DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/643,967 filed on 04/23/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 07/15/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 12-16 are cancelled.
-Claims 17-20 are amended.
-Claims 1-11, 17-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-6, 11 are rejected.
-Claims 7-10, 17-20 are objected.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2025, 08/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments/Remarks - Election/Restrictions
5. Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, which includes claims 1-11, and furthermore includes newly proposed amended Claims 17-20 now submitted as depending from Claim 1 in elected Group I in the reply filed on 07/15/2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
7. Claims 1, 3 -5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG et al. (US 20230209308 A1) i.e. “LIANG”, in view of Oman (US 20220247854 A1) i.e. “Oman”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Original) LIANG teaches: A method in an electronic device (LIANG - FIG. 6 & ¶0077 […] a process of turning on mobile phone Bluetooth, in one embodiment. Referring to FIG. 6, a UWB transmitting module in the car UWB module transmits a predetermined signal to a UWB receiving module of the driver's mobile phone through the UWB communication channel, and a UWB parsing module of the mobile phone reads and parses the predetermined signal, and generates a broadcast of turning on the Bluetooth based on the parsing result, the mobile phone system forwards the broadcast to the Bluetooth module, and after receiving the broadcast, the Bluetooth module may turn on the Bluetooth to establish a Bluetooth connection between the car system and the driver's mobile phone;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0077 i.e. a process of turning on mobile phone Bluetooth reads on: A method, where FIG. 7 & ¶0077 i.e. a UWB parsing module of the mobile phone reads and parses the predetermined signal, and generates a broadcast of turning on the Bluetooth based on the parsing result, the mobile phone system forwards the broadcast to the Bluetooth module reads on: in an electronic device),
the method comprising: detecting (LIANG FIG. 6 & ¶0077 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0077 i.e. a UWB transmitting module in the car UWB module transmits a predetermined signal to a UWB receiving module of the driver's mobile phone through the UWB communication channel, and a UWB parsing module of the mobile phone reads and parses the predetermined signal reads on: detecting the predetermined signal via UWB receiving module of the driver's mobile phone),
with one or more processors (LIANG FIG. 6 & FIG. 11, ¶0086 […] electronic device 1100 includes at least one memory 1101 and at least one processor 1102, the at least one memory 1101 stores a set of computer executable instructions. When executed by the at least one processor 1102, the set of computer executable instructions executes the method In one embodiment […]; ¶0087 […] the electronic device 1100 may be a PC computer, a tablet device, a personal digital assistant, a smart phone […] a portable electronic device interconnecting with a local or remote (e.g., via wireless transmission) interface;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0077 i.e. the driver's mobile phone as applied to i.e. per ¶0087 i.e. a smart phone a portable electronic device which per ¶0086 i.e. includes i.e. at least one processor 1102 reads on: with one or more processors executing the method),
a communication device electronically in communication with a vehicle-mounted companion electronic device comprising a first ultra-wideband component (LIANG FIG. 6 & ¶0077 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0077 i.e. a UWB transmitting module in the car UWB module transmits a predetermined signal to i.e. a UWB receiving module of the driver's mobile phone which is depicted in FIG. 6 as part of Hardware section of Mobile phone reads on: detecting a communication device electronically in communication i.e. UWB transmitting module in the car UWB module transmits a predetermined signal reads on: with a vehicle-mounted companion electronic device i.e. UWB transmitting module in the car UWB module transmits reads on: comprising a first ultra-wideband component );
determining, whether the electronic device is positioned within (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
