DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 1, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
An apparatus for mesh decoding, the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
receive a bitstream that includes displacement information and base mesh information of a first mesh in a current mesh frame, the displacement information indicating a plurality of displacements associated with a base mesh and the first mesh, the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the first mesh;
determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in a coefficient array associated with the plurality of displacements based on index information included in the bitstream; and
reconstruct the first mesh based on the plurality of displacements indicated by the plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients.
For claim 6, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine an index for a first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array based on the index information, the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients including the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient;
determine an index parameter for each of the at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient based on the index information, the index parameter for [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient being equal to an index difference minus one, the index difference being a position difference between [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and a preceding non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array; and
determine the index for each of the at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient based on the index of the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and the index parameter of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient.
For claim 7, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine an index for a first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array based on the index information;
determine an index parameter for each of a subset of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients based on the index information, the subset of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients including a plurality of subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients of the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient, the index parameter for each of the plurality of subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients being equal to an index difference minus one, the index difference being a position difference between [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and a preceding non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array; and
determine the index for each of the subset of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients based on the index of the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and the index parameter of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient.
For claim 8, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
A method of mesh encoding, the method comprising:
determining, by a processor, a plurality of displacements of a first mesh in a current mesh frame, the plurality of displacements being associated with a base mesh and the first mesh, the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the first mesh;
performing a wavelet transform on the plurality of displacements to generate a plurality of wavelet coefficients;
quantizing the plurality of wavelet coefficients to generate a coefficient array that includes a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients;
determining a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array; and
encoding index information based on the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the coefficient array in a bitstream.
For claim 13, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
The method of claim 8, wherein:
the determining the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient includes:
determining a plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array, the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients including a first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient; and
the encoding the index information further includes:
encoding an index for the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array; and
encoding an index parameter for each of the at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient, the index parameter for [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient being equal to an index difference minus one, the index difference being a position difference between [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and a preceding non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array.
For claim 14, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
The method of claim 8, wherein:
the determining the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient includes:
determining a plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array, the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients including a first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and a subset of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients, the subset of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients including a plurality of subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients of the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient; and
the encoding the index information comprises:
encoding an index for the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array; and
encoding an index parameter for each of the plurality of subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the subset of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients, the index parameter for each of the plurality of subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients being equal to an index difference minus one, the index difference being a position difference between [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and a preceding non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array.
For claim 15, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
A method of mesh data processing, the method comprising:
processing, by a processor, a bitstream of the mesh data according to a format rule, wherein:
the bitstream includes displacement information and base mesh information of a first mesh in a current mesh frame, the displacement information indicating a plurality of displacements associated with a base mesh and the first mesh, the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the first mesh; and
the format rule specifies that:
a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients is determined in a coefficient array associated with the plurality of displacements based on index information included in the bitstream; and
the first mesh is processed based on the plurality of displacements indicated by the plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients.
For claim 20, Examiner believes this claim should be amended in the following manner:
The method of claim 15, wherein the format rule specifies that:
an index for a first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients in the coefficient array is determined based on the index information, the plurality of [[last]] non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients including the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient;
an index parameter for each of the at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient is determined based on the index information, the index parameter for [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient being equal to an index difference minus one, the index difference being a position difference between [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and a preceding non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array; and
the index for each of the at least one subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient is determined based on the index of the first non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient and the index parameter of [[the]] each respective subsequent non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For independent claim 1, this claim establishes “a mesh” and “a base mesh”. Claim 1 goes on to recite the phrase “the mesh” and it is unclear and ambiguous to which of the previously established “mesh” and “base mesh” is being referenced by the phrase “the mesh”. Examiner has suggested amendments in the claim objections discussed above to resolve the ambiguities. Applicants may also consider an alternative prefix for “mesh” to distinguish the “mesh” from “base mesh”.
Dependent claims 2-7 depend from claim 1 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-7 are likewise indefinite.
For independent claim 8, this claim likewise establishes “a mesh” and “a base mesh”. Claim 8 goes on to recite the phrase “the mesh” and it is unclear and ambiguous to which of the previously established “mesh” and “base mesh” is being referenced by the phrase “the mesh”. Examiner has suggested amendments in the claim objections discussed above to resolve the ambiguities. Applicants may also consider an alternative prefix for “mesh” to distinguish the “mesh” from “base mesh”.
Dependent claims 9-14 depend from claim 8 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 8. Therefore, claims 9-14 are likewise indefinite.
For independent claim 15, this claim likewise establishes “a mesh” and “a base mesh”. Claim 15 goes on to recite the phrase “the mesh” and it is unclear and ambiguous to which of the previously established “mesh” and “base mesh” is being referenced by the phrase “the mesh”. Examiner has suggested amendments in the claim objections discussed above to resolve the ambiguities. Applicants may also consider an alternative prefix for “mesh” to distinguish the “mesh” from “base mesh”.
Dependent claims 16-20 depend from claim 15 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 15. Therefore, claims 16-20 are likewise indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Auwera et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0357144 A1, hereinafter “Auwera”) in view of He (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0089984 A1).
