DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 86-88, 91, 93-98, 101, and 103-105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2018/0368168 to Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung).
18In regard claim 86, Jung teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 14, paragraph [0081], the UE 110), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Fig. 14, element 1450);
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see Fig. 14, elements 1420 and 1450) and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (see paragraph [0083]):
identify, for an uplink channel, a plurality of rate matching resources that correspond to one or more signals scheduled for transmission (see abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0045], [0061], and [0101], the UE can consider the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources not available for long PUSCH/PUCCH and can perform rate-matching around the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources. The short physical UL channel resource can correspond to a short physical UL channel A physical uplink channel can be a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or any other physical uplink channel. The controller can also identify REs around which to perform rate-matching and the modification information can include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching. The controller can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by at least one selected from a predefined configuration and a configurable parameter); and
transmit a message via the uplink channel, the uplink channel excluding the plurality of rate matching resources when the message is transmitted (see paragraphs [0073], [0098], and [0099], the transceiver 1470 can receive scheduling information to transmit a physical UL channel. The scheduling information can include modification information regarding modifying a physical UL channel transmission. The scheduling information can also include information regarding at least one allocated PRB and at least one allocated symbol for the physical UL channel. The transceiver can transmit the physical UL channel based on the scheduling information including the modification information. The DCI including the dynamic puncturing information can be transmitted after transmitting the scheduling information for the physical uplink channel and before completing reception of the physical uplink channel).
In regard claims 87 and 97, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 86, wherein the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information dynamically scheduling the one or more
signals, wherein the plurality of rate matching resources are identified in accordance with the
downlink control information (see paragraphs [0055], [0073], [0075], and [0079], DL scheduling DCI can be received. The scheduling information can include modification information regarding modifying a physical UL channel transmission. The modification information can include an indication of rate-matching of a physical UL channel around REs. The modification information can also include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching. The DL scheduling DCI can include information of a device-specific PRB offset and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for the HARQ-ACK feedback transmission. An indication of a monitoring interval for a PDCCH carrying the DCI including the dynamic puncturing information can be received. The DCI including scheduling information can be different from DCI including dynamic puncturing information).
In regard claims 88 and 98, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 87, wherein the downlink control information further comprises one or more transmission parameters associated with the one or more signals scheduled for transmission (see paragraphs [0058], and [003], the DL scheduling DCI can include information of a device-specific PRB offset and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for the HARQ-ACK feedback. The DCI include scheduling information can be different from DCI including dynamic puncturing information. The modification information can include an indication of rate-matching of a physical UL channel around REs. The modification information can also include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching), the one or more transmission parameters comprising a frequency domain resource assignment, a time domain resource assignment, antenna port information, or a combination thereof (see paragraphs [0025], [0041], [0043], [0046], [0052], [0062], [0063], and [0064], the frequency domain. Even with UE-specific configuration, the time-frequency resources may still be shared by multiple UEs, such as via CDM. Different numerologies provide for different subcarrier spacing in the frequency domain, where slot duration can get shorter as the subcarrier spacing gets wider).
In regard claims 91 and 101, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 86, wherein the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
identify the plurality of rate matching resources of the uplink channel in accordance with a preconfigured time domain resource assignment and a frequency domain resource assignment of the uplink channel (see paragraphs [0004], [0045], [0061], [0082], [0098], and [0101], the UE can consider the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources not available for long PUSCH/PUCCH and can perform rate-matching around the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources. The short physical UL channel resource can correspond to a short physical UL channel A physical uplink channel can be a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or any other physical uplink channel. The controller can also identify REs around which to perform rate-matching and the modification information can include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching. The controller can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by at least one selected from a predefined configuration and a configurable parameter. The controller 1420 can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by a predefined configuration and/or a configurable parameter. the network interface 1480 can be a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port, an Ethernet port, an infrared transmitter/receiver, an IEEE 1394 port, a wireless transceiver, a WLAN transceiver, or any other interface that can connect an apparatus to a network, device, and/or computer and that can transmit and receive data communication signals),
wherein transmitting the message via the uplink channel is based at least in part on the preconfigured time domain resource assignment and the frequency domain resource assignment (see paragraphs (see paragraphs [0101], the modification information can be included in the scheduling information if a number of PRBs allocated for the physical UL channel is larger than a threshold number of PRBs).
