which a motion of an object is minimized as a first point of time and a second point of time.
[0412] Referring to FIG. 24A, a cardiac phase indicating one R-R cycle is set as 10% and when the cardiac phase is divided into 50, one interval is set as 2%.--, in [0409]-[0412]).
Re Claim 10, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose a UI unit that receives user determination for an image reconstruction phase, wherein the UI unit includes a presentation unit that presents support information including the image quality score calculated by the image quality score calculation unit for a phase in a predetermined range (see LEE: e.g., --[0155] The tomography imaging apparatus 500 of FIG. 5 may further include at least one of a gantry 540, a user interface 550, a storage 560, a communicator 570, and a display 580, when compared to the tomography imaging apparatus 400 of FIG. 4. The gantry 540, the user interface 550, the storage 560, the communicator 570, and the display 580 included in the tomography imaging apparatus 500 are respectively the same as the gantry 102, the input 128, the storage 124, the communicator 132, and the display 130 of the CT system 100 of FIG. 2 in operations and configurations, and thus a repeated explanation thereof will not be given.--, in [0155]; and, --[0160] The display 580 displays a predetermined screen. In detail, the display 580 may display a user interface screen needed to perform tomography imaging or a reconstructed tomography image. In detail, the display 580 may display a user interface screen including at least one of information indicating a motion of the object, for example, motion information, a plurality of models, a selected model, and a full motion model.
[0161] Also, the display 580 may be any device by using which a user may visually recognize predetermined data….[0162] The user interface 550 generates and outputs a user interface screen for receiving a predetermined command or data from the user, and receives a predetermined command or data from the user through the user interface screen. In detail, the user interface screen output from the user interface 550 is output to the display 580. The display 580 may display the user interface screen. The user may see the user interface screen displayed on the display 580, and may recognize predetermined information and may input a predetermined command or data.
[0163] The user interface 550 may include a mouse, a keyboard, an input device including hard keys for inputting predetermined data, and a touchpad. For example, the user may input predetermined data or a command by manipulating at least one of the mouse, the keyboard, the input device, and the touchpad included in the user interface 550.--, in [0159]-[0163]).
Re Claim 11, LEE as modified by NISHIOKA further disclose wherein the support information includes a tomographic image reconstructed by using a predetermined phase as the image reconstruction phase (see NISHIOKA: e.g., Fig. 5, and -- The pair of the first data collection period 50 and the second data collection period 52 corresponding to the input in the training data is used when generating the reconstructed image based on the data collection period from the viewpoint of associating the reconstructed images. It is desirable to use data in which the central phases of the core phases of are aligned. In addition, the data string used for reconstruction can be partially extracted from the full scan data string and reconstructed. In that case, since the central phase is the center of the extracted data string, the central phase can be set at an arbitrary position by adjusting the extraction range of the data string. Therefore, the range for extracting the data string may be adjusted to match the central phase of the second data collection period, for example, the half scan period.--, in page 6/18 of English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A), as provided as NPL with this Office Action; and, Fig. 10,and, -- By calculating the motion index value as a parameter using the trained model 42 in this way, it is possible to determine the data collection period in which the motion artifact is most reduced. That is, by using the best data collection period as the input image, it is possible to generate a reconstructed image with the least motion artifacts. As a result, for example, the phase information of the image can be selected, so that in a multi-slice image taken by the step-and-shoot method, an image having the same central phase in each slice is created while reducing motion artifacts. be able to. Therefore, even for an image of a moving heart or the like, it is possible to create an image with little misalignment between slices.
In addition, as learning data, the tendency of movement may be learned. For example, since the movement tendency differs between the heart and the abdominal organs such as the liver, it is learned for each organ, such as a motion correction trained model for the heart that specializes in data for the heart and a model that specializes in liver data. However, the model may be built individually. Since the movement pattern of the heart also differs depending on the cardiac time phase, the diastole model of the heart is learned for each phase, the diastole model and the systole model, which are specially trained for the data of the central phase, and the model is constructed individually--, in page 8/18 of English version of NISHIOKA (JP 2020179031 A), as provided as NPL with this Office Action).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/WEI WEN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662