DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/8/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18/645711 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2 and 6, filed 6/8/2026, with respect to the specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 6/8/2026, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 7 has been withdrawn. The 112(f) interpretation of conveyor and imager has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 6/8/2026, with respect to the non-statutory double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The non-statutory double patenting rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The remarks state that the applied references do not disclose the feature of “wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color”. The addition of Izeki is applied to cure the deficiencies of the previously applied references and will briefly be explained below.
Regarding Izeki, the reference discloses scanning an original and determining the media size of the original. The system compares this media size with the media stored within the MFP. If the two sizes compared do not match, this is considered as being incompatible. The first sheet conveyed is compared to the scanned sheet media size determined. The second sheet is compared to the first sheet, if the first sheet is determined to be the same size as the detected sheet image size. If a mismatch occurs with the second sheet, this sheet is stopped in conveyance, which is taught in ¶ [34]. The auto detection of the media size performs the features of the amended claims. Therefore, this reference in combination with the previously applied references performs the features of the independent claims.
Thus, based on the above, the features of the claims are disclosed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: conveyor and imager in claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji (JP Pub 2005-012700) in view of Ohashi (JP Pub 2006-133571) and Izeki (JP Pub H0-887204A (Pub date: 4/2/1996)).
Re claim 1: Nakatsuji discloses a media conveying apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to set setting information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the system discloses inputting an image type of a document in advance for the scanning process, which is taught in ¶ [09], [10] and [17]-[20].);
[0009] According to this configuration, the image type selection unit selects either the image type of the document input by the image type input unit or the image type of the document determined by the image type determination unit, and sets the selected image type as the selected image type. The corresponding image processing can be performed on the image data.
Therefore, when the notification is performed by the notification unit, the user confirms the image type of the document set in the document reading unit, and if the selection of his / her image type is not wrong, the image type By selecting the image type of the document input by the input unit and selecting the image type of the document determined by the image type determination unit when the selection of the image type of the user is incorrect, an appropriate image type can be easily selected. Can be selected.
[0010] When the image type of the document input by the image type input means (4) is different from the image type of the document determined by the image type determination means (5, S3) as in the invention described in claim 3 Includes an initial setting means (45, 46) for presetting which image type is selected, and the image processing means (5) performs a selection operation by the image type selection means within a predetermined time. When the image processing is not performed, image processing according to the image type selected by the initial setting unit may be performed.
[0017] The operation display unit 4 has a configuration having a display screen with a touch panel. The user can perform various setting operations by touching the display screen of the operation display unit 4.
FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a flow of control by the control unit 5 when a document is set on the document reading unit 2.
If the control unit 5 determines that a document has been set based on the detection signal from the document set sensor 22 (YES in step S1), the controller 5 pre-scans the document set on the contact glass (step S2). This pre-scan is performed as a pre-stage of reading a document image (main scan) to obtain document image data used for image formation. The image data obtained by the pre-scan is It is used to detect the size and characteristics of the original image.
[0018] Thereafter, the control unit 5 selects the image type (text original, text photo photographic paper original, text photo print original, photo print paper original, photo print original, etc.) based on the image data of the original read by the prescan. An image type determination process for determination is performed (step S3). Here, the character document is a document including only a character image. A photographic photographic paper document is a photographic paper document that includes only photographic images. A photo print original is a printed original that includes only a photo image. A text photo photographic paper document is a photographic paper document including a character image and a photographic image. The character photo print original is a printed original including a character image and a photo image. When a photograph image is printed, it becomes a so-called halftone dot image. Specific contents of the image type determination process will be described later.
[0019] In this embodiment, by operating the operation display unit 4, the user can input (select) the image type of the document set on the document reading unit 2 in advance. When the image type determination process ends (step S3), the control unit 5 determines whether or not the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type of the document selected by the user (step S4). As a result, when the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type selected by the user (YES in step S4), the control unit 5 performs the process on the image data of the document read in the main scan. It is determined to execute a mode (user selection mode) for performing image processing according to the image type selected by the user (step S9).
