DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
In light of the applicant’s amendments and remarks the claim interpretation under 112f section has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-19 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartels (US 20070094796 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bartels teaches a patient table for a medical imaging apparatus (1) ([0010] A device for supporting a patient),
wherein the patient table is configured to support a patient in an examination position in the medical imaging apparatus for imaging ([0010] A device for supporting a patient for a CT which assures stable positioning of the patient with respect to a CT or other device)
the patient table comprising a pivoting apparatus configured to pivot the patient in the examination position about an axis extending through an isocenter ([0028] In an aspect shown in FIG. 2, the load-bearing arm 9 that carries the stretcher 7 is supported in the device 5 for supporting a patient rotatably about a vertical axis. The load-bearing arm 9 is shown pivoted about the vertical axis of rotation such that the stretcher guide 11 and the stretcher 7 are rotated away from the gantry 3 The load-bearing arm 9 is pivoted together with the load-bearing arm bearing 13 and the height adjuster 15)
Regarding claim 2, Bartels teaches the medical imaging apparatus is a magnetic resonance tomograph ([0001] This application relates to a device for supporting a patient for a computer tomography device, and to a computer tomograph having such a device for supporting a patient)
Regarding claim 3, Bartels teaches suspension apparatus configured for suspended fastening to a support apparatus ([0011] The device for supporting a patient has a height adjuster, for supporting a stretcher adjustably in height. The height adjuster may be mounted on a computer tomography device in such a way that it is located laterally with respect to the examination opening. An effect of the lateral location of the height adjuster is that the space underneath the examination opening in front of the gantry remains free, and a patient or a stretcher can be lowered especially far when disposed in that position. The lowerability is not hindered by the location of the height adjuster)
Regarding claim 4, Bartels teaches wherein the pivoting apparatus is part of the suspension apparatus ([0028] The load-bearing arm 9 is pivoted together with the load-bearing arm bearing 13 and the height adjuster 15)
Regarding claim 5, Bartels teaches wherein the pivoting apparatus comprises a pivoting arm, and wherein the pivoting arm is configured to guide the patient table during a pivoting movement about the vertical axis ([0028] In an aspect shown in FIG. 2, the load-bearing arm 9 that carries the stretcher 7 is supported in the device 5 for supporting a patient rotatably about a vertical axis. The load-bearing arm 9 is shown pivoted about the vertical axis of rotation such that the stretcher guide 11 and the stretcher 7 are rotated away from the gantry 3 The load-bearing arm 9 is pivoted together with the load-bearing arm bearing 13 and the height adjuster 15)
Regarding claim 6, Bartels teaches ([0028] In an aspect shown in FIG. 2, the load-bearing arm 9 that carries the stretcher 7 is supported in the device 5 for supporting a patient rotatably about a vertical axis. The load-bearing arm 9 is shown pivoted about the vertical axis of rotation such that the stretcher guide 11 and the stretcher 7 are rotated away from the gantry 3 The load-bearing arm 9 is pivoted together with the load-bearing arm bearing 13 and the height adjuster 15)
Regarding claim 7, Bartels teaches a bed surface for the patient ([0025] The stretcher 7)
and a tilting apparatus about a longitudinal axis, the tilting apparatus being configured to orient the bed surface in a position tilted by a predetermined angle with respect to the horizontal ([0012] In an aspect, the height adjuster can be mounted on the computer tomography (CT) device in such a way that it is located laterally with respect to the gantry. In such a position, the height adjuster does not impede a tilting motion of the gantry about a horizontal axis, and such a motion being useful in the field of medical diagnosis. The gantry can be tilted unhindered next to and thus past the height adjuster)
Regarding claim 8, Bartels teaches a bed surface for the patient ([0025] The stretcher 7)
and a tilting apparatus about a longitudinal axis, the tilting apparatus being configured to orient the bed surface in a position tilted by a predetermined angle with respect to the horizontal ([0012] In an aspect, the height adjuster can be mounted on the computer tomography (CT) device in such a way that it is located laterally with respect to the gantry. In such a position, the height adjuster does not impede a tilting motion of the gantry about a horizontal axis, and such a motion being useful in the field of medical diagnosis. The gantry can be tilted unhindered next to and thus past the height adjuster)
Regarding claim 9, Bartels teaches a bed surface for the patient ([0025] The stretcher 7)
and a tilting apparatus about a longitudinal axis, the tilting apparatus being configured to orient the bed surface in a position tilted by a predetermined angle with respect to the horizontal ([0012] In an aspect, the height adjuster can be mounted on the computer tomography (CT) device in such a way that it is located laterally with respect to the gantry. In such a position, the height adjuster does not impede a tilting motion of the gantry about a horizontal axis, and such a motion being useful in the field of medical diagnosis. The gantry can be tilted unhindered next to and thus past the height adjuster)
Regarding claim 10, Bartels teaches a bed surface for the patient ([0025] The stretcher 7)
and a tilting apparatus about a longitudinal axis, the tilting apparatus being configured to orient the bed surface in a position tilted by a predetermined angle with respect to the horizontal ([0012] In an aspect, the height adjuster can be mounted on the computer tomography (CT) device in such a way that it is located laterally with respect to the gantry. In such a position, the height adjuster does not impede a tilting motion of the gantry about a horizontal axis, and such a motion being useful in the field of medical diagnosis. The gantry can be tilted unhindered next to and thus past the height adjuster)
Regarding claim 11, Bartels teaches a system comprising a patient table for a medical imaging apparatus ([0010] A device for supporting a patient)
the patient table being configured to support a patient in an examination position in the medical imaging apparatus for imaging ([0010] A device for supporting a patient for a CT which assures stable positioning of the patient with respect to a CT or other device)
