DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments filed on April 07, 2026.
Amendments filed on April 07, 2026 have been acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1, 9-10, 12-15 and 20 have been amended. Claims 6 and 16 were previously canceled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Remarks, filed April 07, 2026, has been fully considered and entered.
Accordingly, Claims 1, 9-10, 12-15 and 20 have been amended. Claim 6 and 16 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 10 and 15 are independent claim. Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are pending in this application. In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objection of claims 1-14, because of informalities, have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-14, filed April 07, 2026, with respect to the
rejection of claims 1, 10 and 15 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicant argues on the Applicant Arguments and Remarks on pages 12-14: ”the combination of references fails to teach or suggest features to "receive input data" including "an indication that the non-transacting remote device is not configured to perform the data transaction" and "a request to complete the data transaction with the service provider, on behalf of the non-transacting remote device, using the digital image", as recited in amended claim 1.”
Response to Argument 1: Examiner respectfully disagree. Makhdumi still teaches the argued-amended claim amendment. As indicated in the prior Office Action, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the limitation “detect that the computing device/remote client device is unable to participate in the data transaction with the service provider” is just a determination made by a user that it won’t complete the transaction by himself/herself. The same BRI applies equally to slightly reworded amendment “not configured to perform”, both phrasings describe the same operational state of the sending device with respect to the particular transaction at issue.
Makhdumi paragraphs [0036-0037 and Fig. 1B describes that a user 131a captures a snapshot 132 of merchant QR pay code 134 generated at the POS terminal 133. Rather than completing the merchant’s payment transaction directly, user 131a generates a “split-tender” reimbursement QR code 135 and forwards it to users 131b-c, who then make direct payments to merchant via the split tender QR code. As explicitly stated in paragraph [0037] “when the user 131a took a snapshot of the merchant’s QR code, no payments processing occurred immediately.” Thus, each split-tender data transaction performed by users 131b-c, the user 131a device is a non-transacting remote device, and the act of forwarding the split-tender QR code (instead of completing the payment directly to the merchant) to those users is an indication that the user 131a’s device will not perform [i.e. is not configured to perform] the data transaction.
With respect to the limitation "a request to complete the data transaction with the service provider, on behalf of the non-transacting remote device, using the digital image", this is precisely what Makhdumi’s [0036-0037] and Fig. 1B teaches: where users 131b-c receive the split-tender QR code (a digital image) from user 131a and use that digital image to pay the merchant (the service provider) on behalf of user 131a (the non-transacting remote device).
O’Regan at paragraphs [0010-0013, 0044, 0046, 0093-0095] further teaches that an electronic file (e.g. a digital image including a QR code) can be transmitted from a sending device to a receiving entity, where the receiving entity uses modified metadata of that image (including transaction information and location) to process the transaction. Therefore, the combination of Makhdumi and O’Regan teaches the argued-amended claim limitation.
Therefore, the Examiner has determined that this argument is not persuasive.
Argument 2: Applicant argues on the Applicant Arguments and Remarks on pages 14-15: that the cited references fail to teach the amended limitation that association indicates “a transaction location of the data transaction is the location of the non-transacting remote device and is different from a location of the computing device."
Response to Argument 2: Examiner has fully considered Applicant arguments, but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Examiner has incorporated Akin (US 20140279096 A1), which explicitly teaches storing and processing a payment transaction in which a geotagged location of the image-capturing device at the POS embedded in the image is compared against a separate GPS information of the location of the transmitting device. See rejection below.
Therefore, the Examiner has determined that this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makhdumi (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20150248664 A1 - hereinafter Reference1), in view of O’Regan (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20160350742 A1 - hereinafter Reference2), in view of Akin (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20140279096 A1 - hereinafter Reference3).