[0020] On the other hand, if the determination result of the image type determination process does not match the image type selected by the user (NO in step S4), the control unit 5 executes the user selection mode on the display screen of the operation display unit 4. A screen for selecting whether to decide to execute or a mode for performing image processing according to the image type determined by the image type determination process (automatic determination mode) (image type selection screen) Is displayed (step S5).
a roller to convey a plurality of media sequentially (e.g. the ADF feeds or conveys documents sequentially to the scanner, which is taught in ¶ [15].); and
[0015]
The document reading unit 2 is provided with a document set sensor 22 for detecting whether or not a document is set, and an output signal from the document set sensor 22 is input to the control unit 5. Yes. The image forming apparatus 1 includes, for example, an automatic document feeder (not shown) that is disposed so as to be openable and closable so as to face the contact glass and automatically feeds documents one by one to the scanner 21 side. ing. The automatic document feeder is opened and closed when a document is set on the contact glass. The document set sensor 22 may detect whether or not a document is set on the contact glass based on the open / close state of the automatic document feeder.
an imaging sensor to image each of the plurality of media according to the setting information to obtain an input image (e.g. the system discloses scanning a plurality of documents in the document type set by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20].);
[0017] The operation display unit 4 has a configuration having a display screen with a touch panel. The user can perform various setting operations by touching the display screen of the operation display unit 4.
FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a flow of control by the control unit 5 when a document is set on the document reading unit 2.
If the control unit 5 determines that a document has been set based on the detection signal from the document set sensor 22 (YES in step S1), the controller 5 pre-scans the document set on the contact glass (step S2). This pre-scan is performed as a pre-stage of reading a document image (main scan) to obtain document image data used for image formation. The image data obtained by the pre-scan is It is used to detect the size and characteristics of the original image.
[0018] Thereafter, the control unit 5 selects the image type (text original, text photo photographic paper original, text photo print original, photo print paper original, photo print original, etc.) based on the image data of the original read by the prescan. An image type determination process for determination is performed (step S3). Here, the character document is a document including only a character image. A photographic photographic paper document is a photographic paper document that includes only photographic images. A photo print original is a printed original that includes only a photo image. A text photo photographic paper document is a photographic paper document including a character image and a photographic image. The character photo print original is a printed original including a character image and a photo image. When a photograph image is printed, it becomes a so-called halftone dot image. Specific contents of the image type determination process will be described later.
[0019] In this embodiment, by operating the operation display unit 4, the user can input (select) the image type of the document set on the document reading unit 2 in advance. When the image type determination process ends (step S3), the control unit 5 determines whether or not the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type of the document selected by the user (step S4). As a result, when the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type selected by the user (YES in step S4), the control unit 5 performs the process on the image data of the document read in the main scan. It is determined to execute a mode (user selection mode) for performing image processing according to the image type selected by the user (step S9).
[0020] On the other hand, if the determination result of the image type determination process does not match the image type selected by the user (NO in step S4), the control unit 5 executes the user selection mode on the display screen of the operation display unit 4. A screen for selecting whether to decide to execute or a mode for performing image processing according to the image type determined by the image type determination process (automatic determination mode) (image type selection screen) Is displayed (step S5).
wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the input image, whether the setting information is compatible with a medium from the plurality of media imaged in the input image (e.g. the system determines that the input image scanned does not match the input image type selected by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.), and
wherein, when the circuitry determines that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image, the circuitry outputs information about the determination result (e.g. the system discloses determining that the user setting selection for the medium is different than the detected, or scanned, document type. This is notified to the user on a display, which is taught in ¶ [21].).
[0021] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of an image type selection screen.
A message “Image type may be different” is displayed on the image type selection screen to notify that the image type of the document may be different from the image type selected in advance by the user.
The image type selection screen also displays a user selection mode key 41 for selecting a user selection mode and an automatic determination mode key 42 for selecting an automatic determination mode. The image type selection screen further displays a message “Which mode do you want to copy?” So that the user is prompted to operate either the user selection mode key 41 or the automatic discrimination mode key 42. It has become.
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ohashi. Similar to the primary reference, Ohashi discloses stopping the feeding of a sheet when it does not match an initial sheet type setting (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ohashi discloses the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media (e.g. the system discloses stopping the feeding rollers to not feed anymore sheets when the sheet type setting is different than the scanned sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [74]-[76] and [89].).
