DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
MEDIA CONVEYING APPARATUS, IMAGE PROCESSING SYSTEM, AND MEDIA CONVEYING METHOD COMPRISING DETERMINING IF SETTING INFORMATION IS COMPATIBLE WITH AN IMAGED MEDIUM, AND SUSPEND CONVEYING IF DETERMINED AS INCOMPATIBLE AND OUTPUT THE DETERMINATION RESULT.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, ll. 2: the phrase “the system” to -- the image processing system --..
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: conveyor and imager in claims 1 and 7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-8 of copending Application No. 18/645711 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 8 contain the same claim scope of the co-pending claims of 1,7 and 8. Claims 4 and 6 is also similar in scope to claims 5 and 6 of the co-pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/645711 in view of Nakatsuji. Claim 1 of the copending application teaches determining the sheet that is compatible, but it does not specifically teach identifying compatible setting information and outputs this identified setting information. Nakatsuji identifies incompatible and compatible media with the detection of the media (same field of endeavor) and performs this feature.
Nakatsuji discloses the difference between the sheet setting and the detected sheet type. The system displays the difference and gives the user to select a choice of selecting the sheet type detected by the scanner, which is considered as the compatible setting information that is displayed to the user. This is taught in ¶ [20] and [21] above.
Therefore, in view of Nakatsuji, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the circuitry further identifies setting information compatible with the medium and outputs the identified setting information, incorporated in the device of the co-pending application, in order to determine an incompatibility and recommend another size that fits with the detected size, which can prevent the deterioration of image quality (as stated in Nakatsuji ¶ [03]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 16/645711 in view of Saeda. The co-pending application discloses the setting information determined to be incompatible. However, this claim is not specific as to the storage of image based on the input image in a memory and re-imaged to reobtain an input image in order to replace the image stored in the memory with the reobtained input image.
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses repeating the scan of the first page that involves erasing the initial scanned image data and replacing it with the new scan. This is taught in ¶ [80] and [196]-[200].
[0080] In addition to the use of the document reading device 820 alone for image reading and the use of the image forming portion main body 215 alone for image formation, the document reading device 101 and the image forming portion main body 102 can be interlocked to copy an image. The multifunction peripheral 800 may include a storage device and a facsimile device, which are not illustrated. The storage device can store an image read by the document reading device and an image received by the facsimile device. A facsimile apparatus can transmit an image read by a document reading apparatus or an image stored in a storage device, and can receive an image from the outside. Further, the multifunction peripheral 800 may include an interface for connecting to a personal computer via a network. A personal computer connected to the multifunction peripheral 800 can use the functions of the multifunction peripheral for data that can be managed by the personal computer.
[0196]As illustrated in FIG. 14, the user interface screen displays an "end" button, a "return" button, a "redo first sheet" button, a "change setting" button, and a "next" button.[0197]The "end" button is used to erase the image data of the document that has been read, return the currently selected function and setting to default ones, and then return to the initial screen.[0198]The "return" button is used to erase the image data of the document that has been read, and to maintain the currently selected function and setting. After pressing the "return" button, the user reads the document again from the first document.[0199]The "first page repeat" button is used to erase image data of a document corresponding to one side in single-sided printing or the front side in double-sided printing, and to maintain the currently selected function and setting. After the user presses the "first document re-reading" button, the user re-reads the document from the first document corresponding to one side in single-sided printing or the front side in double-sided printing. For example, it is possible to cope with a case where only two documents are read in the 4-document combining setting and a case where there are actually four documents to be read.[0200]The "change setting" button is used to change the currently selected function and setting. When this button is pressed, the image data of the document that has been read is erased, and a screen for changing the currently selected function and setting is displayed. After pressing the "change setting" button, the user changes the function and setting currently selected on the screen to another function and setting, and reads the document again from the first document. For example, in a case where only two documents are read in the four sheet combining setting, it is possible to cope with a case where the user actually intends to set the two sheet combining setting.
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of to store an image based on the input image in a memory, and wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image, incorporated in the device of co-pending application 18/645711, in order to replace an image when an image is rescanned, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/645711 in view of Saeda. The co-pending application discloses determining setting information is incompatible. However, this claim does not specifically disclose a memory storing an image based on the input image and receiving an instruction indicating whether to delete the image from memory.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses store an image based on the input image in a memory; and receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of the first page that involves erasing the initial scanned image data and replacing it with the new scan. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200] above. When the change setting is selected, this serves as a deletion instruction to delete the scanned image data. This reference added to the combination above would allow for deleting an initial image.).
