DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of the remarks, filed June 26, 2026, with respect to claims 4-7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection of claims 4-7 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 (see pages 10-12) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the current rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims. In response to the applicant’s remarks that Peng does not disclose the technical details related to wireless sensing and that Peng does not include any content related to wireless sensing or sensing tasks, the examiner notes that the claim does not disclose any technical details related to wireless sensing, nor do the claims disclose any specific content related to wireless sensing or sensing tasks. The claims simply recited a sensing measurement task configured to “sense target objects, events, or environments.” This can be broadly construed to simply sensing or detecting or measuring signals from a neighboring RAT, which is taught by Peng (terminal measuring a value of the neighboring inter-RAT cell, see [0223]).
In response to applicant’s remarks that Stauffer does not mention wireless sensing or sensing tasks and that none of Peng, Stauffer, and Himayat mention any technical elements related to “sensing measurement tasks” or “sense target objects, events, and environments,” nor do they contain any technical guidance or insights regarding “incorporating sensing-based service constraints into handover decisions,” the examiner notes the claims do not mention any technical elements related to “sensing measurement tasks” or “sense target objects, events, and environments nor do the claims contain any technical guidance or insights regarding “incorporating sensing-based service constraints into handover decisions” as the applicant seems to be suggesting. The claims simply recite a sensing measurement task configured to “sense target objects, events, or environments.” This can be broadly construed to simply sensing or detecting or measuring signals from a neighboring RAT, which is taught by Stauffer (measure requested parameters, which includes measuring of cellular and/or WLAN networks (~sensing), see fig. 3, [0033]-[0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng et al US 20190082368 (hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses a handover method, comprising:
a first access network device (first access network device, see fig. 5A-1) acquiring first information, wherein the first information comprises sensing measurement indication information (501; measurement report includes an identifier of a neighboring Inter-RAT cell, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]) and sensing assisted handover information (measurement report includes a measured value of the neighboring Inter-RAT cell, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]), the sensing measurement indication information is used for indicating that a terminal (terminal see fig. 5A-1, [0223]) is executing a sensing measurement task (measurement report, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]), the sensing assisted handover information is used for assisting the first access network device with performing cell handover for the terminal (Terminal, see fig. 5A-1) which is executing the sensing measurement task (503-508, figs. 5A-1, 5A-2, [0234]-[0243], [0247]), and the first access network device is a service access network device for the terminal (first access network device, see fig. 5A-1, [0021]-[0023]); and
the first access network device performing the cell handover on the basis of the sensing measurement indication information and the sensing assisted handover information (steps 507 and 508, see figs. 5A-1 and fig. 5A-2, [0022]-[0023], [0234]-[0243]),
wherein the sensing measurement task is configured to sense target objects, events, or environments (measured value of neighboring Inter-RAT cell, see figs. 1C, 5A-1, [0020], [0158], [0223]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Peng further discloses wherein, the step of the first access network device acquiring the first information, comprises at least one of the following:
the first access network device receiving the first information from the terminal (501; measurement report, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]);
the first access network device receiving the first information from a sensing server; or the first access network device receiving a first handover request message from a third access network device, the first handover request message comprising the first information.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Peng further discloses wherein, the sensing assisted handover information comprises at least one of the following:
a frequency point of a sensing signal, the sensing signal being used for the terminal to execute the sensing measurement task;
a first list, comprising at least one candidate frequency, the candidate frequency being a candidate target frequency of the terminal performing cell handover;
a second list, comprising at least one candidate cell, the candidate cell being a candidate target cell of the terminal performing cell handover;
a third list, comprising at least one first frequency, the first frequency being a frequency to which the terminal is prohibited from being handed over;
a fourth list, comprising at least one second cell, the second cell being a cell to which the terminal is prohibited from being handed over;
a data transmission rate reported by estimated sensing data, the sensing data corresponding to the sensing measurement task; or
an address of the sensing server (measurement report, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]; based on limitation “and/or,” sensing measurement indication information is selected for rejection).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3, Peng further discloses wherein, the step of the first access network device performing the cell handover on the basis of the sensing assisted handover information (measurement report includes a measured value of the neighboring Inter-RAT cell, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]), comprises:
the first access network device determining a target cell on the basis of the sensing assisted handover information;
the first access network device sending a second handover request message to a second access network device to which the target cell belongs;
the first access network device receiving a handover request confirmation message fed back from the second access network device; and
the first access network device sending radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration information to the terminal, the RRC reconfiguration information being used for the terminal to perform cell handover (measurement report, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]; based on limitation “and/or,” sensing measurement indication information is selected for rejection; thus, this embodiment is not invoked).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4, Peng further discloses before the step of the first access network device sending the second handover request message to the second access network device to which the target cell belongs, further comprising: the first access network device determining radio resource management (RRM) measurement configuration information on the basis of the sensing assisted handover information (measurement report, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]; based on limitation “and/or,” sensing measurement indication information is selected for rejection, thus this embodiment is not invoked).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 4, Peng further discloses wherein, the second handover request message at least carries the sensing measurement indication information and/or the sensing assisted handover information (measurement report, see fig. 5A-1, [0223]; based on limitation “and/or,” sensing measurement indication information is selected for rejection; thus, this embodiment is not invoked).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Peng further discloses after the step of the first access network device acquiring the first information, further comprising: the first access network device controlling the terminal to maintain an RRC connected state on the basis of the sensing measurement indication information (steps 507-508, see fig. 5A-2, [0243], [0247] RRC connected state is maintained during handover).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Peng further discloses after the step of the first access network device acquiring the first information, further comprising:
the first access network device acquiring second information, the second information being used for indicating that the sensing measurement task executed by the terminal ends (506, see [0241], handover response message is an indication of the terminal ending a measurement).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9, Peng further discloses wherein, the first access network device receives the second information from a sensing server and/or the terminal (506, see [0241], handover response message is an indication of the terminal ending a measurement).