[0074] FIG. 6 shows an outline of the "paper type data setting" (OPS) of the operation board 20 responding to the operator input. When an operator operates an initial setting key (not shown) of the operation board 20, (the CPU in) the operation board 20 displays various initial setting items (initial setting menu) on the liquid crystal touch panel 79 of the operation board 20. When the operator designates an item of "paper type setting" in the new, the operation board 20 displays an input screen for paper type setting on the liquid crystal touch panel 79.[0075] FIG. 7 shows an input screen for setting the paper type. For example, when OHPs are accommodated in the paper feed stage 103a, the operator selects "tray 1", designates "OHP", designates "single-sided copy", designates "non-target", and designates "setting" on the entry screen shown in FIG. 7.[0076] Reference is again made to FIG. 6. Upon reading such an operator input, the operation board 20 updates the content of the paper feed stage register for the paper feed stage 103a in the operation board 20 to the information input by the operator (steps OP1, OP2), converts the paper type "OHP" of the input common name expression (for operation board input / output) into the type classification used in the process control (classification No. in Table 1; "1" for OHP), and writes it in the paper type register BRap for the paper feed stage 103a whose information has been updated. That is, the information of the paper type register BRap of the operation board 20 is updated (OP3). In the same manner as described above, the paper type register 103b for each of the other paper feed stages BRbp,BRcp,BRdp , c, and d also stores the type classification corresponding to the paper type of the common name expression input by the operator.
[0089]However, when the paper type detected by the "paper type detection" (PMDb) is different from the paper type held by the register BRip (BRap) addressed to the paper feed stage 103i (103a) (12a), the process controller 131 notifies the "paper type error of the paper feed stage 103i (103a)" via the operation board 20 (14), stops the feeding of the paper by the registration roller 105, and also stops the feeding of the paper from the paper feed tray and the feeding of the paper to the registration roller 105 (15). Then, after all of the image-formed sheets are discharged from the apparatus, the remaining sheets (including the sheets caught by the roller 105) fed from the sheet feeding tray to the registration roller 105 are discharged onto the sheet discharge tray 109 without image formation (16,17). Then, the process waits for an input to the operation board 20, and when there is an input, the process returns from the "image formation control" (PPCa) to the input reading (waiting for an instruction) of the main routine. The "image formation control" (PPCa) shown in FIG. 8 is a subroutine executed when the "start instruction" is received in the input reading.
Therefore, in view of Ohashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, in order to suspend feeding more sheets when a mismatch of sheets are detected between initial settings and detection, which can increase the reliability of the setting of the image forming process condition (as stated in Ohashi ¶ [07]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Izeki. Similar to the primary reference, Izeki discloses determining if sizes match to stop a copy operation (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Izeki discloses wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color (e.g. the invention discloses specifying a media size that is stored in the device. A sheet of paper is copied and the size of the sheet is determined. The system determines if this sheet of paper matches a sheet that is accumulated within the device. If the sheet of paper scanned does not match the sheet of paper accumulated in the device, the system stops the conveying of the sheet of paper in the MFP. This is taught in ¶ [34]. The system can receive and store the media size based on scanning a sheet of a size and compare this size to the fed sheet. The scanned size is stored to output an image formed on the associated media size.).
[0034] A first aspect of the invention is a sheet accumulating means (deck section 210) for accumulating sheets, and a retaining means for retaining a desired first sheet size set by the user as the sheet size accumulated in the sheet accumulating means. (Internal memory of control device 400), and feeding means (clutch 221, 222, feeding roller, etc.) for feeding the paper from the paper accumulating means to the image forming unit (copying mechanism 410) via a predetermined conveying path. In the image forming apparatus having the above, the detection means (paper sensors 230, 231) for detecting the conveyance state of the paper fed from the paper storage means via the predetermined conveyance path at two points separated by a predetermined distance. And a paper size detecting means for detecting a second paper size from a paper detection output state of being fed from the paper accumulating means detected by the detecting means via the predetermined conveying path. CP (not shown) of the control device 400
U) and the second detected by the paper size detecting means.
