DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that “When discussing the element of a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system, the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer and a second layer,, the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer and the second layer corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern, the examiner cites to Kimura. Specifically, the examiner cites to a portion of Kimura which discloses a wireless communication device which includes a feeder substrate 40 coupled to a second radiating element 12 mounted on a printed wiring board 60 through a capacitor C5 (see e.g., Kimura, Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0041] and [0042]) and a portion of Kimura which discloses a feeder terminal 50 and an NC terminal 51 (which is form mounting a feeder substrate 40) formed on a back surface of a forth dielectric layer of a multilayer substrate (see e.g., Kimura, Figures 3-6 and paragraphs [0028] and [0043]). However, it is respectfully submitted that the second layer major antenna pattern which comprises an increasement antenna pattern as disclosed and claimed is patentably distinct from the feeder terminal and NC terminal disclosed by Kimura.
Specifically, it is respectfully submitted that nowhere within Kimura, taken alone or in combination is there any disclosure or suggestion of a first layer comprising the associated major antenna pattern, the associating major antenna pattern comprising a main resonant antenna pattern, the second layer comprising an associated second layer major antenna pattern, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprising an increasement antenna pattern, the increasement antenna pattern increasing a gain of the main antenna layer, as required by claims 1 and 7. This deficiency of Kimura is not cured by Tolbert.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claims only recite an antenna system comprises a plurality of layers and a plurality of conductive patterns under different names disposed on the plurality of layers, the claims do not recite any special elements to perform unique functions that different to prior art.
According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
However, for compact prosecution, claim 1 is now being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al, CN-114899594-A.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 1 recites “the first layer comprising the associated major antenna pattern, the associated major antenna pattern comprising a main resonant antenna pattern, the second layer comprising an associated second layer major antenna pattern, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprising an increasement antenna pattern” but drawings do not show “the associated major antenna pattern” and “the associated second layer major antenna pattern”. Fig. 4A shows the first layer 420 comprising a main resonant antenna pattern 430, the second layer 422 comprising an increasement antenna pattern 440, so it is not clear if the associated major antenna pattern is the same or different to the main resonant antenna pattern and if the associated second layer major antenna pattern is the same or different to increasement antenna pattern. If they are different, then the drawings should show “the associated major antenna pattern” and “the associated second layer major antenna pattern”.
Claim 2 recites “the main resonant antenna pattern of the associated major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G resonant antenna pattern”, but drawings do no show the 2.4G resonant antenna pattern. Drawings only show the main resonant antenna pattern 430. It is not clear if they are the same component or there is a 2.4G resonant antenna pattern disposed inside or on the main resonant antenna pattern 430.
Claim 3 recites “the increasement antenna pattern of the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G increasement antenna pattern”, but drawings do no show the 2.4G increasement antenna pattern. Drawings only show the increasement antenna pattern 440. It is not clear if they are the same component or there is a 2.4G increasement antenna pattern disposed inside or on the increasement antenna pattern 440.
Claim 4 recites “the associated major antenna pattern comprises a major antenna pattern trace, the major antenna pattern trace being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace; and, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace, the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace”, but drawings do no show “a major antenna pattern trace” and “an increasement antenna pattern trace”. It is not clear if they are the same with the main resonant antenna pattern 430 and the increasement antenna pattern 440.
Claim 5 recites “wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer” which is not clear where the third layer is disposed. Because claim 1 recites “the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system” but drawings show the third layer 424 is above the first layer 420.
Claim 6 recites “the third layer antenna pattern includes a first third layer antenna pattern and a second third layer antenna pattern, first third layer antenna pattern comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern and the second third layer antenna pattern comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern”, but drawing do not show “a first third layer antenna pattern and a second third layer antenna pattern”. Fig. 4A only shows the third layer 424 comprises a first fine tuning antenna pattern 450 and a second fine tuning antenna pattern 452. It is not clear if the first third layer antenna pattern is the same as the first fine tuning antenna pattern and the second third layer antenna pattern is the same as second fine tuning antenna pattern.
Similar objections would be applied to claims 7-12.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claims 4 and 10 recite “the major antenna pattern trace being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace; and, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace, the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace” but the spec does not mention the first and separate second portion.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6: “the third layer antenna pattern” should read “the associated third layer antenna pattern”.
Similar objection would be applied to claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the associated main antenna layer trace extends horizontally across a main antenna layer printed circuit board " in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this main antenna layer printed circuit board is a part of the antenna system and if this main antenna layer printed circuit board is the same or different to the main antenna layer recited in claim 1.
