DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments to the specifications and claims have overcome the drawing objections, specification objections and claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 08/29/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “When discussing the element of a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern, the respective major antenna pattern being parasitically coupled with the associated main antenna trace, the examiner cites to Kimura. Specifically, the examiner cites to a portion of Kimura which discloses a wireless communication device which includes a feeder substrate 40 coupled to a second radiating element 12 mounted on a printed wiring board 60 through a capacitor C5 (see e.g., Kimura, Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0041] and [0042]). Kimura further discloses that the layers of the feeder substrate 40 are positioned above the radiating element 12 and the printed wiring board 60 see e.g., Kimura, Figure 6). However, it is respectfully submitted that the stacking coupler structure as disclosed and claimed is patentably distinct from the feeder substrate disclosed by Kimura.
Specifically, it is respectfully submitted that nowhere within Kimura, taken alone or in combination is there any disclosure or suggestion of a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern, the respective major antenna pattern being parasitically coupled with the associated main antenna trace, the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer and a second layer, the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system, the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer and the second layer corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer, as required by claims 1 and 7. This deficiency of Kimura is not cured by Tolbert.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because Kimura reference discloses the stacking coupler structure (40, fig. 6) being layered with the main antenna layer (41c), the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern (45, fig. 6 which is a part of capacitor C2 is a part of antenna 11, fig. 1C), the respective major antenna pattern (45) being parasitically coupled (C2) with the associated main antenna trace (47, fig. 6 which is a part of capacitor C2 is a part of antenna 11, fig. 1C), the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer (41b) and a second layer (41e, fig. 6), the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system (fig. 6), the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer (fig. 6) and the second layer (41e) corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer (fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kimura et al, US-20130194149-A1 (hereinafter Kimura).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses the following:
an antenna system comprising:
a main antenna layer (41c, fig. 6), the main antenna layer comprising an associated main antenna trace (47, fig. 6 which is a part of capacitor C2 is a part of antenna 11, fig. 1C); and,
a stacking coupler structure (41b, 41d, 41e), the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern (45, fig. 6 which is a part of capacitor C2 is a part of antenna 11, fig. 1C), the respective major antenna pattern (45) being parasitically coupled (C2) with the associated main antenna trace (47), the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer (41b) and a second layer (41e), the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system (fig. 6), the first layer (41b) being positioned above the main antenna layer (41c) and the second layer (41e) corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer (41e) being positioned below the main antenna layer (41c).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses wherein: the first layer (41b, fig. 6) comprises the associated major antenna pattern (45).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses wherein: the second layer (41e, figs. 3, 6) comprises an associated second layer major antenna pattern (50, 51).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses wherein: the associated major antenna pattern (45, fig. 6) comprises a main resonant antenna pattern (45); and, the associated second layer major antenna pattern (50, 51, figs. 3-6) comprises an increasement antenna pattern (50, 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer (41d, fig. 6), the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern (48, 49).
Although Kimura does not explicitly disclose the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed, Kimura discloses the third layer antenna pattern (48/C1, 49/L3) are used to achieve impedance matching between the IC chip 20 and the radiating elements 11, 12 of a wireless communication device (para [0026]-[0027]), it is construed by one of ordinary skill in that art that the third layer antenna pattern tune/match the impedance of the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform/ wireless communication device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the third layer antenna pattern taught in Kimura to fine tune the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform as claimed for the purpose of matching the impedance between different components of the antenna device in order to reduce the signal loss in transmitting and maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura discloses the third layer antenna pattern includes a first third layer antenna pattern (48/C1, fig. 6) and a second third layer antenna pattern (49/L3), first third layer antenna pattern (48/C1) comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (48/C1, para [0026]) and the second third layer antenna pattern (49/L3) comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (49/L3, para [0026]).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolbert et al, US-20140240176-A1 (hereinafter Tolbert) in view of Kimura, US-20130194149-A1.
Regarding claim 7, Tolbert discloses the following:
a system comprising:
a processor (170, fig. 5); and,
a data bus (184) coupled to the processor (170); and,
an antenna system (para [0037]: the film of the device operates in an antenna mode, i.e. antenna system 186, fig. 5) communicating with the processor (170) via the data bus (184).
