DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/29/26 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2019/0121541) in view of Phelan (US 2017/0147497).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions stored thereon that are capable of causing a ... computing system ... implementing a cloud-based hosting service to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a first container deployed to a first of the plurality of physical nodes, a database query ([0087] As shown in FIG. 8, at block 802, the container 211 initiates a read request 230 for data 140 [0111] As an enhanced infrastructure, the embodiments of the present disclosure may be further applied to a... a cloud system (such as VirtuStream)), wherein the first container implements, at least, a portion of a ... database system hosted by the cloud-based hosting service ([0049], [0059], [0111] As an enhanced infrastructure, the embodiments of the present disclosure may be further applied to a... a cloud system (such as VirtuStream));
sending, by the first container, a data request to a second container that implements a cache for the ... database system ([0057] At step 305, in response to receiving a read request 230 of the container (such as container 211) for data 140 in the storage device 223, the block storage driver 221 obtains an identifier 250 associated with the read request 230 and sends it to the fast look-aside buffer 222), wherein the second container is deployed to the first physical node and executable to store the cache in a memory internal to the first physical node ([0017], [0093] apparatus for a storage system [0054] storage system includes containers and system cache);
receiving, at the second container, the data request from the first container ([0072]-[0073], [0077] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of duplicating 650 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, the container 211 sends a read request 230 for the data 140 through an interaction 630 with the block storage driver 221, while the container 212 learns, through an interaction 640 with the block storage driver 221, that it is necessary to duplicate 650 the cached page 242 containing the data 140 to the container 211, to form a cached page 241. Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241 [0078] FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of migrating 750 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211. As shown in FIG. 7, the container 211 sends a read request 230 for the data 140 through the interaction 630 with the block storage driver 221 while the container 212 learns, through the interaction 640 with the block storage driver 221, that it is necessary to migrate 710 the cached page 242 containing the data 140 to the container 211 to form a cached page 241), wherein the data request is for data maintained in a persistent storage ... ([0057] At step 305, in response to receiving a read request 230 of the container (such as container 211) for data 140 in the storage device 223, [0077], [0087], [0093]);
and in response to determining that the requested data resides in the cache, the second container servicing the data request from the internal memory of the first physical node by providing the requested data to the first container to respond to the database query ([0073] After the cached page 242 of the container 212 is determined, the container 212 provides the cached page 242 to the container 211. As the cached page 242 stores the data 140 that the read request 230 is targeted for, after the cached page 242 is provided 220 to the container 211, the container 211 may read the data 140 from its own cached page 241 (having the same content as the cached page 242), thereby avoiding 270 reading the data 140 from the storage device 223 [0077] Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241 [0078] “migrate 710” here implies that the cached page 242 is deleted from the container 212, thereby releasing the storage space of the cached page 242. Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241).
Zhao fails to disclose “a distributed computing system that includes a plurality of physical nodes; ...external to the first physical node; the distributed database system”
However, Phelan teaches the above limitations ([0014] data sources stored using distributed file system [0017], Fig. 1 host system separate from data sources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Phelan into the teaching of Zhao because the references similarly disclose containerization and/or data retrieval. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Zhao to further include the external data sources as in Phelan in order to be able to scale the storage solution and not be limited to the resources of an individual device.
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Zhao fails to disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: deploying, in different availability zones of the hosting service, a plurality of containers that implement portions of a distributed cache for the distributed database system, wherein the deployed container is one of the plurality of containers”
However, Phelan teaches the above limitations ([0026] each container of containers 120-122 may be allocated a quality of service [0032] As depicted in FIG. 3, each of the containers may be allocated a portion of cache memory 335, which is separate from the other containers on the same physical host [0042] if the container corresponding to container memory 520 were allocated a better quality of service than the containers associated with container memory 521-522, then the cache memory 535 available to the container for container memory 520 may be larger than for the other containers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Phelan into the teaching of Zhao because the references similarly disclose containerization and/or data retrieval. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Zhao to further include the quality of service associations to containers the as in Phelan in order to be able to control the quantity of cache memory (Phelan, [0032]) to increase efficiency.