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of store an image based on the input image in a memory; and receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image, incorporated in the device of co-pending application 18/645711, in order to delete an image, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji (JP Pub 2005-012700) in view of Ohashi (JP Pub 2006-133571).
Re claim 1: Nakatsuji discloses a media conveying apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to set setting information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the system discloses inputting an image type of a document in advance for the scanning process, which is taught in ¶ [09], [10] and [17]-[20].);
[0009] According to this configuration, the image type selection unit selects either the image type of the document input by the image type input unit or the image type of the document determined by the image type determination unit, and sets the selected image type as the selected image type. The corresponding image processing can be performed on the image data.
Therefore, when the notification is performed by the notification unit, the user confirms the image type of the document set in the document reading unit, and if the selection of his / her image type is not wrong, the image type By selecting the image type of the document input by the input unit and selecting the image type of the document determined by the image type determination unit when the selection of the image type of the user is incorrect, an appropriate image type can be easily selected. Can be selected.
[0010] When the image type of the document input by the image type input means (4) is different from the image type of the document determined by the image type determination means (5, S3) as in the invention described in claim 3 Includes an initial setting means (45, 46) for presetting which image type is selected, and the image processing means (5) performs a selection operation by the image type selection means within a predetermined time. When the image processing is not performed, image processing according to the image type selected by the initial setting unit may be performed.
[0017] The operation display unit 4 has a configuration having a display screen with a touch panel. The user can perform various setting operations by touching the display screen of the operation display unit 4.
FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a flow of control by the control unit 5 when a document is set on the document reading unit 2.
If the control unit 5 determines that a document has been set based on the detection signal from the document set sensor 22 (YES in step S1), the controller 5 pre-scans the document set on the contact glass (step S2). This pre-scan is performed as a pre-stage of reading a document image (main scan) to obtain document image data used for image formation. The image data obtained by the pre-scan is It is used to detect the size and characteristics of the original image.
[0018] Thereafter, the control unit 5 selects the image type (text original, text photo photographic paper original, text photo print original, photo print paper original, photo print original, etc.) based on the image data of the original read by the prescan. An image type determination process for determination is performed (step S3). Here, the character document is a document including only a character image. A photographic photographic paper document is a photographic paper document that includes only photographic images. A photo print original is a printed original that includes only a photo image. A text photo photographic paper document is a photographic paper document including a character image and a photographic image. The character photo print original is a printed original including a character image and a photo image. When a photograph image is printed, it becomes a so-called halftone dot image. Specific contents of the image type determination process will be described later.
[0019] In this embodiment, by operating the operation display unit 4, the user can input (select) the image type of the document set on the document reading unit 2 in advance. When the image type determination process ends (step S3), the control unit 5 determines whether or not the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type of the document selected by the user (step S4). As a result, when the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type selected by the user (YES in step S4), the control unit 5 performs the process on the image data of the document read in the main scan. It is determined to execute a mode (user selection mode) for performing image processing according to the image type selected by the user (step S9).
[0020] On the other hand, if the determination result of the image type determination process does not match the image type selected by the user (NO in step S4), the control unit 5 executes the user selection mode on the display screen of the operation display unit 4. A screen for selecting whether to decide to execute or a mode for performing image processing according to the image type determined by the image type determination process (automatic determination mode) (image type selection screen) Is displayed (step S5).
a conveyor (interpretation: The feeding roller 112, the separation roller 113, the first conveyance roller 114, the second conveyance roller 115, the third conveyance roller 118, and the fourth conveyance roller 119 are examples of a conveyor, and sequentially convey a plurality of media, which is disclosed on page 5. This interpretation and it equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) to convey a plurality of media sequentially (e.g. the ADF feeds or conveys documents sequentially to the scanner, which is taught in ¶ [15].); and
[0015]
The document reading unit 2 is provided with a document set sensor 22 for detecting whether or not a document is set, and an output signal from the document set sensor 22 is input to the control unit 5. Yes. The image forming apparatus 1 includes, for example, an automatic document feeder (not shown) that is disposed so as to be openable and closable so as to face the contact glass and automatically feeds documents one by one to the scanner 21 side. ing. The automatic document feeder is opened and closed when a document is set on the contact glass. The document set sensor 22 may detect whether or not a document is set on the contact glass based on the open / close state of the automatic document feeder.
an imager (interpretation: The imaging device 117 is an example of an imager. The imaging device 117 is disposed downstream from the first conveyance roller 114 and the second conveyance roller 115 and upstream from the third conveyance roller 118 and the fourth conveyance roller 119. The imaging device 117 includes a first imaging device 117a and a second imaging device 117b. The first imaging device 117a and the second imaging device 117b are disposed near the media conveying path and opposite to each other with the conveying path in between.
