DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the phrase (See claim 1), “a concave portion recessed inward from a surface of the body, the concave portion having an upper side and a guide inclined surface defining a lower side of the concave portion; and a vent hole at the upper side of the concave portion” is not shown. (Figs. 1, 15A & 15B) shows vent hole 205 shown on the lower side of the concave section (not referenced) and the inclined surface 202 is shown at the lower side of the body 200 of the mobile robot 1, see fig. 15B) and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Concave portion 204 (fig.6) shown on the lower side of the mobile robot 200 and not clear from figs.15A-15B as it is not shown and referenced in figs.15A-15B having an upper side and lower side must be shown and referenced for proper understanding of the claimed invention. No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 1, the phrase, “a concave portion recessed inward from a surface of the body, the concave portion having an upper side and a guide inclined surface defining a lower side of the concave portion; and a vent hole at the upper side of the concave portion” is not clear. Applicant’s (Figs. 1, 15A & 15B, spec., para’s [00191] thru [00196], pages 22-23) shows vent hole 205 shown on the lower side of the concave section (not referenced) and the inclined surface 202 is shown at the lower side of the body 200 of the mobile robot 1, see figs. 1, 15B) and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Concave portion 204 (fig.6) shown on the lower side of the mobile robot 200 and not clear from figs.15A-15B as it is not shown and referenced in figs.15A-15B having an upper side and lower side must be shown and referenced for proper understanding of the claimed invention. Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
4.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the phrase, “a concave portion recessed inward from a surface of the body, the concave portion having an upper side and a guide inclined surface defining a lower side of the concave portion; and a vent hole at the upper side of the concave portion” is not clear. Applicant’s (Figs. 1, 15A & 15B, spec., para’s [00191] thru [00196], pages 22-23) shows vent hole 205 shown on the lower side of the concave section (not referenced) and the inclined surface 202 is shown at the lower side of the body 200 of the mobile robot 1, see figs. 1, 15B) and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Concave portion 204 (fig.6) shown on the lower side of the mobile robot 200 and not clear from figs.15A-15B as it is not shown and referenced in figs.15A-15B having an upper side and lower side must be shown and referenced for proper understanding of the claimed invention.
As to claim 9, the phrase, “The mobile robot according to claim 5, wherein the concave portion is disposed at a lower side of the body, and wherein the speaker is vertically disposed at the guide inclined surface where the sound hole is formed, the speaker being configured to obliquely output sound toward an upper side of the body” is not clear as to obliquely output sound toward an upper side of the body. Applicant’s fig.1 shows speaker 352 in the center of the lower side of the body 200. Sound cannot be seen and therefore obliquely output sound is not clear.
Dependent claims 2-20 are rejected as they depend from rejected independent claim 1. Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US PUB. NO.:US 2020/0290210 A1 and Ha hereinafter) in view of Kim et al. (US PUB. NO.: US 2008/0235897 A1 and Kim hereinafter).
As to claim 1, A mobile robot comprising:
a driver configured to provide a traveling function;
a body disposed at an upper side of the driver;
a concave portion recessed inward from a surface of the body, the concave portion having an upper side and a guide inclined surface defining a lower side of the concave portion; and
a vent hole at the upper side of the concave portion.
(As to claim 1, Ha teaches (figs.1-9, para. [0075]) A mobile robot 100 comprising:
a driver [motors 140, 142] (fig.1) configured to provide a traveling function (see para. [0083]);
a body 110 (see fig.1) disposed at an upper side of the driver [motors 140, 142];
a concave portion (circular portion that encircles camera 120, see fig.1) recessed inward from a surface of the body 110 (112), the concave portion (circular portion that encircles camera 120, fig.1) having an upper side [top circular portion above camera 120, see fig.1) and a guide inclined surface defining a lower side 112 (or the bottom circular section below camera 120, see fig.1);
As to claim 1, Ha do not show a vent hole at the upper side of the concave portion.
