Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, as filed 23 April 2024, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shui (CN 102780031 B) with paragraph numbering to the provided translation.
Regarding claim 1, Shui teaches a solid electrolyte material (abstract) and at [0009] teaches Li(5+x+2y+z-m)La(3-x)Mg(x)Al(y)Zr(z)Nb(2-y-z)O(12-m)F(m), where: x=0.1-0.5; y=0.1-0.2; z=0.1-0.2; m=0.1-0.3, which meets the claimed solid electrolyte.
Regarding claim 2, Shui teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Shui further teaches a ratio of an amount of substance of the Li to a sum of amounts of substance of the Nb and the M. Referring to the formula at [0009], if x=0.1; y=0.1; z=0.1; and m=0.1, the ratio of Li to Nb and M is 2.5, which falls within the claimed range of 2.2 to 3.3. If x=0.5; y=0.2; z=0.2; and m=0.3, the ratio is 2.4, which also falls within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagamine (US 20210273259 A1) in view of Tanaka (WO 2020137153 A1, with paragraph citations to US 20210242494 A1).
Regarding claims 1 - 3, Nagamine teaches at [0013-0025] a solid electrolyte material comprising Li, M, and X, where M can be any metal element that is not a metalloid (candidates include Al, Nb) and where X can be selected from F, Cl, Br, or I. The selection of F is rendered obvious as it represents one of 4 candidates for the anion in the instant electrolyte. At [0037], the lithium-ion conductivity is maintained at a higher rate if M contains a trivalent metal, therefore the selection of Al is rendered obvious as it represents one of a finite number of trivalent metals. At [0078] Nagamine discloses a solid electrolyte with the composition Li3(Al, Ga, In)X6, where X may be F, Cl, Br, or I. (Examiner notes that this is a separate embodiment.) A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to select the subscript 3 for lithium and 6 for fluorine, based on Nagmine’s teaching of a successful electrolyte. This creates Li3AlF6. Nagamine discloses Nb as one of several candidates for M, but does not explicitly provide a motivation for replacing some of the Al with Nb.
Tanaka, in the field of (abstract) solid electrolyte materials having a high lithium-ion conductivity, discloses a first embodiment at [0021] a solid electrolyte material which includes Li, M, O, and X, where M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Nb and Ta, and X is selected from Cl, Br, and I. At [0295], Tanaka contemplates that where M includes Nb, the solid electrolyte material has higher ionic conductivity. (Examiner notes that Tanaka’s electrolyte of the first embodiment does not include Al and does not include F, as required by claim 1.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify Nagamine’s halide solid electrolyte material by substituting some of the aluminum with niobium as taught by Tanaka with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving the desirable result of higher ionic conductivity, thus creating an electrolyte having the formula Li3Nb1-xAlxF6, where 0<x<1. This meets the limitations of claims 1 and 2. (Li : metal ratio = 3)
Regarding the formula of claim 3, ( Li6−(5−2x)b(Nb1−xMx)bF6, wherein in the M is Al, and 0 < x < 1 and 0 < b ≤ 1.2 are satisfied), Nagamine in view of Tanaka falls within this formula. (assume b=1)
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Nagamine in view of Tanaka teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Nagamine does not explicitly teach (claim 4) wherein in the composition formula (1), 0.40 ≤ x ≤ 0.80 is satisfied and (claim 5) wherein 0.80 ≤ b ≤ 1.10 is satisfied.
At [0037], Nagamine teaches that the lithium-ion conductivity is maintained at a higher rate if M contains a trivalent metal. At [0044], Nagamine teaches that lithium-ion conductivity has a higher retention rate if the average ionic radius ratio is between 0.424 and 0.460. This ratio is defined at [0020]. Because the ionic radius of Nb is known to be larger than the ionic radius of Al, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to optimize the amount of Nb in the electrolyte, to raise the ionic radius ratio and with a reasonable expectation of selecting a value within the claimed range and successfully improving the lithium-ion conductivity retention rate.
A person of ordinary skill would recognize the need for charge balance in the electrolyte. Because the valence of Nb is +5 and of Al is +3, as Al is replaced with Nb, the total amount of Nb + Al needs to be optimized, with a reasonable expectation of successfully creating an electrolyte where the composition falls within the range of 0.80 ≤ b ≤ 1.10 for formula (I).
Regarding claim 6, Nagamine in view of Tanaka teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Nagamine further teaches a battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the electrolyte layer includes the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1. ([0056])
Regarding claim 7, Nagamine in view of Tanaka teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Nagamine further wherein the electrolyte layer includes a first electrolyte layer and a second electrolyte layer, the first electrolyte layer is disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, the second electrolyte layer is disposed between the first electrolyte layer and the negative electrode, and the first electrolyte layer includes the solid electrolyte material. ([0078] “A layer composed of the solid electrolyte material according to the first embodiment and a layer composed of a solid electrolyte material different from the solid electrolyte material according to the first embodiment may be placed sequentially.”)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, 10-13, and 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/643712 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
(a) It would be obvious that the electrolyte of the instant claim 1 could be used as part of a positive electrode active material, as in copending claims 1, 5, 7, 10, 13 and 15;
(b) The formula of instant claim 3 is equivalent to claims 11 of the copending application. (Examiner notes that the limitation “occluding and releasing lithium ions” of copending claim 13 is known to be a necessary feature for a functioning lithium ion battery.)
(c) The instant claim 6 requires a battery with a solid electrolyte layer, similar to copending claim 15.
(d) The instant claim 7 requires a second electrolyte layer and therefore is equivalent to claims 16-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751