DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 9,527,731 Debeurre et al. (‘Debeurre hereafter), App 14/514438; Filed 10/15/2014
CN 116773076 Chen F et al. (‘Chen hereafter), Filed 05/23/2023; Pub 09/19/2023
U.S. 2015/0266046 OKUBO et al. (‘Okubo hereafter), App 14686087; Filed 04/14/2015
U.S. 2019/0226614 Carney et al. (‘Carney hereafter), App 16312157; Filed 05/12/2017
U.S. 2023/0033558 Mathew Scott Cain (‘Cain hereafter), App 17962690; Filed 10/10/2022.
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 10 are currently being examined.
No Claims have been canceled.
No Claims are allowed or objected to for allowable subject matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The drawings do not show the following limitations of claim 4: “a guide rail,” and “the movable carrier stage (214) being movable along the guide rail of the accommodation box.”
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 & 4 /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 9,527,731 Debeurre et al. (‘Debeurre hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, Debeurre discloses the claim limitations including:
A monitoring apparatus for a package, comprising: a pressure applying device configured to apply pressure to the package (‘Debeurre, Abst, “A method for testing a plurality of pressure sensors on a device wafer includes placing a diaphragm of one of the pressure sensors on the device wafer in proximity to a nozzle of a test system. A pneumatic pressure stimulus is applied to the diaphragm via an outlet of the nozzle and a cavity pressure is measured within a cavity associated with the pressure sensor in response to application of the pneumatic pressure stimulus. The pneumatic pressure stimulus within the cavity corresponds to the pressure applied to the diaphragm. Methodology is executed to test the strength and/or stiffness of the diaphragm. Additionally, the methodology and test system can be utilized to determine an individual calibration factor for each pressure sensor on the device wafer.” Col. 1, ln 6 – 9, “The present invention relates generally to microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) sensors. More specifically, the present invention relates to wafer-level testing of MEMS pressure sensors.” teaches a method of applying a pneumatic pressure stimulus to a diaphragm #30 to a microelectronic mechanical system (MEMS), Figs 3 & 4, #20 (MEMS device wafer/ package), pressure applying device is the system of #68 (pneumatic pressure stimulus/ pressure applying device), #42 (actuator/ pressure applying device) & #46 (fluid supply line/ pressure applying device)) a sensor configured to measure the pressure applied to the package by the pressure applying device (‘Debeurre, Col. 4, ln 13 – 29, “FIG. 4 shows an enlarged partial view of test system 34 with nozzle 44 utilized to apply pneumatic pressure stimulus 68 to MEMS pressure sensors 22 formed on MEMS device wafer 20. Only a few MEMS pressure sensors 22 and a portion of MEMS device wafer 20 are shown for simplicity of illustration in the partial enlarged view of FIG. 4. Additionally, test system 34 is shown with a single nozzle for simplicity of illustration. In alternative embodiments, test system 34 may include multiple nozzles and associated components so that multiple MEMS pressure sensors 22 may be concurrently tested. In an embodiment, nozzle 44 is directed by signals received via signal line 55 to move along Z-axis 60 toward port 32 in substrate 24 of MEMS device wafer 20. Test system 34 further includes a seal element 78 surrounding outlet 70 of nozzle 44. An opening 80 extends through seal element 78 in which outlet 70 of nozzle 44 is located.” #22 (MEMS pressure sensor/ sensor), #20 (MEMS device wafer/ package));
a signal transmitting apparatus electrically coupled to the package and configured to: input an input signal to a chip of the package; receive an output signal from the package in real time (‘Debeurre, Fig 3, shows a signal transmitting apparatus as a system of #76 (Output pressure signal/ signal transmitting apparatus), #72 (pressure signal/ signal transmitting apparatus) an input output electrical signal path #53 (signal line) to #36 (controller), and Fig 5, #98 (APPLY PNEUMATIC PRESSURE STIMULUS TO PRESSURE SENSOR), as a signal transmitting apparatus); and
monitor a damage of the chip of the package in real time while the pressure applying device applies the pressure to the package (‘Debeurre, Fig 5, the steps of #102 (MEASURE PRESSURE IN CAVITY (CAVITY SEALED)), #104 (CAVITY PRESSURE < LOW PRESSURE THRESHOLD? ), #106 (IDENTIFY PRESSURE SENSOR AS PASS), #108 (IDENTIFY PRESSURE SENSORAS FAIL), identify and monitor the pressure to the package in real-time).