entering (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a driver's seat of a vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted (LIANG FIG. 4, FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0072 […] it may be determined that the mobile device A belongs to the driver ; ¶0076 […] the movement tracks of all mobile phones in the current driving process may be obtained through the car UWB module, and the driver's mobile phone may be determined based on whether the movement track intersects with the door line of the driver's seat, to thereby determine that it must be the driver's mobile phone that connects to the Bluetooth of the car system, which avoids the situation that the driver manually reconnects to the Bluetooth, and improves convenience of the car Bluetooth connection. Here, in the process of establishing a Bluetooth connection between the driver's mobile phone and the car system, if it is detected that the mobile phone Bluetooth is not turned on, the mobile phone Bluetooth may be turned on through a UWB communication channel between the car Bluetooth module and the mobile phone;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0076 i.e. the movement tracks of all mobile phones in the current driving process may be obtained through the car UWB module, and the driver's mobile phone may be determined reads on: determining, as depicted in FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & per ¶0072 i.e. determined that the mobile device A belongs to the driver and per ¶0076 i.e. the driver's mobile phone may be determined based on whether the movement track i.e. intersects with the door line of the driver's seat reads on: whether the electronic device is positioned within, or entering, a driver's seat of a vehicle and per FIG. 6 depicting Vehicle and UWB transmitting module and per ¶0076 i.e. the car UWB module reads on: to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted );
and when the communication device is disconnected from a wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle and the electronic device is positioned within, or entering, the driver's seat of the vehicle to which the vehicle- mounted companion electronic device is mounted (LIANG FIG. 4, FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0072, ¶0076 See above; ¶0077 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0076 i.e. the driver's mobile phone may be determined based on whether the movement track i.e. intersects with the door line of the driver's seat and per ¶0076 i.e. in the process of establishing a Bluetooth connection between the driver's mobile phone and the car system, if it is detected that the mobile phone Bluetooth is not turned on reads on: and when the communication device is disconnected from a wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle , and where ¶0076 indicates that i.e. the driver's mobile phone may be determined based on whether the movement track i.e. intersects with the door line of the driver's seat reads on: and the electronic device is positioned within, or entering, the driver's seat of the vehicle and per FIG. 6 depicting Vehicle and UWB transmitting module and per ¶0076 i.e. the car UWB module reads on: to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted),
directing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to establish a paired communication channel with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle (LIANG FIG. 4, FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0072, ¶0076 See above; ¶0077 See above; ¶0086 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0076 i.e. the mobile phone Bluetooth may be turned on through a UWB communication channel between the car Bluetooth module and the mobile phone where, as implemented by ¶0086 i.e. includes i.e. at least one processor 1102 executing the method applied to per ¶0077 i.e. UWB parsing module of the mobile phone reads and parses the predetermined signal, and generates a broadcast of turning on the Bluetooth based on the parsing result, the mobile phone system forwards the broadcast to the Bluetooth module reads on: directing, by the one or more processors , and furthermore per ¶0077 i.e. and after receiving the broadcast, the Bluetooth module may turn on the Bluetooth to i.e. establish a Bluetooth connection between the car system and the driver's mobile phone reads on: the communication device to establish a paired communication channel with the wireless personal area network i.e. between the car system reads on: associated with the vehicle and the driver's mobile phone. The office action notes that its well known in prior art that establishing a Bluetooth connection involves pairing).
