DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim(s) 14 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,001,013. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 18 - 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naftali (US 2017/0214893) in Allen et al (US 2005/0052621, hereafter Allen).
As per claim 1, Naftali discloses a visual perception device (¶ 7) comprising:
a beam modulator, wherein the beam modulator includes:
a video data digital-to-analog converter (VDAC) that receives video data including multiple pixels (¶ 70);
a gain digital-to-analog converter (GDAC) having an input for receiving a gain setting and an output connected to the VDAC to set a gain on the VDAC (¶ 61 and 62);
a pixel counter (¶ 56 - 58); and
a multiplier connected to relational data to modify, based on pixels in the relational data determined by the pixel counter, an output of the VDAC on a per-basis (¶ 65 and 66).
However, Naftali does not explicitly teach a pixel counter that counts the pixels; and modify an output of the VDAC on a per-pixel basis determined by the count of the pixels.
In the same field of field, Allen teaches a pixel counter that counts the pixels; and modify an output of the VDAC on a per-pixel basis determined by the count of the pixels (¶ 51 and 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Naftali in view of Allen. The advantage is increasing the effective contrast ratio and brightness yields.
As per claim 2, Naftali discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the multiplier multiplies the gain that is provided to the GDAC with modifying values of pixels to modulate the gain that is provided to the GDAC (¶ 65).
As per claim 3, Naftali discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the multiplier multiplies the gain that is provided to the VDAC with modifying values of pixels to modulate the gain that is provided to the VDAC (¶ 65 and 66).
As per claim 4, Naftali discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the VDAC is a first VDAC, further comprising: a second VDAC, wherein the multiplier multiplies the gain that is provided to the second VDAC with the modifying values of the pixels to modulate the gain that is provided to the VDAC ; and first and second current sources connected to and driven by the first and second VDAC's respectively, the current sources being connected in parallel (¶ 65 and 85).
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 – 17 and 22 - 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487