DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without the written authorization in place, USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodeboyina et al. (US 2020/0313955, “Kodeboyina”) in view of Ramabadran (US 10,785,139) and Csaszar et al. (US 2013/023259, “Csaszar”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kodeboyina unless otherwise mentioned.
Kodeboyina comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a method, comprising:
receiving, through an ingress port of a data plane of a first network device, a first data packet ([0062 and Fig. 5] “the ingress packets 125 are received at the ingress pipeline 110 through a set of ingress ports 545 while packets 515 that are generated by the packet generator are received at the ingress pipeline at a separate port 520.”);
generating, on the data plane of the first network device, a first notification packet when a first forwarding path corresponding to the first data packet is faulty ([0063 and Fig. 5] “packet generator 510 receives the identification 525 of failed links.”, and [0069] “the packet generator generates a packet 515 that includes the identification of the failed link in a predetermined location in the packet header.”)) and when there is no redundant path of the first forwarding path on the first network device (This will be discussed in view of Csaszar.),
wherein the first notification packet indicates that the first forwarding path is faulty (See aforesaid [0063, 0069 and Fig. 5]); and
sending, through the ingress port, the first notification packet ([0063] “when a forwarding element's port fails, some embodiments generate an interrupt that provides the identification of the failed port. The interrupt is used to provide the identification of the failed port to the packet generator. As another example, the packet generator may receive an identification of a failed path (such as path 215 in FIG. 2)”, and [0062] “packets 515 that are generated by the packet generator are received at the ingress pipeline at a separate port 520.” Note that sending a packet back to a port at where a faulty is determined will be discussed in view of Ramabadran.).
It is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about sending a packet to a port at where a faulty was determined. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Ramabadran as follows;
sending, through the ingress port ([Ramabadran, Col. 6; lines 21-22 and Fig. 10] “FIG. 6 shows the probe 520 from FIG. 5 being received on a port 610.”, and [Ramabadran, Col. 6; lines 32-35 and Fig. 10] “The operating system responds to the error condition with a message, such as an Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) error message 620, that is transmitted back to network device A 120 through port 610”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Ramabadran in order to effectively test forwarding states such that “A network switch having hardware thereon for transmitting probes to neighbor devices for exercising forwarding states (e.g., layer 2 and layer 3) on the switch.” [Ramabadran, Abstract].
It is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about another condition of existence of the redundant path. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Csaszar as follows;
when there is no redundant path of the first forwarding path on the first network device ([Csaszar, 0157] “After a local failure, an LFA-capable node switches the route of the packets that would go through the failed connection to loop free alternate neighbours. Loop free alternate next-hops are those neighbours which, using their default forwarding configuration, i.e. default routes, can forward packets to the destination without going through the failure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Csaszar in order to efficiently handling failure notifications such that “Forwarding information is maintained (S1) which specifies the next hop node for each of a plurality of possible destination nodes. Update information is maintained (S1) which specifies how, if at all, the next hop nodes specified in the forwarding information are to be updated for a plurality of possible network resource failures.” [Csaszar, Abstract].
Regarding claim 13, it is a first network device claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory” (See Fig. 17 for “Storage”, “System Memory”, and “Processing Unit(s)”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the method of claim 1 and the first network device of claim 13, respectively, further comprising:
identifying an egress port used to forward the first data packet, wherein the egress port corresponds to the first forwarding path; and identifying, based on a status of the egress port, that the first forwarding path is faulty ([0067] “MAC unit 601 detects that the egress port (not shown) being monitored by the MAC unit has failed. MAC unit 601 sends a signal 660 to the port failure feedback generator 640. The port failure feedback generator 640 in turn generates a hardware signal (as conceptually shown by arrow 670) to the packet generator 611 connected to the ingress pipeline 621 and egress pipeline 631 that are associated with the failed port.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the method of claim 2 and the first network device of claim 14, respectively, further comprising:
obtaining, based on a port state table of the first network device, the status; and identifying, when the status is a specified state, that the first forwarding path is faulty ([0069] “The action corresponding to the match field causes a preprogrammed action unit in the forwarding element to use the failed link identification and compute an index to the status bit of the failed link in the live link vector table and to set the bit to off (i.e., to indicate that the link has failed).”).