In regard claims 93 and 103, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 86, wherein the uplink channel is at least partially overlapping with one or more downlink channels (see paragraphs [0044], [0047], [0062], and [0063], for UE operation for multiplexing different UEs, UL DCI scheduling of long PUSCH/PUCCH can include an indication of the semi-statically configured short PUSCH/PUCCH resource for other UEs, such as UE 2, that fully or partially overlaps with the long PUSCH/PUCCH resource in time and in frequency, such as for UE 1).
In regard claims 94 and 104, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 86, wherein the one or more signals comprise downlink signals scheduled for transmission via a downlink channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0035], [0073], [0075], and [0076], the UE may interpret some of DCI bit fields in a PDCCH that delivers scheduling information for Msg4 and the UE's HARQ-ACK feedback to Msg4 differently depending on the identified PUCCH duration type. An indication of a monitoring interval for a PDCCH carrying the DCI including the dynamic puncturing information can be received).
In regard claim 95, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 86, wherein the plurality of rate matching resources comprises a set of resource blocks, a set of resource elements, a set of symbol periods, or any combination thereof (see paragraphs [0044], [0045], [0047], [0074], and [0077], perform rate-matching around the configured short PUCCH /PUSCH resources, where the long PUSCH/PUCCH has been prepared, such as by channel coding and rate-matching for the allocated long PUSCH/PUCCH resources. Rate-matching around for a long PUSCH/PUCCH resource assignment can include rate-matching around the entire OFDM/SC-FDMA symbols associated to the semi-static resource).
In regard claim 96, Jung teaches or discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identifying, for an uplink channel, a plurality of rate matching resources that correspond to one or more signals scheduled for transmission (see abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0045], [0061], and [0101], the UE can consider the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources not available for long PUSCH/PUCCH and can perform rate-matching around the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources. The short physical UL channel resource can correspond to a short physical UL channel A physical uplink channel can be a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or any other physical uplink channel. The controller can also identify REs around which to perform rate-matching and the modification information can include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching. The controller can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by at least one selected from a predefined configuration and a configurable parameter); and
transmitting a message via the uplink channel, the uplink channel excluding the plurality of rate matching resources when the message is transmitted (see paragraphs [0073], [0098], and [0099], the transceiver 1470 can receive scheduling information to transmit a physical UL channel. The scheduling information can include modification information regarding modifying a physical UL channel transmission. The scheduling information can also include information regarding at least one allocated PRB and at least one allocated symbol for the physical UL channel. The transceiver can transmit the physical UL channel based on the scheduling information including the modification information. The DCI including the dynamic puncturing information can be transmitted after transmitting the scheduling information for the physical uplink channel and before completing reception of the physical uplink channel).
