DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received 11/04/2025, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn from the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20100074979A1, hereafter Cundiff, in view of Foreign Publication DE4234002A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Oefner, in view of Published Application US20060108056A1, hereafter Sarr, and further in view of Foreign Publication FR2717735A1, hereafter Darrieux.
Regarding claim 1, Cundiff discloses a shape forming tool ([0030] Fig 5 tooling system 500), comprising:
a female forming tool (502) comprising a die recess (Fig 5, [0030] female tool 502);
a vacuum bag (520) configured to at least partially surround the female forming tool (Fig 5, [0032] sealing layer 520);
a first plug configured to be received by the die recess and over a first portion of the vacuum bag (Fig 5, [0032] formers 537); and
a second plug configured to be received by the die recess and over a second portion of the vacuum bag (Fig 5, [0032] formers 537).
Cundiff is silent on the shape forming tool further comprising a wedge configured to be received by the die recess between the first plug and the second plug, the wedge extends longitudinally along a longitudinal centerline of the wedge between and to a first end of the wedge and a second end of the wedge, the wedge extends laterally between and to a first side of the wedge and a second side of the wedge, the first side of the wedge comprises a first tapered surface and the second side of the wedge comprises a second tapered surface; wherein the first tapered surface of the wedge is configured to engage the first plug and the second tapered surface of the wedge is configured to engage the second plug; in response to the first tapered surface of the wedge engaging the first plug, the first plug is configured to move laterally toward a first side of the female forming tool; and in response to the second tapered surface of the wedge engaging the second plug, the second plug is configured to move laterally toward a second side of the female forming tool.
In the analogous art of composite molding, Oefner discloses a first plug ([0018], Fig 5 stamp half 16) configured to be received by the die recess, the first plug comprising a first top side (Fig 5 top of stamp half 16), a first bottom side (Fig 5 bottom of stamp half 16), a first outside (Fig 5 side of stamp half 16 in contact with the composite), and a first inside (Fig 5 side of stamp half 16 in contact with wedge (20)), wherein the first plug (16) comprises a first angled surface configured to engage the first tapered surface of the wedge (20) (see annotated figure below),
;
a second plug ([0018], Fig 5 stamp half 14) configured to be received by the die recess, the second plug comprising a second top side (Fig 5 top of stamp half 14), a second bottom side (Fig 5 bottom of stamp half 14), a second outside (Fig 5 side of stamp half 14 in contact with the composite), and a second inside (Fig 5 side of stamp half 14 in contact with wedge (20)), wherein the second plug (14) comprises a second angled surface configured to engage the second tapered surface of the wedge (20) (see annotated figure above); and a wedge ([0019], Fig 5 expansion wedge 20) configured to be received by the die recess between the first plug (16) and the second plug (14), the wedge (20) extends longitudinally along a longitudinal centerline of the wedge (20) between and to a first end of the wedge (20) and a second end of the wedge (see annotated Fig 5 below), the wedge (20) extends laterally between and to a first side of the wedge (20) and a second side of the wedge (20) (see annotated Fig 5 below), the first side of the wedge (20) comprises a first tapered surface and the second side of the wedge (20) comprises a second tapered surface (see annotated Fig 5 below); wherein the first tapered surface of the wedge (20) is configured to engage the first angled surface of the first plug (16) (see annotated Fig 5 below) and the second tapered surface of the wedge is configured to engage the second angled surface of the second plug (14) (see annotated Fig 5 below); in response to the first tapered surface of the wedge (20) engaging the first angled surface of the first plug (16), the first plug (16) is configured to move laterally toward a first side of the female forming tool (26); and in response to the second tapered surface of the wedge (20) engaging the second angled surface of the second plug (14), the second plug (14) is configured to move laterally toward a second side of the female forming tool (26) ([0022], Fig 5, expanding wedge 20 is inserted between the stamp halves 14 and 16 and stamp 12 is expanded in width W direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Cundiff to replace the tooling aid with the first and second stamp halves and wedge disclosed by Oefner as discussed above in order to be able to add further pressure not just to the rounded corners of the mold, as disclosed by Cundiff, but to all areas of the preform against the entire die cavity, as disclosed by Oefner ([0007] tightening fiber layers as evenly as possible over their entire length).
Modified Cundiff is silent on wherein the first inside comprises a first step, a first angled surface, and a first vertical surface, wherein the first step extends between the first top side and the first angled surface, wherein the first angled surface extends between a horizontal surface of the first step and the first vertical surface, and wherein the first vertical surface extends between the first angled surface and the first bottom side; and wherein the second inside comprises a second step, a second angled surface, and a second vertical surface, wherein the second step extends between the second top side and the second angled surface, wherein the second angled surface extends between a horizontal surface of the second step and the second vertical surface, and wherein the second vertical surface extends between the second angled surface and the second bottom side.