Tolbert does not disclose the antenna system comprising
a main antenna layer, the main antenna layer comprising an associated main antenna trace; and,
a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern, the respective major antenna pattern being parasitically coupled with the associated main antenna trace, the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer and a second layer, the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system, the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer and the second layer corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer.
Kimura discloses the antenna system comprising
a main antenna layer (41c, fig. 6), the main antenna layer comprising an associated main antenna trace (47, fig. 6 which is a part of capacitor C2 is a part of antenna 11, fig. 1C); and,
a stacking coupler structure (41b, 41d, 41e), the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern (45, fig. 6 which is a part of capacitor C2 is a part of antenna 11, fig. 1C), the respective major antenna pattern (45) being parasitically coupled (C2) with the associated main antenna trace (47), the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer (41b) and a second layer (41e), the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system (fig. 6), the first layer (41b) being positioned above the main antenna layer (41c) and the second layer (41e) corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer (41e) being positioned below the main antenna layer (41c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the antenna system taught in Kimura to the system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of widening the communication frequency of the antenna (Kimura, para [0040]) in order to improve the performance of the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 8, Hobert does not disclose wherein: the first layer comprises the associated major antenna pattern.
Kimura discloses wherein: the first layer (41b, fig. 6) comprises the associated major antenna pattern (45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the associated major antenna pattern as disclosed in Kimura to the system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of widening the communication frequency of the antenna (Kimura, para [0040]) in order to improve the performance of the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 9, Hobert does not disclose wherein: the second layer comprises an associated second layer major antenna pattern.
Kimura discloses wherein: the second layer (41e, figs. 3, 6) comprises an associated second layer major antenna pattern (50, 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the associated second layer major antenna pattern as disclosed in Kimura to the system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of widening the communication frequency of the antenna (Kimura, para [0040]) in order to improve the performance of the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 10, Hobert does not disclose wherein: the associated major antenna pattern comprises a main resonant antenna pattern; and, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern.
Kimura discloses wherein: the associated major antenna pattern (45, fig. 6) comprises a main resonant antenna pattern (45); and, the associated second layer major antenna pattern (50, 51, figs. 3, 6) comprises an increasement antenna pattern (50, 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the increasement antenna pattern as disclosed in Kimura to the system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of widening the communication frequency of the antenna (Kimura, para [0040]) in order to improve the performance of the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 11, Hobert does not disclose wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer, the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern, the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed.
Kimura discloses wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer (41d, fig. 6), the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern (48, 49).
Although Kimura does not explicitly disclose the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed, Kimura discloses the third layer antenna pattern (48/C1, 49/L3) are used to achieve impedance matching between the IC chip 20 and the radiating elements 11, 12 of a wireless communication device (para [0026]-[0027]), it is construed by one of ordinary skill in that art that the third layer antenna pattern tune/match the impedance of the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform/ wireless communication device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the third layer antenna pattern taught in Kimura to fine tune the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform of the system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of matching the impedance between different components of the antenna device in order to reduce the signal loss in transmitting and maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 12, Hobert does not disclose wherein: the third layer antenna pattern includes a first third layer antenna pattern and a second third layer antenna pattern, first third layer antenna pattern comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern and the second third layer antenna pattern comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern.
Kimura discloses the third layer antenna pattern includes a first third layer antenna pattern (48/C1, fig. 6) and a second third layer antenna pattern (49/L3), first third layer antenna pattern (48/C1) comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (48/C1, para [0026]) and the second third layer antenna pattern (49/L3) comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (49/L3, para [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first frequency and second matching fine tuning antenna patterns Kimura to the system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of matching the impedance between different components of the antenna device in order to reduce the signal loss in transmitting and maintain the antenna performance.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Lim et al, US-20220085506-A1, fig. 5 could read on claim 1
So et al, US-20220166149-A1, fig. 3 could read on claim 1
Kim et al, US-20230146499-A1, fig. 4A could read on claim 1
Dokai et al, US-20130140369-A1, fig. 9 could read on claim 1
Chou et al, US-20230117822-A1, fig. 5A could read on claim 1
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845