The first imaging device 117a includes a light source and a contact image sensor (CIS) line sensor. The CIS line sensor employs an equal-magnification optical system and includes complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) imaging elements aligned linearly in the main-scanning direction. The first imaging device 117a further includes a lens that forms an image on the imaging elements and an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter. The A/D converter amplifies the electric signals output from the imaging elements and performs analog-to-digital (A/D) conversion. The first imaging device 117a obtains an input image by imaging the front side of each of the media sequentially conveyed by the conveyor, and outputs the input image.
Similarly, the second imaging device 117b includes a light source and a CIS line sensor employing the equal-magnification optical system and including CMOS imaging elements aligned linearly in the main-scanning direction. The second imaging device 117b further includes a lens that forms an image on the imaging elements and an A/D converter. The A/D converter amplifies the electric signals output from the imaging elements and performs A/D conversion. The second imaging device 117b obtains an input image by imaging the back side of each of the media sequentially conveyed by the conveyor, and outputs the input image, which is disclosed on pages 6 and 7. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) to image each of the plurality of media according to the setting information to obtain an input image (e.g. the system discloses scanning a plurality of documents in the document type set by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20].);
[0017] The operation display unit 4 has a configuration having a display screen with a touch panel. The user can perform various setting operations by touching the display screen of the operation display unit 4.
FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a flow of control by the control unit 5 when a document is set on the document reading unit 2.
If the control unit 5 determines that a document has been set based on the detection signal from the document set sensor 22 (YES in step S1), the controller 5 pre-scans the document set on the contact glass (step S2). This pre-scan is performed as a pre-stage of reading a document image (main scan) to obtain document image data used for image formation. The image data obtained by the pre-scan is It is used to detect the size and characteristics of the original image.
[0018] Thereafter, the control unit 5 selects the image type (text original, text photo photographic paper original, text photo print original, photo print paper original, photo print original, etc.) based on the image data of the original read by the prescan. An image type determination process for determination is performed (step S3). Here, the character document is a document including only a character image. A photographic photographic paper document is a photographic paper document that includes only photographic images. A photo print original is a printed original that includes only a photo image. A text photo photographic paper document is a photographic paper document including a character image and a photographic image. The character photo print original is a printed original including a character image and a photo image. When a photograph image is printed, it becomes a so-called halftone dot image. Specific contents of the image type determination process will be described later.
[0019] In this embodiment, by operating the operation display unit 4, the user can input (select) the image type of the document set on the document reading unit 2 in advance. When the image type determination process ends (step S3), the control unit 5 determines whether or not the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type of the document selected by the user (step S4). As a result, when the determination result of the image type determination process matches the image type selected by the user (YES in step S4), the control unit 5 performs the process on the image data of the document read in the main scan. It is determined to execute a mode (user selection mode) for performing image processing according to the image type selected by the user (step S9).
[0020] On the other hand, if the determination result of the image type determination process does not match the image type selected by the user (NO in step S4), the control unit 5 executes the user selection mode on the display screen of the operation display unit 4. A screen for selecting whether to decide to execute or a mode for performing image processing according to the image type determined by the image type determination process (automatic determination mode) (image type selection screen) Is displayed (step S5).
wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the input image, whether the setting information is compatible with a medium from the plurality of media imaged in the input image (e.g. the system determines that the input image scanned does not match the input image type selected by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.), and
wherein, when the circuitry determines that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image, the circuitry outputs information about the determination result (e.g. the system discloses determining that the user setting selection for the medium is different than the detected, or scanned, document type. This is notified to the user on a display, which is taught in ¶ [21].).
[0021] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of an image type selection screen.
A message “Image type may be different” is displayed on the image type selection screen to notify that the image type of the document may be different from the image type selected in advance by the user.
The image type selection screen also displays a user selection mode key 41 for selecting a user selection mode and an automatic determination mode key 42 for selecting an automatic determination mode. The image type selection screen further displays a message “Which mode do you want to copy?” So that the user is prompted to operate either the user selection mode key 41 or the automatic discrimination mode key 42. It has become.