Regarding claim 1, Reference1 teaches computing device, comprising: a content control module implemented at least partially in hardware and configured to: receive input data from a non-transacting remote device at a location associated with a data transaction with a service provider, (See Reference1 [0036-0037], Fig. 1B “one of the users 131 a may obtain a snapshot, e.g., 132, of a QR pay code, e.g., 134, generated at a POS terminal (or, e.g., presented on paper such as a dining bill) [Thus, at a location associated with a data transaction with a service provider], e.g., 133. The user may in turn generate a QR split pay code, embodying information on the amounts that the tender has been split into. The user 131a may present the split tender QR code 135 to the other users 131 b-c [Thus, receive input data that includes a digital image], who may obtain snapshots of the split tender QR code, e.g., 136… the users 131 b-c may be making direct payments via the split tender QR code to the merchant (e.g., when the user 131 [e.g. a non-transacting remote computing device] a took a snapshot of the merchant's [e.g. service provider’s] QR code, no payment processing occurred immediately) [Thus, when the user 131a took a snapshot of the merchant’s QR code, the user 131a was at the merchant location associated with a data transaction with a service provider/merchant]… Via the separate communication sessions that POS terminal may transmit the product and/or merchant data required by the users' devices to generate individual purchase transaction processing requests.” Thus, in the group mobile payment, the user 131a device captures an image of the QR code generated by the POS terminal using the user 131a device (e.g. non-transacting remote device) and presents the QR code (e.g. 136) to the users 131 b-c (thus, using computing devices) for them to make direct payments to the merchant/service provider. Thus, the user 131a device is a non-transacting device (e.g. remote device) that does not participate in the data/payment transaction.
Examiner notes that based on the Specification paragraphs [0012, 0020] “Techniques for managing data transaction location information are described and are implementable to associate accurate and informative location information with data transactions, e.g., payment transactions… a payment transaction represents a data transaction”, term “data transaction” is interpreted as payment transaction.)
the input data including: an indication that the non-transacting remote device is not configured to perform the data transaction; (See Reference1 [0036-0037 and Fig. 1B “one of the users 131 a [e.g. non-transacting remote computing device] may obtain a snapshot, e.g., 132, of a QR pay code, e.g., 134, generated at a POS terminal (or, e.g., presented on paper such as a dining bill), e.g., 133. The user may in turn generate a QR split pay code, embodying information on the amounts that the tender has been split into. The user 131a may present the split tender QR code 135 to the other users 131 b-c, who may obtain snapshots of the split tender QR code, e.g., 136… the users 131 b-c may be making direct payments via the split tender QR code to the merchant (e.g., when the user 131 a took a snapshot of the merchant's QR code, no payment processing occurred immediately) [Thus, the non-transacting remote device is not configured to perform the data transaction]… Via the separate communication sessions that POS terminal may transmit the product and/or merchant data required by the users' devices to generate individual purchase transaction processing requests.” Thus, when each split-tender data transaction performed by users 131b-c, the user 131a device is a non-transacting remote device, and the act of forwarding the split-tender QR code (instead of completing the payment directly to the merchant) to those users is an indication that the user 131a’s device will not perform [i.e. is not configured to perform/unable to participate] the data transaction. See also Reference1 [0066] “the QR code and messages sent to/from the QR-code capturing device may include the source ID (e.g., identifier of the device generating the QR code) [e.g. user 131a], session ID, merchant ID, item ID (e.g., model number), the charge amount, and/or transacting device ID (e.g., the user's smartphone device) [e.g. users 131b-c].”
Examiner notes that as indicated in the prior Office Action (page 19), the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the limitation “detect that the computing device/remote client device is unable to participate in the data transaction with the service provider” is just a determination made by a user that it won’t complete the transaction by himself/herself. The same BRI applies equally to slightly reworded amendment “not configured to perform”, both phrasings describe the same operational state of the sending device with respect to the particular transaction at issue.)
a digital image captured by the non-transacting remote device at the location associated with the data transaction that includes a code for performing the data transaction; and (See Reference1 [0036, 0050] “one of the users 131 a [e.g. non-transacting remote device] may obtain a snapshot [e.g. a digital image captured by the non-transacting remote device], e.g., 132, of a QR pay code [e.g. includes a code for performing the data transaction], e.g., 134, generated at a POS terminal (or, e.g., presented on paper such as a dining bill) [Thus, at the location associated with the data transaction]… The user 131a may present the split tender QR code 135 to the other users 131 b-c, who may obtain snapshots of the split tender QR code, e.g., 136… the users 131 b-c may be making direct payments via the split tender QR code to the merchant… capturing the QR code via the mobile device's camera”)
a request to complete the data transaction with the service provider, on behalf of the non-transacting remote device, using the digital image; (See Reference1 [0036-0037] “The user 131a may present the split tender QR code 135 to the other users 131 b-c [Thus, receive input data that includes a digital image], who may obtain snapshots of the split tender QR code, e.g., 136… the users 131 b-c may be making direct payments via the split tender QR code to the merchant” Thus, the act of presenting the split-tender QR code from user 131a to the users 131b-c for making direct payments via the split tender QR code to the merchant, constitutes a request to complete/participate in the data transaction with the merchant (service provider) on behalf of the user 131a (the non-transacting remote device), using the digital image.”)
