DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on August 12, 2024 & February 12, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. In Claim 14, the aspect of “inserting an insert between the base plate and a frame” and then “attaching the frame” is unclear and confusing as presently set forth since it is not known how the insert is inserted between both the base plate and a frame when the base plate is attached to a face of a bin and the frame has not been assembled to the bin yet, i.e., how can the insert be placed between both the base plate and the frame when the frame is not oriented relative to any structure (just out in space) at this stage. As such, the metes and bounds of patent protection being sought by applicant are unascertainable. Consequently, the remaining claims are rejected since they are dependent, either directly or indirectly, upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10, 12 & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forrest [US 2010/0229437]. Forrest teaches of a fascia assembly (figs. 1-2) for a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin (fig. 1), the fascia assembly comprising: a U-shaped base plate (74); a frame (18) attachable to the base plate via (22), the frame having a view opening (86); and an insert (22) sized to be received and retained between the base plate and the frame (note fig. 2) and viewable through the view opening (note fig. 1). As to Claim 2, the base plate further comprises at least one fastener (adhesive) to fasten the base plate to a face plate (38) of the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (note [0019]). As to Claim 3, the insert further comprises a panel (described as a display board). As to Claim 4, the assembly further comprising hardware (26) installed on the insert (fig. 2). As to Claim 5, the assembly further comprising at least one fastener (82) installed through the insert to fasten the hardware to the insert. As to Claim 10, the insert is sized to be retained between the base plate and the frame in only one orientation (such as vertical orientation – so far as broadly defined) to avoid improper assembly. As to Claim 12, the insert further comprises a plurality of interchangeable inserts (note the varying insert options available – fig. 4), each sized to be received and retained between the base plate and the frame. Regarding Claim 14, a method for decorating a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin is also disclosed; such as, installing a base plate on a face of the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (affixing U-shaped plate (74) to (38)); inserting an insert (installing an insert (22)) between the base plate and a frame (18); and attaching the frame to the base plate (such as snapping the frame to a locking feature on the bin (14) thereby attaching to the base plate via intervening components) to retain the insert between the base plate and the frame and to display the insert through a view opening (86) in the frame. As to Claim 15, the method further comprising opening the frame (such as unsnapping from the locking feature); removing the insert (remove insert); inserting a second insert (replacing one insert for a different insert – see the various inserts to choose from – fig. 4) between the frame and the base plate; and closing the frame (attaching the frame of in use condition – fig. 1). As to Claim 16, the method further comprising: placing a product in the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (note fig. 1 where a bunch of similar products are placed within the bin). As to Claim 17, the method further comprising: installing a sample (26) of the product on the second insert (the type of product housed within the bin is then installed onto the represented insert – fig. 4). Regarding Claim 18, a method for decorating a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin is also disclosed; such as, opening a frame on a face of a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin (such as unsnapping from the locking feature); removing a first insert from the face (removing an insert); inserting a second insert to the face (choosing a different insert from the various inserts shown – fig. 4); and closing the frame to the face (attaching the frame of in use condition – fig. 1). As to Claim 19, the method further comprising: placing a product (34) in the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (note fig. 1 where a bunch of similar products are placed within the bin). As to Claim 20, the method further comprising: installing a sample (26) of the product on the second insert (the type of product housed within the bin is then installed onto the represented insert – fig. 4).
Claims 1-3, 6, 10 & 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Little [US 3,716,283]. Little teaches of a fascia assembly (figs. 1-2) for a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin (fig. 1), the fascia assembly comprising: a base plate (22); a frame (20) attachable to the base plate, the frame having a view opening (32); and an insert (76) sized to be received and retained between the base plate and the frame (note fig. 5) and viewable through the view opening as readily apparent. As to Claim 2, the base plate further comprises at least one fastener (17) to fasten the base plate to a face plate (such as the front facing plate structure of (2)) of the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (note fig. 4). As to Claim 3, the insert further comprises a panel (described as a card). As to Claim 6, an aperture (48) is formed through the base plate to provide clearance for a fastener head of the at least one fastener. As to Claim 9, the frame further comprises a fastener (adhesive) to fasten the frame to the base plate. As to Claim 10, the insert is sized to be retained between the base plate and the frame in only one orientation (such as an elongated horizontal orientation – so far as broadly defined) to avoid improper assembly. As to Claim 13, the insert provides “contents identifying” indicia which would be indicative of product information. Regarding Claim 14, a method for decorating a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin is also disclosed; such as, installing a base plate on a face of the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (attaching plate (22) to the front facing plate structure of (2)); inserting an insert (76) between the base plate and a frame (20); and attaching the frame to the base plate (such as via adhesive bonding) to retain the insert between the base plate and the frame and to display the insert through a view opening (32) in the frame.
