Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 23, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al (US 2015/0280763).
As per claim 1 Ko et al discloses: A head-mounted device 200, comprising: a display 232a {figure 3}; a support 231 attached to the display 232a, the support 231 comprising a charging portion including a conductor 234 configured to receive power from a wearable device 210; and a mechanical connector configured to physically attach the support 231 to the wearable device 210 {figure 3: inset}; wherein the head-mounted device 200 initiates a power transfer from the wearable device 210 in response to the mechanical connector physically attaching the support 231 to the wearable device 210 { [0087] The glass unit 230 is electrically-connected to the neck band unit 210, so as to be supplied with power from the main power supply unit mounted in the neck band unit 210}.
As per claim 2 Ko et al discloses: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein the head-mounted display 232a comprises a pair of computer glasses {figure 6}.
As per claim 4 Ko et al discloses: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein the support 231 comprises a first support arm and a second support arm, the first support arm comprising the charging portion and being in electrical communication with the second support arm {figure 3: inset}.
As per claim 5 Ko et al discloses: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein: the support 231 is a first support arm; and the charging portion is a first charging portion; the head-mounted device 200 further comprising: a second support arm attached to the display 232a, the second support arm comprising a second charging portion including a conductor 234 {Note: as shown in the inset of figure 3 conductor 234 includes two charging portions} configured to receive power from the wearable device 210 { figure 3:inset & [0087] The glass unit 230 is electrically-connected to the neck band unit 210, so as to be supplied with power from the main power supply unit mounted in the neck band unit 210}.
As per claim 7 Ko et al discloses: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein the wearable device 210 comprises a head mounted audio device 216 { [0093] However, most components of the mobile terminal 200 are installed at the neck band unit 210. For instance, the neck band unit 210 may be provided at least one of the microphone 215, the audio output module 216, an ear-jack socket (not shown), a main controller (not shown) and the wireless communication unit 110 (refer to FIG. 1).}.
As per claim 9 Ko et al discloses: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein the charging portion comprises a direct electrical contact {figure 3:inset}.
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by URBACH et al (US 2018/0217798).
As per claim 15 URBACH et al discloses: A wearable system 100, comprising: a head-mounted display 610 { [0059] In one embodiment, headband 102 can include all necessary components to render VR or AR scenes to goggle portion 110.}, comprising: a first battery; and a first connector 206 electrically coupled to the first battery; and a wearable audio device {figure 1B}, comprising: a second battery; and a second connector 206 electrically coupled to the second battery, the second connector 206 configured to magnetically connect {[0028] These power sources can include a USB output port and/or an inductive capacitive or other cordless electromagnetically coupled charging pad or device (for example a laser powered photovoltaic cell).} with the first connector 206 and to transfer power from the second battery to the first battery {figure 1B [0062] Additionally, or alternatively, puck 104 can be battery-powered and can be configured to operate independent of other components of device 100. Note the two pucks on both sides of system 100}.
As per claim 16 URBACH et al discloses: The wearable system 100 of claim 15, wherein: the head-mounted display 610 {figure 6} comprises a pair of computer glasses 110 comprising: a first support arm 102; a second support arm 102 positioned opposite the first support arm 102; and a processor 502 {figure 5 & [0119] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating a puck or headband mounted accessory according to some embodiments of the disclosure.} housed within the at least one of the first support arm 102 or the second support arm 102; and the wearable audio device comprises a pair of over-the-ear headphones comprising: a first ear cup speaker 128; a second ear cup speaker 128; and a head band 102 {Note: headband and arms are integral} comprising a first end attached to the first ear cup speaker 128 and a second end attached to the second ear cup speaker 128 {figure 4G}.
As per claim 18 URBACH et al discloses: The wearable system 100 of claim 15, wherein the head-mounted display 610 and the wearable audio device are configured to establish a compression fit connection { [0058] In some embodiments, the headband 102 can comprise multiple, adjustable portions such that a user can expand or contract the headband 102 to fit snuggly against the user's head, and can be cushioned in various locations along the head-engaging span for comfort.}.
As per claim 19 URBACH et al discloses: The wearable system 100 of claim 15, wherein the first connector 206 and the second connector 206 establish a direct electrical contact {figure 2F Note: the claims do not require the connectors to establish direct electrical with each other}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 2015/0280763) in view of Bhardwaj et al (US 9,436,009).
Regarding claim 3 Ko et al is silent as to: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, further comprising a switch to selectively initiate a power transfer from the wearable device 210 to the head-mounted device 200. With respect to claim 3 Bhardwaj et al discloses: [column 9, lines 6-11] Additionally, component housing 176 can include additional input structures, such as a button 167 (shown in FIG. 3) that can provide additional functionality for HMD 172, including implementing a lock or sleep feature or allowing a user to toggle the power for HMD 172 between on and off states.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the head-mounted device of Ko et al with a switch to selectively initiate a power transfer from the wearable device to the head-mounted device as taught by Bhardwaj et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a head-mounted device of with a switch to selectively initiate a power transfer from the wearable device to the head-mounted device so that the user can decide when to transfer power between the devices as needed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 2015/0280763). As per claim 6 Ko et al discloses: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein head-mounted device 200 and the wearable device 210 { [0088] The connector 213 and the port 236 transmit data between the neck band unit 210 and the glass unit 230. On the contrary, the charging pins 234 and the charging terminals 214 supply power from the main power supply unit to an auxiliary power supply unit (not shown). However, the structure and arrangement are not limited to the aforementioned one, which may be implemented in reverse.}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to the head-mounted device with a charging portion that exchanges data and power. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a charging portion that exchanges data and power so as to eliminate the need for two connecters, thereby reducing cost and simplifying the design.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 2015/0280763) in view of URBACH et al (US 2018/0217798).