identify a location of the non-transacting remote device by extracting the location from metadata of the digital image; (See Reference1 Abstract “Payment information and VAS data can also be provided based on location. A request for payment information can be received [e.g. detected]. A location can be determined, and a merchant associated with the location can also be determined [Thus, identified]. Payment information and/or VAS data can be selected based on the merchant and/or location, and can be provided for a payment transaction.” See also Reference1 [0007] “a snap payment computer-implemented system and method can include determining, by the mobile device, a location of a consumer” See also Reference1 [0119-0120] “FIGS. 11A-F show user interface diagrams illustrating example features of virtual wallet applications in a snap mode… A user may use his or her mobile phone to take a picture [e.g. digital image/input data obtained by the non-transacting remote computing device] of a QR code… the virtual wallet application may optionally apply [e.g. embed] a Global Positioning System tag [i.e. location within metadata] (see 1118) to the QR code before storing it, or utilizing it in a transaction” See also Reference1 [0188-0191] “mobile devices 1510 [e.g. non-transacting remote device/remote client device, user device] may include any device capable of accessing the Internet, such as a personal computer, portable computers, cellular phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), tablet PCs… the geolocation module 1514 may determine a set of coordinates or an address associated with the position of the mobile device 1510 [Thus, identify a location of the non-transacting remote device/remote client device, user device]… the geolocation module 1514 may be able to determine if the consumer and mobile device 1510 [e.g. the location of the remote client device associated with the service provider and is different from a location of the user device] are within or near a merchant 1520 location [Thus, identify a location of the non-transacting remote device]. For example, the geolocation module 1514 may store information about one or more merchant 1520 locations, such as one or more sets of coordinates or addresses associated with one or more merchant 1520 locations. The geolocation module 1514 may determine the position of the mobile device 1510, and then compare the position of the mobile device 1510 with the information about one or more merchant 1520 locations.” See also Reference1 [0103] “With reference to FIG. 8G, in another embodiment, the local proximity option 819 may include a store map and a real time map features among others [e.g. during execution of the data transaction]. For example, upon selecting the Walgreens store the user may launch an aisle map 819 l which displays a map 819 m showing the organization of the store and the position of the user… the user [e.g. remote device] may easily configure the map to add one or more other users (e.g., user's kids) to share each other's location [e.g. different location of the user device] within the store.
Thus, by determining a GPS tag/coordinates before storing the captured image of the QR code (e.g. by the non-transacting remote device)], it is identifying a location of the non-transacting remote device.)
However, Reference2 teaches extracting the location from metadata of the digital image in more details. (See Reference2 [0038-0039] “A method and system are described in which transaction information… are transferred in an electronic file [i.e. digital image]… Electronic files may include… image files” See also Reference2 [0044-0046] “the image may capture information relating to the transaction. Examples may include: a code such as a barcode or QR code relating to the product or merchant [Thus, a request to complete a data transaction with a service provider]… a location at which they are being purchased” See also Reference [0057] “The electronic file may be… a file received from another entity” See also Reference2 [0010-0013] "the method performed on a computing device [e.g. non-transacting remote device] and including the steps of: accessing transaction information to be transmitted; selecting an electronic file; editing metadata stored in the electronic file to insert the transaction information into one or more fields of the metadata to provide modified metadata [e.g. location of the remote device] of the electronic file; and transmitting the electronic file [e.g. digital image] with the modified metadata to a receiving entity [e.g. computing device] for processing of the transaction information [Thus, receive input data from a non-transacting remote device that includes a digital image with a request to complete a data transaction]... One or more existing fields of the metadata stored in the electronic file may also be kept in the modified metadata and used in the transaction. The one or more existing fields of the metadata include one or more of: time and date information, and location information [e.g. identify a location of the device, current location within metadata of the digital image]… selecting an electronic file includes capturing as an image file an image relating to a product or a party to the transaction in respect of which a user wishes to make a financial transaction. The image may be an image of… a quick response (QR) code” See also Reference2 [0103] “It should be noted that the computing device (110) may also be a receiving entity (160) and the receiving entity (160) may also include the functionality for transmitting transaction information as described in the computing device (110).” See also Reference2 [0022, 0054] “receiving transaction information at a receiving entity comprising: a communication component for receiving an electronic file with modified metadata [e.g. a location of the non-transacting remote device]; an extracting component for extracting transaction information from one or more fields of the modified metadata stored in the electronic file [Thus, extracting the location from metadata of the digital image]; and a transaction processing component for using the transaction information to process a transaction… The receiving entity (160) may be a remote server” See also Reference2 [0064, 0093-0095] “In a first step (501), the user uses the camera [e.g. image capture device] of his or her feature phone to capture, as a JPEG image file (465), an image of the QR code (470). Metadata (480) [e.g. a location of the device] associated with the image file (465)… is automatically created by the mobile device at the time of capturing the image… some of the existing metadata of the electronic file may be kept such as GPS coordinates showing the current location, a time and a date of the electronic file…the existing metadata of the image may provide further verification of the current location and that the user was at the location at the time of capture of the image. [Thus, identify a location of the non-transacting remote device by extracting the location from metadata of the digital image]”)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reference1 to incorporate the teachings of Reference2 to extracting metadata stored in the image files for processing of transaction information.
