DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5, filed January 22nd, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments and / or remarks filed on January 22nd, 2026. Claims 4-5 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3 remain pending and are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 20070256994 A1), in view of McKelvey (US 20180289127 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jackson teaches a luggage system (10) comprising: a housing (12) formed from two halves (wherein luggage housing 12 is divided into halves by zipper 19) creating an opening for an interior space (wherein panel 12f exposes an interior space); a handle element (40) connected to a pair of telescoping legs (30, 34) configured to extend up and out (through zippered opening 19) of said housing (10); said handle element (40) comprising at least one clothes hanger element receiver (40d, 40e) located on an upper face (wherein endcaps 40d and 40e extend above extendable receiving arms 40b and 40c) of said handle element (40), said at least one clothes-hanger element receiver (40d, 40e) configured to prevent a clothes-hanger element (5 in Annotated Figure 3 below) from sliding off (wherein the raised endcaps can prevent the clothes-hangers from sliding off the extendable receiving arms 40b and 40c) of said handle (40); and said handle element (40) configured to hold clothing items (6 in Annotated Figure 3 below) on said clothes-hanger element (5 in Annotated Figure 3 below) above said housing (12) of the luggage system (10). (Figs. 1-3; [0008]-[0010], [0017]-[0019])
Jackson does not teach said clothes-hanger element receiver comprising a recess within said handle element such that said recess sits below a top face of said handle element, said recess comprising a pair of sides configured to retain said clothes-hanger element within said recess, or wherein each respective one of said pair of sides comprises a shape selected from the shapes comprising: a vertical wall, an upwardly-angled wall formed from a triangular-shaped ridge, and a concave wall formed from a crescent-shaped ridge.
McKelvey further teaches a clothes-hanger element receiver (4) comprising a recess (30 in Annotated Figure 4 below) within said handle element (wherein the receiver functions as a handle in Figure 4) such that said recess sits below a top face (28) of said handle element (4), said recess comprising a pair of sides (24, 28) configured to retain said clothes-hanger element (46) within said recess (30 in Annotated Figure 4 below), wherein each respective one of said pair of sides (24, 28) comprises a shape selected from the shapes comprising: a vertical wall, an upwardly-angled wall formed from a triangular-shaped ridge, and a concave wall formed from a crescent-shaped ridge (indicated at 31 in Annotated Figure 4 below). (Figs. 1-4; [0014]-[0015])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the garment suitcase as taught by Jackson, and provide for a pair of hanger receivers positioned below the top of the handle surface in a crescent shape as taught by McKelvey. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a pair of handle receivers recessed beneath the top of the handle in a crescent shape, in order for the handle to securely stow clothes-hangers on the luggage.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 2, Jackson, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Jackson further teaches wherein said housing (12) comprises a rigid material (wherein Jackson teaches “. For example, one or more of the walls 12a-12f could consist of ballistic nylon, cloth, leather, or other similar material Surrounding a frame consisting of a rigid material. Such as metal.”) (Figs. 1-3; [0010])
Claim 3, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 20070256994 A1), in view of McKelvey (US 20180289127 A1), and further in view of Liu (CN 217658518 U).
Regarding Claim 3, Jackson, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Jackson further teaches a second handle (18) located in proximity with a face (12c) of one of said two halves of said housing (wherein luggage housing 12 is divided into halves by zipper 19); and said second handle (18) configured for pulling said housing about casters (16) affixed to said housing (12). (Figs. 1-3; [0008])
Jackson is silent regarding said second handle comprising a second pair of telescoping legs configured to allow said second handle to be extended from within said housing.
Liu further teaches luggage (10) with a second handle (22) comprising a second pair of telescoping legs (21) configured to allow said second handle (22) to be extended from within a housing (10). (Figs. 1-2; [0030])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the garment suitcase as taught by Jackson, modified above, and provide for a pair of telescoping legs on a second handle as taught by Liu. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a second handle having a pair of telescoping legs, in order to provide the user with a stable pull handle for maneuvering the luggage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Yong (KR 20180122187 A), teaches luggage with a ridged handle.
McKelvey et al. (US 20220167719 A1), teaches a luggage system with a clothing rack.
Ludwig (DE 102020002553 A1), teaches a luggage with grooves for hangers.
Wieclaw (US 10905214 B1), teaches a clothing container and rack.
Graham et al. (US 10383415 B1), teaches a travel bag with a clothing rack.
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733