While LIANG also teaches a second ultra-wideband component carried by the electronic device (LIANG SEE FIG. 6 Hardware section depicted comprising UWB receiving module),
LIANG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): determining, by the one or more processors with a second ultra-wideband component,
Oman which also teaches: A method in an electronic device (Oman FIG. 3 A & ¶0023 […] FIG. 3A, a flow diagram of an example automatic control method 300 for mobile device driver mode using UWB communication […] At 304, the mobile device 200 detects for a set of vehicle UWB transceivers 108 of the vehicle 100 […] At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines the defined driver zone within the vehicle 100, the defined driver zone indicating a set of relative positions within the vehicle 100 […] At 312, the mobile device 200 communicates via the device UWB transceiver with the set of vehicle UWB transceivers 108 to determine a position of the mobile device 200 within the vehicle 100. At 316, the mobile device 200 determines whether it is in the defined driver zone […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. a flow diagram of an example automatic control method 300 reads on: A method, per ¶0023 i.e. for mobile device driver mode reads on: in an electronic device),
the method comprising: detecting, with one or more processors, a communication device electronically in communication with a vehicle-mounted companion electronic device comprising a first ultra-wideband component (Oman FIG. 3 A & ¶0023 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0023 i.e. At 304, the mobile device 200 detects for reads on: the method comprising: detecting, with one or more processors where a mobile is well known in prior art to comprise a processor (see LIANG), per ¶0023 i.e. the mobile device 200 detects for a set of vehicle UWB transceivers 108 i.e. At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver reads on: a communication device as it pertains to the mobile device detecting UWB. Furthermore, the mobile device 200 detects for i.e. a set of vehicle UWB transceivers of the vehicle 100 reads on: in communication with a vehicle-mounted companion electronic device comprising a first ultra-wideband component);
determining, by the one or more processors with a second ultra-wideband component carried by the electronic device, whether the electronic device is positioned within, or entering, a driver's seat of a vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted (Oman FIG. 2, FIG. 3 A & ¶0021 […] the vehicle UWB transceivers 108 could include four UWB transceivers arranged in a diamond configuration (e.g., two at front/rear central points of the cabin of the vehicle 100 and two at central outer points of the cabin of the vehicle 100) or proximate to four corners of the vehicle 100; ¶0022 […]a defined driver zone 204 that defines an area relative to the vehicle 100 that, if the mobile device 200 is detected to be within, causes the mobile device to enable the driver mode (e.g., sometimes also only when the vehicle 100 is also determined to be moving). While a circular-shaped defined driver zone 204 centered approximately at a center of a driver seat of the vehicle 100 is shown; ¶0023 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0023 i.e. At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines reads on: determining, by the one or more processors with a second ultra-wideband component carried by the electronic device. Furthermore per ¶0023 At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines i.e. the defined driver zone within the vehicle 100 reads on: whether the electronic device is positioned, per ¶0023 i.e. the defined driver zone indicating a set of relative positions within the vehicle 100 where per FIG. 2 & ¶0022 i.e. a defined driver zone 204 that defines an area relative to the vehicle 100 that, if the mobile device 200 is detected to be within, causes the mobile device to enable the driver mode reads on: within, or entering, a driver's seat of a vehicle where FIG. 2 depicts vehicle mounted UWB transceivers & ¶0021 i.e. the vehicle UWB transceivers 108 reads on: to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG with teachings of Oman, since Oman enables implementation of vehicle UWB transceivers, where precise position detection of the mobile device relative to the vehicle can occur (Oman - ¶0021).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) LIANG in view of Oman teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LIANG teaches: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the ultra-wideband component, a distance between the electronic device and the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device (LIANG – FIG. 2 & ¶0053 […] positioning principles […] three curves are respectively hyperboloids determined based on a distance difference between the positioned object B and the respective base stations, and an intersection position is the estimated position of the positioned object B; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 2 & ¶0053 i.e. positioning principles reads on: wherein the determining comprises, i.e. a distance difference between the positioned object B and the respective base stations reads on: measuring, with the ultra-wideband component, a distance between the electronic device and the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device);
LIANG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component;
furthermore Oman teaches: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component, a distance between the electronic device and the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device (Oman FIG. 2, FIG. 3 A & ¶0021 See Claim 1; ¶ See Claim 1; ¶0023 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0023 i.e. At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines reads on: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component. Furthermore per ¶0023 At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines i.e. the defined driver zone within the vehicle 100 reads on: whether the electronic device is positioned, per ¶0023 i.e. the defined driver zone indicating a set of relative positions within the vehicle 100 where per FIG. 2 & ¶0022 i.e. a defined driver zone 204 that defines an area relative to the vehicle 100 that, if the mobile device 200 is detected to be within reads on: a distance between the electronic device and the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device i.e. with respect to the zone defining a distance with respect to the vehicle mounted UWB devices);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG in view of Oman, further with the teachings of Oman, since Oman enables implementation of vehicle UWB transceivers, where precise position detection of the mobile device relative to the vehicle can occur (Oman - ¶0021).