One would be motivated to do so to effectively obtain and provide potentially required transaction information to payment systems (Reference2 0042).
Reference1 further in view of Reference2, [hereinafter Reference1-Reference2] additionally disclose generate, responsive to completion of the data transaction by the computing device with the service provider using the digital image, an association between the location of the of the non-transacting remote device and the data transaction that indicates that a transaction location of the data transaction is the location of the non-transacting remote device and is different from a location of the computing device; and (See Reference1 [0032-0033] “Upon completion of the purchase transaction, the payment network may provide a purchase receipt directly to the user mobile device, [and] the POS terminal in the store… as confirmation of completion of transaction [e.g. split-tender transaction] processing.” See also [0087-0089] “the pay network server may generate a transaction data record… from the authorization request and/or authorization response, and store… the details of the transaction [Thus, responsive to completion of the data transaction by the computing device with the service provider using the digital image]” See also Makhdumi [0190-0191] disclosing that the geolocation module 1514 may “determine if the consumer and mobile device 1510 are within or near a merchant 1520 location” by storing merchant locations and comparing the position of the mobile device 1510 to those merchant locations.
Thus, the location (which can differ from the location of the computing device that completes the transaction) of the consumer/mobile device (the non-transacting remote device) and the merchant location are determined.
See also Reference1 [0102-0103, 0119-0120] further disclose the use embedding GPS tags within the QR code metadata before “storing it, or utilizing it in a transaction”, which captures the location at the moment of QR code capture (i.e. location of the non-transacting remote device at the merchant) and based on the geolocation module the location of the mobile device and the location of the merchant is compared. Thus, the comparison represent the association between the location of the of the non-transacting remote device and the data transaction that indicates that a transaction location of the data transaction is the location of the non-transacting remote device.
Thus, when user 131a forwards the split-tender QR code to users 131b-c (who may be at different locations), the location captured at QR code capture time (the merchant and user 131a non-transacting device location) is necessarily different from the location of the receiving computing devices 131b-c that complete the data transaction.
Reference1-Reference2 lacks details regarding the location of the non-transacting remote device and the data transaction being different from a location of the computing device.
