DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-14, and 16-18 have been newly amended. No claims have been newly added nor canceled. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the present application. The previous objections to claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 16-18 have been withdrawn as a result of amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant asserts that the previously applied prior art fails to teach at least the limitation of "[wherein] calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location, wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline." Specifically, Applicant argues that "Balutis does not teach to first obtains [sic] an initial GPS coordinate outline using an aerial image of the location. Instead, Balutis teaches to obtain a first coordinate near docking station 12, and then repeat the process to obtain more coordinates. As claimed, an initial GPS coordinate 'outline' is generated using an aerial images [sic]. As claimed, then the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a GPS device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline." The examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding claim 1, the examiner asserts that Balutis does teach at least the limitation of "[wherein] calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location, wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline." Specifically, the examiner notes that the metes and bounds of the limitation as presented require that the calibrated mapping data is generated based on (i.e., with some relation to) an initial GPS coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part (i.e., with some consideration of) using an aerial image of the location. The examiner asserts that this is taught by at least [0055] - [0058] of Balutis, reproduced below.
[0055] FIG. 4A depicts an example perimeter 450 of an area to be mowed. The perimeter 450 can be stored in any appropriate data structure, e.g., as a series of X,Y coordinates referenced in a coordinate system 454. The coordinates can be distances (e.g., X and Y distances) from a starting point, e.g., a docking station 12, of the robot lawnmower 10 when it was collecting mapping data. The mapping data can include the location of beacons 805 which can be illustrated with dots or other symbols. FIG. 4I illustrates the perimeter 450 as a Cartesian grid of cells that are marked as being inside, outside, or on the boundary of the mowable region.
[0056] FIG. 4B depicts an example map image 452 of an area to be mowed. A mobile device 502 can obtain the map image 452 from a mapping system 600. The mapping system 600 may store map images or obtain map images from another system. To obtain the appropriate map image 452, the mobile device 502 provides location data to the mapping system 600. For example, the mobile device 502 can send GPS coordinates to the mapping system, or the mobile device 502 can prompt a human operator 500 to enter an address. The map image 452 is displayed with reference to a coordinate system 456.
[0057] FIG. 4C depicts the map image 452 with the perimeter 450 overlaid on top of the map image 452. The perimeter 450 has not been adjusted to account for the different coordinate system 456. Consequently, the perimeter 450 does not accurately depict the boundary of the area to be mowed with respect to the map image 452.
[0058] FIG. 4D depicts the map image 452 with the perimeter 450 overlaid after the mapping data has been adjusted to account for the different coordinate systems 454, 456. The mobile device 502 and/or the mapping system 600 can adjust the mapping data by shifting, rotating, and/or scaling the mapping data so that the mapping data is aligned to the coordinate system of the map image 452. When aligned, the geographic coordinates of the reference points within the mapping data will match with geographic coordinates for the map image.
In view of the above, the examiner asserts that Balutis teaches [wherein] calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location (see at least [0056] and [0057]), wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline (see at least [0058])." See also the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections of claims 1 and 14 below for further details. Hence, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Further, regarding the previous nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1, 13-15, and 17, the examiner notes that although Applicant has indicated that a Terminal Disclaimer was filed in the present response, no Terminal Disclaimer appears to have been filed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13-15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 16 (as well as their respective base claims) of U.S. Patent No. 11,966,232. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application would be anticipated by the claims of the reference patent. See the table below for a claim-by-claim analysis, wherein differences between claim sets are bolded.
Present Application
Reference Patent No. 11,966,232
1. A modular robot, comprising:
A sweeper module having a container for collecting debris from a surface of a location, the sweeper module is coupled to one or more brushes for contacting the surface and moving said debris into said container;
A robot module having wheels and configured to couple to the sweeper module, the robot module enabled for autonomous movement and corresponding movement of the sweeper module over the surface when the sweeper module is connected to the robot module; and
A controller integrated with the robot module and said controller is interfaced with the sweeper module, the controller executes instructions for assigning a work function to at least two zones at the location, the assigned work function to be performed using the sweeper module at said each of the at least two zones, the robot module using the controller is configured to activate the sweeper module in each of the at least two zones, wherein the assigned work function is set for performance at said each of the at least two zones, and
Calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location, wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline.