As per claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Zhao further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, at two or more of the plurality of containers of the plurality of physical nodes, a write request to store data in the persistent storage; in response to the write request: performing, by the two or more containers, write operations in respective caches implemented by the two or more containers; and performing, by at least one of the two or more containers, a write operation to persistent storage ([0062] access request (read request or writing request). [0077], [0078]).
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated, Zhao further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: deploying, to the first physical node, another container that implements, at least, a portion of the distributed database system and provides the data request ([0062], [0073]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses:
A method, comprising: sending, by a first container that implements, at least, a portion of a ... database system and to a second container that implements a cache, a data request for data maintained in a persistent storage ... ([0057] At step 305, in response to receiving a read request 230 of the container (such as container 211) for data 140 in the storage device 223, the block storage driver 221 obtains an identifier 250 associated with the read request 230 and sends it to the fast look-aside buffer 222), wherein the second container is deployed to a first of ... physical nodes implementing a cloud-based hosting service that hosts the ... database system ([0017], [0049], [0054] storage system includes containers and system cache, [0059], [0111] As an enhanced infrastructure, the embodiments of the present disclosure may be further applied to a... a cloud system (such as VirtuStream) [0093] apparatus for a storage system), and wherein the second container maintains the cache in a memory internal to the first physical node ([0017], [0093] apparatus for a storage system [0054] storage system includes containers and system cache);
and in response to the cache including the requested data, the first container receiving the requested data via the second container and from the internal memory of the first physical node ([0072]-[0073], [0077] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of duplicating 650 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, the container 211 sends a read request 230 for the data 140 through an interaction 630 with the block storage driver 221, while the container 212 learns, through an interaction 640 with the block storage driver 221, that it is necessary to duplicate 650 the cached page 242 containing the data 140 to the container 211, to form a cached page 241. Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241 [0078] FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of migrating 750 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211. As shown in FIG. 7, the container 211 sends a read request 230 for the data 140 through the interaction 630 with the block storage driver 221 while the container 212 learns, through the interaction 640 with the block storage driver 221, that it is necessary to migrate 710 the cached page 242 containing the data 140 to the container 211 to form a cached page 241).
Zhao fails to disclose “a distributed database system; external to the second container; a plurality of physical nodes... that hosts the distributed database system”
However, Phelan teaches the above limitations ([0014] data sources stored using distributed file system [0017], Fig. 1 host system separate from data sources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Phelan into the teaching of Zhao because the references similarly disclose containerization and/or data retrieval. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Zhao to further include the external data sources as in Phelan in order to be able to scale the storage solution and not be limited to the resources of an individual device.
As per claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Zhao fails to disclose “further comprising: sending, by the first container, the data request to containers deployed to multiple ones of the physical nodes and implementing the cache in a plurality of availability zones; and receiving, by the distributed database system at a first of the availability zones, the requested data from one of the deployed containers in a second of the plurality of availability zones”
However, Phelan teaches the above limitations ([0019], [0026] each container of containers 120-122 may be allocated a quality of service [0032] As depicted in FIG. 3, each of the containers may be allocated a portion of cache memory 335, which is separate from the other containers on the same physical host [0042] if the container corresponding to container memory 520 were allocated a better quality of service than the containers associated with container memory 521-522, then the cache memory 535 available to the container for container memory 520 may be larger than for the other containers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Phelan into the teaching of Zhao because the references similarly disclose containerization and/or data retrieval. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Zhao to further include the quality of service associations to containers the as in Phelan in order to be able to control the quantity of cache memory (Phelan, [0032]) to increase efficiency.