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ohashi. Similar to the primary reference, Ohashi discloses stopping the feeding of a sheet when it does not match an initial sheet type setting (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ohashi discloses the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media (e.g. the system discloses stopping the feeding rollers to not feed anymore sheets when the sheet type setting is different than the scanned sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [74]-[76] and [89].).
[0074] FIG. 6 shows an outline of the "paper type data setting" (OPS) of the operation board 20 responding to the operator input. When an operator operates an initial setting key (not shown) of the operation board 20, (the CPU in) the operation board 20 displays various initial setting items (initial setting menu) on the liquid crystal touch panel 79 of the operation board 20. When the operator designates an item of "paper type setting" in the new, the operation board 20 displays an input screen for paper type setting on the liquid crystal touch panel 79.[0075] FIG. 7 shows an input screen for setting the paper type. For example, when OHPs are accommodated in the paper feed stage 103a, the operator selects "tray 1", designates "OHP", designates "single-sided copy", designates "non-target", and designates "setting" on the entry screen shown in FIG. 7.[0076] Reference is again made to FIG. 6. Upon reading such an operator input, the operation board 20 updates the content of the paper feed stage register for the paper feed stage 103a in the operation board 20 to the information input by the operator (steps OP1, OP2), converts the paper type "OHP" of the input common name expression (for operation board input / output) into the type classification used in the process control (classification No. in Table 1; "1" for OHP), and writes it in the paper type register BRap for the paper feed stage 103a whose information has been updated. That is, the information of the paper type register BRap of the operation board 20 is updated (OP3). In the same manner as described above, the paper type register 103b for each of the other paper feed stages BRbp,BRcp,BRdp , c, and d also stores the type classification corresponding to the paper type of the common name expression input by the operator.
[0089]However, when the paper type detected by the "paper type detection" (PMDb) is different from the paper type held by the register BRip (BRap) addressed to the paper feed stage 103i (103a) (12a), the process controller 131 notifies the "paper type error of the paper feed stage 103i (103a)" via the operation board 20 (14), stops the feeding of the paper by the registration roller 105, and also stops the feeding of the paper from the paper feed tray and the feeding of the paper to the registration roller 105 (15). Then, after all of the image-formed sheets are discharged from the apparatus, the remaining sheets (including the sheets caught by the roller 105) fed from the sheet feeding tray to the registration roller 105 are discharged onto the sheet discharge tray 109 without image formation (16,17). Then, the process waits for an input to the operation board 20, and when there is an input, the process returns from the "image formation control" (PPCa) to the input reading (waiting for an instruction) of the main routine. The "image formation control" (PPCa) shown in FIG. 8 is a subroutine executed when the "start instruction" is received in the input reading.
Therefore, in view of Ohashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, in order to suspend feeding more sheets when a mismatch of sheets are detected between initial settings and detection, which can increase the reliability of the setting of the image forming process condition (as stated in Ohashi ¶ [07]).
Re claim 2: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the circuitry determines that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image, the circuitry further identifies setting information compatible with the medium and outputs the identified setting information (e.g. the system discloses the difference between the sheet setting and the detected sheet type. The system displays the difference and gives the user to select a choice of selecting the sheet type detected by the scanner, which is considered as the compatible setting information that is displayed to the user. This is taught in ¶ [20] and [21] above.).
Re claim 6: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
acquire capability information indicating respective capabilities of at least one of other media conveying apparatuses or other software, the capability information being information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the invention discloses giving the user the option to perform the scanning process using the media type associated with the detected type that is different than the user setting. This is associated with the scanning process and is an additional part of the software on the scanner that aids the user with the scanning. This is taught in ¶ [21]-[24].); and
[0021]
FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of an image type selection screen.
A message “Image type may be different” is displayed on the image type selection screen to notify that the image type of the document may be different from the image type selected in advance by the user.
The image type selection screen also displays a user selection mode key 41 for selecting a user selection mode and an automatic determination mode key 42 for selecting an automatic determination mode. The image type selection screen further displays a message “Which mode do you want to copy?” So that the user is prompted to operate either the user selection mode key 41 or the automatic discrimination mode key 42. It has become.
[0022]
Referring to FIG. 2 again, when the image type selection screen is displayed on the display screen of operation display unit 4 (step S5), control unit 5 continues until a predetermined time has elapsed (until YES in step S6). Then, it is monitored whether any of the user selection mode key 41 and the automatic determination mode key 42 is operated (selected) (step S7). When either the user selection mode key 41 or the automatic determination mode key 42 is operated within the predetermined time (YES in step S7), the control unit 5 determines that the operated key is the user selection mode key 41. It is determined whether or not (step S8).