Regarding Claim[s] 3, ‘Debeurre discloses the claim limitations including: wherein the pressure applying device (‘Debeurre, system of #68, #42 & #46) comprises a conduit and a gas generating device configured to provide a high pressure gas , and wherein a first end of the conduit is coupled to the gas generating device and configured to transmit the high pressure gas (‘Debeurre, Col. 5, ln 14 – 28, “Thereafter, pneumatic pressure stimulus 68 is applied (98) to diaphragm 30 of the particular MEMS pressure sensor 22 under test via port 32 and pressure cavity 28. Pneumatic pressure stimulus 68 may be air or another suitable fluid material that is provided via fluid supply line 46 from pressure control module 62 of controller 36, or a subsystem associated with pressure control module 62. In an embodiment, the magnitude or level of pneumatic pressure stimulus 68 applied to MEMS pressure sensor 22 may be at least equivalent to or greater than a maximum pressure rating for MEMS pressure sensors 22. The maximum pressure rating may be a design parameter specific to MEMS pressure 25 sensors 22. Stress is applied to diaphragm 30 by outputting pneumatic pressure stimulus 68 from outlet 70 of nozzle 44 through port 32 and into pressure cavity 28.” The pneumatic pressure may be air or another suitable fluid indicates a gas generating device, fluid supply line indicates a conduit, Col. 6, ln 32 – 36, “A solid trace 122 in chart 114 represents a passing diaphragm 30 in which, following closure of nozzle valve 48, pressure signal 72 remains within a passing range 124 defined by a low pressure threshold 126 and a high pressure threshold 128.” Teaches high pressure gas).
Regarding Claim[s] 4, Debeurre discloses the claim limitations including: an accommodation box configured to accommodate the package (‘Debeurre, Col. 2, ln 62 – Col. 3, ln 4, “FIG. 3 shows a block diagram of an exemplary test system 34 for performing wafer-level testing of MEMS device wafer 20 (FIG. 1). Test system 34 generally includes a controller 36 and a movable X-Y stage referred to herein as an X-Y table 38. A wafer chuck 40 is coupled to X-Y table 38. Wafer chuck 40 is adapted to retain MEMS device wafer 20.” #38 (X-Y table/ accommodation box)),
wherein a surface of the accommodation box comprises a guide rail (‘Debeurre, teaches #38 (X-Y table/ accommodation box), #38 (X-Y table) is movable in the X and Y directions an X-Y table inherently is constructed where an X -Y table rides on the surface of guide rails.) and wherein the pressure applying device further comprises a movable carrier stage (‘Debeurre, Col. 5, ln 14 – 28 (above), #68 (pneumatic pressure stimulus/ pressure applying device), Fig 4 shows #60 (Z-axis) movable in up and down directions, #38 ), the movable carrier stage being movable along the guide rail of the accommodation box (‘Debeurre, Col. 3, ln 1 - 4 , “Test system 34 further includes an actuator 42 having a nozzle 44, a fluid supply line 46 in communication with actuator 42, a nozzle valve 48, and an in-line pressure sensor 50.” Col. 3, ln 5 - 33, “Controller 36 includes an X-Y driver module 52 in communication with X-Y table 38 via a signal line 53. X-Y driver module 52 is adapted to provide control signals to X-Y table 38 in order to move (i.e., index) X-Y table 36 substantially parallel to an X-Y plane of test system 34. Controller 36 additionally includes an actuator driver module 54 in communication with actuator 42 via a signal line 55. In an embodiment, actuator driver module 54 is adapted to provide control signals to actuator 42 in order to move actuator 42 and nozzle 44 in proximity to wafer 20. More particularly, actuator 42 and nozzle 44 are driven toward wafer 20 along an axis, e.g., the Z-axis, substantially perpendicular to the orientation of X-Y table 36. In the illustration of FIG. 3, a three-dimensional coordinate system is represented in which an X-axis 56 is oriented rightward and leftward on the page, a Y-axis 58 is directed inward into the page, and a Z-axis 60 is directed upward and downward on the page. Together, X-axis 56 and Y-axis 58 define the planar X-Y direction of movement of X-Y table 36, and Z-axis 60 defines the Z-axis direction of movement of nozzle 44.” #42 (actuator/ movable carrier stage), the actuator drives the nozzle towards the wafer.), and the conduit passing through the movable carrier stage (‘Debeurre, Fig 3, shows #46 (fluid supply line/ conduit) passes through #42 (actuator/ movable carrier stage)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 9,527,731 Debeurre et al. (‘Debeurre hereafter) and in view of CN 116773076 Chen F et al. (Chen hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Debeurre discloses the claim limitations except is silent regarding: a strainmeter disposed on a lower surface of the package and configured to measure a strain value of the package