1. A modular robot, comprising:
A sweeper module having a container for collecting debris from a surface of a location, the sweeper module is coupled to one or more brushes for sweeping the surface and moving said debris into said container;
A robot module having wheels and configured to couple to the sweeper module, the robot module enabled for autonomous movement and corresponding movement of the sweeper module over the surface; and
A controller integrated with the robot module and interfacing with the sweeper module, the controller is configured to execute instructions for, assigning of at least two zones at the location; assigning a work function to be performed using the sweeper module at each of the at least two zones; and the robot module activates the sweeper module in each of the at least two zones, wherein the assigned work function is set to be performed at each of the at least two zones; wherein in each of the at least two zones the modular robot is moved along a path defined by waypoints and said waypoints are automatically reduced in separation to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle at the location and return to the path, wherein to reduce diversion from the path provides for less area being un-swept along the path and reduces one or more additional passes along the path at a future time; wherein the work function includes a pattern of traversal for the path.
5. The modular robot of claim 1, wherein the controller accesses calibrated mapping data for the location to enable the autonomous movement at the location.
6. The modular robot of claim 5, wherein the calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated using an aerial image of the location and a verification of the initial GPS coordinate outline using a GPS device of the robot module, wherein the robot module is moved along points of the GPS coordinate outline to update one or more points of the initial GPS coordinate outline, the update of the one or more points is used to generate the calibrated mapping data that is usable by the controller to autonomously move the modular robot when performing the work functions in each of the at least two zones at the location.
13. The modular robot of claim 1, wherein the modular robot is configured to move along a path defined by waypoints defined for the location, and wherein a separation between of the waypoints is dynamically reduced for the location to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle detected at the location.
1… wherein in each of the at least two zones the modular robot is moved along a path defined by waypoints and said waypoints are automatically reduced in separation to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle at the location and return to the path, wherein to reduce diversion from the path provides for less area being un-swept along the path and reduces one or more additional passes along the path at a future time; wherein the work function includes a pattern of traversal for the path.
14. A modular robot, comprising:
An exchangeable module adapted for performing a work function at a location;
A robot module having wheels and configured to couple to the exchangeable module, the robot module enabled for autonomous movement and corresponding movement of the exchangeable module at the location;
A controller integrated with the robot module and interfacing with the exchangeable module, the controller is configured to assign at least two zones at the location, assign the work function to be performed using the exchangeable module at each of the at least two zones, and set the robot module to activate the exchangeable module in each of the two zones, wherein the assigned work function is set for performance at each of the at least two zones; and
A plurality of cameras for providing computer vision, and a global positioning system (GPS), the controller is configured to use information from the plurality of cameras and the GPS for controlling said autonomous movement of the mobile robot, the computer vision being used to avoid obstacles detected at the location, wherein the controller accesses calibrated mapping data for the location to enable the autonomous movement at the location;
Wherein the calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated using an aerial image of the location and a verification of the initial GPS coordinate outline using a GPS device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline.
13. A modular robot, comprising:
An exchangeable module adapted for performing a work function at a location;
A robot module having wheels and configured to couple to the exchangeable module, the robot module enabled for autonomous movement and corresponding movement of the exchangeable module at the location; and
A controller integrated with the robot module and interfacing with the exchangeable module, the controller is configured to execute instructions for, assigning of at least two zones at the location; assigning the work function to be performed using the exchangeable module at each of the at least two zones; and the robot module activates the exchangeable module in each of the two zones, wherein the assigned work function is set to be performed at each of the at least two zones; wherein in each of the at least two zones the modular robot is moved along a path defined by waypoints and said waypoints are automatically reduced in separation to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle at the location and return to the path, wherein to reduce diversion from the path provides for less area being un-swept along the path and reduces one or more additional passes along the path at a future time; wherein the work function includes a pattern of traversal for the path.
15. The modular robot of claim 13, further comprising, a plurality of cameras for providing computer vision; and a global positioning system (GPS), the controller is configured to use information from the plurality of cameras and the GPS for controlling said autonomous movement of the modular robot, the computer vision being used to avoid obstacles detected at the location, wherein the controller accesses calibrated mapping data for the location to enable the autonomous movement at the location.