Determination unit (a CPU (not shown) of the control device 400) for determining whether or not the sheet size and the first sheet size match, and the determination unit determines whether the second sheet size and the first sheet size are the same. If it is determined that they do not match, the sheet fed from the sheet accumulating unit via the predetermined conveying path is discharged to the outside of the machine without the image formation by the image forming unit, and the sheet accumulating is performed. Means for temporarily stopping the sheet conveyance from the means through the predetermined conveying path and the image forming sequence of the image forming section, and setting the first sheet size (size 0) and the set first sheet size (size 0) for the sheets accumulated in the sheet accumulating means. The display unit (LCD display 301) is inquired by a message as to whether or not the stopped state due to the discrepancy with the fed and detected second size (size 1) is released or fixed. A matching means (a CPU (not shown) of the control device 400) and an instructing means for selecting and instructing either to release the stopped state or to fix the stopped state after the message is displayed on the display unit by the inquiry means. (Any key on the operation panel 300) and the selection instruction state by this instruction means are discriminated to restart image formation by the image forming unit on the sheet fed from the sheet accumulating means via the predetermined conveyance path, or A control unit (a CPU (not shown) of the control device 400) for switching and controlling any of the stoppages of the image forming sequence by the image forming unit is provided, and a CPU (not shown) of the control device 400 is provided.
After the message is displayed on the LCD display 301 by, the selection instruction state by the key for instructing to either select the cancellation of the stopped state or the confirmation of the stopped state is determined, and the control device 400 is not shown. The CPU controls switching to a state in which either the restart of image formation by the copying mechanism 410 or the stop of the image forming sequence by the image forming unit with respect to the paper fed from the deck unit 210 through the predetermined paper transport path 240 is possible. Then, it is possible to reliably detect the occurrence of a feeding jam caused by the conveyance of a paper having a paper size different from the paper size set for the stacked paper, and to load the paper having the paper size intended by the user into the paper stacking unit. It is possible to restart the image forming process by feeding from.
Therefore, in view of Izeki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, in order to have setting information include certain information to be compared to the system configuration details, which can improve the prevention of paper jams in the MFP (as stated in Izeki ¶ [35]).
Re claim 2: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the circuitry determines that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image, the circuitry further identifies setting information compatible with the medium and outputs the identified setting information (e.g. the system discloses the difference between the sheet setting and the detected sheet type. The system displays the difference and gives the user to select a choice of selecting the sheet type detected by the scanner, which is considered as the compatible setting information that is displayed to the user. This is taught in ¶ [20] and [21] above.).
Re claim 6: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
acquire capability information indicating respective capabilities of at least one of other media conveying apparatuses or other software, the capability information being information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the invention discloses giving the user the option to perform the scanning process using the media type associated with the detected type that is different than the user setting. This is associated with the scanning process and is an additional part of the software on the scanner that aids the user with the scanning. This is taught in ¶ [21]-[24].); and
[0021]
FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of an image type selection screen.
A message “Image type may be different” is displayed on the image type selection screen to notify that the image type of the document may be different from the image type selected in advance by the user.
The image type selection screen also displays a user selection mode key 41 for selecting a user selection mode and an automatic determination mode key 42 for selecting an automatic determination mode. The image type selection screen further displays a message “Which mode do you want to copy?” So that the user is prompted to operate either the user selection mode key 41 or the automatic discrimination mode key 42. It has become.
[0022]
Referring to FIG. 2 again, when the image type selection screen is displayed on the display screen of operation display unit 4 (step S5), control unit 5 continues until a predetermined time has elapsed (until YES in step S6). Then, it is monitored whether any of the user selection mode key 41 and the automatic determination mode key 42 is operated (selected) (step S7). When either the user selection mode key 41 or the automatic determination mode key 42 is operated within the predetermined time (YES in step S7), the control unit 5 determines that the operated key is the user selection mode key 41. It is determined whether or not (step S8).
[0023]
When the operated key is the user selection mode key 41 (YES in step S8), the control unit 5 determines to execute the user selection mode on the image data of the document read in the main scan (step S8). S9). On the other hand, when the operated key is the automatic determination mode key 42 (NO in step S8), the control unit 5 determines to execute the automatic determination mode on the image data of the document read in the main scan. (Step S10).
[0024]
In this embodiment, whether the user selection mode or the automatic determination mode is to be executed is preset (initially set) when the determination result of the image type determination process does not match the image type selected by the user. Be able to. If neither the user selection mode key 41 nor the automatic determination mode key 42 is operated within the predetermined time (YES in step S6), the control unit 5 performs initial setting on the image data of the document read in the main scan. The determined mode is determined to be executed (step S11).
output information about a media conveying apparatus or software that has a capability compatible with the medium for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible, from among the other media conveying apparatuses or the other software (e.g. the system shows to the user a part of the software that can output the media based on the use of a mode associated with the automatic mode detection. This is shown based on the mismatch between the detected media type and the advance media setting. This is taught in ¶ [21]-[24].).