Regarding claim 21, the method of claim 1, further comprising: querying, by a component on the data plane ([Csaszar, 0061] “An optimised variant of the routing table (i.e. the forwarding table) is then downloaded to the linecards (forwarding engine, forwarding processor, data plane, FP, etc.). The linecard using this information can forward packets in an efficient and quick way to guarantee the line speeds required.”), a forwarding information base (FIB) table using a destination address of the first data packet ([Csaszar, 0147] “when a packet needs to be forwarded to a certain destination, it queries the FIB about the next hop.”); and identifying, based on a query result indicating a single next hop index ([Csaszar, 0148] “the result of a FIB lookup is not only a next hop, but it contains two extra bits too. These extra bits describe the three possible states of the next hop stored in the FIB (which is only a cache in this case), i.e. default next hop, next hop for an SRLG failure or next hop for a node failure.”), that there is no redundant path of the first forwarding path ([Csaszar, 0157] “The LFA mechanism is the simplest IPFRR solution. It can be used for many failures and it does not need cooperation from neighbour router. After a local failure, an LFA-capable node switches the route of the packets that would go through the failed connection to loop free alternate neighbours.”).
Claim(s) 4 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodeboyina et al. (US 2020/0313955, “Kodeboyina”) in view of Ramabadran (US 10,785,139) and Csaszar et al. (US 2013/023259, “Csaszar”), and further in view of Cherkas (US 2023/0403214).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kodeboyina unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the method of claim 3 and the first network device of claim 15, respectively, further comprising: periodically reading, by using a component on the data plane, a value of a register that records the status; and updating, based on the value, the status in the port state table ([0079] “FIG. 8 conceptually illustrates a process 800 for assigning status bits to a forwarding element's egress links and programming match-action entries to set the status of a failed link to failed. Process 800 in some embodiments is performed when the hardware forwarding element is deployed and an initial set of egress links are configured. The process is also performed each time a new link is configured in order to update the match-action table.” Note that periodic reading will be discussed in view of Cherkas.).
It is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about periodically reading port states. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Cherkas as follows;
periodically reading ([Cherkas, 0047] “the topology mapping may automatically change as a state of a construct or connection changes or upon receipt of construct metadata updates in response to certain events such as at periodic time intervals (e.g., a “dynamic topology mapping”).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Cherkas in order to effectively troubleshoot connectivity issues such that “a controller configured to deploy a first gateway in a first cloud computing network and a second gateway in a second cloud computing network” [Cherkas, Abstract].
Claim(s) 5 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodeboyina et al. (US 2020/0313955, “Kodeboyina”) in view of Ramabadran (US 10,785,139) and Csaszar et al. (US 2013/023259, “Csaszar”), and further in view of Licking et al. (US 10,050,854, “Licking”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kodeboyina unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, it is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about updating a table when no response received. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Licking as follows;
the method of claim 3 and the first network device of claim 15, respectively, further comprising:
sending, through the egress port, at least one probe packet, wherein the at least one probe packet is from the data plane ([Licking, Col. 14; line 51] “For each BFD transmit packet that is sent out”, and [Licking, Col. 13; lines 27-30] “FIG. 11 conceptually illustrates a process 1100 that a forwarding element performs for generating and processing packets in the data plane of the forwarding element in some embodiments.”); and
updating the status in the port state table to the specified state when the first network device does not receive a response packet for the at least one probe packet within a preset duration ([Licking, Col. 14; line 64 – Col. 15; line 7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Licking in order to reduce overheads such that “a hardware forwarding element with a novel packet generator that generates packets inside the forwarding element by performing a set of hardware and firmware operations in the data plane.” [Licking, Col. 1; lines 41-44].
Claim(s) 6 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodeboyina et al. (US 2020/0313955, “Kodeboyina”) in view of Ramabadran (US 10,785,139) and Csaszar et al. (US 2013/023259, “Csaszar”), and further in view of Li (US 2013/0275529).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kodeboyina unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, it is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about IP address carried in a payload. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Li as follows;
the method of claim 1 and the first network device of claim 13, respectively,
wherein the first notification packet comprises indication information and address information, wherein the indication information indicates that the first notification packet is a fault notification packet ([Li, 0061 and Fig. 4] “The mobile device bears the second notification message in a DHCP NAK packet, and sends the DHCP NAK packet to the terminal device, where the second notification message includes address information invalidation indication information and the address information corresponding to the first default bearer.”),
wherein the address information is carried in a payload of the first notification packet ([Li, 0046] “The protocol packet is a DHCP NAK (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol No Acknowledgement, dynamic host configuration protocol no acknowledgement) packet”), and
wherein the address information comprises a first destination Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first data packet or an IP address prefix corresponding to the first destination IP address ([Li, 0056] “a method for notifying and learning address information invalidation. The method shown in FIG. 4 is a method for notifying and learning invalidation of IPv4-type address information,”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Li in order to improve flowing of data traffic such that “a method and an apparatus for notifying and learning address information invalidation” [Li, 0005].