16. The modular robot of claim 15, wherein the calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated using an aerial image of the location and a verification of the initial GPS coordinate outline using a GPS device of the robot module, wherein the robot module is moved along points of the GPS coordinate outline to update one or more points of the initial GPS coordinate outline, the update of the one or more points is used to generate the calibrated mapping data that is usable by the controller to autonomously move the modular robot when performing the work functions in each of the at least two zones at the location.
15. The modular robot of claim 14, wherein the work function is defined by a pattern of traverse to be used in each of the at least two zones of the location.
13…wherein in each of the at least two zones the modular robot is moved along a path defined by waypoints and said waypoints are automatically reduced in separation to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle at the location and return to the path, wherein to reduce diversion from the path provides for less area being un-swept along the path and reduces one or more additional passes along the path at a future time; wherein the work function includes a pattern of traversal for the path.
17. The modular robot of claim 14, wherein the modular robot is configured to move along a path defined by waypoints defined for the location and a separation between the waypoints is settable to be reduced for the location to minimize diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle detected or known to be present at the location.
13…wherein in each of the at least two zones the modular robot is moved along a path defined by waypoints and said waypoints are automatically reduced in separation to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle at the location and return to the path, wherein to reduce diversion from the path provides for less area being un-swept along the path and reduces one or more additional passes along the path at a future time; wherein the work function includes a pattern of traversal for the path.
As shown above, the claims of the reference patent, along with their respective base claims, fully anticipate the above identified claims in the present application. The examiner further notes that, while not presently rejected because of minor changes in scope between the independent claims, the remainder of the dependent claims in the present application are very similar in scope to the dependent claims in the reference patent.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, Applicant claims: “…the controller executes instructions for assigning a work function to at least two zones at the location, the assigned work function to be performed using the sweeper module at said each of the at least two zones, the the robot module using the controller is configured to activate the sweeper module in each of the at least two zones….” The examiner recommends amending this limitation to recite: “…the controller executes instructions for assigning a work function to at least two zones at the location, the assigned work function to be performed using the sweeper module at said each of the at least two zones, the
Further regarding claim 1, Applicant claims: “calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location, wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline.” The examiner recommends amending this limitation to recite: “calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location, wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi (US 11199853 B1), hereafter Afrouzi, and further in view of Balutis (US 20160165795 A1), hereafter Balutis.
Regarding claim 1, Afrouzi discloses a modular robot, comprising:
A sweeper module having a container for collecting debris from a surface of a location, the sweeper module is coupled to one or more brushes for contacting the surface and moving said debris into said container (Col. 25, Lines 3-51, versatile mobile platform includes a floor scrubber, scrubber includes a brush, vacuum, and dustbin);
A robot module having wheels and configured to couple to the sweeper module, the robot module enabled for autonomous movement and corresponding movement of the sweeper module over the surface when the sweeper module is connected to the robot module (Col. 13, Line 51 - Col. 14, Line 23, versatile mobile platform is an autonomous robotic device, includes wheels, motors, Col. 25, Lines 3-51, versatile mobile platform includes a floor scrubber, scrubber includes a brush, vacuum, and dustbin); and
A controller integrated with the robot module and said controller is interfaced with the sweeper module (Col. 13, Line 51 - Col. 14, Line 23, versatile mobile platform includes a plurality of controllers, processors), the controller executes instructions for assigning a work function to at least two zones at the location, the assigned work function to be performed using the sweeper module at said each of the at least two zones, the robot module using the controller is configured to activate the sweeper module in each of the at least two zones, wherein the assigned work function is set for performance at said each of the at least two zones (Col. 218, Line 44 - Col. 219, Line 16, user specifies areas within the map and gives each area specific settings, Col. 226, Line 42 - Col. 227, Line 14, applications include navigating functions and cleaning mode functions for area to be covered, cleaning mode function for the map includes selecting a type of cleaning such as mopping or vacuuming)
Afrouzi fails to teach, however, wherein calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location, wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline.