a support apparatus configured for arranging the patient table relative to the medical imaging apparatus and a pivoting apparatus configured to pivot the patient in the examination position about a vertical axis extending through an isocenter ([0028] In an aspect shown in FIG. 2, the load-bearing arm 9 that carries the stretcher 7 is supported in the device 5 for supporting a patient rotatably about a vertical axis. The load-bearing arm 9 is shown pivoted about the vertical axis of rotation such that the stretcher guide 11 and the stretcher 7 are rotated away from the gantry 3 The load-bearing arm 9 is pivoted together with the load-bearing arm bearing 13 and the height adjuster 15)
Regarding claim 12, Bartels teaches a rail system having a curvature about the vertical axis ([0024] The CT 1 has a gantry 3; [0005] A CT has a so-called "gantry", inside of which the X-ray beam source and the X-ray image detector rotate. At the center of rotary motion, the gantry has an opening, in which the patient is positioned for the acquisition of the raw image data. The device for supporting a patient serves to slide a patient, supported on the supporting device, into the opening in the gantry)
and a guide element for engaging in the rail system ([0028] load-bearing arm 9)
wherein the patient table is configured to perform a pivoting movement about the vertical axis by moving along the rail system ([0028] In an aspect shown in FIG. 2, the load-bearing arm 9 that carries the stretcher 7 is supported in the device 5 for supporting a patient rotatably about a vertical axis. The load-bearing arm 9 is shown pivoted about the vertical axis of rotation such that the stretcher guide 11 and the stretcher 7 are rotated away from the gantry 3 The load-bearing arm 9 is pivoted together with the load-bearing arm bearing 13 and the height adjuster 15)
Regarding claim 13, Bartels teaches the rail system is arranged on the support apparatus, and the guide element is arranged on the patient table (observe configurations in figs. 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 14, Bartels teaches wherein the rail system is arranged on the patient table, and the guide element is arranged on the support apparatus (observe configurations in figs. 1 and 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartels as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Pinault (US 20190167212 A1).
Regarding claims 15-17, Bartels fails to teach the support apparatus is arranged above the medical imaging apparatus.
However, Pinault teaches the support apparatus is arranged above the medical imaging apparatus ([0014] Generally, the coupling region may thus allow for arranging the patient support device at a positioning system such that the positioning system connects to the patient support device from above or, in other words, to an upper side thereof. Hence, the patient support device may be arranged at the positioning system in a hanging configuration)
Bartels and Pinault are considered analogous because both disclose support apparatuses to be used during a tomography procedure. therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to hang the height adjustment apparatus from the ceiling so that the coupling region is arranged closer to a ceiling area of a treatment room than the support plane (Pinault [0014])
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartels as applied to claims 1 and 11 above respectively, and further in view of Harder (US 20210093221 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Bartels fails to teach the isocenter is a location of a greatest magnetic field homogeneity.
However, Bartels teaches the isocenter is a location of a greatest magnetic field homogeneity ([0019] In this context, an isocenter shall be understood to mean in particular a point and/or a region of the medical imaging apparatus that exhibits the most optimum and/or most ideal conditions for a medical imaging examination during operation of the medical imaging apparatus. The isocenter preferably describes a point inside an isocenter region. The isocenter is preferably situated within the patient receiving region. For example, the isocenter within a magnetic resonance apparatus, in particular within the patient receiving region, encompasses a point and/or a region at which the magnetic field of the magnetic resonance apparatus is designed to be the most homogeneous).
Bartels and Harder are considered analogous because both disclose MRI medical imaging systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the pending application to designate the isocenter as the location with highest magnetic field homogeneity in order to exhibit the most optimum and/or most ideal conditions for a medical imaging examination (Harder [0019]).
Regarding claim 19, Bartels fails to teach the isocenter is a location of a greatest magnetic field homogeneity.
However, Bartels teaches the isocenter is a location of a greatest magnetic field homogeneity ([0019] In this context, an isocenter shall be understood to mean in particular a point and/or a region of the medical imaging apparatus that exhibits the most optimum and/or most ideal conditions for a medical imaging examination during operation of the medical imaging apparatus. The isocenter preferably describes a point inside an isocenter region. The isocenter is preferably situated within the patient receiving region. For example, the isocenter within a magnetic resonance apparatus, in particular within the patient receiving region, encompasses a point and/or a region at which the magnetic field of the magnetic resonance apparatus is designed to be the most homogeneous).
Bartels and Harder are considered analogous because both disclose MRI medical imaging systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the pending application to designate the isocenter as the location with highest magnetic field homogeneity in order to exhibit the most optimum and/or most ideal conditions for a medical imaging examination (Harder [0019]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are centered around the allegation that the primary Bartels reference does not teach the newly amended limitation reading ‘a vertical axis extending through an isocenter’. However, in the independent claim, applicant does not define a reference system in order to determine where said isocenter would be located. In the absence of a specified reference system, an ‘isocenter’ can be placed at any arbitrary location, including the center of rotation as disclosed by the Bartels reference. While new claims 18 and 19 differentiate the invention from the Bartels reference by specifying where an isocenter is to be located, the independent claims as drafted continue to be anticipated by Bartels under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798