In the present specification, however, the vertical and step surfaces of the first and second plugs are described in paragraph [0057], and do not appear to discuss or disclose any specific effect or advantage arising from the claimed step and vertical surface configurations of these inside surfaces. Further, paragraph [0058] of the present specification also states: “Although illustrated as extending between and to the step 168 and the vertical surface 166, it is further contemplated that angled surface 164 may extend between and to the top side 162 and the bottom side 160 of second plug 128. In this regard, step 168 and vertical surface 166 may be omitted in various embodiments.” Thus, the present specification supplies no evidence of any significant effect from the claimed configuration, and further provides evidence that the claimed configuration (the step surfaces and vertical surfaces of the inside surfaces of the first and second plugs) is not significant.
In the analogous art of composite molding, Darrieux discloses the plugs (14) having a particular inside surface shape ([0011] intermediate pieces 14 have a lower face 19 inclined, internal upper angles 25 beveled).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Cundiff with a similar step and vertical surface shape on each of the inside surfaces of the first and second plugs as a matter of design choice, since it is known to select a specific shape for the first and second plugs from Darrieux, absent persuasive evidence of the significance of the claimed configuration (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B)).
Modified Cundiff is further silent on wherein the vacuum bag is configured to burn away during a carbonization process responsive to the shape forming tool being placed in a carbonization furnace and being subjected to the carbonization process.
In the present specification, it is disclosed in paragraph [0066] that mylar would be a suitable material for the vacuum bag in the context of a material that would burn away during a carbonization process, as claimed.
In the analogous art of vacuum bag molding, Sarr discloses mylar as the material for the vacuum bag ([0041] mylar vacuum bag material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify Cundiff to use a mylar vacuum bag material as disclosed by Sarr since it has been held to be obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07). Since a mylar vacuum bag material is considered to meet the requirements of the claimed limitations according to the present specification, the mylar vacuum bag material disclosed by Sarr is similarly considered to meet the claimed limitation of the vacuum bag being configured to burn away during a carbonization process responsive to the shape forming tool being placed in a carbonization furnace and being subjected to the carbonization process.
Regarding claim 3, Cundiff further discloses wherein the vacuum bag (520) completely encloses the die recess of the female forming tool (502) (Fig 5, [0032] sealing layer 520 covers fiber material 510 across entire mold surface 504).
Regarding claim 4, Cundiff further discloses wherein the die recess is configured without any sharp corners or sharp transitions (Fig 5, no sharp corners or sharp transitions present in cavity of female tool 502).
Regarding claim 7, Cundiff further discloses an external load configured to compress an end of a fibrous preform between the external load and a top side of the female forming tool independent of the first plug, the second plug, and the wedge ([0031] base portion 531 can be temporarily fixed to the tool 502 by clamps).
Regarding claim 9, Oefner further discloses wherein a total height of the wedge, measured along a vertical direction, is equal to that of the first plug and the second plug (Fig 5, heights of wedge and stamp halves are equal).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20100074979A1, hereafter Cundiff, in view of Foreign Publication DE4234002A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Oefner, further in view of Published Application US20060108056A1, hereafter Sarr, further in view of Foreign Publication FR2717735A1, hereafter Darrieux, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Published Application US20160236454A1, hereafter Potts.
Regarding claim 2, modified Cundiff is silent on the inclusion of a breather cloth configured to be disposed between the female forming tool and the vacuum bag.
In the analogous art of vacuum bag molding, Potts discloses the inclusion of a breather cloth configured to be disposed between the forming tool and the vacuum bag ([0120] breather cloth placed in order to encourage a uniform air pressure distribution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify Cundiff to include a breather cloth configured to be disposed between the female forming tool and the vacuum bag in order to encourage a uniform air pressure distribution, as disclosed by Potts.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20100074979A1, hereafter Cundiff, in view of Foreign Publication DE4234002A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Oefner, further in view of Published Application US20060108056A1, hereafter Sarr, further in view of Foreign Publication FR2717735A1, hereafter Darrieux, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent No 1,394,558, hereafter Klug.
Regarding claim 6, modified Cundiff is silent on wherein the first tapered surface comprises a guide flange protruding therefrom, and the first angled surface comprises a guide slot configured to receive the guide flange for maintaining a longitudinal position and a rotational position of the first plug with respect to the wedge.
