DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 13-20 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-12, drawn to an implantable stimulation lead, classified in A61N1/0551.
II. Claims 13-20, drawn to a device kit for an implantation procedure, classified in A61M25/0102.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions II and I are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because Invention II, the combination, does not require “a stiffening component within the lead body at a proximal portion of the stimulation lead, wherein the stiffening component comprises an annealed section and a non-annealed section, wherein the non-annealed section is adapted to maintain a substantially linear configuration for insertion of the plurality of terminals within a header of an implantable pulse generator, and wherein the annealed section is malleable to be shaped by a clinician into a desired curved or partially coiled configuration within a lead implant pocket location” of Invention I, the subcombination. The subcombination has separate utility such as a use in a system without a stylet having multiple strands of filars in a lumen, such as an implantable lead with an integral stiffener.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: Different search terms and search strategies are required to determined patentability.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Attorney Zachary Cleary on January 16, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of I, claims 1-12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 13-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 10, the limitation “the plurality of filars” lack antecedent basis.
Re Claim 11, the limitation “the plurality of filars have a composite configuration” is indefinite, because it is unclear whether the filars collectively have a composite configuration or each filar individually has a composite configuration. Based on para. [0058], either is possible and it is unclear which one is being claimed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 8, “the stimulation” should be “the stimulation lead”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the non-annealed portion” should be corrected to “the non-annealed section” as written in claim 1 to keep the claim term consistent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5 and 8 objected to because of the following informalities: “the annealed portion” should be corrected to “the annealed section” as written in claim 1 to keep the claim term consistent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhulati et al. (US 2012/0279063A1) in view of Thenuwara et al. (US 2011/0295352A1).
Re Claim 1, Zhulati discloses an implantable stimulation lead for applying electrical pulses to a patient (fig. 2, para. [0023], lead 100), the implantable stimulation lead comprising:
a plurality of conductors for conducting electrical pulses (fig. 1, para. [0022], One or more conductors (not shown) extending along a substantial portion of the lead body 106);
a lead body of insulating material enclosing the plurality of conductors (fig. 1, para. [0022], One or more conductors (not shown) extending along a substantial portion of the lead body 106);
a plurality of electrodes (fig. 1, para. [0022], stimulation electrodes 114), on a distal portion of the stimulation lead (fig. 1, para. [0021], Adjacent to distal end 104 of lead 100 is a stimulation electrode region 112 comprising eight stimulation electrodes 114), that are coupled to the plurality of conductors (fig. 1, para. [0022], One or more conductors (not shown) extending along a substantial portion of the lead body 106 electrically connect the terminals 118 to the stimulation electrodes 114), wherein the plurality of electrodes are adapted to apply electrical pulses to tissue of the patient (para. [0026], the pulse generator 120 may generate and send electrical pulses via the lead 100 to the stimulation electrodes 114);
a plurality of terminals (fig. 1, para. [0022], terminals 118), on a proximal portion of the stimulation (fig. 1, para. [0021], Adjacent to proximal end 102 of lead 100 is a connector region 116 that comprises eight terminals 118), that are coupled to the plurality of conductors (fig. 1, para. [0022], One or more conductors (not shown) extending along a substantial portion of the lead body 106 electrically connect the terminals 118 to the stimulation electrodes 114), wherein the plurality of terminals are adapted to receive electrical pulses from an implantable pulse generator (para. [0025], The pulse generator 120 sends electrical pulses to the electrical connectors, which are in electrical contact with the terminals 118.);
a stiffening component within the lead body at a proximal portion of the stimulation lead (para. [0020], fig. 1, a proximal end stiffener 108),
wherein the stiffening component comprises sections of different column strengths (fig. 3A, para. [0029], [0030], the stiffener 108 may be thought of having at least two longitudinal zones. The first zone having a constant column strength (from the proximal end 126 of the tube 124 to the proximal end 134 of the spiral cut 130). The second zone is a longitudinal region having a reduced column strength. In the illustrative example, there are additional longitudinal zones of different column strengths which correspond to the varying change in pitch of the spiral cut 130.),
