DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 19-23 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 11, 15-17, and 19 have been amended.
This action is Non-Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 appears to be a limitation that is redundant to independent claim 17 which it depends on. Furthermore, “each chip die” in claim 20 now lacks antecedent basis due to Applicant’s amendment to claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14, 16-21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavette et al. (hereinafter as Clavette) PGPUB 2021/0120676, and further in view of Gibney et al. (hereinafter as Gibney) USPAT 10,170,994 and Ni PGPUB 2023/0098000.
As per claim 1, Clavette teaches a method for two-stage processor voltage regulation [0037: (a power device module 124 may be a separate power stage of a voltage regulator; thus there are multiple stages of voltage regulation)], the method comprising:
receiving, by a buck switching regulator circuit [0038: (power device module 124 may be a buck converter (buck switching regulator circuit)] formed in an active interposer that is positioned on a module [0037: (power device modules 124 are embedded in the interposer) and 0029: (interposer may be seated in a socket which is attached to a system board (module)], a voltage [0015 and 0021: (power device module 124 convert an intermediate voltage at the power input 120 at the bottom side of the processor interposer to a lower voltage on the top side of the processor interposer)];
outputting, from the buck switching regulator circuit to each of processor chip dies positioned on the active interposer based on the received voltage, a first regulated voltage [0023 and 0039: (voltage output of power device module 124 is delivered to processor substrate 108 for providing power to processors (chip dies))], wherein each processor chip die includes one or more processor cores [Clavette 0018];
Clavette does not explicitly teach a plurality of processor chip dies, wherein each of the plurality of processor chip dies includes one or more processor cores; and generating, by each of a plurality of on-chip voltage regulators in each of the plurality of processor chip dies based on the first regulated voltage, a respective second regulated voltage. Clavette does not teach power distribution circuitry details within the processor or processor die and having multiple processor chip dies.
Gibney teaches an integrated circuit chip/processor die on an interposer that receives an input voltage from a regulator. Gibney is thus similar to Clavette because they both teach processor die on an interposer and the processor die receiving voltage. Gibney further teaches generating, by each of a plurality of on-chip voltage regulators in each of the processor chip die based on the first regulated voltage, a respective second regulated voltage [FIG. 1, col. 4 lines 33-37, and col. 5 lines 1-57: (voltage regulator 104 provides an output voltage Vout 132 (first regulated voltage) to various LDO voltage regulators on the processor die, and the LDO voltage regulators use the Vout 132 to provide a second regulated voltage output Vout 124-130 to the cores and circuitry elements in the integrated circuit chip)]. Gibney teaches a voltage regulator providing power to an integrated circuit processor chip, and providing that power to various LDO voltage regulators on the chip to generate different voltages for different components of the integrated circuit chip.
The combination of Clavette with Gibney leads to the voltage regulator in the interposer in Clavette providing a Vout 132 to the processor die/integrated circuit as in Gibney, and the integrated circuit/processor chip having various LDO voltage regulators that take the voltage provided from the interposer to generate a second voltage for corresponding components in the integrated circuit/processor chip as described in Gibney.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Gibney’s teachings a voltage regulator providing voltage to other voltage regulators on the IC chip to generate local output voltages for components on the IC chip in Clavette. Gibney shows the internal circuitry details of each processor chip/die in Clavette. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide local voltage regulators on the processor IC chip to generate voltages for components of the processor IC chip in Clavette because it allows further regulation and customization of voltages for component parts in the IC chip, thereby providing flexibility in voltage generation for component parts of the IC chip and thus protecting the chip from overvoltage or undervoltage scenarios.
Clavette and Gibney do not explicitly teach a plurality of chip dies, generating, by each of a plurality of on-chip voltage regulators in each of the plurality of chip dies based on the first regulated voltage, a respective second regulated voltage. Although Gibney indicates that the hardware modules can include more than one ASCI chips, Clavette and Gibney shows one die on the interposer instead of a plurality of chip dies.
Ni teaches integrated circuit on an interposer and using voltage regulators to provide power to the circuit. Ni is thus similar to Clavette and Gibney. Ni further teaches a plurality of processor chip dies positioned on the active interposer [FIG. 11: (a plurality of integrated circuit dies 1103 and 1104 are on top of the interposer 1102) and 0117: (integrated circuits 1103 and 1104 may be systems-on-a-chip (SoCs); SoCs are processor chips)], wherein each of the plurality of processor chip dies includes one or more processor cores [0117: (the integrated circuits 1103 and 1104 are each SoCs, and SoC have at least one processor core)].
The combination of Clavette and Gibney with Ni leads to a plurality of integrated circuit processor chip dies being on the interposer where each of the plurality of dies are provided first power by the voltage regulator of Clavette, and each of the plurality of dies use the received first power for various internal LDO regulators to generate second power for circuitry components inside the integrated circuit processor chip die. Thus, the combination of the three references would teach generating, by each of a plurality of on-chip voltage regulators in each of the plurality of processor chip dies based on the first regulated voltage, a respective second regulated voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ni’s teachings of placing a plurality of integrated circuit processor chip dies on top of the interposer in Clavette and Gibney. Ni shows how hardware modules can have more than one ASIC chip in Clavette and Gibney. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to place a plurality of integrated circuit processor chip dies on top of the interposer in Clavette and Gibney because it allows various circuity chips to be packed closer together and thus saving physical space, which allows for a reduction in size of a computing device, and because having a plurality of processor chips would improve performance.
