DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stefanopoulou et al. (US 2021/0359347 A1 hereinafter Stefanopoulou).
As to claim 1, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
a battery management apparatus, comprising: (an electrical device comprising a battery cell and a battery management system, as in claim 1; battery pack or module, as in para. [0022])
a controller configured to: (a controller in electrical communication with the voltage sensor and the current sensor, the controller being configured to execute a program stored in the controller, as in claim 1 and para. [0016])
determine at least one reference peak in a battery differential profile representing a correspondence between a capacity value of a battery cell and a differential voltage value for the capacity value, (determine a first differential voltage point and a second differential voltage point on the differential voltage curve wherein each of the first differential voltage point and the second differential voltage point is at a local peak, as in claim 1; the differential voltage curve calculated using the voltage values and the total discharge values [capacity Q], as in para. [0016]; peaks in dV/dQ curve are originated from only the negative electrode, as in paras. [0017], [0073]; [0096])
adjust a negative electrode differential profile so that at least one target peak of the negative electrode differential profile of the battery cell corresponds to the determined reference peak, and (aligning peaks by scaling and sliding for the peak location in the dV/dQ curve, as in para. [0089]; match the pair of peaks Q_j from the cell with the corresponding peaks x_k from the NE, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089]; negative electrode parameters are estimated by scaling/shifting half-cell potentials, as in para. [0061])
generate a positive electrode profile of the battery cell based on an adjusted negative electrode profile corresponding to the adjusted negative electrode differential profile and on a battery profile. (reconstruct utilized positive electrode (PE) potential U_p(Q) by subtracting utilized NE potential from cell OCV, equivalent to V_positive = V_cell + V_negative (adjusted), as in para. [0061]; Ũ_p(Q) = V(Q) + U_n(x̂_100 - Q / Ĉ_n), as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 2, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the controller is further configured to determine a plurality of reference peaks in the battery differential profile and to adjust the negative electrode differential profile to be the same as a capacity value of a reference peak, among the plurality of reference peaks, to which capacity values of a plurality of target peaks preset in the negative electrode differential profile correspond. (determine a first differential voltage point and a second differential voltage point on the differential voltage curve at a local peak, as in claim 1; matching involves scaling (via Amp-hour distance between peaks) and shifting to align peaks, as in para. [0088]-[0089]; align cell dV/dQ peaks (plural) with half-cell dV/dQ, Q_1, Q_2 peaks, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089]).
As to claim 3, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the negative electrode differential profile while changing an offset corresponding to a minimum capacity value of the negative electrode differential profile and a scale representing an entire capacity region of the negative electrode differential profile. (scaling factor from half-cell to cell capacity axis using Amp-hour distance between peaks, shifting to align peaks, estimating upper/lower bounds of utilization range (x₁₀₀, x₀), as in para. [0060]-[0061]; Ĉ_n = |Q_1 - Q_2| / |x_1 - x_2|, x̂_100 = x_1 + Q_1 / Ĉ_n, as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 4, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the negative electrode profile to correspond to the adjusted negative electrode differential profile by applying change information of the offset and the scale for the adjusted negative electrode differential profile to the negative electrode profile. (negative electrode profile is adjusted by scaling capacity (C_n) based on Amp-hour distances between peaks and shifting to align with cell data, as in para. [0061]; apply scaling/shifting to half-cell potentials, U_n(x_100 - Q * C_n), as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 5, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the controller is further configured to generate the positive electrode profile by adding the voltage value of the battery profile and the voltage value of the adjusted negative electrode profile for each identical capacity value. (Ũ_p(Q) = V_oc(Q) + U_n(x_100 - Q * C_n), as in para. [0061] and [0089]; explicitly adds battery voltage V_oc(Q) [battery profile] to adjusted negative voltage U_n for matching Q [capacity]).
As to claim 6, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the controller is further configured to select a first capacity region and a second capacity region in an entire capacity region of the battery profile, to determine a first reference peak in the first capacity region of the battery profile, and to determine a second reference peak in the second capacity region of the battery profile. (peaks are located in the cell dV/dQ curve (Q_j) and matched to negative electrode peaks (x_k), e.g., (Q_1, x_1), (Q_2, x_2), as in para. [0060]; inherent selection of regions where peaks occur in capacity axis; first and second differential voltage points in distinct Q regions, as in claim 1).