[0023]
When the operated key is the user selection mode key 41 (YES in step S8), the control unit 5 determines to execute the user selection mode on the image data of the document read in the main scan (step S8). S9). On the other hand, when the operated key is the automatic determination mode key 42 (NO in step S8), the control unit 5 determines to execute the automatic determination mode on the image data of the document read in the main scan. (Step S10).
[0024]
In this embodiment, whether the user selection mode or the automatic determination mode is to be executed is preset (initially set) when the determination result of the image type determination process does not match the image type selected by the user. Be able to. If neither the user selection mode key 41 nor the automatic determination mode key 42 is operated within the predetermined time (YES in step S6), the control unit 5 performs initial setting on the image data of the document read in the main scan. The determined mode is determined to be executed (step S11).
output information about a media conveying apparatus or software that has a capability compatible with the medium for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible, from among the other media conveying apparatuses or the other software (e.g. the system shows to the user a part of the software that can output the media based on the use of a mode associated with the automatic mode detection. This is shown based on the mismatch between the detected media type and the advance media setting. This is taught in ¶ [21]-[24].).
Re claim 7: Nakatsuji an image processing system including a media conveying apparatus and an information processing apparatus, the system comprising:
circuitry configured to set setting information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the system discloses inputting an image type of a document in advance for the scanning process, which is taught in ¶ [09], [10] and [17]-[20] above.),
a conveyor to convey a plurality of media sequentially (e.g. the ADF feeds or conveys documents sequentially to the scanner, which is taught in ¶ [15] above.); and
an imager to image each of the plurality of media according to the setting information to obtain an input image (e.g. the system discloses scanning a plurality of documents in the document type set by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.),
wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the input image, whether the setting information is compatible with a medium from the plurality of media imaged in the input image (e.g. the system determines that the input image scanned does not match the input image type selected by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.), and
wherein, when the circuitry determines that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image, and outputs information about the determination result (e.g. the system discloses determining that the user setting selection for the medium is different than the detected, or scanned, document type. This is notified to the user on a display, which is taught in ¶ [21] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ohashi. Similar to the primary reference, Ohashi discloses stopping the feeding of a sheet when it does not match an initial sheet type setting (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ohashi discloses the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media (e.g. the system discloses stopping the feeding rollers to not feed anymore sheets when the sheet type setting is different than the scanned sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [74]-[76] and [89].).
Therefore, in view of Ohashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the circuitry suspends conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, in order to suspend feeding more sheets when a mismatch of sheets are detected between initial settings and detection, which can increase the reliability of the setting of the image forming process condition (as stated in Ohashi ¶ [07]).
Re claim 8: Nakatsuji discloses a media conveying method comprising:
setting setting information regarding an input image generation process (e.g. the system discloses inputting an image type of a document in advance for the scanning process, which is taught in ¶ [09], [10] and [17]-[20] above.);
conveying a plurality of media sequentially by a conveyor (e.g. the ADF feeds or conveys documents sequentially to the scanner, which is taught in ¶ [15] above.);
imaging, with an imager, each of the plurality of media according to the setting information to obtain an input image (e.g. the system discloses scanning a plurality of documents in the document type set by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20].);
determining, based on the input image, whether the setting information is compatible with a medium from the plurality of media imaged in the input image (e.g. the system determines that the input image scanned does not match the input image type selected by the user, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.);
based on a determination result indicating that the setting information is incompatible with the medium imaged in the input image; and outputting information about the determination result based on the determination result (e.g. the system discloses determining that the user setting selection for the medium is different than the detected, or scanned, document type. This is notified to the user on a display, which is taught in ¶ [21] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of suspending conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media based on a determination result.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ohashi. Similar to the primary reference, Ohashi discloses stopping the feeding of a sheet when it does not match an initial sheet type setting (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ohashi discloses suspending conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media based on a determination result (e.g. the system discloses stopping the feeding rollers to not feed anymore sheets when the sheet type setting is different than the scanned sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [74]-[76] and [89].).
Therefore, in view of Ohashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of suspending conveying a subsequent media from the plurality of media based on a determination result, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, in order to suspend feeding more sheets when a mismatch of sheets are detected between initial settings and detection, which can increase the reliability of the setting of the image forming process condition (as stated in Ohashi ¶ [07]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saeda (JP Pub 2018-133627).
