DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicants’ Communication received on April 23, 2024 for application number 18/643,520. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 30, 2024 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15-23, 25-27, 29, 30 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klode et al. (EP 2 738 102 A2), hereinafter “Klode”.
Regarding claim 1, Klode discloses a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator (paragraph 8), the system comprising: a motor (Fig. 2 (220)) configured to move an actuated component between a counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) and a clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation); a brake configured to hold an actuated component at the counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) or the clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation); an actuation assembly configured to operate the motor to move the actuated component between the counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) and the clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation)(paragraphs 15-19); a counterclockwise limit switch configured to determine when the actuated component is at the counterclockwise limit position (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); a clockwise limit switch configured to determine when the actuated component is at the clockwise limit position (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); the actuation assembly configured to operate the motor (Fig. 2 (220)) to dynamically brake (Fig. 2 (226)) the actuated component in response to the clockwise limit switch or the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 15-22); the actuation assembly is further configured to stop providing power to the motor (paragraphs 15-19), wherein stopping providing power to the motor forms a current loop for current from counter electromotive force to flow through the motor and the brake for dynamic braking (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-17); and the actuation assembly is configured to operate the brake to be engaged thereby braking movement of the motor and/or the actuated component (paragraphs 8, 15-19).
Regarding claim 2, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, wherein the actuation assembly comprises at least one braking circuit path (Fig. 2 (214)) to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor in response to the clockwise limit switch or the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 8, 15-17).
Regarding claim 3, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a counterclockwise braking circuit path to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor from operation in a counterclockwise direction in response to the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 8, 15, 16).
Regarding claim 4, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a clockwise braking circuit path comprising at least one diode configured to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor from operation in a clockwise direction in response to the clockwise limit switch (paragraphs 8, 15, 17).
Regarding claim 5, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, further comprising a control assembly comprising a first switch and a second switch configured to selectively connect a direct current power supply to the actuation assembly, the motor, and the brake (paragraphs 12, 13, 18).
Regarding claim 6, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 5, wherein the first switch and/or the second switch are implemented by a switch, a solenoid switch, a power switch, and/or a power device (paragraphs 12, 18).
Regarding claim 8, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 5, wherein the actuation assembly comprises at least one diode configured to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor (paragraphs 8, 15, 17-19).
Regarding claim 9, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 5, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a clockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a clockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15-18).
Regarding claim 10, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 9, wherein control assembly controls the first switch and the second switch to selectively connect the direct current power supply to the clockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a clockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15, 17).
Regarding claim 12, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 5, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a counterclockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a counterclockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15-19).
Regarding claim 13, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 12, wherein control assembly controls the first switch and the second switch to selectively connect the direct current power supply to the counterclockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a counterclockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15, 17-19).
Regarding claim 15, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, wherein the motor comprises a PM brushed direct current motor (paragraphs 8, 12).
Regarding claim 16, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, wherein the brake comprises a positive locking brake or a frictional brake (Abstract: motor brake on/off circuitry (228) for engaging and disengaging the electro-mechanical actuator motor brake (226)).
Regarding claim 17, Klode discloses the system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 1, wherein the brake comprises a pin brake or a tooth brake (Abstract; paragraphs 8, 15-19).
Regarding claim 18, Klode discloses a process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator (paragraph 8), the system comprising: configuring a motor (Fig. 2 (220)) to move an actuated component between a counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) and a clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation); configuring a brake to hold an actuated component at the counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) or the clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation); configuring an actuation assembly to operate the motor to move the actuated component between the counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) and the clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation)(paragraphs 15-19); configuring a counterclockwise limit switch to determine when the actuated component is at the counterclockwise limit position (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); configuring a clockwise limit switch to determine when the actuated component is at the clockwise limit position (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); configuring the actuation assembly to operate the motor (Fig. 2 (220)) to dynamically brake (Fig. 2 (226)) the actuated component in response to the clockwise limit switch or the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 15-22); configuring the actuation assembly to stop providing power to the motor (paragraphs 15-19), wherein stopping providing power to the motor forms a current loop for current from counter electromotive force to flow through the motor and the brake for dynamic braking (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-17); and configuring the actuation assembly to operate the brake to be engaged thereby braking movement of the motor and/or the actuated component (paragraphs 8, 15-19).
Regarding claim 19, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the actuation assembly comprises at least one braking circuit path (Fig. 2 (214)) to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor in response to the clockwise limit switch or the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 8, 15-17).
Regarding claim 20, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a counterclockwise braking circuit path to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor from operation in a counterclockwise direction in response to the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 8, 15, 16).
Regarding claim 21, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a clockwise braking circuit path comprising at least one diode configured to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor from operation in a clockwise direction in response to the clockwise limit switch (paragraphs 8, 15, 17).
Regarding claim 22, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, further comprising implementing a control assembly comprising a first switch and a second switch configured to selectively connect a direct current power supply to the actuation assembly, the motor, and the brake (paragraphs 12, 13, 18).
Regarding claim 23, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 22, wherein the first switch and/or the second switch are implemented by a switch, a solenoid switch, a power switch, a power device, a transistor, and/or a power transistor (paragraphs 12, 18).
Regarding claim 25, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the actuation assembly comprises at least one diode configured to allow current to flow for dynamic braking of the motor (paragraphs 8, 15, 17-19).
Regarding claim 26, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 22, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a clockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a clockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15-18).
Regarding claim 27, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 26, wherein control assembly controls the first switch and the second switch to selectively connect the direct current power supply to the clockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a clockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15, 17).
Regarding claim 29, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 22, wherein the actuation assembly comprises a counterclockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a counterclockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15-19).
Regarding claim 30, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 29, wherein control assembly controls the first switch and the second switch to selectively connect the direct current power supply to the counterclockwise actuation circuit path for operating the motor in a counterclockwise direction (paragraphs 8, 15, 17-19).
Regarding claim 32, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the motor comprises a brushed direct current motor (paragraphs 8, 12).
Regarding claim 33, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the brake comprises a positive locking brake or a frictional brake (Abstract: motor brake on/off circuitry (228) for engaging and disengaging the electro-mechanical actuator motor brake (226)).
Regarding claim 34, Klode discloses the process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator of claim 18, wherein the brake comprises a pin brake/tooth brake (Abstract; paragraphs 8, 15-19).
Regarding claim 35, Klode discloses a process of implementing a system for direction control and dynamic braking of a motor for an actuator (paragraph 8), the system comprising: configuring a motor (Fig. 2 (220)) to move an actuated component between a counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) and a clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation); configuring a brake to hold an actuated component at the counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) or the clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation); configuring an actuation assembly to operate the motor to move the actuated component between the counterclockwise limit position (Fig. 3B depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a counter-clockwise rotation) and the clockwise limit position (Fig. 3A is depicts a step sequence for operating the brushless motor 220 in a clockwise rotation)(paragraphs 15-19); configuring a counterclockwise limit switch to determine when the actuated component is at the counterclockwise limit position (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); configuring a clockwise limit switch to determine when the actuated component is at the clockwise limit position (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); configuring the actuation assembly to operate the motor (Fig. 2 (220)) to dynamically brake (Fig. 2 (226)) the actuated component in response to the clockwise limit switch or the counterclockwise limit switch (paragraphs 15-22); configuring the actuation assembly to electrically absorb kinetic energy from the system to achieve dynamic braking (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19); and configuring the actuation assembly to operate the brake to be engaged thereby braking movement of the motor and/or the actuated component (paragraphs 8, 13, 15-19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11, 14, 24, 28 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747