DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-18 have been considered but are generally moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, see the citation of the Ono (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2014/0071462) reference in the rejection that follows. However, the Examiner notes, contrary to applicant’s argument (see Arguments at 6), that Noguchi does disclose “decid[ing] a fixed region” as the system described in Noguchi discriminates the variable or marked regions; this implies “decid[ing] a fixed region” as an area can only be variable or non-variable and a non-variable region constitutes a fixed region (see Figures 3A-3D, paragraph [0068], [0076] of Noguchi). Further, as Noguchi discloses producing new documents with the merge data, it also discloses “generat[ing] document data based on the decided variable region and the decided fixed region” (see paragraphs [0076], [0078] of Noguchi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11, 12, and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi (U.S.P.G Pub. No. 2016/0219164) in view of Ono (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2014/0071462).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi (U.S.P.G Pub. No. 2016/0219164) discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
a controller (see for example, paragraphs [0044], [0055]) configured to4:
acquire an image of a document (paragraphs [0036]-[0037], image file of document);
identify a mark region containing a predetermined mark in the acquired image of the document (paragraph [0037], mark detected on document region);
decide, based on the identified mark region, a variable region containing a variable object that is variable based on an input (paragraphs [0060]-[0061], [0073], [0076], merge printing with variable merge data based on mark in desired place to embed merge data);
decide a fixed region by identifying objects in the extracted regions that indicate format of the document, the fixed region containing a fixed object that is not variable (Figures 3A-3D, paragraph [0068], [0076], the merge areas are entered into the rest of the document form; the form is static/fixed while the merge data is dynamic); and
generate document data based on the decided variable region and the decided fixed region (paragraphs [0076], [0078], the documents are now mutually different as they include different merge data)
Noguchi does not explicitly disclose
Extracting regions other than the mark from the acquired image
Ono (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2014/0071462) discloses:
decide a variable region containing a variable object that is variable based on an input (paragraphs [0025], [0057]-[0060], the write region is modified with a marking)
decide a fixed region by (i) extracting regions other than the mark from the acquired image and (ii) identifying objects in the extracted regions that indicate indicating a format of the document, the fixed region containing a fixed object that is not variable (paragraphs [0027], [0057]-[0059], the Rs region with Im2a position specifying image is extracted that indicates the position of the write region) and
generate document data based on the decided variable region and the decided fixed region (paragraphs [0027]-[0028], [0057]-[0059], the document data is generated).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Ono with the system of Noguchi such that the system would have been able to extracting regions other than the mark from the acquired image as described in Ono. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system in which “a write region of the additional information can be appropriately acquired with respect to the documents of an unknown format and a wide variety of formats” (paragraph [0004] of the Ono reference).
Regarding claim 2, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to decide the fixed region to be a region other than the mark region in the image of the document (Figures 3A-3D, paragraph [0060]-[0061], [0068], [0073], [0076], [0076], the merge areas are entered into the rest of the document form; the form is static/fixed while the merge data is dynamic – this corresponds to areas the user did not mark for merge data);
Regarding claim 3, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the predetermined mark is a line, and wherein the controller is configured to determine that a region surrounded by the line is the mark region (see, for example, Figure 3C, Figure 8A, paragraphs [0060]-[0061], [0073], [0076], merge printing with variable merge data based on line circling area in desired place to embed merge data);
Regarding claim 4, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to determine that the fixed region is a region that is not surrounded by the line(Figures 3A-3D, paragraph [0060]-[0061], [0068], [0073], [0076], [0076], the merge areas are entered into the rest of the document form; the form is static/fixed while the merge data is dynamic – this corresponds to areas the user did not draw a line around for merge data);
Regarding claim 5, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to identify the mark region in response to a determination that the line has a predetermined color (paragraph [0074], [0124], line is made using a red felt-tip pen; the data to be merged is switched according to the color of the marks)
Regarding claim 6, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the predetermined mark has a predetermined shape (paragraph [0075], the mark made can include a diagonal shape or a frame shape)
Regarding claim 7, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the predetermined mark has a predetermined color (paragraph [0074], [0124], line is made using a red felt-tip pen; the data to be merged is switched according to the color of the marks)
Regarding claim 8, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the variable object includes a character string (see, for example, Figures 3B, 8B showing character strings merge data; see also paragraph [0132] regarding character string data)
Regarding claim 12, Noguchi additionally discloses:
further comprising a scanner configured to scan the document and generate the image of the document (paragraphs [0113]-[0114], the image is scanned and generated)
Regarding claim 14, the structural elements of apparatus claim 1 generally perform all of the steps of method claim 14. Thus, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Noguchi additionally discloses:
forming an output image on a sheet based on the generated document data (paragraph [0042], the image generated is printed)
Regarding claim 16, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the output image is a first output image and the sheet is a first sheet, further comprising: subsequent to forming the first output image on the first sheet, updating the variable object; and forming a second output image on a second sheet based on the updated variable object (paragraph [0042], merge printing involves printing a first image on a first sheet with one set of variable data, and then printing a second image on a second sheet with a different set of variable data, and so on)
Regarding claim 17, the structural elements of apparatus claim 3 perform all the additional steps of method claim 17. Thus, claim 17 is rejected for analogous reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 3. See the rejection of claim 14 as well.
Regarding claim 18, Noguchi additionally discloses:
wherein the predetermined mark has a predetermined color (paragraph [0074], [0124], line is made using a red felt-tip pen; the data to be merged is switched according to the color of the marks)
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi in view of Noguchi in view of Ono, in further view of Walker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,315,979).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Noguchi and Ono disclose the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 1).
The combination of Noguchi and Ono does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the variable object includes at least one of a figure or an image code.
Walker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,315,979) discloses:
wherein the variable object includes at least one of a figure or an image code (column 2, lines 16-20, variable data can include image data or bar code data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Walker et al. with the combination of Noguchi and Ono such that the variable object includes at least one of a figure or an image code as described in Walker et al. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement capable of “providing an extremely high-speed variable data printing operation” (column 2, lines 29-30 of the Walker reference).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi in view of Ono, in further view of Kawara (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2009/0116064).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Noguchi and Ono disclose the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 1).
The combination of Noguchi and Ono does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fixed object includes a character string describing the variable object.
Kawara (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2009/0116064) discloses:
wherein the fixed object includes a character string describing the variable object (see for example Figure 22, paragraphs [0095]-[0096], as shown, the fixed data describes the field data – for example, “To” describes that the variable field data relates to an address, whereas “Total Sum” indicates that the variable field will be a sum cost; see also paragraph [0009])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kawara with the combination of Noguchi and Ono such that the system would have been configured to have the fixed object includes a character string describing the variable object as described in Kawara. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of allowing for “printing of the entire document…and printing of only variable pages in a simplified manner” (paragraph [0017] of the Kawara reference).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi in view of Ono, further in view of Crampton (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0210121).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Noguchi and Ono disclose the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 1).
Crampton additionally discloses:
further comprising a communication circuit configured to transmit the document data generated by the controller to an external apparatus (paragraphs [0011]-[0012], raster data produced via VDP is communicated to a digital printing press)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Crampton with the combination of Noguchi and Ono such that the system would have been configured to transmit the document data generated by the controller to an external apparatus as described in Crampton. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “reducing the load on memory and computing resources” (paragraph [0012] of the Crampton reference) by offloading printing processing to a separate apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R WALLACE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682