As per claim 15, claim 11 is incorporated, Zhao further discloses:
wherein the data request is sent by the first container implementing the distributed database system and deployed to the first physical node ([0057] At step 305, in response to receiving a read request 230 of the container (such as container 211) for data 140 in the storage device 223, the block storage driver 221 obtains an identifier 250 associated with the read request 230 and sends it to the fast look-aside buffer 222).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions stored therein that are capable of causing a ... computing system ... implementing a cloud-based hosting service to perform operations comprising: storing, by a second container and in an internal memory of a first of the plurality of physical nodes, a cache for a ... database system ([0072] Returning to refer to FIG. 3, at 315, in response to finding the metadata 420 (or 520) of the read request 230 in the metadata set 400 (or 500), the fast look-aside buffer 222 determines, based on the metadata 420 (or 520), the cached page 242 of the container (such as container 212) storing the data 140 [0089] whether to use the duplication approach or the migration approach to provide 220 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211);
receiving, at the second container, a read request from a first container that implements, at least, a portion of the ... database system ([0072]-[0073], [0077] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of duplicating 650 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, the container 211 sends a read request 230 for the data 140 through an interaction 630 with the block storage driver 221, while the container 212 learns, through an interaction 640 with the block storage driver 221, that it is necessary to duplicate 650 the cached page 242 containing the data 140 to the container 211, to form a cached page 241. Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241 [0078] FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of migrating 750 the cached page 242 from the container 212 to the container 211. As shown in FIG. 7, the container 211 sends a read request 230 for the data 140 through the interaction 630 with the block storage driver 221 while the container 212 learns, through the interaction 640 with the block storage driver 221, that it is necessary to migrate 710 the cached page 242 containing the data 140 to the container 211 to form a cached page 241), wherein the read request corresponds to a database query received by the first container and is for data maintained in a persistent storage... ([0057] At step 305, in response to receiving a read request 230 of the container (such as container 211) for data 140 in the storage device 223, [0077], [0087], [0093]);
and in response to determining that the requested data resides in the cache, the second container servicing the read request from the internal memory of the first physical node by providing the requested data to the first container to respond to the database query ([0073] After the cached page 242 of the container 212 is determined, the container 212 provides the cached page 242 to the container 211. As the cached page 242 stores the data 140 that the read request 230 is targeted for, after the cached page 242 is provided 220 to the container 211, the container 211 may read the data 140 from its own cached page 241 (having the same content as the cached page 242), thereby avoiding 270 reading the data 140 from the storage device 223 [0077] Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241 [0078] “migrate 710” here implies that the cached page 242 is deleted from the container 212, thereby releasing the storage space of the cached page 242. Then, the container 211 may read the data 140 from the cached page 241).
Zhao fails to disclose “distributed computing system; that includes a plurality of physical nodes; distributed database system; external to the first physical node”
However, Phelan teaches the above limitations ([0014] data sources stored using distributed file system [0017], Fig. 1 host system separate from data sources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Phelan into the teaching of Zhao because the references similarly disclose containerization and/or data retrieval. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Zhao to further include the external data sources as in Phelan in order to be able to scale the storage solution and not be limited to the resources of an individual device.
As per claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated, Phelan further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, at the container, a write request from the distributed database system; and in response to the write request, the container performing a write through operation that includes concurrently writing data associated with the write request to the cache and the persistent storage ([0027] it should be understood that cache service 115 might write data to repositories 141-142 in data sources 140. This write process may include cache service 115 identifying new data within the cache memory to be written to a data repository, identifying the appropriate repository to store the data, and accessing the identified repository to store the data [0043] Despite being illustrated in the example of operational scenario 500 with a read request for the container, it should also be understood that similar operations apply to write requests from the container. Instead of retrieving the required segment of data 555, the cache service may identify that a write occurred for the application container, identify the data that was written to cache memory 535, and initiate a write process to data 555. This write process may include translating the write request into the appropriate format for data repository 550 in some implementations).
As per claim 18, claim 16 is incorporated, Phelan further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, at the container and from the distributed database system, a second read request for a database record stored in the persistent storage; in response to determining that the database record is not in the cache: retrieving, by the container into the cache from the persistent storage, a file that includes a plurality of database records; and providing, by the container, the data record from the file in a response to the second read request ([0019] cache service 115 may identify a request from an LSP operation in one of the containers. In response to the request, cache service 115 identifies the appropriate data repository associated with the data request, and accesses the necessary data from the data repository. Once accessed, the required data is placed in cache memory locations by cache service 115, permitting the requesting container to access the requested data, [0027] the example is a data read request from the containers, [0034]-[0039] Fig. 4, [0040]-[0041] Fig. 5) and Fig. 1 shows an LSP operation at each of the containers.
Claims 4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2019/0121541) in view of Phelan (US 2017/0147497) and further in view of Jayaraman (US 2023/0050536).