As to claim 7, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the controller is further configured to determine a peak at which an instantaneous change rate of the differential voltage value for the capacity value in the first capacity region of the battery profile is 0 and whose differential voltage value is greatest as the first reference peak, and (local peaks are determined via derivative computation and thresholding, local maxima in the cell dV/dQ curve, as in para. [0060]; inherent where d(dV/dQ)/dQ = 0 at peak, and greatest dV/dQ value selected as prominent peak, e.g., graphite phase transitions, as in para. [0088])
wherein a peak at which an instantaneous change rate of the differential voltage value for the capacity value in the second capacity region of the battery profile is 0 and whose differential voltage value is greatest as the second reference peak. (same as above for second peak; determine a first and a second at a local peak, as in claim 1).
As to claim 8, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the negative electrode profile is a profile preset to represent a correspondence between the capacity value and a negative electrode voltage value of the battery cell, and (characteristic curve of a fresh reference battery electrode, half-cell potential U_n(x), as in para. [0010] and claim 38)
wherein the negative electrode differential profile is a profile preset to represent a correspondence between the capacity value and a differential negative electrode voltage value of the negative electrode voltage value for the capacity value. (dU_n/dx, which has several peaks from fresh reference half-cell data, as in para. [0061]; the characteristic curve is a differential voltage curve of the reference battery electrode, as in claim 34).
As to claim 9, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
a battery pack, comprising: (an electrical device comprising a battery cell and a battery management system, as in claim 1; battery pack or module, as in para. [0022])
a battery management apparatus configured to: (a controller in electrical communication with the voltage sensor and the current sensor, the controller being configured to execute a program stored in the controller, as in claim 1 and para. [0016])
determine at least one reference peak in a battery differential profile representing a correspondence between a capacity value of a battery cell and a differential voltage value for the capacity value, (determine a first differential voltage point and a second differential voltage point on the differential voltage curve wherein each of the first differential voltage point and the second differential voltage point is at a local peak, as in claim 1; the differential voltage curve calculated using the voltage values and the total discharge values [capacity Q], as in para. [0016]; peaks in dV/dQ curve are originated from only the negative electrode, as in para. [0017])
adjust a negative electrode differential profile so that at least one target peak of the negative electrode differential profile of the battery cell corresponds to the determined reference peak, and (aligning peaks by scaling and sliding for the peak location in the dV/dQ curve, as in para. [0089]; match the pair of peaks Q_j from the cell with the corresponding peaks x_k from the NE, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089]; negative electrode parameters are estimated by scaling/shifting half-cell potentials, as in para. [0061])
generate a positive electrode profile of the battery cell based on an adjusted negative electrode profile corresponding to the adjusted negative electrode differential profile and on a battery profile. (reconstruct utilized positive electrode (PE) potential U_p(Q) by subtracting utilized NE potential from cell OCV, equivalent to V_positive = V_cell + V_negative (adjusted), as in para. [0061]; in para. [0089]).
As to claim 10, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
a battery management method, comprising: (a method for estimating a state of health of a battery, as in claim 36 and para. [0010])
determining at least one reference peak in a battery differential profile representing a correspondence between a capacity value of a battery cell and a differential voltage value for the capacity value; (determining a first differential voltage point and a second differential voltage point on the differential voltage curve wherein each of the first differential voltage point and second differential voltage point is at a local peak, as in claim 36; calculating a differential voltage curve based on the voltage values and the total discharge values, as in claim 36)
adjusting a negative electrode differential profile so that at least one target peak of the negative electrode differential profile of the battery cell corresponds to the determined reference peak; and (aligning peaks by scaling and sliding for the peak location in the dV/dQ curve, as in para. [0089]; match the pair of peaks Q_j from the cell with the corresponding peaks x_k from the NE, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089]; negative electrode parameters are estimated by scaling/shifting half-cell potentials, as in para. [0061])
generating a positive electrode profile of the battery cell based on an adjusted negative electrode profile corresponding to the adjusted negative electrode differential profile and on a battery profile. (reconstruct utilized positive electrode (PE) potential U_p(Q) by subtracting utilized NE potential from cell OCV, equivalent to V_positive = V_cell + V_negative (adjusted), as in para. [0061]; Ũ_p(Q) = V(Q) + U_n(x̂_100 - Q / Ĉ_n), as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 11, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089], wherein:
