DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 17-20 are canceled. Claims 21-24 are new. Claims 1-16, 21-24, after amendment, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/6/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 13-18, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0290008 A1, Mammou et al. (hereinafter Mammou) in view of US 2005/0271283 Al, Dekel et al. (hereinafter Dekel).
As to claim 1, Mammou discloses an apparatus for mesh decoding, the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
receive a bitstream that includes displacement information and base mesh information of a mesh in a current mesh frame (Figs 4-5, 18-19, compressed bitstream with base mesh (m(i) and displacements (d(i) information; pars 0003-0004, 0006);
determine a plurality of wavelet coefficients packed in a plurality of two- dimensional (2D) blocks of a 2D image based on the displacement information (Figs 10, 15; pars 0004, 0025, obtaining packed quantized wavelet coefficients with updated displacements information into 2D image);
unpack the plurality of wavelet coefficients from the plurality of 2D blocks based on levels of detail of the plurality of wavelet coefficients (Figs 10, 17-19; pars 0004, 0007, 0076, 0106, 0124-0127, unpacking wavelet coefficients supporting three scalability with various levels of detail); and
determine a plurality of displacements of the mesh in the current mesh frame based on the unpacked plurality of wavelet coefficients (Figs 17-19, displacements being reconstructed based on unpacked wavelet coefficients; pars 0004, 0006-0007), the plurality of displacements being associated with a base mesh and the mesh in the current mesh frame (Figs 18-19, intra-frame operations), the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the mesh (Figs 20, 24; pars 0004, 0056, 0076); and
reconstructing the mesh based on the plurality of displacements and the base mesh information (Figs 10, 17-19; pars 0004, 0006).
Mammou does not expressly disclose a first 2D block of the plurality of 2D blocks containing a first subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from a first level of detail and a second 2D block of the plurality of 2D blocks containing a second subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from a second level of detail.
Dekel, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches a first 2D block of the plurality of 2D blocks containing a first subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from a first level of detail and a second 2D block of the plurality of 2D blocks containing a second subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from a second level of detail (Figs 21, 26, a multiresolution structure with different wavelet coefficient representing different resolution (e.g. level of details) of 2D wavelet transformation; pars 0038, 0061, 0078, 0145-0146, 0151, 0157, 0352).
Therefore, consider Mammou and Dekel’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Dekel’s teachings in Mammou’s apparatus to provide 2D wavelet transforms with different resolutions in respective ROIs.
As to claim 2, Mammou as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: unpack a subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from each of the plurality of 2D blocks (Mammou: Figs 18-19; pars 0003-0004, 0006-0007, 0076, 0128, 0232, 0238, 2D blocks corresponding to patches and/or ROI of the image), the subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients in each of the plurality of 2D blocks being from a respective level of the levels of detail (Mammou: pars 0124-0127; Dekel: Figs 21, 26).
As to claim 5, Mammou as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of wavelet coefficients is coded according to an intra mode (Mammou: Figs 10, 18, intra frame decoding); and the processing circuitry is configured to: determine predictions of the plurality of wavelet coefficients based on reconstructed wavelet coefficients of neighboring 2D blocks of the plurality of 2D blocks in the current mesh frame (Mammou: pars 0241-0251).
As to claim 6, Mammou as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of wavelet coefficients is coded according to an inter mode (Mammou: Figs 17, 19; pars 0027, 0029, 0075, 0101, 0109, inter encoding/decoding process); and the processing circuitry is configured to: determine (i) predictions of the plurality of wavelet coefficients based on reconstructed wavelet coefficients from a reference mesh frame of the current mesh frame (Mammou: Figs 10, 17-19; pars 0008, 0073, 0101, 0171, 0195-0196, 0238-0241), and (ii) prediction residues associated with the predictions of the plurality of wavelet coefficients (Mammou: pars 0247-0252, 0255-0256).