For claim 1, Auwera discloses an apparatus for mesh decoding (disclosing a device as an apparatus for mesh decoding (Abstract)), the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry (disclosing the device is implemented with processing circuitry (par. 38)) configured to: receive a bitstream that includes displacement information and base mesh information of a mesh in a current mesh frame, the displacement information indicating a plurality of displacements associated with a base mesh and the mesh, the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the mesh (disclosing acquisition of a bitstream of displacement data and base mesh data of an original mesh for reconstruction in a current mesh frame (par. 24 and 45); further disclosing the displacement data indicates a plurality of displacements associated with a base mesh and the original mesh and the base mesh is a rough approximation as a subset of a plurality of vertices of the original mesh (par. 23-24)); determine a quantized wavelet coefficient of a plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients in a coefficient array associated with the plurality of displacements based on index information included in the bitstream (disclosing determination of a quantized wavelet coefficient of a plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients stored in array associated with the plurality of displacements based on index information in the bitstream (par. 82, 85, 131 and 221-223)); and reconstruct the mesh based on the plurality of displacements indicated by the plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients (disclosing the original mesh is reconstructed based on the plurality of displacements indicated by the plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients (par. 24 and 85)).
Auwera does not disclose determining a last non-zero quantized coefficient of a plurality of non-zero quantized coefficients.
However, these limitations are well-known in the art as disclosed in He.
He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2). He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30). It follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient.
A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify Auwera with the teachings of He. He is analogous art in dealing with a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2). He discloses its determination of a last non-zero quantized coefficient is advantageous in coding end of block positions to reduce the amount of bits required to represent video data (par. 30 and 34). Consequently, a PHOSITA would incorporate the teachings of He into Auwera for coding end of block positions to reduce the amount of bits required to represent video data. Therefore, claim 1 is rendered obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For claim 2, depending on claim 1, Auwera as modified by He discloses wherein the index information identifies an index of the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (Auwera discloses the index information identifies an index of a quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (par. 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); He further explains the last non-zero quantized coefficient is identified with an index (par. 113); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to identify a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient with an index of its index information); and the processing circuitry is configured to: determine the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array that is associated with the index identified by the index information (Auwera discloses determination of a quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array that is associated with an index identified by the index information (par. 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); He further explains the last non-zero quantized coefficient is identified with an index (par. 113); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array that is associated with an index identified by its index information).
For claim 8, Auwera as modified by He discloses a method of mesh encoding (Auwera discloses a method for mesh encoding (par. 6)), the method comprising: determining a plurality of displacements of a mesh in a current mesh frame, the plurality of displacements being associated with a base mesh and the mesh, the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the mesh (Auwera discloses determining a plurality of displacements of an original mesh in a current mesh frame where the displacements are associated with a base mesh and the original mesh and the base mesh is a rough approximation as a subset of a plurality of vertices of the original mesh (par. 23-24 and 45)); performing a wavelet transform on the plurality of displacements to generate a plurality of wavelet coefficients (Auwera discloses the plurality of displacements are wavelet transformed to generate a plurality of wavelet coefficients (par. 42)); quantizing the plurality of wavelet coefficients to generate a coefficient array that includes a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients (Auwera discloses the plurality of wavelet coefficients are quantized to generate a coefficient array including a plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients (par. 42, 82, 85, 131 and 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient); determining a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (Auwera discloses the plurality of wavelet coefficients are quantized to generate a coefficient array including a plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients (par. 42, 82, 85, 131 and 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array); and encoding index information based on the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of the coefficient array in a bitstream (Auwera discloses encoding index information based on the plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients of the coefficient array in a bitstream (par. 24, 42, 113, and 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array and encode index information for the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array in its bitstream).
For claim 9, depending on claim 8, Auwera as modified by He discloses wherein the encoding the index information comprises: encoding an index of the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (Auwera discloses encoding an index for the index information based on the plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients of the coefficient array in the bitstream (par. 24, 42, 113, and 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array and encode an index in its index information for the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array in its bitstream).
For claim 15, Auwera as modified by He discloses a method of mesh data processing (Auwera discloses a method for mesh data processing (par. 6)), the method comprising: processing a bitstream of the mesh data according to a format rule (Auwera discloses processing a bitstream of the mesh data according to syntax as a format rule (par. 37)), wherein: the bitstream includes displacement information and base mesh information of a mesh in a current mesh frame, the displacement information indicating a plurality of displacements associated with a base mesh and the mesh, the base mesh including a subset of a plurality of vertices of the mesh (Auwera discloses the bitstream includes displacement information and base mesh information of an original mesh in a current mesh frame where the displacement information indicates a plurality of displacements associated with a base mesh and the original mesh and the base mesh is a rough approximation as a subset of a plurality of vertices of the original mesh (par. 23-24 and 45)); and the format rule specifies that: a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient of a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients is determined in a coefficient array associated with the plurality of displacements based on index information included in the bitstream (Auwera discloses determination of a quantized wavelet coefficient of a plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients stored in array associated with the plurality of displacements based on index information in the bitstream (par. 82, 85, 131 and 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array and encode index information for the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array in its bitstream); and the mesh is processed based on the plurality of displacements indicated by the plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients (Auwera discloses the original mesh is reconstructed based on the plurality of displacements indicated by the plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients (par. 24 and 85); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array).