In regard claim 105, Jung teaches or discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to:
identify, for an uplink channel, a plurality of rate matching resources that correspond to one or more signals scheduled for transmission (see abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0045], [0061], and [0101], the UE can consider the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources not available for long PUSCH/PUCCH and can perform rate-matching around the configured short PUCCH/PUSCH resources. The short physical UL channel resource can correspond to a short physical UL channel A physical uplink channel can be a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or any other physical uplink channel. The controller can also identify REs around which to perform rate-matching and the modification information can include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching. The controller can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by at least one selected from a predefined configuration and a configurable parameter); and
transmit a message via the uplink channel, the uplink channel excluding the plurality of rate matching resources when the message is transmitted (see paragraphs [0073], [0098], and [0099], the transceiver 1470 can receive scheduling information to transmit a physical UL channel. The scheduling information can include modification information regarding modifying a physical UL channel transmission. The scheduling information can also include information regarding at least one allocated PRB and at least one allocated symbol for the physical UL channel. The transceiver can transmit the physical UL channel based on the scheduling information including the modification information. The DCI including the dynamic puncturing information can be transmitted after transmitting the scheduling information for the physical uplink channel and before completing reception of the physical uplink channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 89-90, 92, 99-100, and 102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of US Pub. 2019/0230549 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
In regard claims 89 and 99, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 88, wherein the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
identify the plurality of rate matching resources of the uplink channel for a channel bandwidth (see abstract, paragraphs [0098], and [0101], a short physical uplink channel resource corresponding to a short physical uplink channel can be received at a device. Scheduling information to transmit over a long physical uplink channel resource corresponding to a long physical uplink channel can be received. The controller 1420 can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by a predefined configuration and/or a configurable parameter. The controller 1420 can also identify REs around which to perform rate-matching and the modification information can include an identification of the REs around which to perform rate-matching) over a plurality of antenna ports based at least in part on the downlink control information comprising the time domain resource assignment (see paragraph [0081], a controller coupled to the housing, audio input and output circuitry 1430 coupled to the controller 1420, a display 1440 coupled to the controller 1420, a transceiver 1470 coupled to the controller 1420, at least one antenna 1475 coupled to the transceiver 1470, a user interface 1460 coupled to the controller 1420, a memory 1450 coupled to the controller 1420, and a network interface 1480 coupled to the controller 1420).
Jung may not explicitly teach or disclose a plurality of antenna ports.
However, Wang teaches or discloses a plurality of antenna ports (see paragraphs [0417], the configuration information includes at least one of location information of a mapped time-frequency resource, a quantity of antenna ports, time-domain information (which may be periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent, or the like), and the like; and may further include RS type indication information).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for communicating over a long physical uplink channel resource of Jung by including a plurality of antenna ports suggested by Wang. This modification would provide to reduce signaling overheads, and can also improve accuracy of CSI measurement read in paragraph [0299].
In regard claims 90 and 100, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 88, wherein the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
identify the plurality of rate matching resources of the uplink channel for a channel bandwidth and over a plurality of antenna ports based at least in part on the downlink control information comprising the frequency domain resource assignment (see paragraphs [0074], [0098], and [0101], the REs around which to perform rate-matching can be determined based on a set of resources determined by a predefined configuration and/or a configurable parameter. For example, the predefined configuration can be a set of rate matching or puncturing resource grids and the configurable parameter can be a granularity of rate matching or puncturing resource grid. The controller 1420 can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by a predefined configuration and/or a configurable parameter. The controller 1420 can determine the REs around which to perform rate-matching based on a set of resources determined by at least one selected from a predefined configuration and a configurable parameter).
Jung may not explicitly teach or disclose a plurality of antenna ports.
However, Wang teaches or discloses a plurality of antenna ports (see paragraphs [0417], the configuration information includes at least one of location information of a mapped time-frequency resource, a quantity of antenna ports, time-domain information (which may be periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent, or the like), and the like; and may further include RS type indication information).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for communicating over a long physical uplink channel resource of Jung by including a plurality of antenna ports suggested by Wang. This modification would provide to reduce signaling overheads, and can also improve accuracy of CSI measurement read in paragraph [0299].
In regard claims 92 and 102, Jung teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 86, wherein the uplink channel is non-overlapping with one or more downlink channels (see paragraphs [0067], and [0095], the controller 1420 can identify a physical UL channel resource in the long physical UL channel resource to transmit the short physical UL channel if the long physical UL channel resource does not overlap the short physical UL channel resource in the frequency domain).
Jung may not explicitly teach or disclose the uplink channel is non-overlapping with one or more downlink channels.
However, Wang teaches or discloses the uplink channel is non-overlapping with one or more downlink channels (see paragraph [0423], if the resources of the two base stations do not overlap at all, there is no inter-flow interference in a non-overlapping part. Therefore, to accurately measure CSI, a terminal may be configured to ignore inter-flow interference in channel measurement of the non-overlapping part).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a plurality of antenna ports by including wherein the uplink channel is non-overlapping with one or more downlink channels suggested by Wang. This modification would provide to reduce signaling overheads, and can also improve accuracy of CSI measurement read in paragraph [0299].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 86-105 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Date: 02/27/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476