DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriguchi et al. (9,315,041) in view of Akahane (7,556,362)
Regarding claim 1, Moriguchi teaches an ink reservoir for a printhead, comprising:
a main body (fig. 1, housing of all shown components);
a first valve (fig. 4, item 27); and
a film (fig. 4, item 24); wherein
the main body comprises a first cavity (fig. 4, most upstream portion of inlet 25), a second cavity (fig. 4, item 21), a first pipeline (fig. 4, downstream portion of inlet 25, area 22, channel 29), a first inlet (fig. fig. 4, downstream portion of 25 communicating with area 22) and a first outlet (fig. 4, item 26);
the first cavity is located at a first side (fig. 4, right side) of the main body;
the second cavity is located at a second side (fig. 4, left side) of the main body opposite to the first side of the main body;
the first cavity is communicated with the second cavity through the first pipeline (see fig. 4);
the first inlet is communicated with the first cavity (see fig. 4);
the first outlet is communicated with the second cavity (fig. 4), and is configured for mounting the printhead (see fig. 1),
the first valve is arranged in the first pipeline (see fig. 4), and comprises a piston (fig. 4, item 27) and an elastic component (fig. 4, item 28); and
the elastic component is configured to apply a first force to the piston in a direction from the first side of the main body toward the second side of the main body (see fig. 4), such that the first pipeline is blocked by a first end (fig. 4, left side of portion 27) of the piston; and
the film is provided at the second side for sealing the second cavity (see fig. 4); the film has a reinforcing portion (fig. 4, note that the middle portion of the film is being defined as the “reinforcing portion” located at a middle of the film (see fig. 4), and a second end of the piston (fig. 4) abuts against the reinforcing portion of the film (see fig. 4); and
the film is configured to apply a second force to the piston in a direction from the second side of the main body toward the first side of the main body as a pressure in the second cavity decreases, so as to open the first pipeline (see fig. 4), and
the first pipeline comprises a through channel (fig. 4, item 22/29) and an extension channel (fig. 4, downstream portion of channel 29 communicating with 22),
Moriguchi only teaches specifics of the reservoir in two dimensions, and thus it does not disclose newly claimed specifics of a barrier wall with first and second extension portions or an annular wall and first and second guide walls as claimed in plan view. Akahane teaches these components in their claimed arrangement (see illustration below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the component arrangement disclosed by Akahane to the reservoir disclosed by Moriguchi because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results. In other words, because Moriguchi does not disclose any specifics of its reservoir system in plan view it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to look to Akahane for a teaching of such an arrangement.
Upon combination of the references, the resultant device would meet the limitation: in a case where an external force is applied to the film from an outside of the ink reservoir, an ink entering the first cavity from the first inlet passes through the first communicating opening, the extension channel, the second communicating opening, and through the channel in sequence to enter the second cavity.
Regarding claim 2, Moriguchi in view of Akahane teaches the ink reservoir of claim 1, wherein a filter is provided in the first cavity (Akahane, see fig. 4, Note filter 59a in first cavity 58a).
Regarding claim 3, Moriguchi in view of Akahane teaches the ink reservoir of claim 1, wherein the main body further comprises a barrier wall provided between the first cavity and the first pipeline; and the barrier wall is configured to reduce a cross-sectional area of a communicating opening between the first cavity and the first pipeline (see fig. 4, Note that “configured to reduce” has not been defined in any way. A static wall would not seem able to actively “reduce” an area. The walls of the downstream portion of the inlet are being taken to be the barrier wall).
Regarding claim 5, Moriguchi in view of Akahane teaches the ink reservoir of claim 3, wherein the elastic component abuts against the first end of the piston at the first side of the main body (see fig. 4); and the second end of the piston passes through the through channel to enter the second cavity and abut against the film (see fig. 4).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriguchi in view of Akahane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimura (2009/0179974).
Regarding claim 7, Moriguchi in view of Akahane teaches the ink reservoir of claim 1. Moriguchi in view of Akahane does not teach a second valve; wherein the second valve is a one-way valve, and is arranged in the first outlet; and the second valve is configured to block the second cavity in a state that the first outlet is not connected to the printhead. Kimura teaches a one-way valve on an outlet portion of an analogous ink reservoir that would operate in the claimed manner (Kimura, [0059], fig. 1, item 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the one-way valve disclosed by Kimura to the outlet portion of Moriguchi in view of Akahane because doing so would ensure ink would not leak from the reservoir during periods in which the reservoir was not connected to the printhead.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853