Balutis, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location (0056, FIG. 4B depicts an example map image 452 of an area to be mowed. A mobile device 502 can obtain the map image 452 from a mapping system 600. The mapping system 600 may store map images or obtain map images from another system. To obtain the appropriate map image 452, the mobile device 502 provides location data to the mapping system 600. For example, the mobile device 502 can send GPS coordinates to the mapping system, or the mobile device 502 can prompt a human operator 500 to enter an address. The map image 452 is displayed with reference to a coordinate system 456. 0057, FIG. 4C depicts the map image 452 with the perimeter 450 overlaid on top of the map image 452. The perimeter 450 has not been adjusted to account for the different coordinate system 456. Consequently, the perimeter 450 does not accurately depict the boundary of the area to be mowed with respect to the map image 452.), wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a global positioning system (GPS) device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline (0058, FIG. 4D depicts the map image 452 with the perimeter 450 overlaid after the mapping data has been adjusted to account for the different coordinate systems 454, 456. The mobile device 502 and/or the mapping system 600 can adjust the mapping data by shifting, rotating, and/or scaling the mapping data so that the mapping data is aligned to the coordinate system of the map image 452. When aligned, the geographic coordinates of the reference points within the mapping data will match with geographic coordinates for the map image.).
Afrouzi and Balutis are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the aerial calibration system of Balutis in order to provide a means of refining the working area of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the working area of the robot is as accurate as possible.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, and Afrouzi further teaches wherein the work function is defined by a pattern of traverse to be used in each of the at least two zones of the location (Col. 155, Lines 17-61, zones may initially be created and ordered for coverage by the processor of the VMP robot. In some embodiments, to optimize division of zones of an environment, the processor proceeds through the following iteration for each zone of a sequence of zones, beginning with the first zone: expansion of the zone if neighbor cells are empty, movement of the VMP robot to a point in the zone closest to the current position of the VMP robot, addition of a new zone coinciding with the travel path of the VMP robot from its current position to a point in the zone closest to the VMP robot if the length of travel from its current position is significant, execution of a coverage pattern).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, and Afrouzi further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to execute instructions for assigning one or more sub-zones in one of the at least two zones at the location, and said one or more sub-zones is assigned a sub-work function different than the work function of the respective one of the at least two zones (Col. 93, Lines 9-33, wall in environment is used to segment the area into subareas, processor provides a unique tag to each sub area, uses the unique tag to choose different work functions for different subareas).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, and Afrouzi teaches it further comprising:
A plurality of cameras for providing computer vision (Col. 68, Lines 26-67, VMP uses stereo vision cameras or other types of cameras producing output data from which the environment may be perceived); and
The controller is configured to use information from the plurality of cameras and the GPS for controlling said autonomous movement of the module robot (Col. 192, Lines 54-65, VMP robots transmit status information including GPS coordinates, control system transmits one or more commands to the VMP robots based on the received information), the computer vision being used to avoid obstacles detected at the location (Col. 68, Lines 26-67, distance to objects determined from visual sensors).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, and Balutis further teaches wherein the robot module is moved along points of the GPS coordinate outline to update one or more points of the initial GPS coordinate outline, the update of the one or more points is used to update the calibrated mapping data that is usable by the controller to cause autonomous movement of the modular robot when performing the work functions in each of the at least two zones at the location (0051, the robot lawnmower 10, while collecting the mapping data, can also obtain the reference coordinates. For example, when the robot lawnmower 10 starts collecting the mapping data at the location of the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain the first geographic reference coordinates, e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates. Then, after the robot lawnmower 10 moves to another location in the area that is at least a certain distance from the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain any number of additional geographic reference coordinates).
Afrouzi and Balutis are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the aerial calibration system of Balutis in order to provide a means of refining the working area of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the working area of the robot is as accurate as possible.