For claim 16, depending on claim 15, Auwera as modified by He discloses wherein the format rule specifies that: an index of the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array is identified based on the index information (Auwera discloses the index information identifies an index of a quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (par. 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); He further explains the last non-zero quantized coefficient is identified with an index (par. 113); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to identify a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient with an index of its index information); and the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient is determined in the coefficient array based on the index identified by the index information (Auwera discloses determination of a quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array that is associated with an index identified by the index information (par. 221-223); He similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1-2); He likewise explains its bitstream may include a plurality of quantized coefficients where the quantized coefficients may be non-zero quantized coefficients and where a last non-zero quantized coefficient is determined to indicate an end of a block of quantized coefficients (par. 30); He further explains the last non-zero quantized coefficient is identified with an index (par. 113); and it follows Auwera may be accordingly modified with the teachings of He to implement its plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients as a plurality of non-zero quantized wavelet coefficients to determine a last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array that is associated with an index identified by its index information).
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auwera in view of He further in view of Xiao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0007533 A1, hereinafter “Xiao”) and Nada (JP H03192878 A) (citations made with respect to the corresponding English translation enclosed with this Office Action).
For claim 5, depending on claim 1, Auwera as modified by He does not disclose identifying a second to last non-zero coefficient.
However, these limitations are well-known in the art as disclosed in Xiao.
Xiao similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1 and 5). Xiao likewise discloses its video data is encoded with transform coefficients (par. 20). Xiao explains it is known to identify a second to last non-zero coefficient (par. 32 and 54). It follows Auwera and He may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Xiao to identify a second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array with its index information.
A PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify Auwera and He with the teachings of Xiao. Xiao is analogous art in dealing with a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1 and 5). Xiao discloses its determination of a second to last non-zero quantized coefficient is advantageous in determining whether an end of a scan has been reached to appropriately advance a bitstream (par. 32, 54 and 79). Consequently, a PHOSITA would incorporate the teachings of Xiao into Auwera and He for determining whether an end of a scan has been reached to appropriately advance a bitstream.
Auwera as modified by He and Xiao does not disclose determining a last coefficient as zero.
However, these limitations are well-known in the art as disclosed in Nada.
Nada similarly discloses a system and method for compressing image data (page 1). Nada explains it is known to set a last coefficient as zero (page 2). It follows Auwera, He and Xiao may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Nada to determine its last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array as zero.
A PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify Auwera, He and Xiao with the teachings of Nada. Nada is analogous art in dealing with a system and method for compressing image data (page 1). Nada discloses its setting of a last coefficient to zero is advantageous in indicating an end of a block of data for appropriate compression of data (page 2). Consequently, a PHOSITA would incorporate the teachings of Nada into Auwera, He and Xiao for indicating an end of a block of data for appropriate compression of data. Therefore, claim 5 is rendered obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For claim 12, depending on claim 8, Auwera as modified by He, Xiao and Nada discloses wherein: the determining the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient includes: determining the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient as zero (Nada similarly discloses a system and method for compressing image data (page 1); Nada explains it is known to set a last coefficient as zero (page 2); and it follows Auwera, He and Xiao may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Nada to determine its last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array as zero); and determining a second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (Xiao similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1 and 5); Xiao likewise discloses its video data is encoded with transform coefficients (par. 20); Xiao explains it is known to identify a second to last non-zero coefficient (par. 32 and 54); and it follows Auwera and He may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Xiao to identify a second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array); and the encoding the index information includes: encoding an index of the second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array (Auwera discloses encoding an index for the index information based on the plurality of quantized wavelet coefficients of the coefficient array in the bitstream (par. 24, 42, 113, and 221-223); Xiao similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1 and 5); Xiao likewise discloses its video data is encoded with transform coefficients (par. 20); Xiao explains it is known to identify a second to last non-zero coefficient (par. 32 and 54); and it follows Auwera and He may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Xiao to identify a second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array and to encode an index for the second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array).
For claim 19, depending on claim 15, Auwera as modified by He, Xiao and Nada discloses wherein the format rule specifies that: a second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient is identified in the coefficient array based on the index information (Xiao similarly discloses a system and method for encoding video data in a bitstream for reconstructing the video data (par. 1 and 5). Xiao likewise discloses its video data is encoded with transform coefficients (par. 20). Xiao explains it is known to identify a second to last non-zero coefficient (par. 32 and 54). It follows Auwera and He may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Xiao to identify a second to last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array with its index information); and the last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in the coefficient array is determined as zero (Nada similarly discloses a system and method for compressing image data (page 1); Nada explains it is known to set a last coefficient as zero (page 2); and it follows Auwera, He and Xiao may be accordingly modified with the teachings of Nada to determine its last non-zero quantized wavelet coefficient in its coefficient array as zero).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to address any objections raised above in the Detailed Action.
Conclusion
/CHARLES TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613