DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s election in response to the restriction requirement received on 08/03/2026. Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-2 and 9-10 have been amended and claims 7-8 and 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration. A complete action on the merits of claims 1-6 and 9-12 follows below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.Applicant elected Species I directed to Fig. 3 with traverse.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the feature of insulating cover 11 in FIG. 13 and 14 is an additional feature applicable to any one of the species of FIGS. 3 and 6-9 and is not an alternative feature nor a feature mutual exclusive to the features in the elected species. As such, it is respectfully asserted that Species V and VI are not properly separate species and at least features related to the insulation cover should be eligible for examination with elected Species I. Similarly, it is respectfully noted that the feature of through-hole 8222 in FIG. 9 9 is an additional feature applicable to any one of the species of FIGS. 3 and 6-9 and is not an alternative feature nor a feature mutual exclusive to the features in the elected species. As such, it is respectfully asserted that Species IV is not properly a separate species and at least features related to the through hole should be eligible for examination with elected Species I. Second, it is respectfully submitted that the subject matter of all species is sufficiently related such that a thorough search for the subject matter of any one species would necessarily encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining species. Thus, and as evidenced by claims 1-6 and 9-12 being generic to multiple identified species, it is respectfully submitted that the search and examination of all identified Species 1 to VI could be performed without serious burden. MPEP § 803 clearly states that "If the search and examination of an entire application can be made without serious burden, the Examiner must examine it on its merits, even though it includes claims to distinct or independent inventions" (emphasis added). It is respectfully submitted that this policy should apply in the present application in order to avoid unnecessary delay and expense to Applicants in duplicative examination by the Patent Office. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the Election of Species Requirement and examination of the non-elected Species along with elected Species I.”
This is not found persuasive because the disclosure states the addition of the insulation cover 11 in Figs. 13-14 and/or adding a through-hole 8222 in Fig. 9 are modification made to the system creating different embodiments that are searched in different areas. Not all of the embodiments include the cover and a hole. The addition of these structures change the apparatus and usability of the device and thus makes for a burden of searching and consideration of the different embodiments. Upon allowance of a generic independent claim, the arguments will be considered and perhaps the claims rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prisco (US Pub. No. 2016/0235469).
Regarding Claim 1, Prisco teaches a treatment tool (abstract and Fig. 1), comprising:
a tubular portion (various figures show a long tubular element such as Figs. 1-7, 13A-B, 16, 19A, 26A-C, 31A, 36A, 39A-B, 42A) including a tubular portion main body having a long tubular shape and an opening section (the tip opening section shown in various embodiments) provided in the tubular portion main body, the tubular portion being configured to suck a tissue piece from the opening section ([0094]-[0098], [0125]-[0126], [0130]-[0138] and [0144]);
a blade portion (232 Figs. 5-11B, 412/462 in Figs. 13A-25, 552 in Figs. 26-30, 968 Fig. 48A and various other similar blade sections of other embodiments) provided in a part of an opening edge in the opening section (“the inner shaft assembly 150 includes a first tubular member (also can be referred to as an inner shaft or inner blade) 170 defining a lumen 172 and a cutting tip 174” [0098]); and a non-blade portion provided in at least a part other than a region where the blade portion is provided in the opening edge, the non-blade portion being configured to slide the tissue piece (the outer surface such as 244 in Figs. 5-11B, 420/470 in Figs. 13A-25, 560 in Figs. 26-30 and 978 in Fig. 48A-48B “The tip segment 978 follows a curvature of the distal end of the outer shaft 954, and projects upwardly toward the first electrode surface 96” [0188] having a smooth surface that allows for sliding a tissue piece), wherein the blade portion includes an inclined surface (at least one of the serrated or teeth section) that is inclined about a central axis of the tubular portion main body, the inclined surface intersecting the opening section (various figures show details of the distal sections including the serrated or teeth section which at least one of such surfaces intersecting the opening surface of the opening section, see for example Figs. 10, 15, 18, 21-23, 35 and 47-50D).
Regarding Claim 2, Prisco teaches wherein the inclined surface extends from the opening edge toward a proximal side of the tubular portion main body such that a proximal end side of the inclined surface approaches the central axis of the tubular portion main body (the proximal end of the electrode having a serrated or teeth section shown in various figures such as Figs. 10, 15, 18, 21-23, 35 and 47-50D, which it bends toward the central axis of the tubular portion main body).
