CTNF 18/643,748 CTNF 76858 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation “the NR link” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The same remark applies to claims 10-11. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 7-8, 12-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (EP 3726892 A1), hereinafter Li . Regarding claim 7, Li teaches receiving a first system information change indication on a wake-up circuit (WUR) link- wherein the first system information change indication indicates that system information is changed; and/or determining, on the WUR link, that a cell is changed (see paragraph 0004; system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station); and receiving the system information (see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station). Regarding claim 8, system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station. Regarding claim 12, this claim has similar limitations as claim 17. Therefore, it is rejected under Li for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 17. Regarding claim 13, this claim has similar limitations as claim 18. Therefore, it is rejected under Li for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Regarding claim 14, Li teaches receiving a first system information change indication on a wake-up circuit (WUR) link, wherein the first system information change indication indicates that system information is changed, and/or determining, on the WUR link, that a cell is changed (see paragraph 0004; system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station); and receiving the system information on a receiving occasion on an NR link (see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station). Regarding claim 16, as system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station. Regarding claim 17, when the synchronization frame does not carry the SI update transmission control information, the UE considers that the current system information has not changed and does not perform the operation of waking up the main radio interface. This implementation is an implicit indication that instructs whether to wake up the main radio interface through the synchronization frame. Optionally, the synchronization frame further includes an SI update indication, and the SI update indication is used to indicate that system information has been updated. Specifically, the SI update indication is carried by a counter field, and a value of the counter field is used to indicate that system information has been updated. If the value of the counter field is different from a counter value prestored by the user equipment, the system information has changed; if the value of the counter field is the same as a counter value prestored by the user equipment, the system information has not changed. This implementation is an explicit indication, see 0089-0090. Regarding claim 18, as system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 6. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-fti 7. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 8. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA 9. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 10. Claim 1, 3, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Li et al. (EP 3726892 A1), hereinafter Li, in view of Kim (US 2019/0223153 A1). Regarding claim 1, Li teaches receiving a first system information change indication on a wake-up circuit (WUR) link- wherein the first system information change indication indicates that system information is changed; and/or determining, on the WUR link, that a cell is changed (see paragraph 0004; system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station) and receiving the system information on a new radio (NR) link based on the system information being changed (see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station). Li does not explicitly teach before establishing or restoring a connection on the NR link. In the same field of endeavor of system information updating Kim teaches if the previously stored system information change information (value tag value) and the system information change-related information (value of a value tag) included in the system information are different, the UE may receive system information broadcasted from the cell before it performs RRC connection establishment (see paragraph 0175). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Li to include the sending of the updated system information before connection establishment as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to effectively update changed system information by identifying whether system information has been changed when eDRX is applied (see paragraph 0011). Regarding claim 3, Li teaches for system information of a cell changes, a base station needs to broadcast the change of the system information to UE, and a main radio module of the UE undergoes three steps: reception of a paging message, reception of a system information block (System Information Block, SIB) 1, and reception of SIBs 2 to 21, to update the system information. The SIBs 2 to 21 may be called other system information (Other System Information, OSI) in a new radio (new radio, NR) system, and a quantity of system information blocks included in the OSI is less than or equal to a quantity of the SIBs 2 to 21 and see paragraph 0007; sending, by a base station, a wake-up signal to a wake-up radio WUR interface of user equipment, and waking up, by the user equipment, a main radio interface of the user equipment after the WUR interface of the user equipment receives the wake-up signal, where the wake-up signal is used to instruct the user equipment to wake up the main radio interface of the user equipment and instruct the main radio interface of the user equipment to receive updated system information, the wake-up signal includes system information SI update transmission control information, and the SI update transmission control information includes information required for receiving the updated system information; and sending, by the base station, the updated system information to the main radio interface, and receiving, by the user equipment according to the SI update transmission control information through the woken-up main radio interface, the updated system information sent by the base station. Regarding claim 19, this claim has similar limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. The UE 1100-fig.11 of Li includes memory and processor. Regarding claim 20, this claim has similar limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. The memory of the UE 1100-fig.11 of Li storing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. 11. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Li, in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0380138 A1), hereinafter Zhang. Regarding claim 9, Li discloses all claimed limitations, except switching to the NR link, and receiving the system information on the NR link. Zhang from the same field of endeavor as that of Li teaches a network element (e.g., a base station, gNB, eNB, and/or any of various network functions) may establish a first wireless link with a wireless device (e.g., a UE 106) according to a first radio access technology (RAT) and establish a second wireless link with the wireless device according to a second RAT (802), see 0095 and fig. 8. In other words, the UE establishes a first wireless link with an eNB for a coverage area, and the UE may establish a second wireless link with a NR link, e.g., a gNB for a bigger coverage area. It is noted that Li teaches the UE with WUR interface receives updated system information, see 0007. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to establish a second wireless link or an NR link using a gNB taught by Zhang into the system of Li. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to establish and maintain concurrent connections with current radio access technologies and next generation radio access technologies. Allowable subject matter 12. Claims 2, 4-6, and 15 are rejected based on its dependency, would be allowable if rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 07-43-02 13. Claims 10-11 are rejected based on its dependency, but would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanako (US 2021/0195582 A1) is cited, and considered pertinent to the instant specification . 15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUC C HO whose telephone number is (571)272-3147. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gary Mui can be reached on 571-270-1420 (Gary.mui@uspto.gov). The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 12 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 13 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 14 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 15 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/643,748 Page 16 Art Unit: 2465