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) LIANG in view of Oman teaches: The method of claim 3,
furthermore LIANG teaches: wherein the determining further comprises measuring, with the ultra-wideband component, an angle of arrival at which signals exchanged between the first ultra-wideband component and the second ultra- wideband component intersect the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device (LIANG FIG. 2 & ¶0053 […] positioning principles of TOF, TDOA, and AOA […] A1 and A2 are UWB base stations, T1 is an object to be positioned, and angles ∠1 and ∠2 between the UWB base stations and the positioned object T1 are measured, an intersection of rays formed according to the ∠1 and ∠2 is the estimated position of the positioned object T1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0053 i.e. A1 and A2 are UWB base stations, T1 is an object to be positioned, and angles ∠1 and ∠2 between the UWB base stations and the positioned object T1 are measured, an intersection of rays formed according to the ∠1 and ∠2 is the estimated position reads on: wherein the determining further comprises measuring, with the ultra-wideband component, an angle of arrival at which signals exchanged between the first ultra-wideband component and the second ultra- wideband component intersect i.e. A1 and A2 are UWB base stations reads on: the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device).
LIANG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component;
furthermore Oman teaches: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component (Oman FIG. 2, FIG. 3 A & ¶0021 See Claim 1; ¶0022 See Claim 1; ¶0023 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0023 i.e. At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines reads on: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component. i.e. the defined driver zone within the vehicle 100);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG in view of Oman, further with the teachings of Oman, since Oman enables implementation of vehicle UWB transceivers, where precise position detection of the mobile device relative to the vehicle can occur (Oman - ¶0021).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) LIANG in view of Oman teaches: The method of claim 3,
furthermore LIANG teaches: wherein the determining further comprises measuring, with the ultra-wideband component, an azimuth angle associated with signals exchanged between the first ultra-wideband component and the second ultra-wideband component (LIANG FIG. 2 & ¶0053 See claim 4;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0053 i.e. A1 and A2 are UWB base stations, T1 is an object to be positioned, and angles ∠1 and ∠2 between the UWB base stations and the positioned object T1 are measured, an intersection of rays formed according to the ∠1 and ∠2 is the estimated position reads on: wherein the determining further comprises measuring, with the ultra-wideband component, an azimuth angle associated with signals exchanged between the first ultra-wideband component and the second ultra-wideband component).
LIANG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component;
furthermore Oman teaches: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component (Oman FIG. 2, FIG. 3 A & ¶0021 See Claim 1; ¶0022 See Claim 1; ¶0023 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0023 i.e. At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines reads on: wherein the determining comprises measuring, with the second ultra-wideband component. i.e. the defined driver zone within the vehicle 100);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG in view of Oman, further with the teachings of Oman, since Oman enables implementation of vehicle UWB transceivers, where precise position detection of the mobile device relative to the vehicle can occur (Oman - ¶0021).
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of Oman, further in view of LEE et al (US 20220201775 A1) i.e. “LEE”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) LIANG in view of Oman teaches: The method of claim 1,
LIANG in view of Oman does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): comprising causing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to transmit a disconnect message to another electronic device actively in communication with the wireless personal area network;
LEE teaches: further comprising causing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to transmit a disconnect message to another electronic device actively in communication with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle (LEE FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & ¶0051 […] external device 205 can be connected to the first electronic device 201 through Bluetooth ; ¶0081 a first electronic device 101, 201 may be connected (or paired) with the external device 205; ¶0085[…] operation 305, the second electronic device 203 may make a request for the connection with the external device 205 to the first electronic device 201 on the basis of a user input; ¶0086 […] operation 307, the first electronic device 201 may transmit connection information associated with the connection with the external device 205 to the second electronic device 203. Transmission of the connection information by the first electronic device 201 to the second electronic device 203 may mean that a right to use the external device 205 is assigned to the second electronic device 203.