Regarding claim 14, Afrouzi discloses a modular robot, comprising:
An exchangeable module adapted for performing a work function at a location (Col. 13, Line 51 - Col. 14, Line 23, versatile mobile platform is customizable to provide a variety of different functions, including a smart bin, an autonomous indoor trash bin, a robotic mop, a robotic transportation device, a luggage carrying robotic device, a robotic vacuum, a robotic commercial cleaner, etc.);
A robot module having wheels and configured to couple to the exchangeable module, the robot module enabled for autonomous movement and corresponding movement of the exchangeable module at the location when the exchangeable module is connected to the robot module (Col. 13, Line 51 - Col. 14, Line 23, versatile mobile platform is an autonomous robotic device, includes wheels, motors, Col. 25, Lines 3-51, versatile mobile platform includes a floor scrubber, scrubber includes a brush, vacuum, and dustbin);
A controller integrated with the robot module and configured for interfacing with the exchangeable module (Col. 13, Line 51 - Col. 14, Line 23, versatile mobile platform includes a plurality of controllers, processors), the controller is configured to assign at least two zones at the location, assign the work function to be performed using the exchangeable module at each of the at least two zones, and set the robot module to activate the exchangeable module in each of the at least two zones, wherein the assigned work function is set for performance at each of the at least two zones (Col. 218, Line 44 - Col. 219, Line 16, user specifies areas within the map and gives each area specific settings, Col. 226, Line 42 - Col. 227, Line 14, applications include navigating functions and cleaning mode functions for area to be covered, cleaning mode function for the map includes selecting a type of cleaning such as mopping or vacuuming); and
A plurality of cameras for providing computer vision (Col. 68, Lines 26-67, VMP uses stereo vision cameras or other types of cameras producing output data from which the environment may be perceived), and a global positioning system (GPS) (Col. 192, Lines 54-65, VMP robots transmit status information including GPS coordinates, control system transmits one or more commands to the VMP robots based on the received information), the controller is configured to use information from the plurality of cameras and the GPS for controlling said autonomous movement of the mobile robot (Col. 192, Lines 54-65, VMP robots transmit status information including GPS coordinates, control system transmits one or more commands to the VMP robots based on the received information), the computer vision additionally being used to avoid obstacles detected at the location (Col. 68, Lines 26-67, distance to objects determined from visual sensors), wherein the controller accesses calibrated mapping data for the location to enable the autonomous movement at the location (Col. 192, Lines 54-65, VMP robots transmit status information including GPS coordinates, control system transmits one or more commands to the VMP robots based on the received information).
Afrouzi fails to explicitly disclose, however, wherein the calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated using an aerial image of the location and a verification of the initial GPS coordinate outline using a GPS device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline.
Balutis, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein calibrated mapping data is generated based on an initial global positioning system (GPS) coordinate outline of the location generated at least in part using an aerial image of the location (0056, FIG. 4B depicts an example map image 452 of an area to be mowed. A mobile device 502 can obtain the map image 452 from a mapping system 600. The mapping system 600 may store map images or obtain map images from another system. To obtain the appropriate map image 452, the mobile device 502 provides location data to the mapping system 600. For example, the mobile device 502 can send GPS coordinates to the mapping system, or the mobile device 502 can prompt a human operator 500 to enter an address. The map image 452 is displayed with reference to a coordinate system 456. 0057, FIG. 4C depicts the map image 452 with the perimeter 450 overlaid on top of the map image 452. The perimeter 450 has not been adjusted to account for the different coordinate system 456. Consequently, the perimeter 450 does not accurately depict the boundary of the area to be mowed with respect to the map image 452.), wherein the initial GPS coordinate outline is verified using a GPS device of the robot module to define a GPS coordinate outline (0058, FIG. 4D depicts the map image 452 with the perimeter 450 overlaid after the mapping data has been adjusted to account for the different coordinate systems 454, 456. The mobile device 502 and/or the mapping system 600 can adjust the mapping data by shifting, rotating, and/or scaling the mapping data so that the mapping data is aligned to the coordinate system of the map image 452. When aligned, the geographic coordinates of the reference points within the mapping data will match with geographic coordinates for the map image.).
Afrouzi and Balutis are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the aerial calibration system of Balutis in order to provide a means of refining the working area of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the working area of the robot is as accurate as possible.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 14, and Afrouzi further teaches wherein the work function is defined by a pattern of traverse to be used in each of the at least two zones of the location (Col. 155, Lines 17-61, zones may initially be created and ordered for coverage by the processor of the VMP robot. In some embodiments, to optimize division of zones of an environment, the processor proceeds through the following iteration for each zone of a sequence of zones, beginning with the first zone: expansion of the zone if neighbor cells are empty, movement of the VMP robot to a point in the zone closest to the current position of the VMP robot, addition of a new zone coinciding with the travel path of the VMP robot from its current position to a point in the zone closest to the VMP robot if the length of travel from its current position is significant, execution of a coverage pattern).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 15, and Afrouzi further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to execute instructions for assigning one or more sub-zones in one of the at least two zones at the location, and said one or more sub-zones is assigned a sub-work function different than the work function of the respective one of the at least two zones (Col. 93, Lines 9-33, wall in environment is used to segment the area into subareas, processor provides a unique tag to each sub area, uses the unique tag to choose different work functions for different subareas).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the module robot of claim 14, and Balutis further teaches wherein the robot module is moved along points of the initial GPS coordinate outline to update one or more points of the initial GPS coordinate outline, the update of the one or more points is used to update the calibrated mapping data that is usable by the controller to autonomously cause movement of the modular robot when performing the work functions in each of that at least two zones at the location (0051, the robot lawnmower 10, while collecting the mapping data, can also obtain the reference coordinates. For example, when the robot lawnmower 10 starts collecting the mapping data at the location of the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain the first geographic reference coordinates, e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates. Then, after the robot lawnmower 10 moves to another location in the area that is at least a certain distance from the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain any number of additional geographic reference coordinates).