As per claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Zhao, Phelan fail to disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the write operations, providing, by each of the two or more containers, an acknowledgment to the write request; and in response to a majority of the plurality of containers acknowledging the write request, receiving, from the database system, an indication that a transaction associated with the write request has committed”
However, Jayaraman teaches the above limitation ([0029], [0034]-[0036] containerized storage system [0119] At 1008, the write request is acknowledged only after a quorum of storage nodes has stored the payload in their respective kernel memory. In some embodiments, a quorum is just a simple majority of the nodes. For example, in FIG. 9 , a quorum is reached because storage nodes 902 and 904 have payload 940 stored in kernel cache 922, even though node 906 does not yet have payload 940 stored in kernel cache. In some embodiments, write operations are acknowledged only after all storage nodes store the payload in kernel memory. In some embodiments, each replica node first sends a notification back to the server, compute node, or storage node once the payload is stored in kernel memory, [0091]-[0101] storage containers, [0126] According to particular embodiments, a system 1100 suitable for implementing particular embodiments of the present disclosure includes...and operates as a container node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jayaraman into the teaching of Zhao, Phelan because the references similarly disclose the processing of data and/or data requests. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in the combination of references to further include the quorum operations as in the system of Jayaraman in order to “increase in virtual storage volume replication factor” and “provide for more efficient scaling of virtual storage volumes, which allows for the more efficient usage of computing resources” which results in “improved performance of the computer and distributed computing system itself” (Jayaraman, [0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 13, claim 11 is incorporated, Phelan further discloses:
sending, by the distributed database system, a write request to a plurality of containers implementing the cache in a plurality of available zones ([0019], [0026], [0032], [0042]).
Zhao, Phelan fail to disclose “and in response to a majority of the containers acknowledging the write request, the distributed database system providing an indication that a database transaction corresponding to the write request has committed”
However, Jayaraman teaches the above limitation ([0029], [0034]-[0036] containerized storage system [0119] At 1008, the write request is acknowledged only after a quorum of storage nodes has stored the payload in their respective kernel memory. In some embodiments, a quorum is just a simple majority of the nodes. For example, in FIG. 9 , a quorum is reached because storage nodes 902 and 904 have payload 940 stored in kernel cache 922, even though node 906 does not yet have payload 940 stored in kernel cache. In some embodiments, write operations are acknowledged only after all storage nodes store the payload in kernel memory. In some embodiments, each replica node first sends a notification back to the server, compute node, or storage node once the payload is stored in kernel memory, [0091]-[0101] storage containers, [0126] According to particular embodiments, a system 1100 suitable for implementing particular embodiments of the present disclosure includes...and operates as a container node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jayaraman into the teaching of Zhao, Phelan because the references similarly disclose the processing of data and/or data requests. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in the combination of references to further include the quorum operations as in the system of Jayaraman in order to “increase in virtual storage volume replication factor” and “provide for more efficient scaling of virtual storage volumes, which allows for the more efficient usage of computing resources” which results in “improved performance of the computer and distributed computing system itself” (Jayaraman, [0031]-[0032]).
Claims 6, 14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phelan (US 2017/0147497) in view of Friedman (US 2022/0236878).
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Zhao, Phelan fail to disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: sending, by the container and to a metadata server, a request for metadata identifying a set of data assigned to the container for rehydration into the cache from the persistent storage; and retrieving, by the container using the requested metadata, the identified set of data from the persistent storage and into the memory internal of the first physical node”
However, Friedman teaches the above limitation ([0044] the rehydration system 250 can have access to data identifying extents that can be rehydrated relatively quickly because of caching [0082] If one or more extents are left to be recovered, the system queues a respective rehydration request for each remaining extent (step 314) [0083] The system populates the pending data structure using the obtained extents (step 316). That is, the system obtains the extents that have been obtained i) from the primary storage system, ii) from in-flight rehydration requests, and/or iii) from new requests, and uses the obtained extents to hydrate the data structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Friedman into the teaching of Zhao, Phelan because the references similarly disclose the processing of data and/or data requests. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in the combination of references to further include the rehydration process as in the system of Friedman in order to “avoid the costs of using a snapshot and executing a consolidation procedure” (Friedman, [0011]).