However ‘Chen does teach, Abst, “The semiconductor strain gauge (1) has a silicon substrate (11) which is connected in turn from bottom to top, an insulating layer and a metal layer. The surface of the silicon substrate is provided with a voltage dependent resistor. The voltage dependent resistor (12) is located between the silicon substrate and the insulating layer. The voltage dependent resistor is provided with a heavy doping area. The metal layer and the heavy doping area are in ohmic contact. The voltage dependent resistor is provided with multiple bending portions (121). The metal layer adopts a composite metal layer (16), and the composite metal layer includes chromium (Cr) metal and gold (Au) metal.”, ‘Chen teaches a strain gauge from bottom to top).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Debeurre with a strain gauge/ strain meter from the bottom to the top on a silicon substrate as taught by ‘Chen in order to detect the stress of an electronic device (‘Chen, Description).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 9,527,731 Debeurre et al. (‘Debeurre hereafter) and in view of U.S. 2019/0226614 Carney et al. (‘Carney hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 5, ‘Debeurre discloses the claim limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the pressure applying device further comprises a flexible pipe.
However, ‘Debuerre, Col. 3, ln 26 - 33, “An exemplary configuration is described in which actuator 42 undergoes Z-axis motion so as to move nozzle 44 toward MEMS device wafer 20. However, in an alternative embodiment, table 36 may be configured for three-dimensional movement so as to move MEMS device wafer 20 toward nozzle 44. Still other hardware implementations may be utilized to provide the Z-axis motion so as to move nozzle 44 and MEMS device wafer 20 toward one another.” does teach provisions to modify the invention by other hardware implementations.
However, ‘Carney does teach: Para 0004,” In many known flexible pipe designs the pipe body includes one or more tensile armour layers. The primary loading on such a layer is tension. In high pressure applications, such as in deep and ultra-deep water environments, the tensile armour layer experiences high tension loads from a combination of the internal pressure end cap load and the self-supported weight of the flexible pipe. This can cause failure in the flexible pipe since such conditions are experienced over prolonged periods of time, particularly in dynamically loaded pipes, where fatigue damage can accumulate in the elements which make up the tensile armour layers (for example wires or tapes).” A flexible high pressure pipe that can be used in many applications.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Debeurre with a flexible pipe as taught by ‘Carney for use in high pressure applications (‘Carney Para 0004), and
wherein a second end of the conduit is coupled to an end of the flexible pipe in a direction-changeable and interconnected manner (‘Carney. Fig 2, #203 (flexible pipe) shows is coupled to location #201, and #202, and is in a direction changeable orientation).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 9,527,731 Debeurre et al. (‘Debeurre hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2019/0226614 Carney et al. (‘Carney hereafter), and in further view of U.S 2015/0266046 OKUBO et al. (Okubo hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 6, ‘Debeurre and ‘Carney discloses all the limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the conduit is coupled to the flexible pipe through a spherical hinge support.