As to claim 9, Mammou as modified discloses a method of mesh encoding, comprising:
determining a plurality of displacements of a mesh in a current mesh frame, the plurality of displacements being associated with a base mesh and the mesh (Mammou: Fig 10: 1004; Fig 17; pars 0003-0004, 0006. 0072), the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the mesh (Mammou: Fig 6; pars 0068, 0072, 0076);
performing a wavelet transform on the plurality of displacements to generate a plurality of wavelet coefficients (Mammou: Fig 10: 1005; pars 0004, 0076, 0081, perform wavelet transform on displacements and generates wavelet coefficients);
packing the plurality of wavelet coefficients into a plurality of two-dimensional (2D) blocks of a 2D image based on levels of detail of the plurality of wavelet coefficients (Mammou: Fig 10: 1007, Fig 15; pars 0004, 0025, 0076), a first 2D block of the plurality of 2D blocks containing a first subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from a first level of detail and a second 2D block of the plurality of 2D blocks containing a second subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients from a second level of detail (Dekel: Figs 21, 26, a multiresolution structure with different wavelet coefficient representing different resolution (e.g. level of details) of 2D wavelet transformation; pars 0038, 0061, 0078, 0145-0146, 0151, 0157, 0352);
encoding the plurality of wavelet coefficients into a bitstream, the bitstream including displacement information associated with the plurality of wavelet coefficients and base mesh information associated with the base mesh (Mammou: Figs 4, 10: 1008, 17; pars 0004-0005, 0019, 0057-0058, 0073-0075) and encoding the mesh into the bitstream based on the displacement information and the base mesh information (Mammou: Figs 4, 10, 17-19; pars 0004-0005). See motivation statement in claim 1.
As to claim 10, Mammou as modified discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the packing the plurality of wavelet coefficients further comprise: packing a subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients into each of the plurality of 2D blocks (Mammou: Fig 15; pars 0004, 0025, 0076, 0094-0097), the subset of the plurality of wavelet coefficients in each of the plurality of 2D blocks being from a respective level of the levels of detail (Mammou: pars 0124-0127, based on levels of detail; Dekel: Figs 21, 26).
As to claim 13, Mammou as modified discloses the method of claim 9, wherein: the plurality of wavelet coefficients is encoded according to an intra mode (Mammou: Figs 10, 17, intra frame encoding; pars 0074-0075, 0103, 0195); and the encoding the plurality of wavelet coefficients includes determining predictions of the plurality of wavelet coefficients based on reconstructed wavelet coefficients of neighboring 2D blocks of the plurality of 2D blocks in the current mesh frame (Mammou: Figs 10, 17; pars 0081-0083).
As to claim 14, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
17-20. (Canceled)
As to claim 21, it recites a non-transitory CRM storing instructions to perform functions and features of claim 9, except for the encoding being applied to a bitstream. Rejection of claim 9 is therefore incorporated herein. It is noted that Mammou as modified teaches the encoding process being applied to a bitstream and transmitting the encoded bitstream (Abstract; Figs 1,4, 10). Also see motivation of claim 9
As to claim 22, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Claims 7-8, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou in view of Dekel and further in view of US 2002/0131505 A1, Vidunas (hereinafter Vidunas).
As to claim 8, Mammou as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of wavelet coefficients is coded in a skip mode (Mammou: pars 0073, 0075, 0083, 0171, skipping encoding or updating) but does not expressly teach the processing circuitry is configured to: determine the plurality of wavelet coefficients as zero in the current mesh frame. Vidunas, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches an XOR operation to identify zero value wavelet coefficients in the current frame (pars 0021-0023, 0026).
Therefore, consider Mammou as modified and Vidunas’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Vidunas’s teachings in Mammou as modified’s apparatus to provide more efficient encoding process by identifying zero values wavelet coefficients.
As to claim 7, Mammou as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of wavelet coefficients is coded in a copy mode (Vidunas: Fig 4; pars 0025-0027, the original data being copied to the out buffer); and the processing circuitry is configured to: determine predictions of the plurality of wavelet coefficients as reconstructed wavelet coefficients in a reference mesh frame of the current mesh frame (Mammou: Figs 10, 17-19; pars 0008, 0073, 0101, 0171, 0195-0196, 0238-0241).
As to claim 15, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
As to claim 16, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 11-12, 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Prior art of record (Mammou and Vidunas) neither discloses alone nor teaches in combination functions and features recited in claim 3. Claims 11 and 19 recite similar limitations as claim 3. Claims 4, 12, and 20 depend from claims 3, 11, and 19, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are moot in light of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662