However, Reference3 teaches generate an association between the location of the non-transacting remote device and the data transaction that indicates that a transaction location of the data transaction is the location of the non-transacting remote device and is different from a location of the computing device; (See Reference3 [0020, 0024] “the image is geotagged [Thus, generating an association] at the time of capture by the merchant or buyer device. Geotagging is a process of adding geographical identification metadata representing a particular position or location to various media such as… QR Codes… the GPS data geotagged into the image presents the location of the point of sale (POS), or equivalently, the location of the payment instrument at the time it is being captured [e.g. location of the non-transacting remote device and the data transaction that indicates that a transaction location of the data transaction is the location]… The transaction information includes a geotagged image of a payment instrument of a customer/buyer proffered as a payment for purchasing the merchant's product(s) or service(s). The transaction information further includes a second, separate GPS information of the location of the user device [e.g. different location of the computing device] at the time of transmitting the transaction information.” See also Reference3 [0030-0033, 0048] “the payment provider assesses the validity of the purchase transaction via a match between the GPS information included in the geotagged image and the second GPS information… Therefore, at step 206, the payment provider can assess the validity of the purchase transaction by comparing the two pieces of GPS information, one, embedded in a geotagged image telling the location of a payment instrument at the time of capture and geotagging, and the other, telling the location of the transmitting device at the time of transmission… The payment provider server 370 may… process the payment request from the user device 310 upon the verification of the claimed purchase transaction via the purchase transaction verification application 395 and store the transaction in a payment database 377.” Thus, Reference3 explicitly teaches that the geotagged image location (e.g. the transaction location = location of the capturing device/non-transacting device) is different from the location of the transmitting/computing device, and by further assessing, verifying and storing the GPS information included in the geotagged image and the second GPS information, it is generating an association.)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the location-pair processing and transaction record storage teachings of Reference3 with the SNAP mobile-payment system of Reference1 and EXIF-metadata extraction teachings of Reference2. Reference1 produces two distinct location values, the capture/POS location embedded in the QR code via GSP tag [Reference1 0119-0120], and the transacting device’s location obtained by the geolocation module [Reference1 0190-0191]. Reference3 teaches that the transaction information includes geotagged image of payment instrument and further includes a second, separate GPS information of the location of the user device at the time of transmitting the transaction information, and further storing the transaction in a transaction database.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would have found it obvious to substitute or supplement Reference1’s transaction data record with Reference3’s two-location storage technique, as both represent known and interchangeable techniques for using location metadata data, yielding predictable results and improving system flexibility.
Reference1-Reference2 further in view of Reference3, [hereinafter Reference1-Reference2-Reference3] additionally disclose store the association between the location and the data transaction in record of the data transaction at a storage device. (See Reference1 [0120] “the user may initiate code capture using the mobile device camera (see 1120)… the virtual wallet application may optionally apply a Global Positioning System tag [i.e. metadata] (see 1118) to the QR code before storing it, or utilizing it in a transaction” See also Reference1 [0032] “Upon completion of the purchase transaction, the payment network may provide a purchase receipt directly to the user mobile device, the POS terminal in the store and/or the secure display… as confirmation of completion [e.g. in response to receiving an indication of a transaction status based on the computing devices participating in the data transaction using the digital image at a location that is different from the location associated with the service provider] of transaction processing.” See also Reference1 [0087-0089] “the pay network server may generate a transaction data record, e.g., 523, from the authorization request and/or authorization response, and store, e.g., 524, the details of the transaction [e.g. location of the remote device] and authorization relating to the transaction in a transactions database [Thus, stored at a storage device]… The pay network server may parse the batch payment request, and extract the transaction data for each transaction… The pay network server may store the transaction data, e.g., 543-544, [e.g. transaction record] for each transaction in a database, e.g., pay network database. For each extracted transaction, the pay network server may query, e.g., 545-546, a database, e.g., pay network database, for an address of an issuer server. [Thus, store the association between the location and the data transaction in record of the data transaction at a storage device]”)
Reference3 also teaches storing transaction records in a transactions database including details of the transaction. (See Reference3 [0048] “The payment provider server 370 may… process the payment request from the user device 310 upon the verification of the claimed purchase transaction via the purchase transaction verification application 395 and store the transaction in a payment database 377.”)
Regarding claim 2, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the input data includes a text message and the digital image depicts a transaction link to initiate the data transaction. (See Reference 1 [0029] “the user device may utilize methods alternative to capture of a QR code [e.g. digital image depicts a transaction link to initiate the data transaction] to obtain information from the POS terminal. For example, the POS terminal may communicate the information required for submitting a purchase transaction request to a payment network to user device via Bluetooth™, Wi-Fi, SMS, text message, electronic mail, and/or other communication methods.” See also Reference1 [0133] “the SNAP may send electronic mail message, text (SMS) messages”
Examiner notes that based on the Specification paragraph [0044] “the input data 210 includes a digital image of a transaction link such as a QR code”, the transaction link can be a QR code.)