Claims 12-14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stauffer et al US 20200045612 (hereinafter Stauffer).
Regarding claim 12, Stauffer discloses a cell handover method, comprising:
a sensing server (CWMF server, see fig. 3, [0005], [0028]) sending first information (302, see fig. 3, [0033]) to a first access network device (120, see fig. 3, [0032]) in a case of sending a sensing measurement task message to a terminal (302-306, UE 110, see fig. 3, [0033]);
wherein, the first access network device is a service access network device for the terminal (base station 120, see fig. 3, [0033]), the first information comprises sensing measurement indication information (302; measurement report request includes parameters such as link quality measurements, upper layer metrics, see fig. 3, [0033]) and sensing assisted handover information (302; measurement report request includes parameters such as a period of time over which to perform the measurements, a time interval between measurements, a number of measurement reports to provide, see fig. 3, [0033]), the sensing measurement indication information is used for indicating that the terminal is executing the sensing measurement task (302, 306; measurement report request includes parameters, see fig. 3, [0033]), and the sensing assisted handover information is used for assisting the first access network device with performing cell handover for the terminal which is executing the measurement task (handover, see fig. 3, [0034]-[0035]),
wherein, the sensing measurement task is configured to sense target objects, events, or environments (measure requested parameters, see fig. 3, [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Stauffer further discloses wherein, the sensing assisted handover information comprises at least one of the following:
a frequency point of a sensing signal, the sensing signal being used for the terminal to execute the sensing measurement task;
a first list, comprising at least one candidate frequency, the candidate frequency being a candidate target frequency of the terminal performing the cell handover;
a second list, comprising at least one candidate cell, the candidate cell being a candidate target cell of the terminal performing cell handover;
a third list, comprising at least one first frequency, the first frequency being a frequency to which the terminal is prohibited from being handed over;
a fourth list, comprising at least one second cell, the second cell being a cell to which the terminal is prohibited from being handed over;
a data transmission rate reported by estimated sensing data, the sensing data corresponding to the sensing measurement task; or
an address of the sensing server (302; measurement report request, see fig. 3, [0033]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Stauffer further discloses after the step of sending the first information to the first access network device, further comprising:
the sensing server sending second information to the first access network device, the second information being used for indicating that the sensing measurement task executed by the terminal ends (314, 316, see fig. 3, [0034]; handover message is an indication that the measurement of request parameters has ended).
Regarding claim 16, Stauffer discloses a cell handover method (fig. 3), comprising:
a terminal (302-306, UE 110, see fig. 3, [0033]) receiving a sensing measurement task (302-306, UE 110, see fig. 3, [0033]) from a sensing server (CWMF server, see fig. 3, [0005], [0028]); and
the terminal sending first information (308, see fig. 3, [0033]) to a first access network device (120, see fig. 3, [0032]);
wherein, the first access network device is a service access network device for the terminal (base station 120, see fig. 3, [0033]), the first information comprises sensing measurement indication information (302; measurement report request includes parameters such as link quality measurements, upper layer metrics, see fig. 3, [0033]) and sensing assisted handover information (302; measurement report request includes parameters such as a period of time over which to perform the measurements, a time interval between measurements, a number of measurement reports to provide, see fig. 3, [0033]), the sensing measurement indication information is used for indicating that the terminal is executing the sensing measurement task (302; measurement report request includes parameters, see fig. 3, [0033]), and the sensing assisted handover information is used for assisting the first access network device with performing cell handover for the terminal which is executing the measurement task (handover, see fig. 3, [0034]-[0035]),
wherein, the sensing measurement task is configured to sense target objects, events, or environments (measure requested parameters, see fig. 3, [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16, Stauffer further discloses wherein, the sensing assisted handover information comprises at least one of the following:
a frequency point of a sensing signal, the sensing signal being used for the terminal to execute the sensing measurement task;
a first list, comprising at least one candidate frequency, the candidate frequency being a candidate target frequency of the terminal performing the cell handover;
a second list, comprising at least one candidate cell, the candidate cell being a candidate target cell of the terminal performing the cell handover;
a third list, comprising at least one first frequency, the first frequency being a frequency to which the terminal is prohibited from being handed over;
a fourth list, comprising at least one second cell, the second cell being a cell to which the terminal is prohibited from being handed over;
a data transmission rate reported by estimated sensing data, the sensing data corresponding to the sensing measurement task; or
an address of the sensing server (302; measurement report request, see fig. 3, [0033]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 16, Stauffer further discloses after the step of sending the first information to the first access network device, further comprising:
the terminal sending third information to the sensing server in a case of completing target cell handover according to an RRC reconfiguration message from the first access network device, the third information at least carrying target cell information updated by the terminal (324, see [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al US 20190082368 (hereinafter Peng) in view of Himayat et al US 20150350953 (hereinafter Himayat).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1, Peng discloses the claimed invention except wherein, the first information and/or the second information are/is transmitted through RRC UE assistance information. In a similar field of endeavor, Himayat discloses a first access network device acquiring first information from a terminal, wherein the first information is transmitted through RRC UE assistance information (560, see fig. 5, [0057], [0071]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Himayat with Peng with a reasonable expectation of success by transmitting UE assistance information from the UE to eNB via an RRC layer message, for the benefit of managing inter-RAT session transfers during handover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 15, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648