As per claim 3, Clavette, Gibney, and Ni teach the method of claim 1, wherein each processor chip die in the plurality of chip dies includes a plurality of on-chip voltage regulators that each receives the first regulated voltage from the buck switching regulator circuit [Gibney FIG. 1: (the integrated circuit/chip die includes a plurality of LDO regulators); and Ni 0117 and FIG. 11: (Ni indicates that there may be a plurality of integrated circuits/processor chips); it would be reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art that a second integrated circuit/processor chip would have a similar structure or configuration as a first integrated circuit/processor chip that is present, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would be obvious to try to use a similar structure or configuration as an existing component)].
As per claim 5, Clavette, Gibney, and Ni teach the method of claim 1, wherein the module is formed on a board [Clavette 0029: (interposer may be seated in a socket which is attached to a system board (module)].
As per claim 6, Clavette, Gibney, and Ni teach the method of claim 5, wherein the voltage received by the buck switching regulator circuit is received from a board voltage regulator positioned on the board that provides the voltage through the board, the module, and the active interposer [Clavette 0017 and 0019: (power converter 104 is positioned on the board and provides voltage to the board, the socket, and the interposer containing the power device module 124)].
As per claim 8, Clavette, Gibney, and Ni teach the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of on-chip voltage regulators is a linear regulator circuit [Gibney FIG. 1: (integrated circuit has LDO voltage regulators)].
Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 5 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 8 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, Clavette, Gibney, and Ni teach the computer program product of claim 17, wherein each chip die is a processor chip die that includes one or more processor cores [Clavette 0018, Gibney FIG. 1 core 114, and Ni 0117: SoCs (which have cores))].
Claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 23 is similar in scope to claim 8 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 15, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavette et al. (hereinafter as Clavette) PGPUB 2021/0120676 in view of Gibney et al. (hereinafter as Gibney) USPAT 10,170,994 and Ni PGPUB 2023/0098000, and further in view of Knight PGPUB 2009/0016090.
As per claim 7, Clavette, Gibney, and Ni teach the method of claim 1.
Clavette, Gibney, and Ni do not teach wherein each of the plurality of on-chip voltage regulators is a buck switching regulator circuit. Gibney describes using linear regulators rather than buck regulators.
Knight teaches circuitry that uses a voltage regulator. Knight is thus similar to Clavette, Gibney, and Ni. Knight further teaches using a buck switching regulator rather than a linear regulator [0022].
The combination of Clavette, Gibney, and Ni with Knight leads to the on-chip voltage regulators being buck switching regulators rather than linear regulators in each of the plurality of integrated circuits processor chips.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Knight’s teachings of using buck switching regulators instead of linear regulators in the integrated circuit chip in Clavette, Gibney, and Ni. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute linear regulator with buck switching regulator because they are both voltage regulators and there are only a limited number of types of voltage regulators, and because buck switching regulator can save significant amounts of power and avoid generation of heat when load is less than a maximum expected value [Knight 0022].
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant filed a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) on 6/17/2026 without presenting any additional arguments or rebuttals to the Advisory Action mailed on 6/1/2026 or any additional claim amendments. As such, Examiner’s arguments from the Advisory Action are presented again as follows.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to argue on page 6-7 that Clavette is focused on a single processor substrate and does not teach a plurality of separate processor dies/chips, let alone dies that each contain a plurality of second stage regulators. Next, Applicant argues on page 7 that Gibney only has a single chip that has multiple LDOs within the chip, but provides no teaching to extend this architecture to a multi-die environment. Lastly, Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that the purpose of Ni having multiple integrated circuit dies is for packaging density and connectivity, and not for specific power architecture, and that they attempt to solve a different problem. Applicant argues that Ni does not teach the specific two-stage power regulation scheme as claimed, nor does it suggest a plurality of on-chip regulators within each of its dies. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding Applicant's first argument that Clavette is focused on a single processor substrate and does not teach a plurality of separate processor dies, let alone dies that each contain a plurality of second stage regulators, Examiner notes that additional prior arts Gibney and Ni were used to address these limitations in the previous Office Action.
Regarding Applicant's second argument that Gibney only has a single chip that has multiple LDOs within the chip, but provides no teaching to extend this architecture to a multi-die environment, Examiner notes that Gibney suggests that the hardware modules can include more than one ASIC chips [col. 15 lines 5-8]. Thus at the very least, Gibney provides a suggestion of having more than one chip. It is reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art that the additional chips would have a similar architecture to the single chip it described in FIG. 1.
Regarding Applicant's last argument that Ni has a different purpose and problem than the claimed invention, Examiner notes that it appears Applicant is arguing that Ni has a different intended use. However, Examiner merely relies on Ni to show the structure of having multiple IC chips on a single interposer. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one integrated circuit chip in Clavette and Gibney with multiple integrated circuit chips because using multiple chips would improve performance. Furthermore, Gibney already alluded to using multiple chips as described above. Packing multiple chips together on an interposer would additionally save more physical space and allow for a reduction in size of a computing device. Thus in summary, Clavette teaches the first stage power regulation for a chip on the interposer, Gibney teaches the second stage power regulation in a chip, and Ni teaches having multiple chips on the interposer. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the combination of these references would lead to multi-stage power regulation for each of a plurality of chips located on the interposer. Please refer to the rejection above for more details.
For the reasons described above, the previously applied prior art still teach the amended claims.
Conclusion
/DANNY CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175