Reference2 also teaches wherein the input data includes a text message and the digital image depicts a transaction link to initiate the data transaction. (See Reference2 [0066] “the image file [i.e. digital image depicts a transaction link] with the modified metadata (490) is transmitted to the payment authorization server (450) [Thus, to initiate the data transaction] over a normal mobile communication network by means of a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message [i.e. text message]”)
Regarding claim 3, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the content control module is further configured to display a map in a user interface of the computing device that depicts the transaction location as the location of the non-transacting remote device. (See Reference1 [0096-0103] “FIGS. 8A-G show user interface diagrams illustrating example features of virtual wallet applications in a shopping mode, in some embodiments of the SNAP… the mobile application may further identify when the user in a store based on the user's location… With reference to FIG. 8G, in another embodiment, the local proximity option 819 may include a store map and a real time map features among others. For example, upon selecting the Walgreens store [e.g. transaction location as the location of the non-transacting remote device], the user may launch an aisle map 819 l which displays a map 819 m showing the organization of the store and the position of the user (indicated by a yellow circle)… the user may manipulate the orientation of the map using the navigation tool 819 [Thus, display a map in a user interface of the computing device that depicts the location associated with the data transaction]”)
Regarding claim 4, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the content control module is further configured to generate one or more data transaction insights for display in a user interface of the computing device based in part on the association. (See Reference1 [0115-0117] “FIG. 10 shows a user interface diagram illustrating example features of virtual wallet applications, in a history mode, in some embodiments of the SNAP. In one embodiment, a user may select the history mode 1010 to view a history of prior purchases and perform various actions on those prior purchases [Thus, based in part on the association]… The wallet application may query the storage areas in the mobile device or elsewhere (e.g., one or more databases and/or tables remote from the mobile device) for transactions matching the search keywords. The user interface may then display the results of the query such as transaction 1015. The user interface may also identify the date 1012 of the transaction, the merchants and items 1013 relating to the transaction… The history mode, in another embodiment, may offer facilities for obtaining and displaying [Thus, in a user interface of the computing device based in part on the association] ratings 1019 of the items in the transaction [e.g. data transaction insights]. The source of the ratings may be the user, the user's friends (e.g., from social channels, contacts, etc.), reviews aggregated from the web, and/or the like.”)
Regarding claim 7, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein identification of the location includes extraction of the location from exchangeable image file format ("EXIF") metadata of the digital image. (See Reference2 [0041] “An example of such a metadata image file format is exchangeable image file (Exif) format, which forms part of a Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG) image file. Metadata files are typically automatically created by cameras and may include, but are not limited to, information such as: the date, time and global positioning system (GPS) coordinates at which the picture was taken [Thus location from EXIF metadata of the digital image]” See also Reference2 [0077] “The GPS coordinates are extracted directly from the metadata in a standard field.”)
Regarding claim 8, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein identification of the location includes validation of the location against an address of a party to the data transaction. (See Reference1 [0191] “the geolocation module 1514 may be able to determine if the consumer and mobile device 1510 are within or near a merchant 1520 location. For example, the geolocation module 1514 may store information about one or more merchant 1520 locations, such as one or more sets of coordinates or addresses associated with one or more merchant 1520 locations. The geolocation module 1514 may determine the position of the mobile device 1510 [e.g. location], and then compare [Thus, validate] the position of the mobile device 1510 with the information about one or more merchant 1520 locations [e.g. against an address associated with a party to the data transaction].”)
Regarding claim 9, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the association differentiates between the transaction location and the location of the computing device during completion of the data transaction. (See Reference3 [0020, 0024, 0030] “the GPS data geotagged into the image presents the location of the point of sale (POS), or equivalently, the location of the payment instrument at the time it is being captured [e.g. transaction location]… The transaction information further includes a second, separate GPS information of the location of the user device at the time of transmitting the transaction information [e.g. location of the computing device during completion of the data transaction]… the payment provider assesses the validity of the purchase transaction via a match between the GPS information included in the geotagged image and the second GPS information received at step 202.)
Regarding claim 10, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all of the elements of claim 1. The supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 10.
Reference1-Reference2 additionally disclose detect that the computing device is unable to participate in the data transaction with the service provider; (See Reference1 [0036], fig. 1b “one of the users 131 a may obtain a snapshot [e.g. digital image captured by a computing device unable to participate in the data transaction], e.g., 132, of a QR pay code, e.g., 134, generated at a POS terminal (or, e.g., presented on paper such as a dining bill) [Thus, a digital image captured by the non-transacting remote device at a location associated with the service provider], e.g., 133. The user may in turn generate a QR split pay code, embodying information on the amounts that the tender has been split into. The user 131a may present the split tender QR code 135 to the other users 131 b-c [Thus, communicate the digital image associated with the current location to an additional computing device that is identified to participate in the data transaction], who may obtain snapshots of the split tender QR code, e.g., 136… the users 131 b-c may be making direct payments via the split tender QR code to the merchant (e.g., when the user 131 a took a snapshot of the merchant's QR code, no payment processing occurred immediately).”