the determining of at least one reference peak includes determining a plurality of reference peaks in the battery differential profile, and (determine a first differential voltage point and a second differential voltage point on the differential voltage curve at a local peak, as in claim 36; matching involves scaling (via Amp-hour distance between peaks) and shifting to align peaks, as in para. [0088]-[0089]; align cell dV/dQ peaks (plural) with half-cell dV/dQ, Q_1, Q_2 peaks, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089])
the adjusting of the negative electrode differential profile includes adjusting the negative electrode differential profile to be the same as a capacity value of a reference peak, among the plurality of reference peaks, to which capacity values of a plurality of target peaks preset in the negative electrode differential profile correspond. (match the pair of peaks Q_j from the cell with the corresponding peaks x_k from the NE, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089]; aligning the corresponding peaks by shifting the scaled half-cell potential, as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 12, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the adjusting of the negative electrode differential profile includes adjusting the negative electrode differential profile while changing an offset corresponding to a minimum capacity value of the negative electrode differential profile and a scale representing an entire capacity region of the negative electrode differential profile. (scaling factor from half-cell to cell capacity axis using Amp-hour distance between peaks, shifting to align peaks, estimating upper/lower bounds of utilization range (x₁₀₀, x₀), as in para. [0060]-[0061]; Ĉ_n = |Q_1 - Q_2| / |x_1 - x_2|, x̂_100 = x_1 + Q_1 / Ĉ_n, as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 13, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the adjusting of the negative electrode profile includes adjusting the negative electrode profile to correspond to the adjusted negative electrode differential profile by applying change information of the offset and the scale for the adjusted negative electrode differential profile to the negative electrode profile. (negative electrode profile is adjusted by scaling capacity (C_n) based on Amp-hour distances between peaks and shifting to align with cell data, as in para. [0061]; apply scaling/shifting to half-cell potentials, U_n(x_100 - Q * C_n), as in para. [0089]).
As to claim 14, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the generating of the positive electrode profile includes generating the positive electrode profile by adding the voltage value of the battery profile and the voltage value of the adjusted negative electrode profile for each identical capacity value. (Ũ_p(Q) = V_oc(Q) + U_n(x_100 - Q * C_n), as in para. [0061] and [0089]; explicitly adds battery voltage V_oc(Q) [battery profile] to adjusted negative voltage U_n for matching Q [capacity]).
As to claim 15, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089], wherein the determining of at least one reference peak includes:
selecting a first capacity region and a second capacity region in an entire capacity region of the battery profile; (peaks are located in the cell dV/dQ curve (Q_j) and matched to negative electrode peaks (x_k), e.g., (Q_1, x_1), (Q_2, x_2), as in para. [0060]; inherent selection of regions where peaks occur in capacity axis; first and second differential voltage points in distinct Q regions, as in claim 36)
determining a first reference peak in the first capacity region of the battery profile; and (locate the distinct peak positions Q_j from the cell dV/dQ curve, as in Algorithm 2.2 in para. [0089])
determining a second reference peak in the second capacity region of the battery profile. (same as above for second peak; determine a first and a second at a local peak, as in claim 36).
As to claim 16, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089], wherein:
the determining of the first reference peak includes determining a peak at which an instantaneous change rate of the differential voltage value for the capacity value in the first capacity region of the battery profile is 0 and whose differential voltage value is greatest as the first reference peak, and (local peaks are determined via derivative computation and thresholding, local maxima in the cell dV/dQ curve, as in para. [0060]; inherent where d(dV/dQ)/dQ = 0 at peak, and greatest dV/dQ value selected as prominent peak, e.g., graphite phase transitions, as in para. [0088])
the determining of the second reference peak includes determining a peak at which an instantaneous change rate of the differential voltage value for the capacity value in the second capacity region of the battery profile is 0 and whose differential voltage value is greatest as the second reference peak. (same as above for second peak; determine a first and a second at a local peak, as in claim 36).
As to claim 17, Stefanopoulou discloses in Figs. 2, 8-11, paras. [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0060]-[0063], [0088]-[0089],
wherein the negative electrode profile is a profile preset to represent a correspondence between the capacity value and a negative electrode voltage value of the battery cell, and (characteristic curve of a fresh reference battery electrode, half-cell potential U_n(x), as in para. [0010] and claim 38)
wherein the negative electrode differential profile is a profile preset to represent a correspondence between the capacity value and a differential negative electrode voltage value of the negative electrode voltage value for the capacity value. (dU_n/dx, which has several peaks from fresh reference half-cell data, as in para. [0061]; the characteristic curve is a differential voltage curve of the reference battery electrode, as in claim 34).
Conclusion
/TUNG X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/9/2026