Kim teaches (see figs. 1, 2, para’s [0042]-[0052]) a robot 1 having a vent hole [air discharge slots 12] at the upper side (figs.1-2, air discharged via vent holes 34 and air-discharge slots 12, see figs.1-2 and para. [0062]) of the concave portion (see fig,1, of the robot body 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have a vent hole at the upper side of the concave portion of Kim in the mobile robot of Ha because it cools the motor (see Kim, para. [0062]) and to achieve an improved cleaning performance (see Kim, para. [0003]).
As to claim 5, The mobile robot according to claim 1, further comprising: a sound hole in the guide inclined surface; and a speaker disposed in the sound hole.
(As to claim 5, Ha teaches (figs.1-9, para. [0075]) the mobile robot 100 further comprising a sound hole (hole of speaker 300, see fig.3) in the guide inclined surface [connecting top portion 114 of body 110], see figs.1, 3); and a speaker 300 disposed in the sound hole (see fig.3, para. [0091]).
As to claim 9, The mobile robot according to claim 5, wherein the concave portion is disposed at a lower side of the body, and wherein the speaker is vertically disposed at the guide inclined surface where the sound hole is formed, the speaker being configured to obliquely output sound toward an upper side of the body.
(As to claim 9, Ha teaches (figs.1-9, para. [0075]) the mobile robot 100 wherein the concave portion (circular portion that encircles camera 120, see fig.1) is disposed at a lower side 112 of the body 110 (see fig.1), and wherein the speaker 300 is vertically disposed (see fig.3) at the guide inclined surface [connecting top portion 114 of body 110], see figs.1, 3) where the sound hole is formed (via speaker 300, see fig.3), the speaker 300 being configured to obliquely output sound [downward direction] (fig.3) toward an upper side 114 (fig.1) of the body 110.)
As to claim 11, The mobile robot according to claim 1, further comprising a display located at an upper portion of the concave portion.
(As to claim 11, Ha teaches (figs.1-9, para. [0075]) A mobile robot 100 further comprising a display [touch screen] 800 located at an upper portion 114 of a concave portion 200 (see figs.7-8, para. [0105])).
ALLOWABLE SUBJECT-MATTER
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6-8, 10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6-8, 10 and 12-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach the vent hole is oriented to face the guide inclined surface such that, during traveling of the driver, air is introduced into the body through the vent hole.
As to claim 3, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach a rear concave portion at a rear surface of the body, wherein the vent hole includes: a rear vent hole disposed at the rear surface of the body, and wherein air is introduced into one of the front vent hole and the rear vent hole in a traveling direction and is discharged through the other of the front vent hole and the rear vent hole in an opposite direction to the traveling direction.
As to claim 4, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach the guide inclined surface is inclined downward in a direction from an inner portion of the guide inclined surface to an outer portion of the guide inclined surface, and wherein the vent hole is directed toward a floor supporting the mobile robot.
As to claim 6, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach a waterproof film disposed across the sound hole.
As to claim 7, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach a vent roof cover covering the vent hole. Claim 8 depend on allowable claim 7.
As to claim 10, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach a speaker bracket connected to the driver, the speaker bracket orienting the speaker at an oblique angle relative to the driver.
As to claim 12, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach display supports fixed to the body profiles to extend in a forward and backward direction, the display supports being coupled to the display. Claims 13-16 depend on allowable claim 12.
As to claim 17, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Ha et al. and Kim et al.) fails to teach a head disposed at an upper portion of the body, the head including a head bracket inserted into the body, wherein, when a first bolt fastened to the head bracket is released, the head is separable from the body. Claims 18-20 depend on allowable claim 17.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all outstanding formal requirements (see Objection to drawings and specification and 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 1-20 above).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: prior art of record (IIJIMA, TAKAHIRO, WO 2018/123431 A1) teaches an interactive robot 100 (figs.1-13, abstract) that can communicate with a user (Technical field, page 1).
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846