Examiner notes that based on the Specification paragraphs [0013-0014] “For instance, Meera is an adolescent and does not have a personal payment account associated with the P2P payment system and thus is personally unable to complete the transaction. Accordingly, Meera utilizes the first client device to capture a digital image that includes a request to complete the payment transaction, e.g., a digital image of a QR code, to send to a second client device associated with her father, Ajay. The second client device receives the digital image of the QR code and completes the transaction via engagement with the QR code.”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “detect that the computing device/remote client device is unable to participate in the data transaction with the service provider” is just a determination made by a user that it won’t complete the transaction by himself/herself.
Thus, in Reference1, by obtaining a snapshot of a QR code generated at a POS terminal in order to split the bill with other users by generating a QR split code, the user has determined/detected that it is unable to participate in the data transaction with the service provider corresponding to the QR code.)
associate, responsive to detection that the digital image includes the request to complete the data transaction and that the computing device is unable to participate in the data transaction, a current location of the computing device with the digital image; (See Reference1 [0119-0120] “FIGS. 11A-F show user interface diagrams illustrating example features of virtual wallet applications in a snap mode, in some embodiments of the SNAP… A user [e.g. unable to participate in the data transaction] may use his or her mobile phone [e.g. computing device] to take a picture [e.g. digital image] of a QR code [e.g. digital image]… the virtual wallet application may optionally apply a Global Positioning System tag [e.g. current location] (see 1118) to the QR code [Thus, a current location of the computing device with the digital image] before storing it, or utilizing it in a transaction” Thus, associate, responsive to detection that the digital image includes the request to complete the data transaction and that the computing device is unable to participate in the data transaction, a current location of the computing device with the digital image.)
Regarding claim 11, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all of the elements of claim 1. The supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all of the elements of claim 1. The supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 10, wherein the content control module is further configured to receive an indication that the data transaction has been completed by the additional computing device; and generate a transaction receipt that includes an association between the location associated with the service provider and the data transaction. (See Reference1 [0033, 0088] “Upon completion of the transaction, the payment network may provide transaction notification receipts to the users who are parties to the transaction… the merchant server may also generate a purchase receipt [Thus, generate a transaction receipt], e.g., 532, and provide the purchase receipt to the client. [Thus, to receive an indication that the data transaction has been completed by the additional computing device]” See Reference1 Fig. 11C Disclosing a generated receipt example of a completed transaction which includes an address 1136 [e.g. the location associated with the service provider] and the details of the transaction.
Thus, a transaction receipt that includes an association between the location associated with the service provider 1136 and the data transaction.)
Regarding claim 14, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 10, wherein the content control module is configured to validate the location associated with the service provider against an address associated with a party to the data transaction. (See Reference1 [0190-0191] “the geolocation module 1514 may determine a set of coordinates or an address [e.g. address associated with a party to the data transaction] associated with the position of the mobile device 1510 [e.g. users 131b-c]… the geolocation module 1514 may be able to determine if the consumer and mobile device 1510 are within or near [Thus, validate] a merchant 1520 location [e.g. the service provider against an address associated with a party to the data transaction]. For example, the geolocation module 1514 may store information about one or more merchant 1520 locations, such as one or more sets of coordinates or addresses associated with one or more merchant 1520 locations.”)
Regarding claim 15, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all of the elements of claim 10. The supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 10 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 15, wherein the input data includes a text message and detecting the request includes detecting one or more key words or phrases from the text message that indicate the request to initiate the data transaction. (See Reference1 [0039, 0066] “the SNAP may facilitate P2P transactions via pre-filled, modifiable QR payment codes, e.g., 150… the QR code and messages [e.g. from the text message] sent to/from the QR-code capturing device may include the source ID (e.g., identifier of the device generating the QR code), session ID, merchant ID, item ID (e.g., model number), the charge amount, and/or transacting device ID (e.g., the user's smartphone device). [e.g. one or more key words that indicate the request to initiate the data transaction]” See also Reference1 [0029] “the user device may utilize methods alternative to capture of a QR code to obtain information from the POS terminal. For example, the POS terminal may communicate the information required for submitting a purchase transaction request to a payment network to user device… text message, electronic mail, and/or other communication methods.”)
