DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 & 11, the applicant recites in the preamble “electronic components”. The applicant then recites in a second limitation “a carrier for supporting an electronic component”. It is unclear if the both recited “electric component(s)” are the same component(s) or different component(s).
Claims 2-10 & 11-19 are rejected based on the dependency from Claim 1 or 11.
Claims 10 & 19 recites “wherein the electronic component is one of a wafer, a substrate, a panel, a solar panel, and a reticle”. It is unclear to what “electric component(s)” from the recited component(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trumper (US 2020/0266692).
Regarding Claim 1, Trumper discloses a stage assembly for supporting and moving electronic components (FIG. 5, 33A-36, Abstract; In one embodiment, such a linear motor can include a first component having an armature including a plurality of iron cores surrounded by coil windings, and a second component having a plurality of permanent magnets with alternating polarity) comprising:
(a) a guide rail [3408] (FIG. 34A, ¶ [0137]);
(b) a carrier [3406] for supporting an electronic component and moveable along a length of the guide rail [3408] (FIG. 34B, ¶ [0137]; to use magnets 3402 coupled to threaded studs 3404 that can variably extend from the moving stage 3406 to adjust the magnetic gap between magnets 3402 and the guide surface 3408);
(c) a linear motor [500] comprising a rotor [504] and a stator assembly [502] positioned along the length of the guide rail [3408 as shown in FIG. 34B], the rotor [504] operatively coupled to the carrier [3406 as shown in FIG. 34B] to actuate movement of the carrier [3406 as shown in FIG. 34B] along the length of the guide rail [3408 as shown in FIG. 34B] (FIG. 5, ¶ [0099]; The motor 500 generally includes an armature 502 having a plurality of fine teeth separated by narrow slots that contain windings having more than the conventional three phases, as well as a moving stage 504 having a Halbach magnet array. Such a magnetic design can produce smoother stator and rotor MMF waveforms with less harmonic content, thereby generating less force harmonics while enhancing the shear stress density);
(d) a flux shield [Halbach magnet array] formed of a ferromagnetic material and positioned between the stator assembly [502] and the carrier [3406 as shown in FIG. 34B] (¶ [0099]); and
(e) one or more magnetic [3510] preload assemblies operatively coupled to the carrier [3506] (FIG. 35).
Regarding Claim 2, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more magnetic preload assemblies comprise a plurality of magnetic preload assemblies aligned along the length of the guide rail [3408 as shown in FIG. 34B] (Claim 1; a first component having an armature including a plurality of iron cores surrounded by coil windings; and a second component having a plurality of permanent magnets with alternating polarity; wherein the first component and the second component are adjacent and configured to translate relative to one another along a movement axis).
Regarding Claim 3, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 1,
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more magnetic preload assemblies are each adjustable to modify a magnetic preload [alternating polarity] on the carrier [3406 as shown in FIG. 34B] relative to the guide rail [3408 as shown in FIG. 34B] (Claim 1; a first component having an armature including a plurality of iron cores surrounded by coil windings; and a second component having a plurality of permanent magnets with alternating polarity; wherein the first component and the second component are adjacent and configured to translate relative to one another along a movement axis).
Regarding Claim 4, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 3 [see rejected 3],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more magnetic preload assemblies each comprise a housing [left/right side 3520] and a magnet [left/right side 3602] disposed within the housing [left/right side 3520], wherein the housing is threaded [by 3608] to the carrier [3500], wherein rotation of the housing changes a distance between the magnet and the flux shield (FIG. 36, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding Claim 5, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 3,
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more magnetic preload assemblies each comprise a housing [left/right side 3520] and a magnet [left/right side 3602] disposed within the housing [left/right side 3520], wherein the magnet is threaded [by 3608] to the housing [left/right side 3520], wherein rotation of the magnet changes a distance between the magnet and the flux shield (FIG. 35, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding Claim 6, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Trumper discloses wherein the guide rail [3408] defines a motor [single or double sized motor] receiving cavity that is recessed away [gap as shown in FIG. 34B where arrows points to bearings] from the carrier [3406], the linear motor [single or double sized motor] at least partially positioned within the motor receiving cavity [gap as shown in FIG. 34B where arrows points to bearings]to be positioned between the guide rail [3408] and the carrier [3406] (FIG. 5; “cavity” of 500 where 504 is guided through 502. ¶ [0137]; In some embodiments of either a single- or double-sided motor configuration (and using either a conventional or a fine-tooth motor), there can be a need to control preloading force.).
Regarding Claim 7, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Trumper discloses wherein the carrier [3406] comprises an underside that defines a guide rail receiving cavity that the guide rail is at least partially positioned in [details shown as 3502 in FIG. 36], and the one or more magnetic preload assemblies [3602] are coupled to a side of the carrier [details shown in FIG. 36] to direct a magnetic force at the rail receiving cavity (FIG. 34A-36).