wherein the section of greater column strength is adapted to maintain a substantially linear configuration for insertion of the plurality of terminals within a header of an implantable pulse generator (para. [0029], [0030], fig. 3A, The tube 124, therefore, has its greatest column strength in this “solid” region, which also includes the connector region 116 of the lead 100; para. [0031], fig. 2, This relatively large column strength of the first zone is advantageous because it allows a user to easily insert the proximal end 102 of the lead 100 into the receptacle 122 (FIG. 2) without excessive buckling; fig. 1, para. [0021] shows terminals 118 are on connector region 116), and
wherein the section of reduced column strength is malleable to be shaped by a clinician into a desired curved or partially coiled configuration within a lead implant pocket location (fig. 3A, para. [0030], The second zone is a longitudinal region having a reduced column strength. In the illustrative example, there are additional longitudinal zones of different column strengths which correspond to the varying change in pitch of the spiral cut 130; para. [0029], the flexibility of the tube 124 increases towards the distal end 132 and decreases towards the proximal end 134 of the spiral cut 130; para. [0032], A stiffener with only two zones of stiffness would provide two stress points (around the point where change in stiffness occurs and at the distal end). The magnitude of material stress within these two stress points would be significantly reduced when compared to the configuration having a single stress point. Similarly, a stiffener with multiple or varying zones of stiffness allows a gradual transition—which effectively eliminates and/or greatly reduces the magnitude of material stress within any stress points; para. [0035], in the region of the proximal end 138, there may be one or more zones having a relatively reduced column strength to reduce stress points in the lead body 106 (FIG. 1) as described above. In other zones within the stimulation electrode region 112, the column strength could increase or vary to make implantation easier for the surgeon or to correspond with anatomical features of the application and/or patient. For example, the distal end stiffener 110 may be five longitudinal zones, where each zone has a different column strength corresponding to surgical implantation techniques and patient anatomy; Para. [0052], The leads may also be supplied with a plurality of stiffeners, where each stiffener has different length longitudinal zones of stiffness corresponding to the likely sizes and shapes of patient anatomy).
Zhulati discloses that the leads being annealed (para. [0049], fig. 7, step 726) and having stiffeners having varying zones of stiffness (para. [0050]).
Zhulati is silent regarding an annealed section and a non-annealed section.
However, Thenuwara discloses a cochlear lead (abstract) and teaches a stiffening element (para. [0048]). Thenuwara teaches that annealing may be used to produce a distal portion of the stiffening element having greater ductility and lower stiffness than the rest of the body of the stiffening element (para. [0048], [0049], [0050]). Thenuwara teaches that annealing is a versatile heat treating process which alters the material properties (such as yield strength and ductility) of a metal (para. [0049]). Thenuwara teaches that wherein the non-annealed section is adapted to maintain a substantially linear configuration for insertion (para. [0042], The stiffening element (500) makes the proximal region of the electrode array stiffer, or more rigid, than the distal end (510); para. [0043], The stiffening element (500) is divided into to two portions, a proximal portion (517) and a distal portion (515); claim 4, a distal portion of the stiffening element is annealed and the proximal portion is not annealed; para. [0082], it may be advantageous to anneal the distal portion of the stiffening element so that it is softer and more malleable than the body portion of the stiffening element), and wherein the annealed section is malleable to be shaped by a clinician into a desired curved or partially coiled configuration within a lead implant pocket location (para. [0078], The distal portion (515) of the stiffening element (500) can be annealed to produce a more compliant and malleable metal. The distal portion (515) of the stiffening element (500) maintains its a shape after it is initially bent. This prevents the electrode array (195) from backing out of the cochlea (150) due to small external forces or to forces due to jostling, repetitive movements, or other movements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Zhulati, by producing sections of different column strengths within the stiffening component through annealing, thereby producing an annealed section and a non-annealed section, wherein the non-annealed section is adapted to maintain a substantially linear configuration for insertion of the plurality of terminals within a header of an implantable pulse generator, and wherein the annealed section is malleable to be shaped by a clinician into a desired curved or partially coiled configuration within a lead implant pocket location, as taught by Thenuwara, for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of insertion of the stimulation lead and stability of the electrode within the patient’s anatomical region (para. [0048]) by altering yield strength of ductility of a metal (para. [0048]-[0050], [0078], the distal portion (515) of the stiffening element (500) can be annealed to produce a more compliant and malleable metal).