Re claim 7: Nakatsuji an image processing system including a media conveying apparatus and an information processing apparatus, the image processing system comprising:
circuitry configured to set setting information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the system discloses inputting an image type of a document in advance for the scanning process, which is taught in ¶ [09], [10] and [17]-[20] above.),
a roller to convey a plurality of media sequentially (e.g. the ADF feeds or conveys documents sequentially to the scanner, which is taught in ¶ [15] above.); and
an imaging sensor to image each of the plurality of media according to the setting information to obtain an input image (e.g. the system discloses scanning a plurality of documents in the document type set by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.),
wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the input image, whether the setting information is compatible with a medium from the plurality of media imaged in the input image (e.g. the system determines that the input image scanned does not match the input image type selected by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.), and
wherein, when the circuitry determines that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image, and outputs information about the determination result (e.g. the system discloses determining that the user setting selection for the medium is different than the detected, or scanned, document type. This is notified to the user on a display, which is taught in ¶ [21] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ohashi. Similar to the primary reference, Ohashi discloses stopping the feeding of a sheet when it does not match an initial sheet type setting (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ohashi discloses the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media (e.g. the system discloses stopping the feeding rollers to not feed anymore sheets when the sheet type setting is different than the scanned sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [74]-[76] and [89].).
Therefore, in view of Ohashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, in order to suspend feeding more sheets when a mismatch of sheets are detected between initial settings and detection, which can increase the reliability of the setting of the image forming process condition (as stated in Ohashi ¶ [07]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Izeki. Similar to the primary reference, Izeki discloses determining if sizes match to stop a copy operation (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Izeki discloses wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color (e.g. the invention discloses specifying a media size that is stored in the device. A sheet of paper is copied and the size of the sheet is determined. The system determines if this sheet of paper matches a sheet that is accumulated within the device. If the sheet of paper scanned does not match the sheet of paper accumulated in the device, the system stops the conveying of the sheet of paper in the MFP. This is taught in ¶ [34] above. The system can receive and store the media size based on scanning a sheet of a size and compare this size to the fed sheet. The scanned size is stored to output an image formed on the associated media size.).
Therefore, in view of Izeki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, in order to have setting information include certain information to be compared to the system configuration details, which can improve the prevention of paper jams in the MFP (as stated in Izeki ¶ [35]).
Re claim 8: Nakatsuji discloses a media conveying method comprising:
Setting a setting information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the system discloses inputting an image type of a document in advance for the scanning process, which is taught in ¶ [09], [10] and [17]-[20] above.);
conveying a plurality of media sequentially by a conveyor (e.g. the ADF feeds or conveys documents sequentially to the scanner, which is taught in ¶ [15] above.);
imaging each of the plurality of media according to the setting information to obtain an input image (e.g. the system discloses scanning a plurality of documents in the document type set by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20].);
determining, based on the input image, whether the setting information is compatible with a medium from the plurality of media imaged in the input image (e.g. the system determines that the input image scanned does not match the input image type selected by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.);
based on a determination result indicating that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image; and outputting information about the determination result based on the determination result (e.g. the system discloses determining that the user setting selection for the medium is different than the detected, or scanned, document type. This is notified to the user on a display, which is taught in ¶ [21] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of suspending conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media based on a determination result.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ohashi. Similar to the primary reference, Ohashi discloses stopping the feeding of a sheet when it does not match an initial sheet type setting (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ohashi discloses suspending conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media based on a determination result (e.g. the system discloses stopping the feeding rollers to not feed anymore sheets when the sheet type setting is different than the scanned sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [74]-[76] and [89].).
Therefore, in view of Ohashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of suspending conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media based on a determination result, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, in order to suspend feeding more sheets when a mismatch of sheets are detected between initial settings and detection, which can increase the reliability of the setting of the image forming process condition (as stated in Ohashi ¶ [07]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Izeki. Similar to the primary reference, Izeki discloses determining if sizes match to stop a copy operation (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Izeki discloses wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color (e.g. the invention discloses specifying a media size that is stored in the device. A sheet of paper is copied and the size of the sheet is determined. The system determines if this sheet of paper matches a sheet that is accumulated within the device. If the sheet of paper scanned does not match the sheet of paper accumulated in the device, the system stops the conveying of the sheet of paper in the MFP. This is taught in ¶ [34] above. The system can receive and store the media size based on scanning a sheet of a size and compare this size to the fed sheet. The scanned size is stored to output an image formed on the associated media size.).