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0085[…] operation 305, the second electronic device 203 may make a request for the connection with the external device 205 to the first electronic device 201 reads on: further comprising causing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to transmit a disconnect message where per ¶0087 resulting operation 307 means mean that a right to use the external device 205 is assigned to the second electronic device 203. Furthermore per ¶0085 i.e. make a request for the connection with the external device 205 to the first electronic device 201 reads on: to another electronic device where i.e. per FIG. 3 depicts 201 connected to 205 external device which is external device 205 that per ¶0051 i.e. can be by way of example, an external output device such as a car kit and i.e. external device 205 can be connected to the first electronic device 201 through Bluetooth reads on: actively in communication with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG in view of Oman with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables a first electronic device be rapidly connected to an external electronic device connected with the first electronic device through a Bluetooth protocol without any complex authentication procedure (LEE - ¶0010).
9. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of Oman, further in view of LEE et al (US 20230156424 A1) i.e. “LEE2”.
Regarding Claim 6. (Original) LIANG in view of Oman teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Oman teaches: wherein the determining occurs in response to a trigger event detected by one or more sensors (Oman FIG. 2 & ¶0022 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0022 i.e. causes the mobile device to enable the driver mode reads on: wherein the determining occurs. Furthermore per ¶0022 i.e. a defined driver zone 204 that defines an area relative to the vehicle 100 that, if the mobile device 200 is detected to be within reads on: in response to a trigger event detected by one or more sensors, i.e. which i.e. causes the mobile device to enable the driver mode (e.g., sometimes also only when the vehicle 100 is also determined to be moving) and applies FIG 3 Step 304);
LIANG in view of Oman does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): detected by one or more sensors of the electronic device;
LEE teaches: wherein the determining occurs in response to a trigger event detected by one or more sensors of the electronic device (FIG. 4 & ¶0156 […] if the electronic device 101 enters the remote control zone, a BLE connection may be established between the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300, and if the BLE connection is established between the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300, the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300 may measure a distance between the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300 based on a UWB scheme ;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 4 & ¶0156 i.e. the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300 may measure a distance between the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300 based on a UWB scheme reads on: wherein the determining occurs i.e. if the electronic device 101 enters the remote control zone, a BLE connection may be established reads on: in response to a trigger event detected by one or more sensors of the electronic device ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG in view of Oman, with the teachings of LEE2, since LEE2 enables a scheme for adaptively adjusting a time point at which a connection between the electronic device 101 and the vehicle 300 is changed from the BLE connection to the UWB connection based on a BLE high accuracy distance measurement (HADM) scheme instead of immediately establishing the UWB connection to manage the UWB technology consuming relatively large current compared to the BLE technology, and battery consumption (LEE2 - ¶0157).
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of Oman, further in view of Mourad (US 20260019787 A1) i.e. “Mourad”.
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) LIANG in view of Oman teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Oman teaches: further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors with the second ultra-wide component carried by the electronic device, whether the electronic device is outside, or exiting, the driver's seat of the vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted (Oman FIG. 2, FIG. 3 A & ¶0021 See claim 1; ¶0022 See claim 1; ¶0023 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0023 i.e. At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines reads on: further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors with the second ultra-wide component carried by the electronic device. Furthermore per ¶0023 At 308, the mobile device 200, via its device UWB transceiver, determines i.e. the defined driver zone within the vehicle 100 reads on: whether the electronic device is, per ¶0023 i.e. the defined driver zone indicating a set of relative positions within the vehicle 100 where per FIG. 2 & ¶0022 i.e. a defined driver zone 204 that defines an area relative to the vehicle 100 that, if the mobile device 200 is detected to be within, causes the mobile device to enable the driver mode i.e. if the mobile device 200 is detected to be within based upon also indicates determining whether the mobile is outside zone 204 outside the vehicle reads on: outside, or exiting, the driver's seat of the vehicle where FIG. 2 depicts vehicle mounted UWB transceivers & ¶0021 i.e. the vehicle UWB transceivers 108 reads on: to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted );
LIANG in view of Oman does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): and when the communication device is connected to the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle, directing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to terminate the paired communication channel with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle.