Claim(s) 7 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodeboyina et al. (US 2020/0313955, “Kodeboyina”) in view of Ramabadran (US 10,785,139), Csaszar et al. (US 2013/023259, “Csaszar”) and Li (US 2013/0275529), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 9,660,914, “Zhou”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kodeboyina unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, it is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about IP address in a notification. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zhou as follows;
the method of claim 6 and the first network device of claim 18, respectively,
wherein a packet header of the first notification packet comprises information indicating the first data packet ([Zhou, Col. 3; lines 50-55] “Example notification messages are described in further detail below with respect to FIGS. 2-4 and 6. The destination of the notification message is set to the source of the sampled packet, and the notification message is sent to an ingress port of the L3 switch 144 through which the sampled packet was received.”), and
wherein the information comprises at least one of a first source media access control (MAC) address of the first data packet, a first destination MAC address of the first data packet, a first source IP address of the first data packet, or the first destination IP address ([Zhou, Col. 5; lines 7-11] “FIG. 2 illustrates an example congestion notification message 200 for L3 networks. The example format of the message 200 may work particularly well for all non-tunneled IP traffic being sampled. The message 200 includes an IP header 210, as well as a payload 250.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Zhou in order to improve low congestion and high latency such that “method is provided for sending congestion notification messages through L3 networks” [Li, 0005].
Claim(s) 8 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodeboyina et al. (US 2020/0313955, “Kodeboyina”) in view of Ramabadran (US 10,785,139), Csaszar et al. (US 2013/023259, “Csaszar”), Li (US 2013/0275529) and Zhou et al. (US 9,660,914, “Zhou”), and Shmilovici et al. (US 2018/0198715, “Shmilovici”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kodeboyina unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, t is noted that while disclosing detecting a faulty path/port, Kodeboyina does not specifically teach about swapping either MAC or IP addresses. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Shmilovici as follows;
the method of claim 7 and the first network device of claim 19, respectively, wherein the first notification packet meets at least one of the following: a second source MAC address of the first notification packet is the first destination MAC address, and a second destination MAC address of the first notification packet is the first source MAC address; or a second source IP address of the first notification packet is the first destination IP address, and a second destination IP address of the first notification packet is the first source IP address ([Shmilovici, 0044] “the egress processing module 170 modifies the header section to make the CNP packet destined to the source device. For example, the egress processing module 170 swaps values in a source IP address subfield and a destination IP address subfield in the header section.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kodeboyina by using the features of Shmilovici in order to control traffic in congestion situations and high latency such that “to detect a congestion associated with a packet that is sent from a source device to a destination device in the network and generate a notification packet that is destined to the source device.” [Shmilovici, 0004].
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 9-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, said claim is directed to a method for a distributed fault-notification process in which a second network device receives, from a downstream first network device, a first notification packet identifying a faulty first forwarding path associated with a first data packet, receives a second data packet having the same destination IP address, and generates, on the data plane, a second notification packet when a second forwarding path for the second data packet is faulty and has no redundant path on the second network device. The second forwarding path includes the faulty first forwarding path, and the second notification packet indicates that the second forwarding path is faulty.
The independent claims were amended to clearly define the claimed invention and further differentiate from the previously-applied prior art references.
Said claim contains the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious at the time of instant invention was filed:
9. A method, comprising:
receiving, from a first network device, a first notification packet,
wherein the first notification packet indicates that a first forwarding path is faulty,
wherein the first forwarding path corresponds to a first data packet, and
wherein the first network device is a downstream network device of a second network device;
receiving, through an ingress port of a data plane of the second network device, a second data packet,
wherein the second data packet and the first data packet have a same destination Internet Protocol (IP) address;
generating, on the data plane of the second network device, a second notification packet when a second forwarding path corresponding to the second data packet is faulty and when there is no redundant path of the second forwarding path on the second network device,
wherein the second forwarding path comprises the first forwarding path, and
wherein the second notification packet indicates that the second forwarding path is faulty; and
sending, through the ingress port, the second notification packet.
The amendments further limit the scope of the claimed invention and with the amendments presented, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for combination in the prior art(s) as cited to show the claimed subject matter as detailed in the independent claims. Examiner submits that the limitations entered into the independent claims are not taken alone but are viewed in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding claims 10-12, these claims depend from claim 9 above, and thus are allowed for the same reason stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411