DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 8/28/2026. Claims 1-30 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13-18, 20, 22, 24-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et al. (WO 2023/009244)
Referring to Claim 1, Kwak et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (par 94, UE), comprising: at least one memory (pars 7 and 94, memory); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (pars 7 and 94, processor) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration including at least an indication to operate in a reduced peak throughput state (pars 94 and 95, UE configured, reduced peak throughput) and a plurality of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (pars 94-96, parameters/resource, PUCCH); select a first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources to send a feedback signal associated with a high throughput physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (pars 95 and 96, PUCCH parameter, resource, PDSCH); and transmit the feedback signal associated with the high throughput PDSCH in the first PUCCH resource selected from the plurality of PUCCH resources (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to: receive the configuration including at least the indication to operate in the reduced peak throughput state and the plurality of PUCCH resources (pars 94 and 95, UE configured, reduced peak throughput); and transmit the feedback signal associated with the high throughput PDSCH in the first PUCCH resource selected from the plurality of PUCCH resources (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the reduced peak throughput state comprises a high radio frequency (RF) state and a low baseband state, wherein the UE operates at a highest possible RF state corresponding to a widest possible bandwidth and a reduced baseband state where a maximum peak throughput is unsustained by the UE (pars 80, 94, and 95, high frequency, reduce peak, reduced/wider bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration comprises a narrowband scheduling or a wideband scheduling (par 95, reduced/wider bandwidth; Also, par 94, narrowband).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a subset of PUCCH resources from the plurality of PUCCH resources associated with the high throughput PDSCH (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH, wider bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation in response to receipt of the indication to enter the reduced peak throughput state, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH, wherein the offset factor is applied to a PDSCH processing timeline (N1) (par 98, offset; pars 94 and 95, PUCCH, PDSCH, reduce peak, higher bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a mapping configuration between a throughput scaling and an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation, wherein the mapping configuration results in a linear offset that is applied to a first reported value for the minimum separation, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH (par 98, offset, PDSCH, PUCCH).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 10 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the mapping configuration is associated with at least one of a burst transmission, memory, a battery status, a clock, wherein the offset factor is adjustable based on UE processing (par 98, offset).
Referring to Claim 13 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration comprises the indication to enter a maximum throughput mode, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit an uplink control indication (UCI) comprising an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH (par 98, offset, PDSCH, PUCCH).
Referring to Claim 14, Kwak et al. disclose a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (par 94, UE), comprising: receiving a configuration including at least an indication to operate in a reduced peak throughput state (pars 94 and 95, UE configured, reduced peak throughput) and a plurality of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (pars 94-96, parameters/resource, PUCCH); selecting a first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources to send a feedback signal associated with a high throughput physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (pars 95 and 96, PUCCH parameter, resource, PDSCH); and transmitting the feedback signal associated with the high throughput PDSCH in the first PUCCH resource selected from the plurality of PUCCH resources (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 14 above, Kwak et al. disclose the method, further comprising: transmitting an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation in response to receipt of the indication to enter the reduced peak throughput state, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH, wherein the offset factor is applied to a PDSCH processing timeline (N1) (par 98, offset; pars 94 and 95, PUCCH, PDSCH, reduce peak, higher bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 16, Kwak et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (par 93, base station/ wireless communication system entity), comprising: at least one memory (pars 21 and 93, memory); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and (pars 21 and 93, processor), based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: provide a configuration including at least an indication for a user equipment (UE) to operate in a reduced peak throughput state (pars 94 and 95, UE configured, reduced peak throughput) and a plurality of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (pars 94-96, parameters/resource, PUCCH); and obtain a feedback signal in a first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources, wherein the feedback signal is associated with a high throughput physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to: provide the configuration including at least the indication for the UE to operate in the reduced peak throughput state and the plurality of PUCCH resources (pars 94 and 95, UE configured, reduced peak throughput); and obtain the feedback signal in the first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources, wherein the feedback signal is associated with the high throughput PDSCH (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the reduced peak throughput state comprises a high radio frequency (RF) state and a low baseband state, wherein the UE operates at a highest possible RF state corresponding to a widest possible bandwidth and a reduced baseband state where a maximum peak throughput is unsustained by the UE (pars 80, 94, and 95, high frequency, reduce peak, reduced/wider bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 20 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration comprises a narrowband scheduling or a wideband scheduling (par 95, reduced/wider bandwidth; Also, par 94, narrowband).
Referring to Claim 22 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a subset of PUCCH resources from the plurality of PUCCH resources associated with the high throughput PDSCH (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH, wider bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 24 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation in response to receipt of the indication to enter the reduced peak throughput state by the UE, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH, wherein the offset factor is applied to a PDSCH processing timeline (N1) (par 98, offset; pars 94 and 95, PUCCH, PDSCH, reduce peak, higher bandwidth).