Similar rejection would be applied to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al, CN-114899594-A (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses the following:
an antenna system comprising:
a main antenna layer (3, fig. 1), the main antenna layer comprising an associated main antenna trace (10); and,
a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern (11), the respective major antenna pattern being parasitically coupled with the associated main antenna trace, the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer (4) and a second layer (2), the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system (fig. 1), the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer and the second layer corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system (fig. 1), the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer, the first layer comprising the associated major antenna pattern (11), the associated major antenna pattern comprising a main resonant antenna pattern (11), the second layer comprising an associated second layer major antenna pattern, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprising an increasement antenna pattern (5-7), the increasement antenna pattern increasing a gain of the main antenna layer (page 5, para 3 and page 6, last para - page 7, para 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein:
the main resonant antenna pattern of the associated major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G resonant antenna pattern (page 6, last para).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein:
the increasement antenna pattern of the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G increasement antenna pattern (page 6, last para).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 3 above, and in view of Kim et al, US-20230146499-A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Zhang discloses the associated main antenna layer trace (10, fig. 1) extends horizontally across the main antenna layer (3).
Zhang does not disclose the main antenna layer is a printed circuit board;
the associated major antenna pattern comprises a major antenna pattern trace, the major antenna pattern trace being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace; and,
the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace, the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace.
Kim suggests the main antenna layer is a printed circuit board (para [0080]);
the associated major antenna pattern comprises a major antenna pattern trace, the major antenna pattern trace (412-3c, figs. 4A-4D) being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace (434); and,
the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace (444), the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace (figs. 4A-4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the major antenna pattern trace and the increasement antenna pattern trace of the antenna system taught in Zhang to be at first and second portions as suggested in Kim as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired radiating characteristics in desired direction depending on the requirements of the application.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 3 above, and in view of Shi et al, CN-109066072-A (hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang does not disclose wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer, the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern, the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed.
Shi suggests wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer (1, fig. 1), the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern (6, fig. 2), the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed.
Although Shi does not explicitly disclose the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed, the associated third layer antenna pattern of Shi has the same structure, it is implied that it would also have these limitations. According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third layer as suggested in Shi to the antenna system taught Zhang as claimed for the purpose of achieving the desired radiating characteristics of the antenna in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Shi, page 5, last para).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang does not disclose wherein: the third layer antenna pattern includes a first third layer antenna pattern and a second third layer antenna pattern, first third layer antenna pattern comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern and the second third layer antenna pattern comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern.
Shi suggests wherein: the third layer antenna pattern (6, fig. 2) includes a first third layer antenna pattern (6) and a second third layer antenna pattern (6), first third layer antenna pattern comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (6) and the second third layer antenna pattern comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide first and second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern as suggested in Shi to the antenna system taught Zhang as claimed for the purpose of achieving the desired radiating characteristics of the antenna in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Shi, page 5, last para).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolbert et al, US-20140240176-A1 (hereinafter Tolbert) in view of Zhang, CN-114899594-A’
Regarding claim 7, Tolbert discloses the following:
an information handling system comprising:
a processor (170, fig. 5); and,
a data bus (184) coupled to the processor (170); and,
an antenna system (para [0037]: the film of the device operates in an antenna mode, i.e. antenna system 186, fig. 5) communicating with the processor (170) via the data bus (184).
Tolbert does not disclose the antenna system comprising the antenna system comprising a main antenna layer, the main antenna layer comprising an associated main antenna trace; and,
a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern, the respective major antenna pattern being parasitically coupled with the associated main antenna trace, the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer and a second layer, the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system, the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer and the second layer corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system, the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer, the first layer comprising the associated major antenna pattern, the associated major antenna pattern comprising a main resonant antenna pattern, the second layer comprising an associated second layer major antenna pattern, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprising an increasement antenna pattern, the increasement antenna pattern increasing a gain of the main antenna layer.
Zhang discloses the antenna system comprising a main antenna layer (3, fig. 1), the main antenna layer comprising an associated main antenna trace (10); and,
a stacking coupler structure, the stacking coupler structure being layered with the main antenna layer, the stacking coupler structure comprising an associated major antenna pattern (11), the respective major antenna pattern being parasitically coupled with the associated main antenna trace, the stacking coupler structure comprising a first layer (4) and a second layer (2), the first layer corresponding to a top layer of the antenna system (fig. 1), the first layer being positioned above the main antenna layer and the second layer corresponding to a bottom layer of the antenna system (fig. 1), the second layer being positioned below the main antenna layer, the first layer comprising the associated major antenna pattern (11), the associated major antenna pattern comprising a main resonant antenna pattern (11), the second layer comprising an associated second layer major antenna pattern, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprising an increasement antenna pattern (5-7), the increasement antenna pattern increasing a gain of the main antenna layer (page 5, para 3 and page 6, last para - page 7, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the antenna system taught in Zhang to the information handling system taught in Holbert as claimed for the purpose of matching the impedance and filtering the desired frequency signals in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Zhang, page 6, last para - page 7, para 1).