Re Claim 2, Zhulati further discloses that the section of greater column strength is configured to be contained within the header of the implantable pulse generator after insertion (para. [0029], [0030], fig. 3A, The tube 124, therefore, has its greatest column strength in this “solid” region, which also includes the connector region 116 of the lead 100; para. [0031], fig. 2, This relatively large column strength of the first zone is advantageous because it allows a user to easily insert the proximal end 102 of the lead 100 into the receptacle 122 (FIG. 2) without excessive buckling.).
Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara in claim 1 provides modification of the section of greater column strength to be a non-annealed section.
Re Claim 3, Zhulati discloses that the stiffening component is formed from a metal material (para. [0027], fig. 3A, the stiffener 108 is shown as a tube 124 having a proximal end portion 126 and a distal end portion 128. The tube 124 could be made of Nitinol, stainless steel or other bio-compatible materials.).
Re Claim 4, Zhulati discloses that the section of reduced column strength corresponds to a first portion of the metal material (fig. 3B, para. [0034], The distal end stiffener 110 is shown as a tube 136 having a proximal end portion 138 and a distal end portion 140. The tube 136 could be made of Nitinol, stainless steel or other bio-compatible materials.) and the section of greater column strength corresponds to a second portion of the metal material (para. [0027], fig. 3A, the stiffener 108 is shown as a tube 124 having a proximal end portion 126 and a distal end portion 128. The tube 124 could be made of Nitinol, stainless steel or other bio-compatible materials.).
Thenuwara discloses that an annealed section (para. [0042], distal end, claim 4, a distal portion of the stiffening element is annealed and the proximal portion is not annealed) corresponds to a first portion of the metal material (para. [0042], the stiffening element (500) comprises or consists essentially of platinum. the stiffening element (500) may comprise or consist of gold or a gold alloy or metal) and a non-annealed portion (para. [0042], proximal region, claim 4, a distal portion of the stiffening element is annealed and the proximal portion is not annealed) corresponds to a second portion of the metal material (para. [0042], the stiffening element (500) comprises or consists essentially of platinum. the stiffening element (500) may comprise or consist of gold or a gold alloy or metal).
Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara in claim 1 provides modification of the section of greater column strength to be a non-annealed section and modification of the section of reduced column strength to be an annealed section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara, by configuring the annealed section to correspond to a first portion of the metal material and configuring the non-annealed portion to correspond to a second portion of the metal material, as taught by Thenuwara, for the purpose of providing the desired mechanical and chemical properties (para. [0042]).
Re Claim 5, Zhulati further discloses that the section of reduced column strength is configured to maintain a shape corresponding to the curved or partially coiled configuration once shaped by the clinician (fig. 3A, para. [0030], The second zone is a longitudinal region having a reduced column strength. In the illustrative example, there are additional longitudinal zones of different column strengths which correspond to the varying change in pitch of the spiral cut 130; para. [0029], the flexibility of the tube 124 increases towards the distal end 132 and decreases towards the proximal end 134 of the spiral cut 130; para. [0032], A stiffener with only two zones of stiffness would provide two stress points (around the point where change in stiffness occurs and at the distal end). The magnitude of material stress within these two stress points would be significantly reduced when compared to the configuration having a single stress point. Similarly, a stiffener with multiple or varying zones of stiffness allows a gradual transition—which effectively eliminates and/or greatly reduces the magnitude of material stress within any stress points; para. [0035], in the region of the proximal end 138, there may be one or more zones having a relatively reduced column strength to reduce stress points in the lead body 106 (FIG. 1) as described above. In other zones within the stimulation electrode region 112, the column strength could increase or vary to make implantation easier for the surgeon or to correspond with anatomical features of the application and/or patient. For example, the distal end stiffener 110 may be five longitudinal zones, where each zone has a different column strength corresponding to surgical implantation techniques and patient anatomy; Para. [0052], The leads may also be supplied with a plurality of stiffeners, where each stiffener has different length longitudinal zones of stiffness corresponding to the likely sizes and shapes of patient anatomy).
Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara in claim 1 provides modification of the section of reduced column strength to be an annealed section.
Re Claim 6, Zhulati discloses that the section of greater column strength has a column strength configured for driving the stiffening component into an anatomical location (fig. 3A, para. [0030], The first zone having a constant column strength (from the proximal end 126 of the tube 124 to the proximal end 134 of the spiral cut 130). The second zone is a longitudinal region having a reduced column strength. In the illustrative example, there are additional longitudinal zones of different column strengths which correspond to the varying change in pitch of the spiral cut 130; para. [0029], the flexibility of the tube 124 increases towards the distal end 132 and decreases towards the proximal end 134 of the spiral cut 130; para. [0032], A stiffener with only two zones of stiffness would provide two stress points (around the point where change in stiffness occurs and at the distal end). The magnitude of material stress within these two stress points would be significantly reduced when compared to the configuration having a single stress point. Similarly, a stiffener with multiple or varying zones of stiffness allows a gradual transition—which effectively eliminates and/or greatly reduces the magnitude of material stress within any stress points; para. [0035], in the region of the proximal end 138, there may be one or more zones having a relatively reduced column strength to reduce stress points in the lead body 106 (FIG. 1) as described above. In other zones within the stimulation electrode region 112, the column strength could increase or vary to make implantation easier for the surgeon or to correspond with anatomical features of the application and/or patient. For example, the distal end stiffener 110 may be five longitudinal zones, where each zone has a different column strength corresponding to surgical implantation techniques and patient anatomy; Para. [0052], The leads may also be supplied with a plurality of stiffeners, where each stiffener has different length longitudinal zones of stiffness corresponding to the likely sizes and shapes of patient anatomy).
Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara in claim 1 provides modification of the section of greater column strength to be a non-annealed section.
Re Claim 12, Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara discloses one or more stimulation leads as set forth in claim 1.
Zhulati discloses a neurostimulation system for applying electrical pulses to neural tissue of a patient (fig. 1, para. [0020], the lead 100 is generally configured to transmit one or more electrical pulses from a pulse generator to a spinal nerve, a peripheral nerve, or other tissue), the neurostimulation system comprising:
the implantable pulse generator (para. [0024], implantable pulse generator 120).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhulati et al. (US 2012/0279063A1) as modified by Thenuwara et al. (US 2011/0295352A1) and further in view of McIntyre et al. (US 2012/0271381A1).
Re Claim 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, Zhulati discloses that the stiffening component comprises a metal cable (para. [0025], A plurality of feedthrough wires (not shown) connect the electrical connectors to pulse generating circuitry (not shown) within the pulse generator 120; para. [0004], Within the header structure, the feedthrough wires are electrically coupled to annular electrical connectors; para. [0027], the stiffener could be formed from a rod, wire or other longitudinal member having a variety of different cross sectional shapes).