As per claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated, Zhao, Phelan fails to disclose “determining, by the container, from the indication that the container did not receive the write request; and based on the determining, the container hydrating data associated with the write request from the persistent storage into the cache”
However, Friedman teaches the above limitation ([0023] When the primary storage system 140 experiences a failure, the cloud computing platform 130 can execute a rehydration procedure to recover the data stored in the primary storage system 140. The failure can be any event that causes the data stored in the primary storage system 140 to be lost, corrupted, or desynchronized [0025] As a particular example, when the primary storage system 140 comes back online, some or all of the data that was stored by the primary storage system 140 at the time of the failure is still accessible by the primary storage system 140. However, if the workloads of the host cluster 150 continued to run while the primary storage system 140 was unavailable (e.g., if the workloads continued to run using a backup storage system), then the data stored by the primary storage system 140 may be stale or incorrect because of changes to the data that occurred while the primary storage system 140 was offline. Therefore, the cloud computing platform 130 can rehydrate the primary storage system 140 with the correct and up-to-date version of the data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Friedman into the teaching of Zhao, Phelan because the references similarly disclose the processing of data and/or data requests. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in the combination of references to further include the rehydration process as in the system of Friedman in order to “avoid the costs of using a snapshot and executing a consolidation procedure” (Friedman, [0011]).
As per claim 19, claim 16 is incorporated, Zhao, Phelan fail to disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: restarting the container on the first physical node in response to detecting a failure of the container; rehydrating, by the container, the cache including: sending, to a metadata server, a request for metadata identifying a set of data assigned to the container; and retrieving, from the persistent storage, the identified set of data into the memory internal of the first physical node”
However, Friedman teaches the above limitation ([0023] When the primary storage system 140 experiences a failure, the cloud computing platform 130 can execute a rehydration procedure to recover the data stored in the primary storage system 140. The failure can be any event that causes the data stored in the primary storage system 140 to be lost, corrupted, or desynchronized [0025] As a particular example, when the primary storage system 140 comes back online, some or all of the data that was stored by the primary storage system 140 at the time of the failure is still accessible by the primary storage system 140. However, if the workloads of the host cluster 150 continued to run while the primary storage system 140 was unavailable (e.g., if the workloads continued to run using a backup storage system), then the data stored by the primary storage system 140 may be stale or incorrect because of changes to the data that occurred while the primary storage system 140 was offline. Therefore, the cloud computing platform 130 can rehydrate the primary storage system 140 with the correct and up-to-date version of the data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Friedman into the teaching of Zhao, Phelan because the references similarly disclose the processing of data and/or data requests. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in the combination of references to further include the rehydration process as in the system of Friedman in order to “avoid the costs of using a snapshot and executing a consolidation procedure” (Friedman, [0011]).
As per claim 20, claim 16 is incorporated, Zhao, Phelan fail to disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: accessing, by the container, a metadata server to determine that a majority of containers hosted by others of the plurality of physical nodes have serviced a write request that was not received by the container and included writing data to the persistent storage; and based on the accessing, the container hydrating the written data into the cache from the persistent storage”
However, Friedman teaches the above limitation ([0023] When the primary storage system 140 experiences a failure, the cloud computing platform 130 can execute a rehydration procedure to recover the data stored in the primary storage system 140. The failure can be any event that causes the data stored in the primary storage system 140 to be lost, corrupted, or desynchronized [0025] As a particular example, when the primary storage system 140 comes back online, some or all of the data that was stored by the primary storage system 140 at the time of the failure is still accessible by the primary storage system 140. However, if the workloads of the host cluster 150 continued to run while the primary storage system 140 was unavailable (e.g., if the workloads continued to run using a backup storage system), then the data stored by the primary storage system 140 may be stale or incorrect because of changes to the data that occurred while the primary storage system 140 was offline. Therefore, the cloud computing platform 130 can rehydrate the primary storage system 140 with the correct and up-to-date version of the data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Friedman into the teaching of Zhao, Phelan because the references similarly disclose the processing of data and/or data requests. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in the combination of references to further include the rehydration process as in the system of Friedman in order to “avoid the costs of using a snapshot and executing a consolidation procedure” (Friedman, [0011]).
Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the amendment filed on 06/29/26.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM P BARTLETT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169