Afrouzi and Balutis are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the aerial calibration system of Balutis in order to provide a means of refining the working area of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the working area of the robot is as accurate as possible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi in view of Balutis, and further in view of Jones (US 8463438 B2), hereafter Jones.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the work function is defined by an amount of sweeping per unit square over the surface when the robot module moves over the surface at the location.
Jones, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the work function is defined by an amount of sweeping per unit square over the surface when the robot module moves over the surface at the location (Col. 1, Lines 59-60, A score measure of a cleaning robot's performance is the cleaning rate given in units of area cleaned per unit time).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Jones are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the work rate determination of Jones in order to provide a metric for determining work completion. The motivation to combine is to allow the robot to adjust a cleaning rate depending on the conditions of the robot's surroundings.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi in view of Balutis, and further in view of Afrouzi (US 20190204851 A1), hereafter Afrouzi '851.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more brushes of the sweeper module are coupled to one or more motors that drive rotation, wherein the controller is interfaced with the one or more motors for sensing a current draw experienced by the one or more brushes as the brushes rotate during said sweeping of the location, wherein an increase in current draw is correlated to indicated a fullness level of the container or a hot spot at the location, said hot spot is indicative of an increase in debris encountered at one or more GPS coordinates in one or more of said two or more zones at the location.
Afrouzi '851, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the one or more brushes of the sweeper module are coupled to one or more motors that drive rotation (0029, electrical current sensor may be used to measure the amount of current drawn by a motor of a main brush in real-time), wherein the controller is interfaced with the one or more motors for sensing a current draw experienced by the one or more brushes as the brushes rotate during said sweeping of the location (0029, sensors include an electrical current sensor that detects current draw of the brush motor), wherein an increase in current draw is correlated to indicate a fullness level of the container or a hot spot at the location (0022, processor determines a probability of a location having different levels of debris accumulation based on sensory data, 0029, sensors include an electrical current sensor that detects current draw of the brush motor), said hot spot is indicative of an increase in debris encountered at one or more GPS coordinates in one or more of said two or more zones at the location (0022, processor determines a probability of a location having different levels of debris accumulation based on sensory data, 0029, sensors include an electrical current sensor that detects current draw of the brush motor).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Afrouzi '851 are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the debris-accumulation sensing of Afrouzi '851 in order to provide a means of determining when areas of the environment are dirtier than expected. The motivation to combine is to allow the robot to better determine what areas to clean more thoroughly.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more brushes of the sweeper module are coupled to one or more motors that drive rotation, wherein the controller is interfaced with the one or more motors for sensing a current draw experienced by the one or more brushes as the brushes rotate during said sweeping of the location, wherein an increase in current draw is correlated to indicate a hot spot at the location, and wherein the controller is configured to record said hot spot at the location, said hot spot is associated with metadata that provides a description of the hot spot, the hot spot being used to identify an additional work function or adjustment in a way the work function is performed for cleaning an area associated with the hot spot.