Regarding claim 18, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all of the elements of claims 1 and 3. The supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1 and 3 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all of the elements of claim 4. The supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 4 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 19, wherein the one or more data transaction insights are generated based in part on the association, the location of the remote client device, and a location of the user device during execution of the data transaction. (See Reference1 Abstract “Payment information and VAS data can also be provided based on location. A request for payment information can be received. A location can be determined, and a merchant associated with the location can also be determined [e.g. location of the computing device]. Payment information and/or VAS data can be selected based on the merchant and/or location, and can be provided for a payment transaction [Thus, during execution of the data transaction].” See also Reference1 [0115-0117] “FIG. 10 shows a user interface diagram illustrating example features of virtual wallet applications, in a history mode, in some embodiments of the SNAP. In one embodiment, a user may select the history mode 1010 to view a history of prior purchases [Thus, based in part on the association ] and perform various actions on those prior purchases… The wallet application may query the storage areas in the mobile device or elsewhere (e.g., one or more databases and/or tables remote from the mobile device) for transactions matching the search keywords. The user interface may then display the results of the query such as transaction 1015. The user interface may also identify the date 1012 of the transaction, the merchants [e.g. a merchant associated with the location] and items 1013 relating to the transaction [Thus, based in part on the association, the location of the remote device, and a location of the computing device during execution of the data transaction]… The history mode, in another embodiment, may offer facilities for obtaining and displaying ratings 1019 of the items in the transaction [e.g. data transaction insights]. The source of the ratings may be the user, the user's friends (e.g., from social channels, contacts, etc.), reviews aggregated from the web, and/or the like.”)
Regarding claim 21, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the content control module is further configured to generate a data transaction insight for presentation by the computing device based on the association that visually represents a relationship between the location of the non-transacting remote device and a location of the computing device during execution of the data transaction. (See Reference1 [0102-0103] “the mobile application may further identify when the user in a store based on the user's location. For example, position icon 819 d may be displayed next to a store (e.g., Walgreens) when the user is in close proximity to the store [Thus, visually represents a relationship between the location of the non-transacting remote device and a location of the computing device]. In one implementation, the mobile application may refresh its location periodically in case the user moved away from the store (e.g., Walgreens). In a further implementation, the user may navigate the offerings of the selected Walgreens store through the mobile application… With reference to FIG. 8G, in another embodiment, the local proximity option 819 may include a store map and a real time map features among others [e.g. during execution of the data transaction]. For example, upon selecting the Walgreens store the user may launch an aisle map 819 l which displays a map 819 m showing the organization of the store and the position of the user (indicated by a yellow circle) [Thus, generate a data transaction insight].”)
Regarding claim 22, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the digital image is generated based on text instructions to complete the data transaction. (See Reference1 [0056-0058] “the merchant server may generate a QR code embodying the product information, as well as merchant information required by a payment network to process the purchase transaction. In some implementations, the QR code may include at least information required [e.g. text instructions] by the user device capturing the QR code to generate a purchase transaction processing request, such as a merchant identifier (e.g., a merchant ID number, merchant name, store ID, etc.) [Thus, the digital image is generated based on text instructions to complete the data transaction]”)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference1-Reference2, in view of McGuire (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20210383440 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Reference1-Reference2 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 4.
Reference1-Reference2 does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more data transaction insights include one or more of a data transaction resource usage summary, or a data transaction location heatmap.
However, McGuire teaches generate data transaction insights that include a data transaction location heatmap. (See McGuire [0094] “venue management system 102 may communicate the message to user device 106 of the user based on the user conducting the payment transaction during the event, where the message include transaction data associated with the payment transaction.” See also McGuire claim 8 “receive a user request from the mobile device of the user, wherein the user request includes data associated with goods or services provided by a merchant attending the event… generate at least one message based on the current user location and the biometric data associated with the biometric of the user, the at least one message comprising… communicate heat map data associated with a heat map of a queue of a location of the merchant in the venue of the event to the mobile device of the user to cause the mobile device to display the heat map [Thus, generate data transaction insights that include a data transaction location heatmap]”)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reference1- Reference2 to incorporate the teachings of McGuire of providing a heat map of a queue of a location of a merchant to a requesting user.
One would be motivated to do so to effectively provide an instant overview of key information for the user, enabling the user to make data-driven decisions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSCAR WEHOVZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161