DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “connecting the connecting the…” in line 9 which repeats the phrase “connecting the”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a firsts terminal end face”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the feedthrough" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first metal sheet” in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “at least one of: the energy storage element further comprises a contact sheet metal member directly seated on the first edge of the anode current collector or on the first edge of the cathode current collector, the contact sheet metal member is the current conductor that is welded to the external side of the bottom, or the contact sheet metal member is the bottom.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because scenarios 2 and 3 recite “the contact sheet metal member” which claims antecedent basis to a structure recited in scenario 1 and, thus, is unclear whether scenarios 2 and 3 require the structure of scenario 1. If the alternate scenarios do require scenario 1, then the alternate scenarios would not be optional rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “at least one of: the bottom has at least one bead, the at least one bead is elongated, or the at least one bead occurs on the internal side of the bottom as a depression and on the external side of the bottom as an elevation.”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because scenarios 2 and 3 recite “the at least one bead” which claims antecedent basis to a structure recited in scenario 1 and, thus, is unclear whether scenarios 2 and 3 require the structure of scenario 1 and therefore not optional. If the alternate scenarios do require scenario 1, then the alternate scenarios would not be optional rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “at least one of: the contact segment comprises a ring-shaped region around the aperture, or the contact segment comprises at least one further region configured to be bent, the at least one further region extending from the ring-shaped region.”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because scenario 2 recites “the ring-shaped region” which claims antecedent basis to a structure recited in scenario 1 and, thus, is unclear whether scenario 2 requires the structure of scenario 1 and therefore not optional. If the alternate scenarios do require scenario 1, then the alternate scenarios would not be optional rendering the claim indefinite.
Further, dependent claims 2-8 are rendered indefinite due to their dependency on any of the indefinite claims as set forth above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the contact sheet metal member is the bottom” which conflicts with claim 1 reciting “a first part of the fixing segment is formed as a bottom”. The limitation recited in claim 4 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng et al. (US 2021/0280835A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses an electrochemical energy storage element (button cell, see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-18), comprising:
an electrode-separator assembly comprising a current collector (cell 1 [0072]); and
a housing enclosing the electrode-separator assembly (housing assembly 2 [0072]), the housing comprising a closure assembly, the closure assembly comprising:
a first sheet metal part comprising a first side, an opposite second side, and an aperture (housing 21 provided with a through hole, made of metal [0072]),
a second sheet metal part comprising a contact segment extending on the first side of the first sheet metal part, a fixing segment extending on the second side of the first sheet metal part, and a tubular feedthrough connecting the connecting the contact segment and the fixing segment through the aperture (conductive nail 22a penetrated in the through hole, conductive nail 22a is provided with a sheet part or a flanging at both ends outside the through hole [0090], columnar part 22a2 [0113]), and
an electrically insulating seal disposed between the first sheet metal part and the second sheet metal part (insulating rubber ring 221 provided with the conductive nail 22a and the through hole [0092]),
wherein a first part of the fixing segment is formed as a bottom that closes the tubular feedthrough on the second side of the first sheet metal part, the bottom comprising an internal side and an external side, the internal side directed in a direction of the feedthrough and the external side directed in an opposite direction (conductive nail 22a is provided with a sheet part or a flanging at both ends outside the through hole [0090]; Fig. 1 shows a bottom sheet part/flanging),
wherein a second part of the fixing segment is formed as a projection configured to provide a form-fitting fixation of the tubular feedthrough in the aperture (conductive nail 22a is provided with a sheet part or a flanging at both ends outside the through hole [0090]; Fig. 1 shows a bottom sheet part/flanging),
wherein the first side of the first metal sheet part and the contact segment delimit a first gap (insulating rubber ring 221 provided with the conductive nail 22a and the through hole [0092], Fig. 1 shows insulating rubber ring 221 occupying a gap between the housing 21 and conductive nail 22a),
wherein the second side of the first metal sheet and the projection delimit a second gap (insulating rubber ring 221 provided with the conductive nail 22a and the through hole [0092], Fig. 1 shows insulating rubber ring 221 occupying a gap between the housing 21 and conductive nail 22a),
wherein the electrically insulating seal fills the first gap and the second gap to separate the first and second sides in a gas- and/or liquid-tight manner (insulating rubber ring 221 provided with the conductive nail 22a and the through hole [0092], Fig. 1 shows insulating rubber ring 221 occupying a gap between the housing 21 and conductive nail 22a), and
wherein the electrode-separator assembly is connected to the external side of the bottom by:
a weld formed directly between the current collector and the external side of the bottom, or
a weld formed directly between the current collector and a current conductor that is welded directly to the external side of the bottom (weld sheet part of conductive nail with second tab 12 [0113]).