Therefore, in view of Izeki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein an item specified by the setting information includes resolution, media size, color or background color, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, in order to have setting information include certain information to be compared to the system configuration details, which can improve the prevention of paper jams in the MFP (as stated in Izeki ¶ [35]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi and Izeki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saeda (JP Pub 2018-133627).
Re claim 3: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to store an image based on the input image in a memory (e.g. the control unit receives the document read by the scanner for image processing, which stores the data for processing. This is taught in ¶ [14].), and
[0014] The document reading unit 2 includes a scanner 21 for irradiating light on a document set on a contact glass (not shown), detecting light reflected by the document, and converting the light into an electric signal (image data). I have. The image data of the document read by the document reading unit 2 (scanner 21) is input to the control unit 5 and subjected to predetermined image processing (for example, adaptive processing such as edge enhancement processing and smoothing processing). It is given to the image forming unit 3.
wherein, when the medium for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible (e.g. the system determines that the scanned data does not match the media type input in advance, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of the first page that involves erasing the initial scanned image data and replacing it with the new scan. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200]. This reference added to the combination above would allow for replacing image an initial image with a rescanned image.).
[0080]In addition to the use of the document reading device 820 alone for image reading and the use of the image forming portion main body 215 alone for image formation, the document reading device 101 and the image forming portion main body 102 can be interlocked to copy an image. The multifunction peripheral 800 may include a storage device and a facsimile device, which are not illustrated. The storage device can store an image read by the document reading device and an image received by the facsimile device. A facsimile apparatus can transmit an image read by a document reading apparatus or an image stored in a storage device, and can receive an image from the outside. Further, the multifunction peripheral 800 may include an interface for connecting to a personal computer via a network. A personal computer connected to the multifunction peripheral 800 can use the functions of the multifunction peripheral for data that can be managed by the personal computer.
[0196]As illustrated in FIG. 14, the user interface screen displays an "end" button, a "return" button, a "redo first sheet" button, a "change setting" button, and a "next" button.[0197]The "end" button is used to erase the image data of the document that has been read, return the currently selected function and setting to default ones, and then return to the initial screen.[0198]The "return" button is used to erase the image data of the document that has been read, and to maintain the currently selected function and setting. After pressing the "return" button, the user reads the document again from the first document.[0199]The "first page repeat" button is used to erase image data of a document corresponding to one side in single-sided printing or the front side in double-sided printing, and to maintain the currently selected function and setting. After the user presses the "first document re-reading" button, the user re-reads the document from the first document corresponding to one side in single-sided printing or the front side in double-sided printing. For example, it is possible to cope with a case where only two documents are read in the 4-document combining setting and a case where there are actually four documents to be read.[0200]The "change setting" button is used to change the currently selected function and setting. When this button is pressed, the image data of the document that has been read is erased, and a screen for changing the currently selected function and setting is displayed. After pressing the "change setting" button, the user changes the function and setting currently selected on the screen to another function and setting, and reads the document again from the first document. For example, in a case where only two documents are read in the four sheet combining setting, it is possible to cope with a case where the user actually intends to set the two sheet combining setting.
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi and Izeki, in order to replace an image when an image is rescanned, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
Re claim 4: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible (e.g. the system can receive an instruction to change a setting regarding selecting a specific type when it determined that the initial setting and scanned document type mismatch. This is taught in ¶ [17]-[21] above.).
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction indicating whether to re-image the medium for which the setting information is determined (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of a sheet when a single sided scan is instructed. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200]. This reference added to the combination above would allow for re-scanning an initial image.).
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction indicating whether to re-image the medium for which the setting information is determined, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi and Izeki, in order to have an image rescanned, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
Re claim 5: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to: store an image based on the input image in a memory (e.g. the control unit receives the document read by the scanner for image processing, which stores the data for processing. This is taught in ¶ [14] above.); and
based on the input image for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible (e.g. the system determines that the scanned data does not match the media type input in advance, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of the first page that involves erasing the initial scanned image data and replacing it with the new scan. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200] above. When the change setting is selected, this serves as a deletion instruction to delete the scanned image data. This reference added to the combination above would allow for deleting an initial image.).
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi and Izeki, in order to delete an image, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yasunaga discloses determining if a resolution is appropriate and re-scanning if it is not.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683