Mourad teaches: further comprising: determining, whether the electronic device is outside(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) exiting(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), the driver's seat of the vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted; and when the communication device is connected to the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle, directing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to terminate the paired communication channel with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle (Mourad FIG. 1 & FIG. 2, ¶0050 […] The second BLE/UWB combined node 232 is installed inside the vehicle and the first BLE/UWB combined node 231 is installed on the exterior of the vehicle. So, when a user carrying the user device 210 approaches the vehicle 220, the user device may establish a first connection 241 with the first BLE node as it is the only BLE node which is discovered by the user device 210 and/or as it provides a sufficient, a preferred, and/or the highest connection quality among the BLE nodes of the vehicle 220 and, thus, may be preferred over the second BLE node (inside the vehicle) […] when the user sat down in the vehicle and/or after closing the vehicle door, signals of the first BLE node may be shielded by the vehicle 220 such that a connection quality of the first connection 241 may drop (worsen) and may even become insufficient; ¶0051 […] considering that the signal strength of the first BLE node, thus, may be insufficient at the user device 210, the vehicle 220 may decide based on the UWB measurements that it is reasonable to switch the BLE node for the connection with the user device 210. To this end, the vehicle 220 transmits a disconnect request/message to the user device 210. Consequently, the user device 210 abandons the first connection and may automatically search for another BLE node to re-establish the connection with the vehicle 220. In doing so, the user device 210 preferably may select the BLE node providing the highest signal strength measured at the user device 210 from respective advertising signals from one or more BLE nodes of the vehicle 220.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0050 i.e. So, when a user carrying the user device 210 approaches the vehicle 220 reads on: further comprising: determining, whether the electronic device is outside, or exiting, the driver's seat of the vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted, where per ¶0050 i.e. the user device may establish a first connection 241 with the first BLE node as it is the only BLE node which is discovered reads on: and when the communication device is connected to the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle , where per ¶0051 i.e. considering that the signal strength of the first BLE node, thus, may be insufficient at the user device 210, the vehicle 220 may decide based on the UWB measurements that it is reasonable to switch the BLE node for the connection with the user device 210, i.e. the vehicle 220 transmits a disconnect request/message to the user device 210. i.e. Consequently, the user device 210 abandons the first connection and may automatically search for another BLE node to re-establish the connection with the vehicle 220 reads on: directing, by the one or more processors, the communication device to terminate the paired communication channel with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIANG in view of Oman, with the teachings of Mourad, since Mourad enables a position based control approach enabling the vehicle to change the BLE node that the user device is connected with for improving the connection between the user device and the vehicle (Mourad - ¶0032).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 7-10, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) The method of claim 6, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the trigger event comprises a door of the vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted opening”.
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) The method of claim 6, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the trigger event comprises ignition of an engine of the vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted”.
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 6, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the trigger event comprises the communication device establishing another paired communication channel with another electronic device actively in communication with the wireless personal area network associated with the vehicle”.
Regarding Claim 10. (Original) The method of claim 6, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the trigger event comprises audio signals emanating from the vehicle to which the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is mounted”.
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) The [[A]] method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the determining[[,]] occurs using and determines which of the electronic device or another electronic device[[s]] is approaching, entering, or in [[a]] the driver's seat of the vehicle; and when the another electronic device is the method further comprises directing the another electronic device to establish an active communication channel with [[a]] the wireless personal area network provided by electronic components of the vehicle”.
Regarding Claim 18. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 17, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising also directing, by the one or more processors using the communication device the another electronic device
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 17, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the vehicle-mounted companion electronic device is coupled to the vehicle at an off-center location relative to a medial delineation of the vehicle”.
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 19, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the one or more characteristics associated with the at least two ultra-wideband signals determine which of the electronic device or the another electronic device vehicle-mounted companion electronic device”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
08/29/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414