However, ‘Okubo, Para 0154, “By the above assembling work, the female pipe members 51, 51, the male pipe members 52, 52 and the adjusting rings 53, 53 are assembled into a pipe as a whole. The pipe is a multi-spherical bendable joint pipe, because spherical joints, each in which the male spherical surface 52a, 52a is slidingly contactable with the female spherical surfaces 51a, 51a and 53a, 53a are formed at two positions in the axial direction.” Para 0027, “According to the invention of claim 3 (third invention), since the bendable pipe is a multi-spherical bendable joint pipe comprising a plurality of spherical joints disposed consecutively, each joint having a male or female spherical surface for rotationally fitting adjacent joints with each other, a bending angle of the head can be largely changed, compared with that of a conventional single spherical joint type pipe. Additionally the head is rotatable due to a spherical joint structure, thus the jet direction of shower water can be widely adjusted three-dimensionally.” teaches an apparatus that has multi-spherical bendable joints.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Debeuree with a spherical bendable joint pipe as taught by ‘Okubo in order to allow a joint having a male or female spherical surface for rotationally fitting adjacent joints with each other (‘Okubo Para 0027).
Claims 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 9,527,731 Debeurre et al. (‘Debeurre hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2019/0226614 Carney et al. (‘Carney hereafter), and in view of U.S 2015/0266046 OKUBO et al. (‘Okubo hereafter), and in further view of U.S. 2023/0033558 Mathew Scott Cain (‘Cain hereafter).
Regarding claim[s] 7, ‘Debeurre, ‘Carney and ‘Okubo discloses all the limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the gas generating device comprises a gas storage device configured to store the high-pressure gas.
However, ‘Cain, Para 0053, Fig. 6, “Air compressor 50 is further provided with a solenoid 130 connected to a fitting 131 that communicates with tank 70 and tubing 132 having a first end connected to the opposite side of solenoid 130 from fitting 131.” teaches an air/ gas storage tank #70 that is configured to store high pressure air/ gas.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Debeurre with gas/air generating and gas/ air storage device as taught by ‘Cain in order deliver and store compressed air (‘Cain Para 0003).
Regarding claim[s] 8, ‘Debeurre, ‘Carney, ‘Okubo and ‘Cain discloses all the limitations including: wherein the gas storage device comprises an electromagnetic valve (‘Cain, Fig 5 shows #130 (solenoid/ electromagnetic valve))
Regarding claim[s] 9, ‘Debeurre, ‘Carney, ‘Okubo and ‘Cain discloses all the limitations including: wherein the gas generating device comprises:
a cylinder (‘Cain, Fig 5 shows an air compressor using a two cylinder system in a V configuration);
an intake port disposed on an upper surface of the cylinder (‘Cain, #92 (air intake/ intake port)); an exhaust port disposed on a lower surface of the cylinder (‘Cain, Fig 12, shows #146 (air outlet/ exhaust port) located on lower surface of cylinder); and a piston disposed in the cylinder and configured to compress gas in the cylinder (‘Cain, Abst, “A reciprocating piston air compressor includes a programmable logic controller, a tank, a motor, a pump, a variable speed drive, a head unloader and a cooling system. The programmable logic controller and/or variable speed drive are utilized to monitor the operating state of the air compressor and to control various operational variables, such as motor and pump speed. The air compressor can utilize the variable speed drive to operate a three phase motor on single-phase power.”).
Regarding claim[s] 10, ‘Debeurre, ‘Carney, ‘Okubo and ‘Cain discloses all the limitations including: wherein the gas generating device is further configured to: provide an external gas enters into a cavity of the cylinder through the intake port compress the external gas via a reciprocating motion of the piston (‘Cain, Abst); and
discharge compressed gas out of the cylinder from the exhaust port , to enter into the conduit (‘Cain, Fig 12, #146 (pressurized air outlet/ exhaust port)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. 10,553,503 Davis et al. (‘Davis hereafter) - Method And Structure For Flip-chip Package Reliability Monitoring Using Capacitive Sensors Groups
U.S. 2025/0054786 Chiu et al. (‘Chiu hereafter) - DIE BONDING TOOL WITH MOVABLE COMPONENT FOR IMPROVED DIE PROTRUSION CONTROL AND METHODS FOR USING THE SAME
U.S. 2020/0020574 Huang et al. (‘Huang hereafter) - DEVICE AND METHOD FOR CONTACT STATE INSPECTION
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
10/30/2026