Re claim 3: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to store an image based on the input image in a memory (e.g. the control unit receives the document read by the scanner for image processing, which stores the data for processing. This is taught in ¶ [14].), and
[0014] The document reading unit 2 includes a scanner 21 for irradiating light on a document set on a contact glass (not shown), detecting light reflected by the document, and converting the light into an electric signal (image data). I have. The image data of the document read by the document reading unit 2 (scanner 21) is input to the control unit 5 and subjected to predetermined image processing (for example, adaptive processing such as edge enhancement processing and smoothing processing). It is given to the image forming unit 3.
wherein, when the medium for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible (e.g. the system determines that the scanned data does not match the media type input in advance, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of the first page that involves erasing the initial scanned image data and replacing it with the new scan. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200]. This reference added to the combination above would allow for replacing image an initial image with a rescanned image.).
[0080]In addition to the use of the document reading device 820 alone for image reading and the use of the image forming portion main body 215 alone for image formation, the document reading device 101 and the image forming portion main body 102 can be interlocked to copy an image. The multifunction peripheral 800 may include a storage device and a facsimile device, which are not illustrated. The storage device can store an image read by the document reading device and an image received by the facsimile device. A facsimile apparatus can transmit an image read by a document reading apparatus or an image stored in a storage device, and can receive an image from the outside. Further, the multifunction peripheral 800 may include an interface for connecting to a personal computer via a network. A personal computer connected to the multifunction peripheral 800 can use the functions of the multifunction peripheral for data that can be managed by the personal computer.
[0196]As illustrated in FIG. 14, the user interface screen displays an "end" button, a "return" button, a "redo first sheet" button, a "change setting" button, and a "next" button.[0197]The "end" button is used to erase the image data of the document that has been read, return the currently selected function and setting to default ones, and then return to the initial screen.[0198]The "return" button is used to erase the image data of the document that has been read, and to maintain the currently selected function and setting. After pressing the "return" button, the user reads the document again from the first document.[0199]The "first page repeat" button is used to erase image data of a document corresponding to one side in single-sided printing or the front side in double-sided printing, and to maintain the currently selected function and setting. After the user presses the "first document re-reading" button, the user re-reads the document from the first document corresponding to one side in single-sided printing or the front side in double-sided printing. For example, it is possible to cope with a case where only two documents are read in the 4-document combining setting and a case where there are actually four documents to be read.[0200]The "change setting" button is used to change the currently selected function and setting. When this button is pressed, the image data of the document that has been read is erased, and a screen for changing the currently selected function and setting is displayed. After pressing the "change setting" button, the user changes the function and setting currently selected on the screen to another function and setting, and reads the document again from the first document. For example, in a case where only two documents are read in the four sheet combining setting, it is possible to cope with a case where the user actually intends to set the two sheet combining setting.
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein, is re-imaged to reobtain an input image, the circuitry replaces the image stored in the memory with another image based on the reobtained input image, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, in order to replace an image when an image is rescanned, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
Re claim 4: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible (e.g. the system can receive an instruction to change a setting regarding selecting a specific type when it determined that the initial setting and scanned document type mismatch. This is taught in ¶ [17]-[21] above.).
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction indicating whether to re-image the medium for which the setting information is determined (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of a sheet when a single sided scan is instructed. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200]. This reference added to the combination above would allow for re-scanning an initial image.).
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction indicating whether to re-image the medium for which the setting information is determined, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, in order to have an image rescanned, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
Re claim 5: Nakatsuji discloses the media conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to: store an image based on the input image in a memory (e.g. the control unit receives the document read by the scanner for image processing, which stores the data for processing. This is taught in ¶ [14] above.); and
based on the input image for which the setting information is determined to be incompatible (e.g. the system determines that the scanned data does not match the media type input in advance, which is taught in ¶ [17]-[20] above.).
However, Nakatsuji fails to specifically teach the features of receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Saeda. Similar to the primary reference, Saeda discloses scanning a document (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Saeda discloses receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image (e.g. the invention discloses repeating the scan of the first page that involves erasing the initial scanned image data and replacing it with the new scan. This is taught in ¶ [196]-[200] above. When the change setting is selected, this serves as a deletion instruction to delete the scanned image data. This reference added to the combination above would allow for deleting an initial image.).
Therefore, in view of Saeda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of receive an instruction indicating whether to delete, from the memory, the image based on the input image, incorporated in the device of Nakatsuji, as modified by Ohashi, in order to delete an image, which can improve the operability of the MFP when an abnormal situation occurs on the device (as stated in Saeda ¶ [12]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yasunaga discloses determining if a resolution is appropriate and re-scanning if it is not.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683