Zhulati is silent regarding the stiffening component comprising a stranded metal cable, wherein the annealed portion of the stranded metal cable exhibits flexibility when loaded laterally to support the desired curved or partially coiled configuration, wherein the stranded metal cable comprises a plurality of filars, wherein the plurality of filars are twisted about a longitudinal axis of the stranded metal cable, wherein the plurality of filars have a composite configuration
McIntyre discloses a coil configuration, where the coil defines a tube around the central axis and teaches the coil being used within a medical lead to receive another device such as a stylet (para. [0072], [0117], The center of the coil defines a space that may, for instance, receive a stylet or guide wire to aid in placing a device (e.g., a lead) that carries coil 71 at a desired location within a patient's body). McIntyre teaches the stiffening component comprising a stranded metal cable, wherein the stranded metal cable comprises a plurality of filars (fig. 10B, para. [0115], coil 71 is being wound of twelve filars 66 a-66 l, although more or fewer filars may be used in the alternative. Each filar may be formed by cold drawing, then annealing, a beta titanium tube surrounding a low-resistance core in a manner similar to that described above. While not shown in FIG. 10B, in one embodiment, each of filars 66 a-66 l includes an insulating layer 46 (FIG. 4A) so that each filar is insulated from adjacent filars and may independently transmit and receive signals; fig. 10C, para. [0121], [0122], a coil containing eight filars 80 a-80 h (“filars 80”), each coupled to a respective one of ring electrodes 82 a-82 h (“electrodes 82”, shown in cross-section in FIG. 10C), wherein the electrodes are carried by a distal end of a medical electrical lead 78. Each of filars 80 a-80 h is provided with an insulating layer 46 (FIG. 4A) that insulates it from adjacent filars, thereby allowing each filar to carry an independent electrical signal.). McIntyre also discloses another coil configuration, wherein the stiffening component comprising a stranded metal cable (para. [0161], The cable 118 includes multiple wires. The seven wires may be twisted together in a manner to be described below in reference to FIG. 14B.). McIntyre discloses that the annealed portion of the stranded metal cable exhibits flexibility when loaded laterally to support the desired curved or partially coiled configuration (para. [0106]-[0108], annealing process to obtain a filar of the desired diameter; para. [0004], Such a coil has a relatively small profile while being capable of transmitting a large number of signals. Because of the low modulus of the beta titanium alloy, the coil will be flexible and exhibit a relatively small bend radius at yield. This allows the coil to be more easily navigated to a target therapy location within a body of a patient and also enhances patient comfort; para. [0120], Because a beta titanium alloy wire used to form the coil has a much lower elastic modulus, the resulting coil structure is not as stiff and has a smaller bend radius at yield than a similar MP35N coil. Therefore, a medical device such as a lead, lead extension, stylet, guide wire, or any other type of device that carries such a coil will likewise not be as stiff, and will be able to much more readily navigate the twists and turns of the human anatomy.). McIntyre discloses that the plurality of filars are twisted about a longitudinal axis of the stranded metal cable (fig. 10B and 10C, fig. 14B). McIntyre discloses that the plurality of filars have a composite configuration (para. [0115], coil 71 is being wound of twelve filars 66 a-66 l. each of filars 66 a-66 l includes an insulating layer 46 (FIG. 4A) so that each filar is insulated from adjacent filars and may independently transmit and receive signals; para. [0121], a coil containing eight filars 80 a-80 h (“filars 80”), each coupled to a respective one of ring electrodes 82 a-82 h (“electrodes 82”, shown in cross-section in FIG. 10C), wherein the electrodes are carried by a distal end of a medical electrical lead 78; para. [0161], The seven wires may be twisted together in a manner to be described below in reference to FIG. 14B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Zhulati as modified by Thenuwara, by configuring the stiffening component to comprise a stranded metal cable, wherein the annealed portion of the stranded metal cable exhibits flexibility when loaded laterally to support the desired curved or partially coiled configuration, wherein the stranded metal cable comprises a plurality of filars, wherein the plurality of filars are twisted about a longitudinal axis of the stranded metal cable, wherein the plurality of filars have a composite configuration, as taught by McIntyre, for the purpose of transmitting signals to and receiving signals from electrodes using each filar (para. [0115], [0121], [0122]) and configuring the cable to be more easily navigated to a target therapy location within a body of a patient and enhancing patient comfort (para. [0004], [0120]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, January 23, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3792