Claims 1-6, 9-15 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janke [US 11,071,383]. Janke teaches of a fascia assembly (figs. 1-9) for a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin (figs. 1 & 7), the fascia assembly comprising: a base plate (such as innermost (46) as shown in fig. 7); a frame (26) attachable to the base plate via (intervening (46’s)), the frame having a view opening (28); and an insert (47) sized to be received and retained between the base plate and the frame and viewable through the view opening (note fig. 1). As to Claim 2, the base plate further comprises at least one fastener (24) to fasten the base plate to a face plate (48) of the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin. As to Claim 3, the insert further comprises a panel (described as an interchangeable panel). As to Claim 4, the assembly further comprising hardware (40) installed on the insert (note figs. 1-3 for instance). As to Claim 5, the assembly further comprising at least one fastener (24) installed through the insert to fasten the hardware to the insert. As to Claim 6, an aperture (56) is formed through the base plate to provide clearance for a fastener head of the at least one fastener. As to Claim 9, the frame further comprises a fastener (24) to fasten the frame to the base plate. As to Claim 10, the insert is sized to be retained between the base plate and the frame in only one orientation (such as vertical orientation – so far as broadly defined) to avoid improper assembly. As to Claim 11, the base plate further comprises at least one projection (89); and wherein the insert is provided with an aperture (56) sized to receive the at least one projection (col. 7). As to Claim 12, the insert further comprises a plurality of interchangeable inserts (viewed as the stack (62) of inserts), each sized to be received and retained between the base plate and the frame. As to Claim 13, the insert can provide “a picture or a printed image” which would be indicative of product information indicia. Regarding Claim 14, a method for decorating a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin is also disclosed; such as, installing a base plate on a face of the cabinet, the drawer, or the bin (installing innermost (46) to (48)); inserting an insert (installing an insert (47)) between the base plate and a frame (26); and attaching the frame to the base plate (such as with fastener (24) and hardware (40)) to retain the insert between the base plate and the frame and to display the insert through a view opening (28) in the frame. As to Claim 15, the method further comprising opening the frame (such as via unfastening (40 & 24)); removing the insert (remove insert); inserting a second insert (replacing one insert for a different insert from the stack (62)) between the frame and the base plate; and closing the frame (via fastening (40 & 24)). Regarding Claim 18, a method for decorating a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin is also disclosed; such as, opening a frame on a face of a cabinet, a drawer, or a bin (such as via unfastening (40 & 24)); removing a first insert from the face (removing an insert); inserting a second insert to the face (replacing one insert for a different insert from the stack (62)); and closing the frame to the face (via fastening (40 & 24)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little. Little teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed assembly as outlined {mapped} above, but does not show the aperture as being slotted. As to this aspect, the position is taken that it would have been an obvious matter of personal preference to vary the shape or size of an element depending upon the needs and/or preferences of the user, with a reasonable expectation of success, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size or configuration of a component, whereby an elongation of the aperture on the base plate would help to correct for misalignment due to low quality tolerancing during manufacturing and thereby would help align varying fasteners between the mating components. A change of this degree is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest in view of Howe [US 3,024,075]. Forrest teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed assembly as outlined {mapped} above, but does not show the frame as being pivotally attached to the base plate (Forrest does arguably show the frame as being capable of pivotal movement along a base of the bin front when the top of the frame is unlatched – in the context that applicant indicates that alternatively the base plate and face plate of the bin can be integrally formed [0040]). As to this feature, Howe is cited as an evidence reference for the showing of a frame (15) being pivotally attached to a base plate ((17) along (14)) where the base plate is attached to a face plate (12) of a drawer / bin in an analogous art. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Forrest so as to provide a base plate with a lip instead of a lip along the face plate in view of Howe’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing an alternative mounting means by which the frame could be pivoted into place along the assembly by virtue of the base plate alone where such a hinged connection may be missing if utilizing the assembly on a different drawer or bin.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest in view of Larson [US 2,998,128]. Forrest teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed assembly as outlined {mapped} above, including indicia on the differing inserts (note fig. 4); but does not show the indicia as being indicative of product information. As to this feature, Larson is cited as an evidence reference for the showing of drawers (12) each having inserts (26) that are indicative of product information (fig. 5) relating to products housed within the drawer in an analogous art. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Forrest so as to provide product information along the inserts in view of Larson’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing a means by which a user / consumer can easily identify a particular drawer / bin from which a product is being sought at a time savings for the individual seeking the desired product and/or easy access to applicable specifications about the product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure – see the attached Form PTO-892 showing various fascia assemblies along furniture structures.
JOH
January 8, 2026
/James O Hansen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637