Afrouzi '851, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the one or more brushes of the sweeper module are coupled to one or more motors that drive rotation (0029, electrical current sensor may be used to measure the amount of current drawn by a motor of a main brush in real-time), wherein the controller is interfaced with the one or more motors for sensing a current draw experienced by the one or more brushes as the brushes rotate during said sweeping of the location (0029, sensors include an electrical current sensor that detects current draw of the brush motor), wherein an increase in current draw is correlated to indicate a hot spot at the location (0022, processor determines a probability of a location having different levels of debris accumulation based on sensory data, 0029, sensors include an electrical current sensor that detects current draw of the brush motor), and wherein the controller is configured to record said hot spot and other hot spots at the location, said hot spot is associated with metadata that provides a description of the hot spot, the hot spot being used to identify an additional work function or adjustment in a way the work function is performed for cleaning an area associated with the hot spot (0022, the processor of the robotic cleaning device marks inferred environmental characteristics of different locations of the environment within a map of the environment based on observations from all or a portion of current and/or historical sensory data. In some embodiments, the processor modifies the environmental characteristics of different locations within the map of the environment as new sensory data is collected and aggregated with sensory data previously collected or based on actions of the robotic cleaning device (e.g., cleaning history). For example, in some embodiments, the processor determines the probability of a location having different levels of debris accumulation (e.g., the probability of a particular location having low, medium and high debris accumulation) based on the sensory data. 0026, the processor adjusts speed of components and/or activates/deactivates functions based on environmental characteristics with the highest probability of existing in the particular location of the robotic cleaning device such that they are ideal for the environmental characteristics predicted).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Afrouzi '851 are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the debris-accumulation sensing of Afrouzi '851 in order to provide a means of determining areas of the environment that are typically soiled. The motivation to combine is to allow the robot to operate more effectively by determining areas that may need additional cleaning.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi in view of Balutis, and further in view of Moshkina-Martinson (US 20180284786 A1), hereafter Moshkina-Martinson.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, but fails to teach it further comprising:
A sensor for detecting a volume of said debris passing into said container of the sweeper module, the sensor is configured to produced sensor data that is received by the controller, and sensor data is associated with global positioning system (GPS) coordinate data at the location, the sensor data usable to identify regions in the location that have increased or decreased amounts of said debris, and further using said sensor data to generate one or more additional zones at the location or update the work function for said regions.
Moshkina-Martinson, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach a sensor for detecting a volume of said debris passing into said container of the sweeper module, the sensor is configured to produced sensor data that is received by the controller, and sensor data is associated with global positioning system (GPS) coordinate data at the location, the sensor data usable to identify regions in the location that have increased or decreased amounts of said debris, and further using said sensor data to generate one or more additional zones at the location or update the work function for said regions (0088, For a more thorough cleaning, either each area or particularly soiled areas are cleaned more than once. For example, the entire cleaning route could be followed twice. Alternately, particularly dirty areas can be identified using sensors or previous markings on a map from previous sensor readings or user input. Only those dirty areas might be addressed in a second pass. Alternately, the robot can simply slow down significantly over such dirty areas. A variety of sensors could be used, such as a laser sensor detecting the volume of dust particles being pulled up by a vacuum in different areas.).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Moshkina-Martinson are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the determination of particularly dirty areas of Moshkina-Martinson in order to provide further means of determining the operating parameters of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the cleaning robot is able to clean the environment as effectively as possible.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, and Afrouzi teaches it further comprising:
A communications device integrated with said controller, the communications device is configured to receive instructions from a remote server and send data collected at said location during operation (Col. 191, Line 48 - Col. 192, Line 53, the control system receives at least a portion of sensor data of internal and external observations collected by sensors of the two or more VMP robots. In some embodiments, the control system determines which tasks to provide to each VMP robot based on at least a portion of the sensor data received. In some embodiments, the control system wirelessly transmits commands to processors of the two or more VMP robots, control system may be a centralized server accessible from a communication device such as a mobile phone, laptop, tablet, etc. and the like. The centralized control system may communicate with the VMP robots within an environment using a wireless communication channel such as Wi-Fi), the data collected includes:
A progress associated with completing the work function at the location (Col. 207, Line 50 - Col. 208, Line 22, VMP exchanges information including completion or progress of a task); and
Camera data collected at the location (Col. 80, Lines 23-61, processor compares identified features in two images taken by the same camera configuration to estimate depth).
The combination of Afrouzi and Balutis fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein the data collected includes:
Identification of a hot spot, identification of a region that has an increased amount of debris, an identification of vehicles parked and blocking part of the surface at the location, identification of obstacles avoided at the location, an error report from the modular robot, a fault from the sweeper module, an increase in current draw from the sweeper module, an increase in debris collected at specific geolocations, or combinations of two or more thereof.