Regarding claim 2, Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses the housing further comprises a metallic housing part that comprises: a housing bottom a circumferential side wall or several side walls, and a terminal opening (housing 21 has a holding cavity and a through hole [0072], Fig. 1), and wherein the closure assembly closes the terminal opening of the metal housing part (conductive nail 22a penetrated in the through hole, conductive nail 22a is provided with a sheet part or a flanging at both ends outside the through hole [0090], columnar part 22a2 [0113]).
Regarding claim 6, Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses at least one of: the bottom has at least one bead (weld sheet part of conductive nail with second tab 12 [0113], i.e., bead), the at least one bead is elongated, or the at least one bead occurs on the internal side of the bottom as a depression and on the external side of the bottom as an elevation.
Regarding claim 7, Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses at least one of: the contact segment comprises a ring-shaped region around the aperture (circular [017]), or the contact segment comprises at least one further region configured to be bent, the at least one further region extending from the ring-shaped region.
Regarding claim 8, Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses the tubular feedthrough has an elongated form (columnar part 22a2 [0113], Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (US 2021/0280835A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 6-8 above, in view of Lee (US 2006/0024572A1).
Regarding claim 3, Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses the electrode-separator assembly comprises: wherein the electrode separator assembly forms a firsts terminal end face and a second terminal end face, wherein the first edge of the anode current collector protrudes from the first terminal end face and the first edge of the cathode current collector protrudes from the second terminal end face, and wherein the first edge of the anode current collector or the first edge of the cathode current collector is welded directly to the external side of the bottom (electrically connecting the one conductive part with one of the first tab and the second tab, and electrically connecting the housing with the other one of the first tab and the second tab [0020], Fig. 1).
However, Peng does not disclose an anode comprising an anode current collector comprising a first edge, a second edge parallel to the first edge, a main region loaded with a layer of negative electrode material, and a free edge strip not loaded with the negative electrode material extending along the first edge, a cathode comprising a cathode current collector comprising a first edge, a second edge parallel to the first edge, a main region loaded with a layer of positive electrode material, and a free edge strip not loaded with the positive electrode material extending along the first edge.
Lee discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, wherein the positive electrode and the negative electrode have uncoated regions formed along the edges of the collectors with a respective positive collector plate or negative collector plate welded to the respective positive or negative uncoated regions ([0041]-[0048], Fig. 1-2). Lee further discloses achieving a larger contact area that is stably maintained ([0052]).
Peng and Lee are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrical connections in batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peng by incorporating an electrode assembly including uncoated regions along the edges of current collectors to be welded to a respective positive and negative collector plate because Lee teaches improved electrical contact.
Regarding claim 4, modified Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses at least one of: the energy storage element further comprises a contact sheet metal member directly seated on the first edge of the anode current collector or on the first edge of the cathode current collector, the contact sheet metal member is the current conductor that is welded to the external side of the bottom, or the contact sheet metal member is the bottom (respective positive collector plate or negative collector plate welded to the respective positive or negative uncoated regions [0041]-[0048], Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Peng discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses the first edge of the anode current collector or the cathode current collector, which is not welded to the external side of the bottom, is electrically connected to the housing bottom (the conductive part may be configured to electrically connect with the first tab and the housing may be electrically connected with the second tab [0074], Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 7/30/2026