Regarding claim 8 Ko et al is silent to: The head-mounted device 200 of claim 1, wherein the charging portion comprises an inductive charger. With respect to claim 8 URBACH et al discloses: The head-mounted device of claim 1, wherein the charging portion comprises an inductive charger. { [0028] In some embodiments, the charging port can comprise a USB port while in other embodiments the charging port can comprise an inductive or capacitive charging surface. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a charging portion of Ko et al with an inductive charger as taught by URBACH et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a charging portion with an inductive charger so as to simply and easily charging the device without the need for pluggable connector.
Claims 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over URBACH et al (US 2018/0217798) in view of Han (US 2016/0033772).
As per claim 10 URBACH et al discloses: A head-mounted audio device 100 comprising: a support band 102; a speaker housing connected to the support band 102; a battery { [0062] Additionally, or alternatively, puck 104 can be battery-powered and can be configured to operate independent of other components of device 100.}; a charging portion including a conductor 206 configured to transfer power from the battery to a head-mounted display { [0059] In one embodiment, headband 102 can include all necessary components to render VR or AR scenes to goggle portion 110.}; and head-mounted audio device 100 to the head-mounted display.
Regarding claim 10 URBACH et al is silent as to: a magnetic connector configured to magnetically secure the head-mounted audio device 100 to the head-mounted display. Regarding claim 14 URBACH et al is silent as to: The head-mounted audio device 100 of claim 10, further comprising a switch that initiates the transfer of power in response to the magnetic connector magnetically securing the head-mounted audio device 100 to the head-mounted display. With respect to claims 10 and 14 HAN discloses: a magnetic connector configured to magnetically secure the head-mounted audio device 100 to the head-mounted display { figure 15 & [0197] The HMD device 1500 may obtain identification information regarding the lens 1520. According to an embodiment of the present invention, a magnet 1540 may be arranged at a portion of the frame 1510 so that the lens 1520 may be fixed to the frame 1510.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the head-mounted audio device of URBACH et al with a magnetic connector configured to magnetically secure the head-mounted audio device to the head-mounted display as taught by HAN. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a head-mounted audio device with a magnetic connector configured to magnetically secure the head-mounted audio device to the head-mounted display so as to easily, quickly and simply remove the display from device when not needed or not in use.
As per claim 12 URBACH et al discloses: The head-mounted audio device 100 of claim 10, wherein the charging portion comprises an inductive transmitting coil. { [0028] In some embodiments, the charging port can comprise a USB port while in other embodiments the charging port can comprise an inductive or capacitive charging surface. }
As per claim 13 URBACH et al discloses: The head-mounted audio device 100 of claim 10, wherein the charging portion comprises an electrical contact 204 positioned on at least one of the support band 102 or the speaker housing {figure 2b}.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over URBACH et al (US 2018/0217798) in view of Han (US 2016/0033772) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bhardwaj et al (US 9,436,009).
Regarding claim 11 URBACH et al as modified by Han is silent as to: The head-mounted audio device of claim 10, further comprising a switch to selectively transfer power from the battery to the head-mounted display. With respect to claim 10 Bhardwaj et al discloses: [column 9, lines 6-11] Additionally, component housing 176 can include additional input structures, such as a button 167 (shown in FIG. 3) that can provide additional functionality for HMD 172, including implementing a lock or sleep feature or allowing a user to toggle the power for HMD 172 between on and off states.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the head-mounted audio device of URBACH et al as modified by Han with a switch to selectively transfer power from the battery to the head-mounted display as taught by Bhardwaj et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a head-mounted audio device with a switch to selectively transfer power from the battery to the head-mounted display so that the user can decide when to transfer power between the devices as needed.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over URBACH et al (US 2018/0217798) in view of Hays et al (US 2015/0256017).
Regarding claim 17 URBACH et al is silent as to: The wearable system 100 of claim 15, further comprising a switch that initiates the transfer of power from the second battery to the first battery in response to the connection of the second connector 206 to the first connector 206. Regarding 20 URBACH et al is silent as to: The wearable system 100 of claim 15, wherein the second connector 206 comprises a transmitting inductive coil configured to wirelessly connect with a receiving inductive coil of the first connector 206.
With respect to claims 17 and 20 Hays et al discloses: a switch 114,115 that initiates the transfer of power from the second battery 118 to the first battery 117 in response to the connection of the second connector 121 to the first connector 120 and the second connector 121 comprises a transmitting inductive coil configured to wirelessly connect with a receiving inductive coil of the first connector 120. { [0016] In one embodiment, the power manager 114, 115 is formed of electronics, which may be a microprocessor running a computer program stored on a memory device. The power manager 114, 115 is powered by a battery 117, 118 respectively. An energy transfer mechanism 120, 121 is coupled to the battery 117, 118 and may be controlled by power manager 114, 115, and may implement many different types of energy transfer constructs, such as a wired connection--USB cable, for example, or wireless power transfer such as Qi or PMA (Power Matters Alliance) inductive charging, or A4WP Electromagnetic Charging.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the system of URBACH et al with a switch that initiates the transfer of power from the second battery to the first battery in response to the connection of the second connector to the first connector and the second connector comprises a transmitting inductive coil configured to wirelessly connect with a receiving inductive coil of the first connector as taught by Hays et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a system with a switch that initiates the transfer of power from the second battery to the first battery in response to the connection of the second connector to the first connector and the second connector comprises a transmitting inductive coil configured to wirelessly connect with a receiving inductive coil of the first connector so as to move power as needed between two power sources.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD