DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the HRV is not determined from both asymptomatic and symptomatic HRVs. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims only requires the HRV value to be based on HRV values that were recorded. In this case the person has a running HRV recording and therefore includes both asymptomatic and symptomatic HRVs. Further, the claim is silent as to what they consider symptomatic and asymptomatic and therefore, the HRV data that is recorded and used to determine the threshold by the Shinba reference reads on the claims as written.
The Applicant further argues that since claims 21 and 31 are allowable, the 103 rejections are moot as the references fail to cure the deficiencies of the 102 reference. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons above.
It is noted that after further review of the claims a new 101 rejection has been added to the non-final action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 21, 25-26, 28-31, 35-36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1- Claim 31
Claim 31 and dependent claims 35-36 and 38-40 are drawn to a method and thus meet the requirements for step 1.
Step 2a (prong 1) - Claim 31
Claims 31 recites the step of “identify a potential relapse of a neuropsychiatric condition” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this step covers a concept capable of being performed in the human mind, and thus falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, claim 31 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2a (prong 2) – Claim 31
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 31 recites the additional elements of:
Monitoring heart rate variability of a patient is insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering/statistics),
Determining a threshold heart rate variability is insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering),
Identifying a potential relapse of a neuropsychiatric condition is insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering/statistics), and
providing a potential relapse indicator is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic devices, a “computer-implemented” method, performing generic computer functions like sending, receiving, and visually displaying data) is insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data output).
These steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are insignificant extra solution activity.
Step 2b- Claim 31
The additional elements when considered individually and in combination are not enough to qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, providing a (an indicator that the patient is about to relapse) is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic devices, a “computer-implemented” method, performing generic computer functions like sending, receiving, and visually displaying data). Further, monitoring heart rate variability is considered data gathering.
The additional elements that were considered insignificant extra solution activity have been re-analyzed and do not amount to anything more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional when considered individually and in combination with evidence provided. Specifically:
Monitoring heart rate variability of a patient is well understood, routine, and conventional (i.e., receiving data MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
providing a potential relapse indicator is considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (i.e., presenting data MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
Claim 31 is thus considered to be directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 35-36 and 38-40 depend from claim 31. The type of data analyzed as stated in claims 35 and 38 are considered extra solution activity. The devices utilized to collect the data as stated in claims 36 are stated at a high level of generality in applicant’s specification (“a smart watch; a touchpad device; a steering wheel; a smart handheld device; a waveform analysis kiosk; and a connected device”) and are merely used as a tool to carry out the data gathering. Claims 39-40 are directed to the extra solution activity of presenting the data. Thus, the dependent claim do not change the overall analysis that claims 35-36 and 38-40 are also directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 21, 25-26 and 28-30
Independent claim 19 is directed to a system containing limitations similar to that for claim 31 and further includes a processor with memory. Analyzing the processor and memory of claim 19 under step 2a, prong 1, the processor and memory are recited at a high level of generality and merely use the computer elements (the processor and memory) as a tool. When analyzed under step 2a, prong 2, the processor and memory perform generic computer functions like storing and processing data. Further, when the analysis is extended to step 2b, the processor and memory are considered to use the computer elements as tools, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Thus, claim 19 is also considered to be patent ineligible subject matter. Dependent claims 25-26 and 28-29 are similar to dependent claims 5-26, 28-30 and are rejected on the same grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinba (U.S. Pub. 2014/0058279).
Regarding claims 21 and 31, Shinba discloses a system and method for predicting and treating a neuropsychiatric condition relapse, comprising: a controller (e.g. Fig. 2, “A”), where the controller is configured to: monitor heart rate variability of a patient over time based on heart rate recorded by a heart rate monitor (e.g. Fig. 2 (1); ¶44; [the heart rate over time includes both asymptomatic and symptomatic data]); determine a threshold heart rate variability value based on both an asymptomatic heart rate variability value recorded for the patient and a symptomatic heart rate variability value recorded for the patient (e.g. ¶¶41, 43 and 53); identify a potential relapse of a neuropsychiatric condition based on a change in the heart rate variability over time (e.g. ¶¶43, 44) based on a comparison of the HRV value with a threshold value (e.g. ¶¶41, 43 and 53); and provide an indicator that the patient is about to relapse (e.g. ¶¶ 25, 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24, 27, 32-34 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinba as applied to claims 21 and 31 above, and further in view of Mishelevich (U.S. Pub. 2013/0281890).
Regarding claims 23-24 and 33-34, Shinba discloses the claimed invention including the use of theta burst stimulation, but fails to explicitly state that the system uses accelerated theta burst stimulation in both implantable and transcutaneous stimulation. However, Mishelevich teaches a similar system that utilizes accelerated theta burst stimulation in both implantable and transcutaneous stimulation as taught in paragraphs 249, 405 and 671 to provide improved treatment of depression. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the theta burst stimulation as taught by Shinba, with accelerated theta burst stimulation using implanted and/or transcutaneous stimulation as taught by Mishelevich, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a known stimulation technique that improves the treatment for treatment-resistant depression.
Regarding claims 22, 27, 32 and 37, Shinba discloses the use of theta burst stimulation but fails to explicitly state that the has an intersession interval of between 10 and 50 minutes or between 25 and 120 minutes. However, Mishelevich teaches accelerated intermittent theta burst stimulation with a interval of 15 minutes or more between sessions as taught in paragraph 24 and 27 to provide a increase the duration on the effect on motor-evoked potential. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the theta burst stimulation as taught by Shinba, with an interval of 15 minutes or more in between sessions as taught by Mishelevich, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of increasing duration on the effect on motor-evoked potential. Shinba in view of Mishelevich teaches the claimed invention but fails to explicitly state that the system utilizes between 25 and 120 minutes. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the range of 15 minutes or more as taught by Shinba in view of Mishelevich, with 25-120 minutes since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 28 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinba as applied to claims 21 and 31 above, and further in view of Jain et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0249438 hereinafter “Jain”).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, the Shinba discloses claimed system and method, except treating major depressive disorder with a threshold heart rate variability value is selected by; and the relapse prediction application further directs the processor to: obtaining a baseline asymptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient and a baseline symptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient; and determining the midpoint between the asymptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient and the symptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient.
Jain in the same field of endeavor: teaches treating major depression disorder ([130]-[131] including table 2) with sensor assisted evaluation of health treatment, discloses the threshold heart rate variability value is selected by; and the relapse prediction application further directs the processor to: obtaining a baseline asymptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient and a baseline symptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient; and determining the midpoint between the asymptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient and the symptomatic heart rate variability value for the patient (Fig. 3, (330) pars. [0078]: [0080]: the system compares the biological markers, e.g., current or updated states of the biological markers, with the baselines for the biological markers. For example, the system is capable of comparing a biological marker indicative of each dimension with a corresponding baseline biological marker...). This is for the purpose of determining whether deterioration, improvement, or no change in the current state of the HRV biological marker relative to the baseline to indicate a condition (par. [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and system for predicting and treating a clinical neurological condition relapse using heart rate variability, as taught by Shinba to include a HRV baseline comparison, as taught by Jain, in order to determine whether there is deterioration, improvement, or no change in the current state of the HRV biological marker relative to the baseline to indicate a condition.
Claim(s) 26 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinba as applied to claims 21 and 31 above, and further in view of Stubbeman (U.S. Pub. 2016/0008620).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Shinba discloses all of the limitations in the system and method above, except for explicitly stating that the system further senses EEG. However, Stubbeman in the same field of endeavor: method and systems for therapeutic brain stimulation using EEG sensing and electromagnetic pulses, discloses, where the indicator indicates that the patient will require treatment using a transcranial magnetic stimulation device by applying an accelerated theta burst stimulation protocol where the transcranial magnetic stimulation target is the left prefrontal dorsolateral cortex (pars. [91] and [114]-[118] EEEG monitoring for clustered spike activity;pars. [0036]: ...a brain stimulation device configured to stimulate a patient's brain by emitting an electromagnetic field based on delivery of theta burst pulses, [0037]: ...the brain stimulation device is a transcranial magnetic stimulation device directed to, e.g., the patient's left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex (LDLPFC)). This provides the benefit of effectuating a therapeutic treatment on the patient (par. [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and system for predicting and treating a clinical neurological condition relapse using heart rate variability, as taught by Shinba, to include a processor and memory in communication with a EEG Sensor, as taught by Stubbeman, in order enhance the sensing of relapse and to deliver therapy and neural stimulation that may be programmed to detect and/or treat depression; and to effectuating a therapeutic treatment on the patient.
Claim(s) 29-30 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinba as applied to claims 21 and 31 above, and further in view of Reeve (U.S. Pub. 2007/0173901).
Regarding claims 29-30 and 39-40, Shinba discloses all of the limitations in the system and method above, except for explicitly stating that the wherein the cardiac monitor is connected to a network via a wireless connection. However, Reeve discloses the cardiac monitor is connected to a network via a wireless connection (Fig. 2, (85) and pars. [0003], [0017]: This disclosure deals with a system for detecting and/or treating depression that may be incorporated into an implantable device such as a cardiac rhythm management device The device may also be interfaced to a patient management network via wireless telemetry...). This is for the purpose of transmitting data and alarm messages to allow clinical personnel to the track the progress of a patient's condition (par. [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and system for predicting and treating a clinical neurological condition relapse using heart rate variability, as taught by Shinba to include a cardiac management device with wireless telemetry, as taught by Reeves, in order to transmit data and alarm messages to allow clinical personnel to the track the progress of a patient's condition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liao (U.S. Pat. 2014/0206945 – Previously cited) – teaches a similar transcranial stimulator for depression disorders.
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796