Regarding Claim 3, Prisco teaches wherein the blade portion is provided on a proximal end side at the opening edge, and wherein the non-blade portion is provided on a distal end side at the opening edge (at least one of the serrated or teeth section of the blade region provided at the proximal side of the opening vs. the smooth opposite side provided at the distal end of the opening as seen in various figures 1-50D).
Regarding Claim 4, Prisco teaches wherein the inclined surface is a surface intersecting the opening surface of the opening section (various figures show details of the distal sections including the serrated or teeth section which at least one of such surfaces intersecting the opening surface of the opening section, see for example Figs. 10, 15, 18, 21-23, 35 and 47-50D).
Regarding Claim 5, Prisco teaches wherein the inclined surface is a surface extending in a normal direction of the opening surface of the opening section (various figures show serrated or teeth section of the blade region wherein at least one of the surfaces extends in a normal direction of the opening surface of the opening section, see Figs. 10 and 47A-50D).
Regarding Claim 6, Prisco teaches wherein the blade portion is an electrode capable of scraping the tissue piece according to supplied high-frequency power ([0007], [0101]-[0104], [0111]-[0116], [0122]-[0200] generally disclose the positioning of the electrodes at the blade region capable of applying energy to tissue capable of scraping the tissue piece according to supplied high-frequency power, see [0095]).
Regarding Claim 9, Prisco teaches a treatment system (abstract and Fig. 1), comprising:
a treatment tool configured to be inserted into a subject (Fig. 1 and various other embodiments); and a suction device configured to suck a tissue piece through the treatment tool (the tip opening section shown in various embodiments) provided in the tubular portion main body, the tubular portion being configured to suck a tissue piece from the opening section ([0094]-[0098], [0125]-[0126], [0130]-[0138] and [0144]), wherein the treatment tool includes:
a tubular portion including a tubular portion main body having a long tubular shape (various figures show a long tubular element such as Figs. 1-7, 13A-B, 16, 19A, 26A-C, 31A, 36A, 39A-B, 42A) and an opening section (at the distal end shown in various figures) provided in the tubular portion main body, the tubular portion being configured to suck the tissue piece from the opening section ([0094]-[0098], [0125]-[0126], [0130]-[0138] and [0144]); a blade portion provided in a part of an opening edge in the opening section (232 Figs. 5-11B, 412/462 in Figs. 13A-25, 552 in Figs. 26-30, 968 Fig. 48A and various other similar blade sections of other embodiments); and
a non-blade portion provided in at least a part other than a region where the blade portion is provided in the opening edge, the non-blade portion being configured to slide the tissue piece (the outer surface such as 244 in Figs. 5-11B, 420/470 in Figs. 13A-25, 560 in Figs. 26-30 and 978 in Fig. 48A-48B “The tip segment 978 follows a curvature of the distal end of the outer shaft 954, and projects upwardly toward the first electrode surface 96” [0188] having a smooth surface that allows for sliding a tissue piece), and wherein the blade portion includes an inclined surface that is inclined about a central axis of the tubular portion main body (at least one of the serrated or teeth section), the inclined surface intersecting the opening section (various figures show details of the distal sections including the serrated or teeth section which at least one of such surfaces intersecting the opening surface of the opening section, see for example Figs. 10, 15, 18, 21-23, 35 and 47-50D).
Regarding Claim 10, Prisco teaches wherein the inclined surface extends from the opening edge toward a proximal side of the tubular portion main body such that a proximal end side of the inclined surface approaches the central axis of the tubular portion main body (the proximal end of the electrode having a serrated or teeth section shown in various figures such as Figs. 10, 15, 18, 21-23, 35 and 47-50D, which it bends toward the central axis of the tubular portion main body).
Regarding Claim 11, Prisco teaches wherein the blade portion is provided on a proximal end side at the opening edge, and wherein the non-blade portion is provided on a distal end side at the opening edge (at least one of the serrated or teeth section of the blade region provided at the proximal side of the opening vs. the smooth opposite side provided at the distal end of the opening as seen in various figures 1-50D).
Regarding Claim 12, Prisco teaches wherein the blade portion is an electrode capable of scraping the tissue piece according to supplied high-frequency power ([0007], [0101]-[0104], [0111]-[0116], [0122]-[0200] generally disclose the positioning of the electrodes at the blade region capable of applying energy to tissue capable of scraping the tissue piece according to supplied high-frequency power, see [0095]).
Conclusion
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794