DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “locking means”, “stop means” and “interference means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Txarola et al. (US 2019/0131723) in view of Daoud (US 6,168,478).
Regarding claim 1, Txarola et al. disclose a terminal structure (300, Fig. 3) comprising:
a terminal body (302);
an insertion unit (303) extending from a first end of the terminal body; and
a holding mechanism (301) extending from a second end of the terminal body; wherein:
the insertion unit is mounted on a circuit board (200);
the circuit board defines multiple conducting holes (201);
the insertion unit is inserted into and locked in one of the conducting holes of the circuit board;
the holding mechanism includes two opposite clamping arms (315) and a clamping space (312) defined between the two clamping arms;
a lead leg (400) of is clamped between the two clamping arms and held in the clamping space.
Txarola et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the clamping arm is for clamping and holding lead leg of an electronic element.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Txarola et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the locking means.
Daoud teach a locking means (35a, 35b, 35c) formed on at least one face of the terminal body (34a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the locking means into Txarola’s terminal body, as taught by Daoud for locking the terminal into the connector housing.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose a stop means (318) is defined between the terminal body and the insertion unit.
Regarding claim 3, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose the insertion unit includes a first press side (a left 336), a second press side (a right 336) having two ends connecting two ends of the first press side, and an internal space (334) defined between the first press side and the second press side.
Regarding claim 4, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose the terminal body has two opposite sides, and each of the two sides of the terminal body defines multiple interference means (319, 323).
Regarding claim 5, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose each of the two clamping arms defines a first side wall (31and a second side wall; the first side wall of each of the two clamping arms is located between the terminal body and a first end of the clamping space; and the second side wall of each of the two clamping arms is situated at a second end of the clamping space.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd side wall)][AltContent: textbox (1st side wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose the first side walls of the two clamping arms are parallel with each other, with a constant distance defined between the first side walls of the two clamping arms.
Regarding claim 7, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose the second side walls of the two clamping arms gradually diverge forward from the clamping space.
Regarding claim 8, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. disclose a fixture (100) defines multiple slots (123); the terminal body is inserted into one of the slots of the fixture; and each of the interference means is locked in one of the slots of the fixture.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Txarola et al. (US 2019/0131723) in view of Daoud (US 6,168,478) and further in view of Yamanashi et al. (US 2005/0118872).
Regarding claim 9, in the modified terminal structure, Txarola et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except a housing defines a mounting portion; the terminal structure and the electronic element are assembled and received in the mounting portion of the housing after the terminal structure is locked on the electronic element; and the fixture is secured in the mounting portion of the housing.
Yamanashi et al. teach a housing (10) with mounting portions (17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the housing for mounting Txarola’s fixture therein.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834