Regarding Claim 8, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Trumper discloses further comprising one or more air bearings [3512] coupled to one of the carrier [3406] and the guide rail [3408], and the air bearings [3512] are configured to provide pressurized air between the carrier and the guide rail [3408] (FIG. 34A-36, ¶ [0138]; A moving stage 3508 having an array of permanent magnets 3510 rides on air bearings 3512, 3514, 3516, 3518 to facilitate reduced friction travel along the support stage 3504).
Regarding Claim 9, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more air bearings comprise a first pair of air bearings [3514] that are at least partially aligned along the length of the guide rail [3408 as shown in FIG. 34B], and a second pair of air bearings [3516] that are at least partially aligned along the length of the guide rail [3408 as shown in FIG. 34B], the first pair of air bearings and the second pair of air bearings are positioned on opposite sides [3514 & 3516 are on shown on opposite sides] of the one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies [3510] (FIG. 34B-35, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding Claim 10, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Trumper discloses wherein the electronic component is one of a wafer, a substrate [iron cores] (Abstract), a panel, a solar panel, and a reticle.
Regarding Claim 11, Trumper discloses a stage assembly for supporting and moving electronic components comprising:
a guide rail (refer to element “a” in rejected Claim 1);
a carrier for supporting an electronic component and moveable along a length of the guide rail (refer to element “b” in rejected Claim 1);
a linear motor operatively coupled to one of the guide rail and the carrier, the linear motor actuating movement of the carrier along the length of the guide rail (refer to element “c” in rejected Claim 1);
one or more air bearings coupled to one of the carrier and the guide rail, the air bearings configured to provide pressurized air between the carrier and the guide rail to create a distance between the carrier and the guide rail (¶ [0138]; A moving stage 3508 having an array of permanent magnets 3510 rides on air bearings 3512, 3514, 3516, 3518 to facilitate reduced friction travel along the support stage 3504); and
one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies operatively coupled to the carrier (refer to element “e” in rejected Claim 1),
the adjustable preload assemblies configured to selectively adjust [by alternating polarity] a distance between the carrier and the guide rail (Claim 1; a first component having an armature including a plurality of iron cores surrounded by coil windings; and a second component having a plurality of permanent magnets with alternating polarity; wherein the first component and the second component are adjacent and configured to translate relative to one another along a movement axis).
Regarding Claim 12, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11],
Trumper discloses wherein the carrier [3406] comprises an underside that defines a rail receiving cavity [details shown as 3502 in FIG. 36], the guide rail [3408] is at least partially positioned within the rail receiving cavity [details shown as 3502 in FIG. 36] (FIG. 34A-36), and
the one or more air bearings [3514] are configured to provide pressurized air into the rail receiving cavity (FIG. 35, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding Claim 13, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 12 [see rejected Claim 12],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies [3602] are coupled to a side of the carrier [details shown in FIG. 36] to direct a magnetic force at the rail receiving cavity [details shown as 3502 in FIG. 36] (FIG. 34A-36).
Regarding Claim 14, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 12 [see rejected Claim 12],
Trumper discloses further comprising a flux shield [Halbach magnet array] coupled to the guide rail to be positioned within the rail receiving cavity (¶ [0099]).
Regarding Claim 15, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 14 [see rejected Claim 14],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies at least partially extend into the rail receiving cavity (FIG. 5, 34A-36, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding Claim 16, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies [3510] comprise a plurality of adjustable magnetic preload assemblies [left/right side of 3520] that are aligned along the length of the guide rail (FIG. 35, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding Claim 17, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11],
wherein the one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies each further comprise a housing [left/right side 3520], and a magnet lock [3602], the housing is internally threaded [by 3608] and coupled to the carrier [3500], the magnet lock [3602] is positioned within the housing [left/right side 3520] to engage the threads of the housing, and the magnet is coupled to the magnet lock and positioned within the housing such that rotation of the magnet lock changes a distance between the magnet and the flux shield (¶ [0138]; The air bearings can be preloaded using magnets 3602, 3604, 3606 mounted on threaded studs 3608, 3610, 3612 received in bores formed in the moving stage 3508, as described above).
Regarding Claim 18, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11],
Trumper discloses wherein the one or more air bearings comprise a first pair of air bearings that are at least partially aligned along the length of the guide rail, and a second pair of air bearings that are at least partially aligned along the length of the guide rail, the first pair of air bearings and the second pair of air bearings are positioned on opposite sides of the one or more adjustable magnetic preload assemblies (refer to rejected Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Trumper discloses the stage assembly of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11],
Trumper discloses wherein the electronic component is one of a wafer, a substrate, a panel, a solar panel, and a reticle (similarly rejected as in Claim 10).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834