In the analogous art of compression molding, Klug discloses wherein the first tapered surface comprises a guide flange protruding therefrom, and the first angled surface comprises a guide slot configured to receive the guide flange for maintaining a longitudinal position and a rotational position of the first plug with respect to the wedge (Fig 3, claim 16, guiding tongues and grooves 28 and 29 on mating faces of blocks 25 and 27 and 26 and 27, for guiding them in their relative movements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify Cundiff to include tongues and grooves on the wedge and stamping halves in order to guide the wedge and stamp halves in their relative movements, as disclosed by Klug.
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20100074979A1, hereafter Cundiff, in view of Foreign Publication DE4234002A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Oefner, further in view of Published Application US20060108056A1, hereafter Sarr, further in view of Foreign Publication FR2717735A1, hereafter Darrieux, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Published Application US20100136292A1, hereafter Lucas.
Regarding claim 8, modified Cundiff is silent on wherein the female forming tool, the wedge, the first plug, and the second plug comprise a graphite material.
In the analogous art of compression molding, Lucas discloses wherein the forming tool body comprises a graphite material ([0037] graphite tool body, chosen for low coefficient of thermal expansion particularly useful for the fabrication of carbon fiber composites).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify Cundiff to choose a graphite material for the female forming tool, the wedge, the first plug, and the second plug, in order to provide a low coefficient of thermal expansion that is particularly useful for the fabrication of carbon fiber composites, as suggested by Lucas, and further, because it has been held to be obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, modified Cundiff is silent on wherein the female forming tool, the wedge, the first plug, and the second plug are configured to remain in the female forming tool during a carbonization process.
In the present specification, it is disclosed in paragraph [0053] the female forming tool 122, wedge 124, first plug 126, and second plug 128 are made from a graphite material suitable for withstanding elevated temperatures experienced during carbonization and densification processes.
Lucas discloses wherein the forming tool body comprises a graphite material ([0037] graphite tool body, chosen for low coefficient of thermal expansion particularly useful for the fabrication of carbon fiber composites).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify Cundiff to choose a graphite material for the female forming tool, the wedge, the first plug, and the second plug, in order to provide a low coefficient of thermal expansion that is particularly useful for the fabrication of carbon fiber composites, as suggested by Lucas, and further, because it has been held to be obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07). Since a graphite material for the first plug, second plug, and wedge is considered to meet the requirements of the claimed limitations according to the present specification, the graphite material disclosed by Lucas is similarly considered to meet the claimed limitation of the first plug, second plug, and the wedge being configured to remain in the female forming tool during a carbonization process.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20100074979A1, hereafter Cundiff, in view of Foreign Publication DE4234002A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Oefner, further in view of Published Application US20060108056A1, hereafter Sarr, further in view of Foreign Publication FR2717735A1, hereafter Darrieux, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Published Application US20170225409A1, hereafter Lauzon.
Regarding claim 11, modified Cundiff is silent on wherein the vacuum bag is configured to completely enclose the female forming tool.
In the analogous art of vacuum bag molding, Lauzon discloses wherein the vacuum bag is configured to completely enclose the female forming tool ([0030] enclosure 216 is formed as a "free" bag containing the complete mold 160 and not connected thereto so as to be free to move with respect to the mold 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Cundiff such that the vacuum bag is configured to completely enclose the female forming tool, in order to allow the bag to be free to move with respect to the female forming tool, as suggested by Lauzon ([0030]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20100074979A1, hereafter Cundiff, in view of Foreign Publication DE4234002A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Oefner, further in view of Published Application US20060108056A1, hereafter Sarr, further in view of Foreign Publication FR2717735A1, hereafter Darrieux, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Published Application US20160332917A1, hereafter Hipp.
Regarding claim 13, modified Cundiff is silent on wherein the external load comprises a dead weight.
In the analogous art of carbon composite molding, Hipp discloses applying an external load, wherein the external load comprises a dead weight ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the known dead weight of Hipp for the known clamp of Cundiff to achieve the predictable result of an applied pressing force on the top side of the female forming tool that is proportional to the mass of the selected dead weight placed thereon (MPEP 2143 (I) (B)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding amended claim 1 on pages 7-8 of applicant’s remarks that Cundiff, Oefner, and Sarr, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of independent claim 1, the examiner disagrees, and notes, as stated in the above rejection of claim 1, that due to the absence of evidence of the significance of the claimed features and the statement by applicant in paragraph [0058] of the present specification that these features may be omitted in various embodiments, and the evidence that determining the inner surface shape of the plugs is known in the art (Darrieux, [0011]) the features of the step surfaces and vertical surfaces of the first and second plugs would have been a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754