Regarding claim 8, Tolbert does not disclose wherein: the main resonant antenna pattern of the associated major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G resonant antenna pattern.
Zhang discloses wherein: the main resonant antenna pattern of the associated major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G resonant antenna pattern (page 6, last para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a 2.4G resonant antenna pattern as suggested in Zhang to the information handling system taught in Tolbert for the purpose of improving the antenna’s performance in a desired frequency.
Regarding claim 9, Tolbert does not disclose wherein: the increasement antenna pattern of the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G increasement antenna pattern.
Zhang discloses wherein: the increasement antenna pattern of the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises a 2.4G increasement antenna pattern (page 6, last para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a 2.4G increasement antenna pattern as suggested in Zhang to the information handling system taught in Tolbert for the purpose of improving the antenna’s performance in a desired frequency.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolbert and Zhang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kim, US-20230146499-A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Tolbert does not disclose wherein: the associated main antenna layer trace extends horizontally across a main antenna layer printed circuit board; the associated major antenna pattern comprises a major antenna pattern trace, the major antenna pattern trace being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace; and, the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace, the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace.
Zhang discloses the associated main antenna layer trace (10, fig. 1) extends horizontally across the main antenna layer (3).
The combination of Tolbert and Zhang does not disclose the main antenna layer is a printed circuit board;
the associated major antenna pattern comprises a major antenna pattern trace, the major antenna pattern trace being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace; and,
the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace, the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace.
Kim suggests the main antenna layer is a printed circuit board (para [0080]);
the associated major antenna pattern comprises a major antenna pattern trace, the major antenna pattern trace (412-3c, figs. 4A-4D) being positioned above a first portion of the associated main antenna layer trace (434); and,
the associated second layer major antenna pattern comprises an increasement antenna pattern trace (444), the increasement antenna pattern trace being positioned below a separate second portion of the associated main antenna layer trace (figs. 4A-4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the major antenna pattern trace and the increasement antenna pattern trace of the antenna system taught in Tolbert and Zhang to be at first and second portions as suggested in Kim as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired radiating characteristics in desired direction depending on the requirements of the application.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolbert and Zhang as applied to claim 9 above, and in view of Shi et al, CN-109066072-A (hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tolbert and Zhang does not disclose wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer, the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern, the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed.
Shi suggests wherein: the stacking coupler structure comprises a third layer (1, fig. 1), the third layer comprising an associated third layer antenna pattern (6, fig. 2), the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed.
Although Shi does not explicitly disclose the associated third layer antenna pattern fine tuning the antenna system based upon an information handling system platform for which the antenna system is designed, the associated third layer antenna pattern of Shi has the same structure, it is implied that it would also have these limitations. According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third layer as suggested in Shi to the antenna system taught Tolbert and Zhang as claimed for the purpose of achieving the desired radiating characteristics of the antenna in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Shi, page 5, last para).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tolbert and Zhang does not disclose wherein: the third layer antenna pattern includes a first third layer antenna pattern and a second third layer antenna pattern, first third layer antenna pattern comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern and the second third layer antenna pattern comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern.
Shi suggests wherein: the third layer antenna pattern (6, fig. 2) includes a first third layer antenna pattern (6) and a second third layer antenna pattern (6), first third layer antenna pattern comprising a first frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (6) and the second third layer antenna pattern comprising a second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide first and second frequency matching fine tuning antenna pattern as suggested in Shi to the antenna system taught Tolbert and Zhang as claimed for the purpose of achieving the desired radiating characteristics of the antenna in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Shi, page 5, last para).
Citation of Pertinent Art
Duchesne et al, US-8289213-B2, fig. 1 could read on claim 1
Kato et al, US-8228252-B2, fig. 1 could read on claim 1
Oshima, US-7755447-B2, fig. 1 could read on claim 1
Ikemoto et al, US-20140253404-A1, fig. 5 could read on claim 1
조인호 et al, KR-100977036-B1, fig. 2 could read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845