Referring to Claim 25 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: provide a mapping configuration between a throughput scaling and an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation, wherein the mapping configuration results in a linear offset that is applied to a first reported value for the minimum separation, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH (par 98, offset, PDSCH, PUCCH).
Referring to Claim 26 as applied to Claim 25 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the mapping configuration is associated with at least one of a burst transmission, memory, a battery status, a clock, wherein the offset factor is adjustable based on UE processing (par 98, offset).
Referring to Claim 28 as applied to Claim 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration comprises the indication to enter a maximum throughput mode, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain an uplink control indication (UCI) comprising an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH (par 98, offset, PDSCH, PUCCH).
Referring to Claim 29, Kwak et al. disclose a method of wireless communication at a network entity (par 93, base station/ wireless communication system entity), comprising: providing a configuration including at least an indication for a user equipment (UE) to operate in a reduced peak throughput state (pars 94 and 95, UE configured, reduced peak throughput) and a plurality of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (pars 94-96, parameters/resource, PUCCH); and obtaining a feedback signal in a first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources, wherein the feedback signal is associated with a high throughput physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (pars 95-98, PUCCH parameter/resource, PDSCH).
Referring to Claim 30 as applied to Claim 29 above, Kwak et al. disclose the method, further comprising: obtaining an offset factor associated with a value for a minimum separation in response to receipt of the indication to enter the reduced peak throughput state, wherein the minimum separation is measured in symbols between an end of the high throughput PDSCH and a beginning of the first PUCCH, wherein the offset factor is applied to a PDSCH processing timeline (N1) (par 98, offset; pars 94 and 95, PUCCH, PDSCH, reduce peak, higher bandwidth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8, 12, 19, 21, 23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (WO 2023/009244) in view of Chien (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0112147)
Referring to Claims 4 and 19 as applied to Claims 1 and 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus (par 94).
However, Kwak et al. do not disclose feedback signal comprises a non-acknowledgement (NACK) or an acknowledgement (ACK).
In the same field of endeavor, Chien discloses feedback signal comprises a non-acknowledgement (NACK) or an acknowledgement (ACK) (par 6, NACK; Also, par 177).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feedback signal comprises a non-acknowledgement (NACK) or an acknowledgement (ACK), as taught by Chien, in the apparatus of Kwak et al., for the purpose of reducing payload (Chien, Abstract).
Referring to Claims 6 and 21 as applied to Claims 1 and 16 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus (par 94).
However, Kwak et al. do not disclose first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources is an earliest PUCCH from a maximum deferral time.
In the same field of endeavor, Chien discloses first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources is an earliest PUCCH from a maximum deferral time (pars 6, 276 and 277, maximum deferral time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first PUCCH resource from the plurality of PUCCH resources is an earliest PUCCH from a maximum deferral time, as taught by Chien, in the apparatus of Kwak et al., for the purpose of reducing payload (Chien, Abstract).
Referring to Claims 8 and 23 as applied to Claims 7 and 22 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus (par 94).
However, Kwak et al. do not disclose first PUCCH from the subset of PUCCH resources is utilized for transmission of a non-acknowledgement (NACK) of the feedback signal, wherein a second PUCCH from the subset of PUCCH resources is utilized for transmission of an acknowledgement (ACK) of the feedback signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Chien discloses first PUCCH from the subset of PUCCH resources is utilized for transmission of a non-acknowledgement (NACK) of the feedback signal, wherein a second PUCCH from the subset of PUCCH resources is utilized for transmission of an acknowledgement (ACK) of the feedback signal (par 6, NACK, ACK; Also, pars 155 and 177).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first PUCCH from the subset of PUCCH resources is utilized for transmission of a non-acknowledgement (NACK) of the feedback signal, wherein a second PUCCH from the subset of PUCCH resources is utilized for transmission of an acknowledgement (ACK) of the feedback signal, as taught by Chien, in the apparatus of Kwak et al., for the purpose of reducing payload (Chien, Abstract).
Referring to Claims 12 and 27 as applied to Claims 10 and 25 above, Kwak et al. disclose the apparatus (par 94).
However, Kwak et al. do not disclose mapping configuration comprises a minimum and a maximum value of the linear offset.
In the same field of endeavor, Chien discloses mapping configuration comprises a minimum and a maximum value of the linear offset (par 123-126, minimum; par 276, maximum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate mapping configuration comprises a minimum and a maximum value of the linear offset, as taught by Chien, in the apparatus of Kwak et al., for the purpose of reducing payload (Chien, Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but are
not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 3 that that Kwak et al. do not disclose indication for reduced peak throughput state and PUCCH resources in a configuration. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In pars 94-96, Kwak et al. show PUCCH configuration parameters for reduced capabilities - bandwidth/throughput.
Applicant argues on page 4 that Chien does not disclose mapping of minimum and maximum value of linear offset. Chien et al. disclose in pars 123-126 and 276, slots/indications for minimum and maximum values, hence mapping.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642