Moshkina-Martinson, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the data collected includes:
Identification of a hot spot (0088, particularly dirty areas can be identified using sensors or marked on a map from previous sensor readings, sensors include a laser sensor for detecting the volume of dust particles being pulled up by a vacuum in different areas), identification of a region that has an increased amount of debris (0088, particularly dirty areas can be identified using sensors or marked on a map from previous sensor readings, sensors include a laser sensor for detecting the volume of dust particles being pulled up by a vacuum in different areas), an identification of vehicles parked and blocking part of the surface at the location, identification of obstacles avoided at the location, an error report from the modular robot, a fault from the sweeper module, an increase in current draw from the sweeper module, an increase in debris collected at specific geolocations (0088, particularly dirty areas can be identified using sensors or marked on a map from previous sensor readings, sensors include a laser sensor for detecting the volume of dust particles being pulled up by a vacuum in different areas), or combinations of two or more thereof.
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Moshkina-Martinson are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the identification of environmental characteristics of Moshkina-Martinson in order to provide a means of storing data relevant to the operation of the robot. The motivation to combine is to allow the robot to store information that is relevant to its working area.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi in view of Balutis, and further in view of Mellinger (US 20200029772 A1), hereafter Mellinger.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to process metadata used for determining an adjustment to performance of a work function, the metadata provides contextual information usable to determine how to perform the work function in a particular way to increase efficiency or minimize failure.
Mellinger, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the controller is configured to process metadata used for determining an adjustment to performance of a work function, the metadata provides contextual information usable to determine how to perform the work function in a particular way to increase efficiency or minimize failure (0017, operation is dynamically adjusted based on information determined by the cleaning robot to increase the efficiency of the robot).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Mellinger are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the dynamic adjustment of Mellinger in order to provide a means for the robot to dynamically adjust its performance based on environmental factors. The motivation to combine is to increase the efficiency of the robot (see at least 0017 of Mellinger).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Afrouzi, Balutis, and Mellinger teaches the modular robot of claim 11, and Mellinger further teaches wherein the metadata includes information usable by the controller to set or adjust a direction of movement by the modular robot to reduce turns or avoid surface obstacles or reduce speed in specific geolocations of the location (0033, navigation unit controls attitude, speed, heading, based on environmental conditions, 0035, sensor information further used to determine environmental conditions).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Mellinger are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the dynamic adjustment of Mellinger in order to provide a means for the robot to dynamically adjust its performance based on environmental factors. The motivation to combine is to increase the efficiency of the robot (see at least 0017 of Mellinger).
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi in view of Balutis, and further in view of Di Cairano (US 9821801 B2), hereafter Di Cairano.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 1, and Afrouzi further teaches wherein the modular robot is configured to move along a path defined by waypoints defined for the location (Col. 227, Lines 2-14, each area having a specified navigation mode, user pattern navigation mode includes setting a number of waypoints for an area).
The combination of Afrouzi and Balutis fails to teach, however, wherein a separation between of the waypoints is dynamically reduced for the location to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle detected at the location.
Di Cairano, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein a separation between of the waypoints is dynamically reduced for the location to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle detected at the location (Col. 6, Lines 46-59, method refines the coarse path to produce a refined path defined by a set of points with fine separation, i.e., less than the coarse separation.).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Di Cairano are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the waypoint refinement of Di Cairano in order to provide a means of better altering the robot's path. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the diversion from the initial path is minimized (see at least Col. 5, Lines 27-46 of Di Cairano).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi, and further in view of Di Cairano.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Afrouzi and Balutis teaches the modular robot of claim 14, and Afrouzi further teaches wherein the modular robot is configured to move along a path defined by waypoints defined for the location (Col. 227, Lines 2-14, each area having a specified navigation mode, user pattern navigation mode includes setting a number of waypoints for an area).
The combination of Afrouzi and Balutis fails to teach, however, wherein a separation between of the waypoints is reduced for the location to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle detected at the location.
Di Cairano, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein a separation between of the waypoints is reduced for the location to reduce diversion from the path when avoiding an obstacle detected at the location (Col. 6, Lines 46-59, method refines the coarse path to produce a refined path defined by a set of points with fine separation, i.e., less than the coarse separation.).
Afrouzi, Balutis, and Di Cairano are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., autonomous device navigation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the waypoint refinement of Di Cairano in order to provide a means of better altering the robot's path. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the diversion from the initial path is minimized (see at least Col. 5, Lines 27-46 of Di Cairano).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE A WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3658